Rent Spiderwick Chronicles for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Spiderwick Chronicles

Not Rentable
Also on:DS, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
6.0

494 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

GOOD AND BAD

posted by ESTEP541 (COOS BAY, OR) Apr 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I LIKE THE QUICKIE ACHIEVEMENT POINTS THAT YOU GET PLAYING THIS GAME. THE STORY IS CUTE AND I HAVE NOT YET SEEN THE MOVIE, BUT THAT DID NOT MAKE A DIFFERENCE TO ME IN THE GAME PLAY. THE CAMERA SOMETIMES SUCKS AND I CANNOT FIND THE STUPID LITTLE PIG GUY TO FINISH THE GAME! I AM STUCK AT 91% DONE AND AM PO'ED! IT WAS AN EASY PLAY AND WAS FUN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever Created

posted by MehdiN (LAKE MARY, FL) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

6 out of 17 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

Like most other movie games like Transformers, Harry Potter series and spiderman. This game takes those games to a whole new level. First Play the game, get half way, go watch the movie and then come back and finish it off. It truly redefined the way I play games. It is family friendly yet has some extrememly adult themes. It is the perfect balance and anyone, any age, any race, any religion can play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good game

posted by annarborjack (ANN ARBOR, MI) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The game stays loyal to the movie. The movie is not very loyal to the books, but this game is based on the movie, and it follows okay. There are some things you do not in the movie, but they have every action scene in the movie, and add more so you have more things to do. Although the story mode is very short, I beat it in 3 hours on Normal. The graphics are also very good. After you finish the story mode, you can complete the field guide to complete the story mode and see the last cutscene, but I haven't 100% completed the game I don't know who has. I don't know what the last cutscene is and what happens after you complete the field guide. I would, if you are renting this game off here, just send the game back after you finished the story mode like I did, but if you really want to try to complete the field guide, go ahead. I would definitely rent this game if your a fan of the Spiderbook books and movie like I am.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

REALLY COOL GAME!!!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

I THINK THIS GAME IS AWESOME & WELL I PLAYED THIS GAME ON THE WII BEFORE TO AND THAT GAME REALLY SUCKED CAUSE THE CONTROLS WERE JUST HORRABLE & I JUST THOUGHT THAT IF I PLAYED IT ON XBOX360 IT WOULD BE MUCH BETTER & TO ME IT IS ALRIGHT....WELL THANX!!!I WILL SEND IT BACK SOON OK BYE!!!!!

KELLY HARVANEK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Spiderwick Chronicles on Xbox 360

posted by macarser (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I enjoyed this game myself. It is rather short, took me only two days to complete the entire game, and although I do not have all of the achievements pinged, I do plan on going back and finishing up Chapter 8, which is finishing up the rest of the Field Guide and getting them. Playing as the four different characters all with their own unique weapons added a little spin to the game, even if I never did take advantage of any of the unlocked attacks. It's definitely on par with Where The Wild Things Are as far as family friendly. The quick fast-pace multiplayer contests you get unlocked upon completion of the game were fun despite the simpleness of them. The map is mostly linear, however there are a few places you could tend to get lost on since they are wide open fields, and I had to lookup a guide to get me past them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short but very good

posted by crystalS (POOLER, GA) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

ima girl thats 21 and just really started playing games so i have to work on my skills but ive seen the movie lol (with my 3 year old son) and its not as long as i would have liked it to be(the game) but there were some things that i dont think i couldve done without the help of gamefaqs com which is an awesome website if you need help with a game. the last level was really intense. this game was harder for me to beat than pirates of the carrabian at worlds end. by the way was an awesome game also and very detailed that one took me a while longer to beat. But i recomend it to all ages it says ten and up but it was hard for me to beat it without help and there were also narrated excerts from the movie in the game which was cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Frustrating Sierra Game

posted by tanderson (PORT ORANGE, FL) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

My husband warned me that the name "Sierra" is synonymous with frustration. And I found it to be true. There were some fun moments with this game, and the fantasy nature of it is very appealing, but there wasn't enough plot to hold my interest, despite the fact that I've seen the movie and liked it. I am 26, a little old for this game, which may have been the reason I lost interest. But primarily, there were lots of frustrating "fetch this, fetch that, go ALL the way back and get this thing." That kind of play is laborious. In the scenes where you play as thimbletack you have to navigate through some very confusing and frustrating mazes. I felt so disoriented that I had to quit several times.

I wanted to try this game for an easy-play, nice on the eyes game with a great storyline, but it seems that Sierra made it a little too complicated for my purposes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for Kids or Just wanting to relax

posted by VampXand (GARLAND, TX) Jan 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

The game is very easy to follow and straight forward. Great for kids of all ages. Even if you want to take a break from the normal shooters or rpgs, this is a relaxed game that is simple to play. One the other hand, I personally would not buy this game, and it is easy to beat in a normal renting time. I beat it within a few hours. It wasn't too short, but it wasn't long at all. I have not seen the movie, but the storyline flowed quite well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it A+

posted by emtp911 (FLINT, TX) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Loved the game, easy to play and follow.
First movie game I have played. Looking to play others now and hope they are as fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A+

posted by ClericAzrl (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Oct 14, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I loved this game. Seriously... Normally, Movie games suck, but i was pleasantly surprised with this one. The graphics were really good and the controls weren't to terribly hard to get used to. The achievements were all attainable for it's target age group and actually fun to get. The only reason I wouldn't give it 10/10 is I couldn't skip the cut scenes. Since I've already seen the movie, I didn't really need to see it again in the cut scenes. Overall though, I really enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent, but time consuming...

posted by defiant2nx (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Not a bad game, particularly if you enjoyed the movie even slightly. Achievements are easy though I didn't get them all. Collecting can be a pain and the game doesn't track everything you have to collect, so it's hard to know where your progress is on certain items (collecting sprites, to be specific). Worth a look but all in all definitely a rental and not worth owning. I'd rank this somewhere below the best of the Harry Potter games, better than the worst of them (Goblet of Fire).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad for a kids game

posted by BigBiscuit (BOWLING GREEN, KY) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game was o.k. for a game based on a kids movie. I liked the different actions with each character you play, and the quests were fun, but the game was over WAY too quick. I think i finished this in one day of leisurely playing. I could of gone through and gone all the minute things to get %100, but didnt feel like chasin a bunch of bugs for the rest of the day.
If ya feel like wasting a day or 2 playing a game, then give it a try, but don't expect more than that.

It would get a better score, except that it was so short, and there is absolutly no replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No thanks

posted by DILLIGAFRX (CENTREVILLE, VA) Jun 6, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

This is nothing but a boring collect-a-thon made with last-gen graphics. I found nothing reedemable when I played it and sent it back the next day or so. This isn't even worth it for achievement hunters, fair dinkum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

For Fans Only

posted by Atziluh (FORT WAYNE, IN) May 24, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I've been trying to give all these smaller games a chance to really catch me with good stories, fun fundamentals, and entertainment.

This game is very short. You can literally do everything there is to do in about 4 hours. If you're looking for an adventure game, I would look elsewhere as this is more a short excursion game.

Graphically, the framerate is running nice and high, creating a smoothness to nearly everything in the game. However, depending on where you move your camera to, you may see lots of open spaces in walls and objects.

The soundtrack for this game was quite enjoyable. Definitely the high point of the game.

Story followed pretty well with its source material.

The game play is pretty fun when you run around smacking goblins with a bat, but that's the start and end of things. I wouldn't buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

kind of boring and tedious but decent

posted by kevinwpbfl (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) May 21, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

decent enough game, especially for the kids of the book and movie. does a fairly good job of telling the story and explaining the characters.
its just that in order to find the true ending of the movie, one must do all tasks and meet all objectives, which are not hard they are just tedious and i dont know if too many of the kids that this game is aimed at will take the time to try and finish the whole game
the good part of the game is that if you happen to miss an objective or cant find something you are able to progress in the game, after the ending of the game(chapter 7)all the areas unlock and the characters do as well and you are able to free roam to complete all the objectives.
its not a long game by any stretch though, it just felt long.
the achievements are easy to get as well, probably takes 8-9 hours to get all 1000 points

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Suprisenly good

posted by Bigbad (SARASOTA, FL) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2003

I was suprised at this game. I thought it would be typical movie badsed game fare. But it has a good story, good quests and addictive collections. It is not just and easy 1000 gamerscore. I enjoyed it. But it is deffinetly a rent and not a buy for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Spiderwick Chronicles ( xbox360)

posted by elflord75 (CLERMONT, FL) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2004

WOW what a waste of time !! This game is just plain WEIRD and made by people who too rush this game out, no matter what!! It follows the movie O.K>ish I guess and the graphics are o.k. But what happened too the controls and the lack of camera use ?? Oh and a jump button would have been nice instead of trying too run fast (in a straight line) then somehow swerving off too the left or right and missing your target completely.
VERY FRUSTRATING !!
Let me try too explain a jump too as the developers say is a jump. You hit the (supposedly) button that jumps and your character kinda does a hop in the air (about a quarter of a millimeter) than likes slides. WHAT THE HECK IS THAT KINDA JUMP??
Here I try too describe a fight. You see a goblin or whatever enemy coming at you and you swing your bat, trying too hit your target, oh wait I'm near the edge or a corner and I can't see.
Last but not least the infamous non existing map. So you take stroll out in the woods, oh I need something back at the house, HOW THE HECK DO I GET THERE ?????????????

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »