Rent SpongeBob's Truth or Square for Wii
view large frontback

SpongeBob's Truth or Square

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

572 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

no title

posted by bobman (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

(positives) game is fun, sort of follows truth or square storyline,power ups are cool, sometimes funny

(negatives) sometimes hard to tell the episode, way too easy to beat,

total rating
graphics: 8
storyline: 7.3
controls: 7
gameplay: 7.1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a little tough for kids, but very fun

posted by jjohn2478 (CARLSBAD, CA) Nov 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2008

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I got this game pretty soon after it came out because I and my wife are big SpongeBob fans. Most of the games that come from the show have been disappointments and this one looked like it would follow suit at first....After we got the hang of it though we had a blast! For us, it only took a day to get through the whole game the first time, but it looked like it had lots of unlockables and extras that would keep fans happy for a long time. The controls were great, lots of action, challenging puzzles, and the characters were all there. The storyline was pretty bad, but if you care more about the game play, you won't be disappointed. I would rent this game and give it an hour to try it out if you like the cartoon..i think you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Truth or Square: Your choice

posted by PS2wizard (CONCORD, CA) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I got this game for Christmas and thought it would be great.
To describe it, its like Battle for Bikini Bottom
If you haven't played it, its good.
Sorry to say I might have spoilers in this so I will try to not say much.
The game is like the episode, except spongebob loses the recipe and plankton is helping him search through his memories to make him happy enough to remember where he put it.
Im just going to say the bad things first.
One thing is that this game is really, really, short.
Its just going to be 2 levels, 1 boss, 3 levels, 1 boss, 2 levels, 1 boss, and credits.
Unlike Creature from the Krusty Krab, the levels are about maybe 5-9 minutes long.
Thereare lots of good things too
There are about 10 levels, all episodes like meeting Sandy for the first time, meeting mermaid and barnicle boy, etc.
For those who know Spongebob, there are lots of hidden stuff like Spongehenge, orb of confusion, etc.
Some might say its a sequel to Battle for Bikini Bottom mainly because all the enemies are robots.
I actually found a way to make the game last longer.( this is only for people who beat the game
1. Use the time to collect the happy nuggets(u know coins) to buy what else you need at the pineapple
2. Finish all the tiki challenges.
3. Replay the entire game wearing all the costumes.
4.Just for the fun of it.

I hope you like this reviw

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game to rent, not buy - too short

posted by enzati (COLUMBUS, OH) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

My son (6) and I loved this game. Lots of fun spongebob moments + the other characters. Spongebob can do various things (turn into a huge slamming spatula, flatten enimies by becoming a big "wheel", etc.). Some of the levels are challenging for kids. The only downfall to this game is the shortness of it. You can easily complete it in a day or two, and there is no re-playibility. Replaying the game as a different character or something would have been nice. Good to rent, not to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Spongebob's Truth Or Square

posted by smj1394 (CAMPBELLSBURG, KY) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I hated this game. I did not like the bosses. Quick loading speeds. Ages 4-5. Contians Cartoon Violence and Comic Mischief. Like all Spongebob games, is indeed, stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is awsome

posted by dony247 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I LIKE THIS GAME VERY MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SpongeBob's Truth or Square

posted by martha00jackson (DENHAM SPRINGS, LA) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

My six year old wouldnt put it down. It was both challenging and interesting to him. My four year old could not comprehend and my nine year old was totally disinterested. Totally recommended for ages 5-6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Big Disappointment

posted by farright (MARIETTA, GA) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Clunky controls, very limited 2 player mode, and subpar gameplay action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty good

posted by 1jamaal (BRENTWOOD, TN) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

It was an awesome game the story was great but what really bugged me was that the game was pretty short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game for Pre k kids and up

posted by yeshuvtali (MONTICELLO, GA) May 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I liked this game it was easy enough for my pre k kid and entertaining enough for my fith grader.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not too bad, just use Classic or Gamecube controls

posted by Byzdalmyt (NORTH CANTON, OH) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

My 6yr old DVR's at least 4 Spongebob episodes a day & it's his favorite. I had been thinking about gettining this game for him sincenit quietly came out last year but wasnt sure whether to get Wii or 360 version.

We rented the Wii version and he got frustrated pretty quick with the motion controls & pretty much made me play the whole 1st level. It has some goofy mechanics such as shake the nunchuck to do the spatula slam, etc. Of course he'd get mixed up & shake the wiimote instead. I understand that also does a move, but it's not unlocked until later in the game.

Later in options/settings I discovered it also supports the Wii classic controller as well as the Gamecube controller. I had him try that same level using the classic controller & he had a much more enjoyable time. Now the spatula slam is simply a button press & the camera is the right analog stick.

So for what it is and as much as he likes the license, I give this game an 8. It looks good, sounds good, & plays good with whichever control scheme you or your child prefers. I may still get the 360 one since I think he's more use to the colored buttons instead of them just being letters on the classic controller. This may make in game & menu navigation easier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kids lived it

posted by Gun4hire (REYNOLDS, IL) Apr 17, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

kids 7 and 11 played the heck out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game for Kids

posted by paeyty (LUBBOCK, TX) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I have to say this was a excellent rental for my kids ages 10 and under it wasn't to complicated and it allowed them to feel as though they were big kids. What I mean is although the levels are very simple for a regular gamer to get through for younger kids its a little more complication and requires thinking out how to get from level to level. Although it states its a 2 player game, the second player is more of a helper instead of a independent walk along side spongebob player. Plankton stands on spongebob is allowed limited range when it comes to actual participation and to be honest he really is not needed for the game play. I would definitely recommend this game for kids if they are tired of playing the Dora and Diego easy level games and are ready to move to the next level in gaming then this would be a excellent game for them to learn on. The graphics are awesome the controls are simple and the levels can be done by adults blind folded.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its ok

posted by kkeeiitthh (EDGEMONT, SD) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

the game itself was pretty fun but what i really hated was that there was on like 10 or 11 levels i recomend you dont get it because you'll probably be pretty disapointed

:( :( :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »