Rent Split/Second for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Split/Second

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

6024 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Over the top, just plain fun.

posted by LPS179 (EL DORADO HILLS, CA) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

31 out of 34 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

After the first 10 minutes of playing this game, I was just a bit disappointed. It seemed at first that this was just another standard racing genre, very similar to Burnout, with a gimmick of "Power Plays" , allowing you to save stored energy earning through drifting, drafting and jumps to activate events in the environment to hurt other players (such as helicopters dropping explosives, or cars exploding on the side of the road).

However after playing for a couple more hours I began to appreciate how the power play system is certainly not just a gimmick, but integral to the gameplay. I think they found the right balance of not having the power plays be "win buttons", since you can easily miss if not timed right, not to mention blow yourself up. There are also "Level 2" power plays, which allow you to cause massive disruption to the course, such as a freight boat to skid across the track, or entire buildings to collapse. These are great fun, and if timed correctly can be devastating, and even changing the track around.

The game certainly lacks customization of other top racing games, there is no fine tuning your cars, and even the decals you earn through achievements can't be customized or placed where you want. Don't expect that kind of detail. This is an action-arcade style racing game, plain and simple. It's over the top and unapologetic about it's style.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Weekend Game

posted by gotpwnage520 (ONTARIO, CA) Oct 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's a great game and all but it just doesn't have enough awesomeness to keep you entertained for more than a day or two. Levels can get a bit repetitive and boring after a while. No matter how many powerplays you use, they just lose their spice. I was hooked for the first few hours but after that, the game just let me down. Definitely not your average racing game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Split Second Review

posted by AegriDRMZ (GILROY, CA) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

21 out of 24 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I had alot of fun playing this game. It's not a sim, you don't get to tweak or customize any part of the vehicle which would enhance performance and alot of racer-gamers like that, but again this is no sim. "What is it?" you ask!

Split Second is a fast paced action driven racing game. When you bolt down the tracks in this game you can feel the speed much more than in the demo version released for the 360. The shakey camera and the excellent sound FX immerse you into the drivers seat of various vehicles you can unlock by placing high on each race. The selection of vehicles have different handling, some turn corners sharper while others have great accelleration, along with other attributes and drawbacks.

Online is where you can have alot of fun too. Elimination game types see you driving on a course littered with explosives, falling rocks, collapsing air craft carriers, etc. You also have a standard race to see who finishes first which doesn't leave out split second's racer activated traps/shortcuts and route changes. I found uploading a mix of my favorite songs while playing to be one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences I've had to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Racing Destruction Taken to New Heights

posted by CarnalSin (NORTH BERGEN, NJ) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

At first I was not sure if I should rent Split/Second because Blur was coming out soon and I did not want to play similar games, but I'm glad I changed my mind. It was a thrilling racer begin to end of the season career and the fun kept going because of its addicting online multiplayer and even awesome split screen action. Although the graphics are not the best I've seen in a racer, they are top notch for the arcade feel the game is aiming for. I love the variety of cars and the credits system to unlock them and it adds a great reason for re-playability although the game has tons of replay value as it is. If you are undecided like me, I recommend you give it a try and I promise you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It takes awhile to grow on you

posted by flyboy8498 (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I'm not sure what to make of this game. At times it's good, & at times it is frustrating. The graphics are beautiful & the game is fun to play (after a bit) but then the AI pounces lightening quick on the littlest mistake you make or you will never really have a car that is any better than the rest of the cars that you are racing against.

I will admit, I was ready to send this game back after 30 minutes of play. Then I set it aside & came back to it, to give it one more chance. After another hour of play it became fun, but frustrating at times & challenging throughout.

The game play is simple, along with the controls. You race against other racers & blow them to little bitty pieces through timed explosions throughout the course when they are in front of you and you are close enough (with enough "explosive power"). The AI is unforgiving, and will pounce at your tiniest mistake through the course though. Someone mentioned that you have to be nearly perfect through the race, and that is true to a fault. Also the cars you are given, they really never are better than any of the cars you're racing against. There's no real edge with any of them, except maybe it fits your style of racing a little more than one of the others (IE: You like to drift more through corners than power through them). The racing is fast & frantic. I lost (sometimes won) more races than I care to count by a split second (pun intended). This can be either good/bad depending on if you win or lose.

The graphics are top notch & are absolutely beautiful. When something blows up, it BLOWS UP. Disney didn't skimp in this department.

The music wore its welcome out quickly on my XBox. But that's remedied with your own music. If you can stand the music, it is... powerful & fits the racing.

The bottom line is if you like arcade style racing while blowing stuff up, this is rentable for you. If you think Forza is the only kind of racing, then stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game! Must rent!!

posted by HTownBalla (AUSTIN, TX) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I had my doubts after seeing it was a Disney game. But Havok and a few others were involved. If you remember and like the old San Francisco Rush 2049 game, especially the battle mode that it had, you'll love this game. In fact, this was the most fun I have had with a racer since the old Rush series. The one thing that would have given this game a 10 IMO is if you got rocket launchers and stuff instead of just waiting to blow up buildings, etc. That doesn't take away from the game though. Really fun, will be enjoying it for a while, easy to pick up and play with good handling on the cars. Check it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excellent Surprise!

posted by Achpoques (MONROE, IN) May 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

The demo kind of left me wanting more and was looking forward to receiving the envelope for this game. It places you in a mini-tutorial to teach you about the power plays, as well as the course changers and why they're important.

My personal opinion on this game is GREAT! It has that Burnout-esque feel to it, except there's a lot more satisfaction and build up when you throw a massive skyscraper on top of your opponents to take the lead and win the race.

Definitely check this game out! It's worth the rent, possibly a purchase by me. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Flash with little substance

posted by tronsta (ROSELLE, NJ) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I'm not going to compare this game with Blur since they are very different, just putting that out there first...

Split Second is a nice looking piece of software that wows in the beginning but soon dulls your senses and fun when you realize it's simply a matter of being in the right place at the right time. That's it. No twitchy timing, no special moves to perform, just be in the right place at the right time and hit the A button. That's it.

You're put into a race and you gain power, power that will enable you to perform "power plays" which are basically attacks on other players. You can only attack players in front of you, and you have nothing reliable to defend yourself with. If another player decides to hit a power play with you right in the middle of it, no way are you defending against it.

You gain power by drafting, jumping, and drifting. It takes a painfully long time to gain power, and between that and the cars handling like tanks on ice, the driving experience in general is very disappointing.

The good stuff:

1) Nice visuals and effects.
2) There are a few "WOW!" moments.
3) Online multiplayer, while shallow, is decent.
4) A few fun modes of play, like dodging attacks from a helicopter.

The bad stuff:

1) Get's old VERY fast.
2) Car selection is meh.
3) Car handling is meh.
4) Sling-shot AI (meaning at anytime, no matter how far behind they are, they will catch up)
5) No skill needed for power plays.
6) Not a lot of replay value, gets boring quick.

I would recommend a rent, but simply cannot recommend a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Simple

posted by Koach08 (SILVER SPRING, MD) May 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I don't remember the last time I jumped for joy and screamed out loud after blowing up one rival and accelerating past another to take first place by 1/10 of a second

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

to sum this up in one word- Meh

posted by Maniak2010 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The problem with Split/Second is that it tries to cover very run of the mill racing that you have played a hundred times in any Need for Speed incarnation with the gimmick of triggering car destroying events as the race progesses. I hoped this would be a game reminicent of Burnout, where objects in the world can come crashing down and you can shove other cars around. I was quite wrong. The trigger events are usually just a lame looking explosion that damages the cars around it, and possibly your car as well, if your timing is off. The problem is, the actual site of the events isnt really labled or marked in any way, so timing a trigger to take out as many cars as you can becomes a game of chance. Luckily, the triggers for each track never move, so after the first lap, you can get some sense of where the big booms are going to come from. However, that means that after one lap, the excitement dies down and it turns into drift to fill meter, hit attack button as soon as possible, repeat. Plus, you cant trigger events behind you, so once you get to first (which, against the lame AI, should be a breeze) the whole fun of destroying other racers disappears, until you get hit with a random blast and get shot back to last place. More frustrating then fun.

Overall, it gets dull before the end of the first set of races. It doesn't help that the cars feel like bricks with wheels, and the drifting, which is the key to getting attacks, is twitchy. The cars sometimes glide around freely, other times, at too low a speed, they stay stuck tight to the track. Problem is, there is no speedometer to really find a sweet spot for max drifts. The sense of speed also doesn't really exist unless you get on a clean straightaway. Making the whole race a bit more dull.

It just doesn't meet up to the addictive destruction like I loved in Burnout Revenge. Stick to the classics I guess

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow

posted by RichardV (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) May 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Like the first guy, when I saw that this was a disney game I thought it would be terrible but I decided to try it out. I use to like the game burnout revenge the most for racing games (burnout paradise was awful) but this is my new favorite. The cars are very fun to drive, the graphics are awesome and the explosive booby traps on an epic scale are just amazing. Get this game, buy or rent, just get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Slit/Second

posted by SnowWiz (FORESTHILL, CA) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overall Graphics are awesome. One of the best racing games I've encountered in a long time. There could have been some modifications to this such as adding boost or nitrous (especially through drifting or just to catch up). Boost would have made it a great opportune time to collect even more points for boost or other gamer points like opening up those secret passage ways.
Being able to add mechanical options to your car would have been another great feature. Modify the engine, tires, stickers, color, ect. could have made this game one of the most desired games of the year even though I am sure it is on it's way to the top of the charts already. I hope they come out with a second game with these modifications. I'll be ready & waiting for the action and the fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

simply jaw-dropping

posted by HUforeva (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

from just playing the demo i was blown away by practicaly every part of this game, the graphics were simply outstanding, i could recognize every different city i raced in and every race is like being in an acion movie. gameplay was also very fun and in opion it crushed every other racing game of its time, such as blur, shift, or even forza. A MUST RENT GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Take a Deep Breath

posted by WeaponA (JACKSON, MI) May 21, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You're going to need it. Split/Second is all about the "Holy, ----!" moments of racing. Buildings collapse on the track, airliners fall from the sky, and more. You'll drive across rooftops, across sinking ships, and all of it will happen in a, no pun intended, split second. Keep your eyes peeled for shortcuts, for booby traps, and other drivers. Everything in this game happens so fast that there's even a replay button for when you wreck people in very awesome ways. The driving controls are tight, drifting is easy just make sure you know how to handle a drift because if you mess it up or can't get out of it too easy-it is all on you. Choose the right cars for the right race and you'll be good to go. Split/Second is beautiful, the sound is amazing, the gameplay is amazing...what more is there to say about it. Go out and buy this game if you're a racing fan because this is one racing game that has to be played to be believed. You can't imagine the speed until you're actually controlling the cars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unique gameplay but terrible AI ruins it all

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) May 24, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The concept of the racing game being like a TV show, is pretty cool. You trigger explosions by getting power-ups, you can drift, and get sweet air, do shortcuts, etc. You race a bunch of small courses where there are explosions and traps around every corner. The absence of a boost or NOS was a huge letdown for me, as coming from behind is next to impossible.

The problem that I had amongst others, is that the AI is unbelievably cheap and frustrating. It's 3x worse than Mario Kart 64 where Luigi and Mario have infinite stars and they will creep up behind you and win at the last second. You are always driving an inferior car, and once you get more than a second behind you're screwed. Even moving further in the game to unlock better cars and then back-track, proved to not work.

Even on the first episode, I found the AI would all of a sudden find miraculous boosts at the end of every race, always on the 3rd lap and they'd pass you for the victory. Or they would hit the tail of your car to immediately make you spin out or crash a wall. But when you try to nudge their car, they don't move at all, making it impossible to spin out other drivers, though they toss you around like a $5 hookr on the course.

Races were so frustrating it was a joke. I would just laugh at how ridiculous they were. The AI cars would get ahead of you in no time and then you have zero chance of catching up. They'll be so far ahead that you can't even trigger any traps on them, which the game is all about.

I don't expect anything less than this from Disney trying to get into this serious type of racing game. It should stick to Cars-O-Rama. I hated the drifting in this game also, which is highly encouraged by in game tutorials. Have fun trying to drift around a corner watching 9 AI cars fly by you without even skidding their tires. This game stinks. Online play was also bad as they just throw you in matches with level 99s or whatever.

Milt Drucker- xbox gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not for the weak of heart!

posted by KYROACH3 (LEWISVILLE, TX) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game is a great arcade type racer with some of the most heart pounding moments in a game (not in just a racer but off all games). Split/second is beautifull looking game that offers quite a few cars and tracks best of all though every track has its own secondary path (such as if someone blows up a building that crashes on the track causing a new section of said track to open up) and plenty of havoc causing crash events, which will keep you from closing your eyes of fear of getting hit by one. Multiplayer is also great , you can't beat having your friend about to win then causing a helicopter to drop a bulldozer on his head. Split/second is a great game if you want try something different and have quite a bit of fun while doing so and like I said before your heart will be beating so badly you may have a heart attack (I finished a race twenty minutes before this review and my heart is still pounding), basically this game is a must rent even a great buy because the only real drawback is the rubberband A.I. that always seem to be right behind you no matter what and if you have played Forza 3 be prepared for no rewind button which sucks at times, but it sure does make you try your hardest to stay focused and hope for some luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Challenging but frustrating

posted by RMLDS1 (MESA, AZ) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I had very high hopes after playing the demo for Split/Second. The graphics are stunning and explosions quite nice. Yet you will face an unforgiving AI the first few "episodes" as the game breaks the levels up into are quite well balanced and enjoyable. Yet within a few short episodes that changes. You will always drive an inferior car. So you will have to rely on timing your power plays right to stand a chance. That being said though the AI wont crash when striking other cars or nick guardrails you will. Most levels require a flawless execution of skill. So if you are a perfectionist this is the racing game for you.

Pros:
Beautiful graphics
Music is okay
Plays out like a TV show (very well put together)
Controls are very good

Cons:
You will never really get a leg up in terms of cars
The AI will ramp up very quick
Crash detection is very sensitive in later episodes
No ability to boost or use NOS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great graphics, decent gameplay

posted by Franco (DOWNEY, CA) May 31, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

When i first popped in the disc and was watching the loading screen fill up with fiery debris I was already starting to think this game might surpass Burnout in terms of racing/destruction. As soon as I started playing however I realized how stupid the concept of the game was. It is supposed to be a brawler racer yet you can't directly crash into opponents to take them out, which in my opinion is the best way to get ahead. Instead of allowing you to slam into opponents and send them crashing into a wall you have to do boring things like drifting and drafting behind opponents to earn the points necessary to enable what is known as a "power play". This basically sets up traps on the track and sometimes wrecks opponents, though I found out that you have be pretty familiarized with the track to time the power play perfectly and actually get a hit. It's a shame that they don't allow for actual takedowns because the graphics are great and could have been an awesome game. I'm probably just going to race a few more laps and send it back to gamefly. I'm much too busy playing other great games at the moment to waste time on this mediocre racer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

new age of racing i hope

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) May 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I played the demo of this game on xbox live it was fantastic top notch
i might even buy it sometime it was that fun great job

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A lot of fun at first.

posted by yknom2 (TAMPA, FL) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game! It had the perfect combination of explosions and racing; but that's all it is, they only have a few types of explosions and it get reeeeeeally boring after a while. It's not even worth getting all of the cars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by 3601998 (BURLINGTON, CT) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

to all those people who r saying the ai r cheap or its hard toget new cars a track maby tha mans u need partic i found the ai were the just diffect not to easy to beat but not to hard suvils air stirk and the where u kill the heil are great addtion to just the othe plan game mode thw cars a great and there is great vario over them hte look great the sun even glints of the cars suppful adddlen pumping and the frist game in a long time were i jumped up and sremp as i won by last the a second

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by xboxmaniac (DAYTON, OH) May 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

i have not gotten the game yet but i have played the demo. i am normally not into racing games but this one has explosions:).i played the demo for 2 hours in a row cause it is so awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrid ripoff of Burnout Revenge

posted by RocKrawler (SHREVEPORT, LA) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

Its a very bad copy of Burnout Revenge, but none of the great gameplay, soundtracks, graphics or fun features of the original. I am SO glad I rented this before buying it. If you havent tried Burnout Revenge, that would be the game to rent or buy, and pass on this epic fail imitator.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Split/Second

posted by crazydriver (MCKENZIE BRIDGE, OR) Jun 26, 2014

Member since May 2014

The game is fun, enjoy making others cash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's okay...for about 20 minutes

posted by MrHaru (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jan 17, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

Now mind you it's not that this game is bad. It is BY NO MEANS a bad game. I forget the review that stated this, but the quote went like "Split Second only has one trick up its sleeve, but at least it's a very good trick." and for the most part that's actually true. The EXPLOSIONS (or I basically call it the summoning of Michael Bay) that sell this game are what set it apart and it actually changes the game quite thoroughly compared to other racers (or kart racers if you talk strictly about racers that use items).

However after going through 4 full "episodes" (Of which each episode has 5 events in each) I just felt like the game was a chore. After going through these events, I had only seen what felt like the exact same 3 tracks over and over. Doing the races themselves isn't that hard to achieve first place in, but if you're doing the "Elite" race then expect some serious Mario-Kart tier rubberbanding. It's very frustrating. Did you know F-150-sized trucks are faster than sports cars? Apparently Split/Second thinks so.

Anyways, the events other than races are either downright ridiculous on timing for first place (like Detonator, which I hate) or just...off (like the missions where you avoid missiles or red barrels). I don't like either of those because the splash damage of explosions feels off. You can literally drive into a falling barrel or missile but it won't hurt you at all: you drive off like it was just a small shockwave. But if you so much as sneeze near the direction of an explosion that occurs 20 meters away from you: BAM your car is wrecked.

It makes no sense.

...and as much fun as I was having with the game, I always had to force myself to get back into it for some reason. Eventually the game just became a chore and honestly if a game is making me feel like it's a chore then it's not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse