Rent Splatterhouse for PS3
view large frontback

Splatterhouse

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.8

1881 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

give it a chance

posted by carrion (JUPITER, FL) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

38 out of 39 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

when i first started playing it i thought the fighting system was boring and the health was just ridiculous.
I found myself extremely bored the next day so i popped it in again. Turns out once you start leveling up and learning proper strategies the game becomes rather addictive.

the voice acting is great and often had me laughing out loud. the story is a bit typical but fun. The settings are eerie at times and entertaining. There's a tone of gore. The game play is fun in a violent and sadistic way.

There were a few problems i had with the game. The game had some platforming aspects to it that i just don't think the controls lent themselves to very well. Also, some of the checkpoints were a bit obnoxious. There are some more difficult bits in the game and some sections i would have to play over several times. This was made more annoying by the obnoxiously long load screens.

all in all i really enjoyed myself with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why Did I Love This Game?

posted by RDubya (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jan 8, 2011

Member since Jan 2005

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I shouldn't have liked Splatterhouse as much as I did. The loading times are excessive, the gameplay is repetitive, and frustrating sequences are strewn throughout the game. And yet, in spite of everything, I loved the game.

I'm not entirely sure why, but I'd wager part of it had to do with the brutal combat, which lets you rip, tear, and slice monsters into little pieces. It's really satisfying. I'd also say that the banter between Rick and the Terror Mask was always worth coming back to. Jim Cummings is great as the Mask, and it's hilarious listening to this evil artifact cheering Rick on when he murders something or mock Rick's love for his girlfriend. The Mask always comes off as a bit world-weary when he's delivering exposition, which gives the impression that the Mask is more than just a homicidal entity after all.

The side-scrolling stages are a bit rough, but ironically, the first of them is probably the most brutal, and they get a bit easier after that. While they feature a lot of cheap deaths and can be all the more frustrating due to the long loading times you'll suffer if you do die, they are quite honestly nowhere near as difficult as the stages in the first two Splatterhouses. If you don't believe me, all three classic games are there on the disc. Anyway, it was a good idea to bring about a change of pace in this way, but had the controls been tighter these side-scrolling stages would have been more fun.

Ultimately, Splatterhouse is, just like its 16-bit predecessors, more than the sum of its parts. It's gotten trashed pretty heavily by the critics, but if all you want is to punch zombies in the face while death metal blares in the background, this game is all you need.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A very decent game

posted by lebmalkire23 (TAMPA, FL) May 22, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is not as bad as everybody is bashing it. I never played the original, but the developers certainly tried to appeal to those players in addition to to the newer graphics. Yes, the graphics are sub-par to todays standard, but the music more than makes up for it. If you hate heavy-metal, then yes, don't rent this game, but there are some very good artists such as Five Finger Death Punch and Hatebreed that make the mindless gore-fest very tolerable and enjoyable. I never liked metal but this game made me want to download the soundtrack. It is also a very easy platinum, 2 playthroughs. Give it a shot, if anything, 6 hours and then it is back in the mail. It still delivers a solid storyline with gameplay appeal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Splatterhouse Rocks!

posted by RpgGamer4Ever (NASHWAUK, MN) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first got the game from gamefly I thought that the game was going to be an ok game. But as I got further in the game and understood and got hooked on the storyline I loved it. It's a great game to let out your frustration out if your having a bad day. Also the game play is just almost identical to GOW games which is really awesome. Great game! Highly Reccomended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Splatterhouse

posted by Slayer123 (LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is simply awesome! However, most of us have limits when we either have to click the mute button and continue playing. For me, I loved every minute of this game until I reached the halfway point. This game wore me out. This game is the kind of game a true horror fan would love to play. If you truly want to be scared try playing the game in the dark.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

6 hours to kill house

posted by zargot (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 15, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This was exactly what I expected but I gave it a play anyways. The controls were fine for a hack and slash title, though sometimes when moving from one area to another the controls wouldn't change and you would end up moving the opposite direction. Music was like going to a heavy metal concert so no complaints there if you are a fan. Graphics were off and on good. Some areas the graphics looked primitive while in others, good example the load screens, they were excellent and scary to look at. Story line was what you expect from a gory hack and slash game. Full of violence, language and nudity so if you are into that you might like this game.

The game is pretty short, only 6-7 hours long, but does different difficulties to unlock and attempt. Most of the game is third person but you will also find yourself in 2d side scrolling during the game as well. Everything about this game is really old news, its all been done and gets quite boring pretty quickly. You will find little challenge in the mindless hack and slash with the gallons and gallons of blood covering the screen with what seems every strike you land. Collect blood as experience points to distribute on learning abilities or adding to health. Collect mild to graphic picture pieces of your girlfriend for some added excitement.

All in all a 6 is the top of the line rating I was willing to give to this particular game. I thank gamefly for letting em try this one out and now they can have it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game for HPlovecraft readers and horror fans

posted by spajables (HAMBURG, NY) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Splatterhouse is a well designed game. The setting fits the story line well and the combat is more enjoyable as you progress further in the game. Some faulty sound during ingame cutscenes but dosen't ruin the game at all.

My favorite part is that the game dosen't take it's self too seriously yet still has that frighting horror movie element. A classic made well with the side scroll run and jump classic gaming experince at some parts making a good mix of between the brutal combat.

I also love how the levels are brought to life. Each level feels like your experiencing a horror storie, espcially the connection to HP Lovecraft. Which to macabre fan like me finds very satisfiying. Overall a very unique game and I give it a 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't Listen to Reviews.

posted by erocker (SYRACUSE, NY) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2004

24 out of 31 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I know a lot of people are talking about how bad it is, and for some people that might be the case, but i for one, bought it on day one and do NOT regret it. I was ready for a brudal insanely gorey game and its what i got, so if thats what you want, a game full of blood and action with different weapons that brutaly chainsaw in half monster, or 2 by 4 w/ nails their heads off...Another great addition, is splatterkills, being able to do a series of buttons to rip a monster in half, or rip his head, or arms off is just entertaining!
All in all if you are looking for a fun late night game, with extreme gore, awesome weapons, and a story all in one, SPLATTERHOUSE is the way to go!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Yeah it has gore but

posted by bryrune (HAYWARD, CA) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

So I'm sending back a PS3 copy of the game and had a great time with it, sure the storyline wasn't the most intense thing ever, but can anyone answer this question, is the mask a reflection of Rick or is it just the mask? Subtle hints and odd character development are dropped throughout the game if one is so inclined to pay fing attention. IE Jenny asks what he is really like behind the mask. Don't listen to the haters who have played to much fallout (not that I haven't) the world isn't flavored with just one form of ice-cream splaughterhouse is sweet, if not for the button mashing and over the top gore and dismembering yeah dismembering the frog thing is disturbing, then for the mask cracking jokes and making fun of everything. Sure the camera was week, the critters were normalish, and the mechanics were clunckey, but so you have to ask yourself this

Did I just have fun

If it's yes then you just found a great game maybe not to buy but at least give an over sized hulking demon possessed white boy a chance will ya?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Exactly what i expected.

posted by AFODream (WHITESTONE, NY) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I have been waiting for this game to come out ever since i heard they were remaking it. I used to play the original on my friends turbo graphic 16 when i was a kid.

Everything that made the original such a legend is here, a campy b movie storyline and tons of gore. The game play is addictive a quick paced button smasher with combos and power ups.

Its not a game up to par with some of the bigger titles out. the graphics and level design are reminiscent of the original in a nostalgic kind of way.

The game didn't disappoint me and i would recommend it to anyone besides the sound track kicks butt all by itself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Here is the deal with Splatterhouse

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Dec 2, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Splatterhouse is a Game you have to put time in the Game so you can see what the game has to offer'' Playing the frist Level then Trash the Game is noo darn Review- You have to buy Upgrades then when you have this plus put time in the story and the game you will see Splatterhouse is a Good Game. Splatterhouse starts off slow when i was playing at frist i did not like it- But after the frist Level it is a Great Game- It is a Shame most will never find out they will Toss the Game and put in COD- Give Splatterhouse a Chance beat the Game then give a Review on it- LiKE duh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is a Slasher, not Oblivion or an RPG

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Nov 26, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When most people start playing Splatterhouse they say, "Where's the storyline? Seriously, rescue the girlfriend?" Okay so the storyline is a bit dumb, but dude its a Slasher videogame, not an RPG chock full of plot. Here is my righteus review:

Gameplay: Enviroments are varied, but it's all night. Don't expect a Resident Evil-esque horror gameplay. Sure the game has its freaky moments when a demon pops out a' nowhere but it's not like Resident Evil whereas every hallway is dimly lit and thunder crackles in the distance.

Storyline: This is why i gave it only a 9. The storyline was no so great, but hey, it's a slasher game, not an RPG. Slashers are where you just get to maul over foes, which is pretty much what u do Splatterhouse (hence the name).

Sound/Graphics: Pretty darn good. The Graphics/Sound quality isn't as good as CoD4 or FO3, but its nice to actually be immersed in the enviroments.

Conclusion: All in all, SPlatterhouse is an excellent game when your girlfriend just broke up with you and you need some hours to just let out your anger. Put in Splatterhouse and you can just say those freaky demons are all your girlfriend. Have fun!

:foodndrink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

old game

posted by brett098 (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Jan 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this games from the old console turbo graphix 16 if anyone old enough remembers.the graphix are alot better than the old on,plus more gore is in it. i liked it alot,it was very entertaining to play.but if u dont remember it than i guess it would be kinda boring to you.but all in all it was a good game not the best but good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not for everyone

posted by THEPFAT (KEY LARGO, FL) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

So I got the game and I am honestly quite disappointed. Now this game will definetely be RIGHT up some peoples alley but not mine. The story is simple, which is not a big deal...save your girl. I can work with that. The graphics are pretty good. Not fantastic but still good enough to not be annoying. The levels are well made look nice. The dialog is funny yet repititious. What I don't like about this game is the lack of alteration through the game...demon...button mash....demon.....button mash.....demon.....you get the point. I like some challenge and some variance through the game...this doesn't have it. There are weapons and stuff throughout the game but the break quickly and leave you hanging. Also the BIGGEST thing I disliked was the checkpoints...they are scarce. You get through some serious battles only to get sideswiped and die...now you go back 15-20 minutes and do it again. Also the controls are a bit glitchly do to the angles of the rooms/hallways and such. Overall not terrible but not for me at all. If you like button mashing this is your game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

You've got to be kidding me, right?

posted by Ixahinon (DES MOINES, IA) Mar 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is unfortunate for me, that I am a trophy lunatic. If I load a game on to my main account, I simply must have all trophies. It is also unfortunate for me that I was stupid enough to load Splatterhouse on to my main account, as this game was mindbogglingly horrifying..and not in a good sense.

There is something to be said for a game in which you can beat using nothing but the throw button, except on mini bosses, and level bosses. When I managed to get my grab skill at max..I spent 70% of the game on hard mode, and ALL of Super Hard mode mashing the grab button, ripping off arms..and instantly killing them doing such. Then I found that I had their arm as a weapon. I was shocked to see how powerful the arm actually is. Two hits, on the hardest setting, and even the tough fodder went down permanently. Where is the challenge in this game?

Or, perhaps and even better question, where is the plot? The end of the game left a LOT to be desired. There IS no end boss...well, there is..but you don't actually get to lay a finger on him, as the fight consists of a really, really pointless cutscene.

This game left a great deal to be desired. If you are a splatterhouse fan, you'll probably go to sleep with the CD in your hands at at night..if you are a sensible splatterhouse fan? You'll wonder why they slaughtered this game so badly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

15 minutes and I was done...

posted by Tirade (GLENDALE, CA) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Opening cinematic was mildly entertaining - I like that they didn't try to explain too much.

Next, action begins, my toon starts way overpowered, I guess to show how awesome the game is going to be later. Then all my powers are stripped away. Why do all god of war clones do this? How about just make the game fun from the start?

Next, I run up some stairs, down a hallway, into a room, demons start jumping in, swarming me. I have played a dozen of these types of games, I start tapping out all the normal combos. Controls are clumsy, health drains too fast, I die.

"You are a f--king Loser!" the game shouts as the death screen comes up.

Wait for 30 seconds, way too long, bad sign.

Demons swarm me again, I start siphoning health this time, dodging, jumping, still not enough, my punches are not connecting, I can't seem to hit a target, 5 demons hitting me at once. I die.

"You are a f--king Noob! the game shouts as the death screen comes up.

Pop the disc out, back in the envelope, back to Gamefly, I win.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Splatterhouse is a

posted by rapini (ROSELLE, IL) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Slaughterhouse might be OK for people who want to mash buttons on demon after demon with no thought or strategy. The game has gore and average graphics but contrary to other reviews, the weapons suck and break after very brief use. I believe the weapons were added as an after thought because the game was so repetitious.

Also, the blood on the camera lens has been done and it sucked then and still sucks now! Rent only do not buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OMG

posted by Jacanda07 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

One word. BLOOOOOOOODDDDDD. This game was only made for the soul purpose of releasing pent up anger and frustration, and to satisfy a blood thirst rage without going to jail. And definitely not for the weak at heart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ShatterHouse

posted by TJDelReno (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

One of the worst games I have ever laid my hands on. Cheap deaths and then a minute load screen after every respawn! EVERY RESPAWN! I spent an hour waiting for the game to reload and fifteen minutes trying to jump an anvil over a chasm. This game sucks and I hope Jenny your girlfriend is dead in the end and this was all for nothing.

Hey Bandai stick to Power Rangers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

VARYGoodGame if YOUhaveTheRight tast

posted by Kratos_man (SEFFNER, FL) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

i vary Much injoyed my self with this game so miny haters f em the story was strong fulling up the skill tree is a must cuz it maked the experience that much better And heck go for the kill 5 enemies in one second trophie BRONZE i got it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Are you kidding me?

posted by Sethmac75 (SEYMOUR, IN) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Well all I can say is it was a nice try. The graphics are the only good thing about this game. The fighting was repetitive and the acting well all the mask seems to say is "f' this and "f" that... although it does pay homage to the original splatter house I just was not impressed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Splatterhouse...Eh....

posted by hotblackd33 (AURORA, CO) Nov 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Splatterhouse everything that the title suggests...vulgar, messy, potty-humored mayhem...which I can dig, but will only go so far. Let me qualify by saying I haven't completed the game, but to be real I will be sending it back because I don't have the desire to. I get the idea. It doesn't diversify the action very much, and even the upgrades don't show any marked character improvement. I'm not saying that Splatterhouse is a bad game, but for my dime it could have been more creative a title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bloody

posted by shinvegeta (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this really could have been better the game is definetly for mature audiences though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Would have been a lot cooler...sucks/cool?/sucks?

posted by BURZUM (TROY, AL) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

I've been having major trouble with this title, because it is hard to get the buttons down and not get killed so quickly. I'm a few levels into the game, the artwork/graphics are cool, and seems like it has potential except for how difficult it can be and the fact that if you don't get through far enough into a level the Autosave feature will not help you.

I'm actually taking a break from this one for now, but will pick it up again to play & see if I get any further. It's a funny game with its vulgarity and excessive blood & gore, but just mad difficult. I got sick of watching the loading screen longer than actual gameplay from repeatedly dying. If I keep dying again I'm sending it back, which stinks because I really was looking forward to playing this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just press square

posted by sajuggalo (CANASERAGA, NY) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i wasnt expecting much but this has got to be the worst game ive ever played 45 minutes in and my thumbs were killing my from all the "button mashing" but if your a metal head the background music is great
and remember to check out the ashbath. c o m/fraudcast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse