Rent SpongeBob's Truth or Square for Xbox 360
view large frontback

SpongeBob's Truth or Square

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PSP Games, Wii
GF Rating
6.2

927 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great kids game

posted by Setherndad (DOVER, DE) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

The game was great I really liked playing it with my son and my son really like watching SpongeBob. If you like a challenge with really easy achievements (more for the kids then the adults) this is a great game for them. Some of the stages are a little bit difficult but after you figure out what to do it is easy as pie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's decent.

posted by nickolaus (PENSACOLA, FL) Feb 25, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's just a decent game, it's easy achievements however. So if you like being a achievement-hog, this is a game for you to play until you got all the achievements.

If you have kids, they'll enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Easy Achievements!

posted by jasonleebo (GREENBRIER, TN) Sep 28, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Beat the game in one night with all 1000 pts...kids loved it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good for kids

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Nov 7, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

If you like and watch Spongebob, youll like this game. This game has a weird story line, which basically goes all over the place. You have to hide the secret formula to the krabby patties and you forget where you put it. Which makes you sad and when youre sad, you cant remember things for some reason. So you have to think of good memories and get yourself happy by replaying through the best memories. Kind of weird huh? The controls are fine, but the camera goes kind of crazy sometimes. I dont really think the health system works that great. The graphics are pretty average for this kind of game. The average person shouldnt really try this game out, but if you have kids or you are a kid, try this game out because youll most likely like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's fine I guess.

posted by ingame14 (HILLSBORO, OH) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I played this game in hopes that it would be like my favorite spongebob game. Spongebob Squarepants battle for bikini bottom. I loved that game still love it I don't know if anybody has played it but I loved it. Anyway this game was nothing like it but it wasn't really bad either. The story is that the krusty krab is having it's eleventy seventh anniversary at spongebobs house. Mr. Krabs asks spongebob to hide the secret formula so plankton won't steal it. Spongebob hides it but forgets where he put it. Which makes him sad so he can't remember where it is. plankton offers to help spongebob find it and spongebob accepts. Plankton takes spongebob back to his lab and plants tiny robots in his brain. To look through his memories to find it so he can steal it. But plankton breaks the remote that controls the robots which by the way are the enemies you fight so he go's into spongebobs brain himself to manually get the secret formula meanwhile spongebobs friends (patrick star, Sandy cheeks, Squidward tentacles, and Mr. Krabs) try to help him remember by cheering him up they try to cheer him up by reminding him of memories and good times the have had together (these are the levels you will play through) which are all supposed to be after T.V episodes though the levels are nothing like them there are three acts and a total of 10 levels at the end of every level you get a happiness object and at the end of every act you fight a boss in every level you will collect coins which can be spent on furniture upgrades health upgrades and costumes for you and your friends after a level is beaten you can always replay it by looking at the scrap book you do this to gain extra happiness objects but the levels will be kinda dull for anyone over the age of nine. and this game will be kinda dull for anyone over the age of nine though this game played great it was kinda boring for me some levels (maybe 2 or 3) were interesting to play but most of the levels looked the same hope this helped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad, but not great either...

posted by m4st3rd0n (TAMPA, FL) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The overall game play was pretty simple and fun, the controls are very easy to use, and the graphics were great. The bad is the co op was terrible, U play with Plankton which is stuck to Spongbob (controlled by player 1) and you go where he goes and cant really do anything but shake enemies and turn coins evil, and the game was only 2 - 3 hours long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better than expected

posted by Travis9342 (ATASCADERO, CA) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I honestly got this game for achievements... turns out I had a fun time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for all ages

posted by druxus (SAVANNAH, GA) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is basically fun for all ages. Obviously spongebob fans will enjoy this more than non fans. Very worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Quite Easy Enough For Kids

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) May 16, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Rented this for the easy gamer score and to play with my 5 year old. Riding along shotgun as Plankton was ok, but it got pretty old for him quickly. Let him run Sponge Bob, and it was a bit more than he could handle. Overall not a bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

SpongeBob's Truth or Square

posted by TeamKalem (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I rented this game so that I could play it with my daughter. We're both huge Spongbob fans. It only took a few levels before we were utterly bored with the game. Aside from the cast of characters, the actual game has little to do with Bikini Bottom. Throughout the levels you meet up with Spongebob's friends, reliving memories that Spongebob holds dear. But rather than creating a game around the events we normally see on the show, you get some strange levels, which have nothing to do with the show.

The gameplay is alright. It's not too difficult for the little ones, but a 6 year old may have difficulty with some of the platform aspects of the game.

Playing the game in co-op leaves a lot to be desired. There is very little you can do as plankton. I can understand why they chose to have plankton stay on your back, but they should have given him a lot more abilities.

If you're renting the game because you can't get enough of Spongebob, you should pass on this game. The game doesn't do the little sponge justice. If you're looking for a good platform game you're going to want to pass on this. If you're looking for a game you can play with your kids, there are many better choices out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game to play in between big titles.

posted by JenniferF456 (SHORELINE, WA) Feb 7, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I enjoyed this game very much. I've never watched Sponge Bob and thought it may be sort of annoying, but it wasn't at all. You need to replay the levels as new options open up, but I was able to get 900 out of 1000 achievements in a few days. It's fun, easy to learn how to play and kept me (an adult) entertained. Good rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GameFly

posted by Brian_Soto_92 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

the was shipped on the 30 its ben five day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unable to play!

posted by Hippomon (ANTIGO, WI) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I was unable to play this game due to my X-box not being able to read the disc. When I received the game in the mail today, 3/31/12, I noticed some dings on the outer edge of the disc. When I tried to play it, my X-box couldn't read it, and it kept offering the Open Tray option. I did try other games in my X-box and they worked just fine. I would still like to try the game since I have enjoyed Spongebob's previous adventures, but, unfortunately, this copy won't let me. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not to bad

posted by ChanceCoulombe (ROSSVILLE, GA) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

Ive played similar Spongebob games before but this one is a lot beter it has its parts. where it can be hard but its pretty easy not for young kids under 10 the controler is to big

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but hard

posted by tatertot12 (SAN JOSE, CA) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Good game but not like the episode. Long levels and short game only 9 levels. At least all memories!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ehh

posted by Maxtinator (TACOMA, WA) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

When i was little i loved playing spongebob battle for bikini bottom and i bought this one hoping it was the same but it just isnt. sure its fun, but nothing to go crazy about. if i could go back i woulndt have bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game for kidz

posted by ipwnn00bs (AUBURN, IN) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

my lil sis loves this!!! i just got it today aqnd her eyes r glued to the tv screen she wont let me take it back i guess ill have 2 keep it till she get tired of it :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

determine to play again

posted by raider4lif (MONTEREY, CA) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

fun,easy,and great for kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »