Rent Spider-Man: Web of Shadows for Wii
view large frontback

Spider-Man: Web of Shadows

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.5

773 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

spiderman web of shadows awwesome game

posted by dudeguy (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

as I played this game I knew it was gonna be good and it was the game was great but I did have a few problems 1 when you where doing a special web move if you did it wrong you might web sling to a building which is very annoying in case you are wondering there is no drug reffrence I have no idea why they said that but it must be because of wolverine I get this idea because in xmen origins they put drug reffrence but there was none so some of the reasons they rated it t were kind oof unncesary this is a great game buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game rocks but a bit easy

posted by reddilonis (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Most people do not like this game because of suit switching. This happens for two reasons.

1. shaky hands

2. do not hold side ways

I see this as the only flaw this game has perfect air wall ground attacks i prefer red though black is kinda slow. and bosses are fairly easy RENT OR BUY GAME ROCKS and barely any bad words

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my review of spidey wos for wii

posted by rnlstinger (AVON, CT) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i think this game is the most amazing game ever you can play as spidey in all different costumes it also has the best graghics in the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!so if i were you i would totally get this game. it rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by chickencow (CLEARFIELD, UT) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is super fun it's a spidey man classic really awesome it sorta turns into a zobie game halfway through

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply THE BEST

posted by JDigitty (BLYTHE, CA) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best game I have ever played. This is the reason I bought the wii.

This game is so cool I got webs stuck to my controller. lol Seriously though, If you have ever wondered what it would be like to be spiderman - this game lets you do it. The graphics aren't the best but who the heck cares, it's all about the gameplay.

When you fling the remote you get to "web swing" all over the city, you feel just like Spiderman. You get full controll of Venom, when you shake the nunchuck. Spidey even can upgrade his move and abilities. Activision really kicked some serious 455 with this one. Thank you, Activision. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

spiderman web of shadows

posted by goldenkid (ALTOONA, PA) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think it was a great game but there were not alot of choices to make.Also I loved how you can change costumes and the graphics were the best ever.The story line was great every decision you made decied the final outcome which was awesome.If this is your first spider man game you will love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best spidey game ever

posted by monkeyman (FORT MYERS, FL) Mar 10, 2009

Member since May 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There have been a lot of spider-man games over the years but this (as my title states) is the best. This game has a excellent plot line. While the story line was good the fighting was awsome!!!. The ability to fight in the air was realy cool and the ability to change from the black suit to the regular was nice. Lastly this game can be most appresiated for the free roam aniiltity. By this i meen that you could just fight badies all day and never follow the objective. The to only bad things would be the graphics (but then again this is nitendo) and the boss fights. The boss fights were really easy especially the final boss fight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best spidy game yet

posted by chewy24 (BEGGS, OK) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game really captured the feel of spiderman. The story was very good, the graphics are great, and the gameplay makes you feel like spiderman finally getting to kick symbiote butt on the ground, in mid-air, and on the walls of a skyscraper.
I defenintlly recomend you renting this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

web slinging awsomeness

posted by gamequest (CAMP VERDE, AZ) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this was the first spirder man game ive played and im glad i rented it this game is awsome with the diffrent storylines the DARK side of spider man i and all the upgradible moves it will take peaple months to master all of the moves with killer game play futige this game is a must rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

spider man web of shadow good or bad review

posted by mexican7 (FLORAL PARK, NY) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

my rating is 9 because it was gonna be 10 and theres a few flaws it was really challenging and glitchs get in the way but other than that its great and thiers endless posibility and the adventure is fun because you chose the story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Spider-man:web of shadows

posted by Super105 (CASTALIA, OH) Jan 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a good game you start out before the invasion beatings gang members with the help of Lucke Cage the only way you can change the story is choosing between good and evil every time you end a mission you get the chance to upgrade your powers both with the red and black suit the controls are a lot easer to use and you can fight the way Spider-man is suposto fight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Web-slingin fun

posted by meatwad32 (HOOVER, AL) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I could not ever seem to rent this game because of low availability so I got it for xmas. It is everything I hoped it would be, you can fight on everything and everywhere. Sometimes I can fight 6 or more enemies in the air and never touch the ground, and this does not include the big air boss. The free roam makes this game the best, it is not complete free roam like on Incredible Hulk, once you get past a point in the game the story changes and your free-roam changes. But you can free-roam during the story you just cannot go back to past stories without starting over. Some nights I like to just swing around Manhattan for a couple of minutes to relax and this game delivers on that, good graphics and good game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great way to waste an afternoon

posted by bigdadiben (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Game is similar to previous Spiderman games (free roam New York City, swing from sky-scrapers) but in this one you can choose between good and evil. You can switch between classic and symbiont at will. And the Wii controls are completely intuitive so pick up and play are easy. Combat is great and as you progress you can buy upgrades. I am not a huge spiderman fan but I have not had this much fun with the Wii in a while. Send me my black Spidey-suit!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very good game

posted by gamefan06 (LITTLETON, CO) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

First off, the rocks. Like always, you swing around the city and basically just beat up bad guys. This time however, the combat system has been completely re-worked from the ground up. Now you can also fight enemies in the air and on walls, and it's all very fun.

Last year's Spider-Man 3 on the Wii is a game I would only recommend to the most hard-core Spidey fans. And even then, I still suggest renting it first. While the gameplay was decent and the controls were great (with web-swinging, at least) the graphics and voice acting were so laughingly bad I can't imagine anyone outside the most hardcore of gamers being able to look past them. In WOS, I am happy to say this is not the case. The graphics and sound are a MAJOR improvement. No longer are buildings grey, textureless rectangles. No longer do citizens not have faces. No longer do citizens talk with fake accents and send you on missions to (shudder) deliver fruit pies. They both have slight drawbacks though. The improved graphics do cause an occassional frame-rate dip, and the sound seems kinda muffled at times(Is it just my tv?).

Like I pointed out, one strong point of SM3 was the control scheme. I loved web swinging in there. The dual hand scheme felt natural, and did a good job of making you feel like you were web-swinging. In WOS though..the controls honestly feel a bit tacked on. Now to web swing, you just flick the Wii Remote down. No more dual hands, no more angling your controllers to make make the web curve, that is IT. The nunchuck is now used to change suits and lock-on to enemies, and they tend to get in the way of each other sometimes.

So overall, WOS is a great game. And while the Wii version isn't a bad choice, it might be better for some people to get the PS3 or 360 version if they prefer a more natural control scheme. If the controls felt even a slight bit realistic, it would be easier to recommend. However, if you're used to motion controls, it still isn't a bad way to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun if you have patience.

posted by MarioXavie (MIAMI, FL) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Spiderman: Web of Shadows is an extremely fun game that can become overly tedious as times. The movement and combat are about as accurate as any Spiderman related game can be, but the training sessions can become tiring. On the Wii, it becomes easy to suffer from wrist injuries just by playing it for an afternoon. And while the story and game play is cool, the random tasks you are assigned tend to become boring very quickly. Often times, you are told to meet another character or go somewhere, and you'll spend ten minutes swinging to the other end of the city just to get to that exact spot. Overall, a cool game, but be prepared to have the patience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

spiderman web of shadows

posted by 5131999 (MURPHY, TX) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When i got this game i thought it would be fun. and i was right! If you like spiderman, then you should get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Spiderman gets lost in Grand Theft Auto map

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you've ever played GTA, you've played this game already, just not as Spidey. You fling yourself from skycraper to skyscraper in an attempt to not get dizzy and vomit on your lap. The camera angles and controls are awkward--Probably better for 360 or PS3.

It's a pretty fun game but it gets old REAL fast. The controls are quite difficult and force you to constantly whip the remote and nunchuk in all different directions; That's annoying and left me with a sore wrist in about an hour. Combos consist of button mashing 'B' and jerking the remote around in a storm of chaos.

The missions, to say the least, are just flat out short and dumb. You fight gangsters with different colored shirts.

I would rate the game lower but I enjoyed flying around the buildings and collecting the secret spidey icons...just like GTA. REnt it, don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Does whatever a symbiote can

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Dec 10, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Spider-Man is one of the few superheroes who has avoided the trend of bad video game adaptations. Since Treyarch started using the open-world New York City back in Spider-Man 2, the series has evolved into something formidable.
In Spider-Man: Web of Shadows, Peter Parker gets himself an identity crisis. The black symbiote suit is back and it leads to the main concept of the game: which path will you take? If any of this sounds like Fable or KOTOR, it should, but it's still a good game mechanic.
These decisions, however, are mostly superficial, as you can go from bad to good by using the red suit in combat for awhile and only the last few decisions have a bearing on the ending.
This leads to the story, where Venom is trying to turn the whole city into symbiotes. In the second act, many of your allies get all symbiotified and begin creating new symbiote species for you to fight. There are a surprising amount of boss battles in the game, some coming one after the other. Each is concluded with a quicktime sequence where you swing your Wiimote or nunchuk every which way. This is interesting, but the motion recognition often doesn't register, causing several redoes.
Besides that, the game is very similar to previous titles in the series. New York looks basically the same, web-slinging mechanics are generally recycled, you collect stuff (hundreds of spider symbols) and complete city challenges for experience.
Unfortunately, the typical problems with the series are here as well. The camera doesn't cooperate, you'll often swing where you don't want to be and most combat is repetitive. Additionally, you'll switch between suits accidentally all the time, as you change by moving the nunchuk to one side.
You'll unlock new abilities for each suit and new costumes that fans will enjoy (once I got the Spider-Armor, there was no going back).
It's good, but not a huge step for the series. Besides the good/evil dynamic, this is basically the same tune on a new instrument.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

why 9 and ( SPOILER ALERT )

posted by ajmoney (SYRACUSE, NY) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

the game was a 10 but i gave it a 9 because when i got it some of the missions are hard but are fun especially when you fight the symbiot bosses like scream (black cat symbiot) that was hard when mary jane came in if you fail she gets eaten by screams goon symbiots but is fun nice graphics awsome moves exellent like you do one thing and you come back to newyork coverd in webs but steller all the way through you might wanna quit in some situations but don`t and one mor thing it`s good to be bad sometimes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Woah.

posted by DaTruth78 (BLOOMING GROVE, TX) Aug 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

(mouth gaping open) THIS is a game. And a pretty near perfect one too; so many perfect things, so little glitches. I want every future game I rent in the future to be like this. I LOVE THIS!!!! BUY/RENT, MOSTLY BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excelent Game

posted by Drums4life7 (KINGWOOD, TX) May 31, 2011

Member since May 2011

good game, sometime the controlls on the Wii dont do what you want it to do like locking onto a target. otherwise its a good game. defenatly recomended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sipder man: web of shadows

posted by hazelheart (EVERETT, WA) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

it was a really fun game i like the fact you can swing freely through the city and i also liked the story but the bosses for me were a little to easy escpciely the last boss way too easy but other than that it was a fun game you dont have to be a spiderman fan to like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

IS it the suit that truly makes the man?

posted by FelixFaust (ENFIELD, CT) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2005

After a fight with Venom, Peter Parker the Amazing, Spectacular Spider-Man again aquires his black suit which the original, now belonging to Eddie brock gave "birth" too. Which begins a chain of events that will lead to a city overrun with deadly alien symbiotes that threaten not just the country but all of earth. The game mechanics and control scheme are much improved from previous Spider-Man games, with simple flick controls for web slinging and combat. Aerial Combat moves and dizzing heights are a blessing to true fans of the Spider-Man franchinse and the storyline is very cool mixing genres. The deserted New York resembles Racoon City complete with symbiote zombies for you to smash. The only downside is that at some points the cut scene audio is reduced to muffled, distorted static. Looking past that this game gets a 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

spiderman web of shadows

posted by demarc69 (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

i love the game graphics, story was perfect. but the only little flaw was the training session with luke cage and it was the target web line. i'm assuming this flaw or at times extremely annoying part of the game applys to people like me and others who have a wii systems. i don't mean it a negative way but trying to flick the wii control at a perfect time for almost 20-30 minutes it can drive you little crazy. but overall the game is fun and full of alot of surprise charaters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

In my top ten

posted by wero890 (MICANOPY, FL) Apr 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

great game awesome graphics and good story. this is overall the best game i played. but the web was a little hard to control.

my top ten:
10,super smash bros melee
9,super smash bros brawl
8,super Mario sunshine
7,Kirby air ride
6,sonic adventure 2: battle
5,legend of zelda twilight princess
4,Luigi's mansion
3,Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction
2,Star Fox Adventures
1,Spider-Man: Web of Shadows

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse