Rent Split/Second for PS3
view large frontback

Split/Second

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

3845 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blowing up opponents make this racer a blast

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) May 30, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

19 out of 19 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

"Split/Second", the newest racer from Disney Interactive, is a blast to play. Literally. Fill up your meter by drafting, drifting, and jumping, and then you can trigger an event to take out your rivals. This does take a bit of timing, however. Trigger the event too close to yourself and your car becomes a smoldering wreck. There are plenty of varied environments through the 12 episodes to race through and cause mayhem in- construction sites, cities, power plants, shipyards, and airplane graveyards. Some of the scenery does repeat, and it's nothing very innovative, but there are plenty of hazards to trigger. Graphics are fairly good, with the environments being nicely detailed and the particle effects with the smoke, flames, and explosions is well done. One problem for some may be the light glare- it can make things difficult to see at times. Also, when things do start going boom around you, you may find yourself distracted by the mayhem and plow into a wall. It's a minor complaint, though, and it does force you to pay attention. There are plenty of cars to unlock (like the Burnout series the cars are all fictional) and the events to race in are varied- standard races, time trials with a twist, eliminators, aerial attacks (dodge those missiles!), aerial revenge (Throw missiles back!), and each episode has an elite race, which you normally have to place 3rd or better to advance to the next episode. The cars handle fairly well, though there is the occassional slowdown. The problem is that while fun, after a few episodes it does get repetitive. If your penchant for blowing things up and wrecking cars is great, this may be worth the purchase, as there is a fair amount of gameplay here (72 events are spread out in the career mode, then there's multiplayer, both off and online). However, if you find you get bored with repetition, then this would fare better as a rental. Either way, it's worth the look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Arcade racing and over the top destruction

posted by zombieorc (GRASS VALLEY, CA) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the very definition of over the top arcade racer. Pulling off dangerous driving maneuvers such as drifting or drafting other cars will build up a power gauge which can be used to detonate elements in the environment that (if timed correctly) will destroy the other racers.
You can compete in several events ranging from the classic race and elimination formulas, to new events such as demolition where you race against the clock while the track explodes all around you while you try to survive to the finish line. In another event you will try to race past semi trucks that try and drop explosive barrels and blow your car up.
The controls in Split/Second are tight and simplistic. R2 will accelerate your car while L2 applies the brakes. Tapping L2 causes your car to drift and your drifts can be controlled by slightly adjusting R2 while drifting. The face buttons triggers the explosions that are called power plays. However simplistic the controls may seem the timing involved in controlling drifts and executing power plays adds a lot of depth to the game play. Although fans of hardcore racers my find these controls a little too simplistic, fans of games like burnout will feel right at home here.
The graphics in Split/Second are great. The explosions and destruction are well rendered and look fantastic when tearing down the track. The cars are also well rendered and the reflections on each car dynamically change depending on your cars surrounding. Car destruction is also very satisfying as when they are destroyed they explode into a million pieces and go flying all over the track. There are also tons of unlock able cars that all possess different stats and handle differently. You can change the colors of your cars to what ever you like in between events.
Split/Second is an enjoyable racing game for those who like arcade racers and over the top destruction. Although some hardcore racing fans may find this game a little too unrealistic for their tastes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Real Blast!

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was really hyped about this game and I wasn't disapointed! To me this is a combination of Burnout and Stuntman. The driving physics are awesome and drifting is as simple as tapping the break then controlling your gas. I have no clue why some people say the grapics suck but they are awesome! I just love triggering a route changing power play from far away then see it unfold when I approach. What I really like in single player is to see an instant replay of the event and see it crush the other cars. I also love the survival events where you dodge barrels being dropped off the back of semis. You only get points when you pass each truck. It keeps you on your toes and can really help with hand eye cordination.

But heres a few downsides to it and I know others have said it. I would not recommend playing online unless you complete and unlock all the cars. If you jump on early you will face people who have and always use the top 3 cars since they are the fastest. At the beginning of the race they will be out of range of any power play real early in the race. I was expecting that regardless of the car you could use the powerplays to keep it close but thats not the case. Some people complain about how hard it is to control the fastest elite car but its all about throtle control and not drifting. Just let go of the gas going around a trun then slowly get back on the gas. Hit it too hard then you will start to drift. Drifting is flashy and does gain energy but if your opponent gets away then the powerplay is almost useless. Most races are mostly elite cars. Use it if you want to keep up.

Also it is true racing the same tracks over and over you pretty much know where all the powerplays are so you can avoid them but what keeps it excting is that you don't know if or when it will trigger. Thats what really kept me playing. Pretty much no 2 races are the same.

Overall it's an excellent racing title. BlackRock did an awesome job!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

For now, forget the online multiplayer!

posted by RiptideGTX (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Many people are having problems getting in the races from the so-called lobby. The countdown timer keeps resetting/trying to sync and then the race starts WITHOUT you. I tried for 3 hours last night trying to get in ONE race to no avail. Black Rock Studios has promised a patch "within days" but don't hold your breath. I was able to get in 3 consecutive races before the game froze up on me SEVERAL times, prompting a hard reboot (hold the power button on the PS3 to turn it off). At this rate, I'll get a form 1 rating around the year 2017. The offline career mode is quite frustrating IMO (see Beat the Team challenges & good luck with that!) and the AI rubber-banding is one of the worst I've seen.

The racing & car handling is actually FUN but many of the Detonator races require retry after retry and in my case, to no avail.

I also had problems getting 1st in the Survival & Airstrike modes, but maybe that's just me. I don't see getting the Platinum for this game.

Overall frame rate was OK to good and the sound effects were decent. This is no Burnout or NFS by any stretch of the imagination but it's a decent rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good game

posted by menser6 (DEFUNIAK SPRINGS, FL) Jun 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked the game alot but I wish you could free roam and blow the city up without racing but a pretty good game overall. Though there is no damage on your car untill you wreck unlike burnout paridise, which is a great game, I recomend you rent this game before you buy because you may not like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An explosive game!

posted by GeneralRed (NEW SMYRNA BEACH, FL) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would give this game an 8.5, but I had to round up to 9.

Pros: Great graphics, fun, lots of explosions, cool cars, and totally wack (lol) tracks.

Cons: AI can be idiots, and all endings end the same way (In 2nd and you use a powerplay to kill him and speed foward. Also, only OK online

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Split Second

posted by Henon77 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Split Second .... is Done by Disney Game I was VERY suprised cause when you think of Disney you think of Movie's not Games. was very inpressed at how well the game Lived up to it's name .. you realy do have a split Second to make a choice pick the Wrong Choice and you have totaled your car which is so fun to watch. just as with any other racing game the higher you get the game the better the cars gets. this game should be rated as 9.0 not 7.3 don't think cause Split second has a Low game rating that it sucks it is a well rounded and fast pase racing game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game, perfect for a rental

posted by kssjmorse (GROVER, MO) May 22, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

The game is a blast, great reason to have gamefly.

This is a pure arcade racer. No damage modeling, bounce off the walls all you want and bump other cars out of the way. The ability to trigger events that wreck your opponents or even change the race track definitely adds excitement. The racing is very engaging gets your adrenaline going. That being said, my gut tells me that after a while, when I learn the tracks it may start getting repetitive. I am sure multiplayer will help some. I believe this is a perfect rental game. I will probably rent it for 4 - 6 weeks, have a blast with it, return it, and be glad I did not pay $60 for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much like old school Burnout

posted by naughtypug (GLENDALE, CA) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Sep 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

A perfect rental. If you loved Burnout 3 Takedown or Burnout Revenge, this is your game.

The game play is simple, the tracks are rigged to blow all over and you takedown cars by building up the ability to detonate the explosives on the tracks by drifting and drafting and dodging explosions. Its that simple. Its that fun. I cant say I've been more pleasantly surprised by a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Racing Game You Can Get into!

posted by CustomSyst (UPPER CHICHESTER, PA) May 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Finally, a racing game with some serious rage behind it and the driver. This game seriously reminded me of that movie "Death Race." The thrill of the race doesn't come from how fast you drive, but getting through the race ok in first place. Did I forget to mention, it doesn't matter what position/or place your in; the driver behind you can reap havic on you if you don't play your cards right.

The only thing I don't like about this game, after awhile the game becomes predictable. Other than that, this game is frakin awesome! All the cars need now is weapons to be mounted on them to add more action. See yall online, look for CustomSystems!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

split seconds

posted by flipp2626 (COLUMBUS, OH) May 22, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

game is amazing and adictive , first played the demoe thought it was cool but once i got it home and played it there was alot more to it than just racing . blowing buildings up racing behind semis while there dropping out barrels of exsplosives, definatley rent this worth your time and money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Outstanding Game

posted by keiblerelf (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off for being a Disney game it was very intense and fast paced, so don't let he fact that it's a Disney game steer you away. The visuals were awesome, driving around tearing down a city is fun no matter how old you are. The only thing i felt didn't fit right were the couple trucks you unlock, I thought they were kinda pointless. Racing around a bunch of sports cars in a jeep with a lack of handling and acceleration seemed out of place. You do unlock quite a few different vehicles though. I had it for just over a week and got 1st in all the events, its frustrating but just too fun to put down. Early on in the game you can simply race and win without much need to use the "power plays" as the game calls them. Latter on though it's a must because 9 times out of 10 the opponents cars are faster than yours regardless of which one they're using. So the only way to win is learning the track and where the power plays are located. Definitely a fun game, great new twist on racing games with a means to wreck the opponents. Very original! 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Split Second: The time it took for me to likey!

posted by DBtheGmc (WASHINGTON, DC) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is great, the controls were universally easy and those who are new to racing games (i.e. my wife.) pick up on the controls and the rules fairly quickly. It reminds me of how when "Need for Speed" first came out and within hours everyone was around the TV itching for their turn. That's how awesome it is.

Presenting the story as a television show was an awesome idea, I mean what other reason could there be for everything to be blowing up on a race track right? Terrorism? The Graphics are beautiful yet believable. At times it can get hard, but it's immediately re-playable.

If you are looking for a game that you can just jump into without having to paint your car, fix it up, run a lap in order to buy more stuff, then this is for you. If not? then go play Gran Turismo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game!

posted by HYETECH215 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) May 22, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let me first start off. Many would compare this to Burnout because of the custom cars but thats where they end. Burnout is an open world and Split/Second is closed. The graphics aren't better that Burnout in my opinion but they still look fantastic. The use of exploding environment is something new. Fun but who knows for how long. They have DLC that can unlock all the stages and cars for $$$. What happened to doing everything yourself? Pity. Recommend this game but definitely waiting to play Blur!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Split/Second

posted by Rahziel420 (ARCATA, CA) Jun 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game looks GREAT! but plays like a racer out of the '90s. The power plays have excellent effects, And the physics are more like Ridge Racer. opponents slam you all over as you fight to keep up with much faster cars. don't get me wrong, the first 5 episodes were fun.... then the A.I. shows its omnipotence. Audio/Visual - 9/10 Game play - 4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best racing game ever

posted by meche2k (LAKE CHARLES, LA) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

S/S is by far the best and most involved linear racing game I have ever played. It's like Grid on steroids. The most fun you'll ever have playing a racing game not called twisted metal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Burnout meets 2012 promo

posted by mannyloona (MORGANTOWN, WV) May 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Has anyone seen the trailer for the movie 2012? In that trailer, a family is in a limo driving for their lives to an airport as buildings fall around them and the Earth shakes underneath them. Now, take that visual image, replace the limo and the surround cars with the game Burnout and you have Split/Second.

Racing around a track as your entire environment falls and detonates around is extremely intense and will satisfy any inch you've been craving since the original Burnout Paradise.

Definitely a must rent, if not a must buy if you love arcade style/extreme racing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Split Second

posted by MaMaFlip (EL PASO, TX) May 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

is pretty beast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ALL FLASH NO SUBSTANCE

posted by munkt0r (PALATINE, IL) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game looks great. It feels great too.

Problem is, there is no substance to it. Basically, you sit in 3rd position the whole race then blow up the racers in front of you on the final lap and speed to victory.

In all fairness I played for less than an hour, but if a game can't make me WANT to play for more than an hour, it isn't worth bothering with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Split/Second is the Boom

posted by Tman96 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) May 18, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Split/Second is awsome cars are cool , so the track , and the gameplay is awsome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

U cant use your wheel on SplitSecond!

posted by NerdHerder (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Theres no controller config and the default config gas and brake is set to the buttons on my GT logitech WHEEL not my pedals......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible Burnout Wannabe

posted by geedup6 (DELTONA, FL) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game is a copycat of Burnout and Super Mario Kart but a terrible one at that. The game is lagging behind Burnout for graphics, car handling, and originality and lags behind Mario Kart in fun. Save yourself some time and just rent Mario Kart or Burnout they are better in every category. What's sad is that this game just came out and yet the graphics and gameplay are worse than Burnout's from over 2 years ago! If I had bought this game, I would be furious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Burning Out and Down

posted by October30 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) May 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Burnout Paradise is cheaper, and much better. Disney should stick to Kingdom Hearts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by R8er4evr (ROSEVILLE, CA) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

After waiting 4 days to get this game, it didnt work. i couldn't move the car, and thought it was my controller at first. but my controller worked well with my other games. Wasted a week getting this and having to send it back because it didnt work. Totally not worth my time paying for something and not getting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun for a second

posted by Nutzlos (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) May 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

Graphics look decent but the game gets old after 3-4 races/events

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse