Rent Spider-Man: Web of Shadows for PS3
view large frontback

Spider-Man: Web of Shadows

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

3909 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

spiderman web of shadows

posted by POPFAN2 (SANDY, OR) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is amazing. it stuned me at every turn! the only two things were it was very repetitive: e.x. kill X number of foes defend X number bases help X number of people and when luke cage teaches you moves that will let you zip to foes you won't do any other move. but all in all its a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good play with bad package

posted by BIGCATLUV (DETROIT, MI) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

26 out of 30 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

If you like Spidey, you'll get over the bad voice acting and mediocre plot. What makes this game good is the fighting system, stunts, and animations that go within it. The developers did a great job capturing Spidey's essence, it looks as if your "the" Spiderman. Not to mention the special Marvel VS Capcom effects in the fighting. Graphics are good enough, no complaints, hyper realism is good depending on the game your playing; Spidey's not one of 'em.
Good job, Activision, just hire a better producer next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The 411 on Spiderman web of shadows

posted by killa91 (LATTA, SC) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

27 out of 32 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Ok first thing is the story. Its a pretty good story; its not totally original, but its not clishe either. Well heres how it goes, the city is being invaded by the symbiote and ofcourse everybody's favorite symbiotic maniac Venon is helping. Spiderman also gains the black suit and has the decision to don it and start being and acting the way he wants or shy from it and in the end side with his classic red and blue self either way its up to him to take care it. so spider man meets other characters from the marvel universe such as wolverine and moon knight, he also comes across alot of his enimies and allies, such as black cat, vulture, elctro, and a few others. sheild also plays a part in the story. Now for the gameplay; Shaba games has addes a new in the air and on the wall combat system, which allows him to flow from one to the other. Its feels great beating down a robot or symbiote on the ground and then taking it up side the wall and finish it in the war. You get experience points for completing tasks and defeating enimies. You can use the xp you earn and spend it on upgrades and new moves. You can swith from the red and black suit with just a tap of the L3 button. The webslinging still feels awsome and free; one new thig is that you can stick your self up against the wall and sit there, it adds a nice touch to the realness, because spiderman does sometimes just stay purched on a skyscraper wall looking out. The 2 suits have different abilities and different senses. There are boss battles where one suit will come in handy more than the other one, speaking of bosses, there is a good number of them, and they all use button prompts and so does the mini bosses, they're even used for som regular cutscenes. Now the graphis the texture is good and the character models are amazing. The music switches to the state you're in, whether if its in the heat of battle or soaring high across the rooftops. Overall its the best spidey game yet so check it out, and fans buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Comics, not movies

posted by LouFlow (BRANDON, FL) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game has moments when it sputters. But overall, it's just a fun game to play. Especially if you are a fan of the Spider-Man comics. The missions are fun, although somewhat repetitive. And being able to call on fellow Marvel characters based on which suit you are wearing is a simple, but great idea. It really adds to the gameplay and changes the outcome in some circumstances. The worst aspect - the voice acting. Spider-Man sounds like he is about 12 years old and says some of the corniest lines ever recorded in video game history. That being said, the game is enjoyable to play and definitely worth spending some time on. Especially for a Marvel fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

most unique spiderman title ever

posted by badjuju (AMARILLO, TX) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

after being sorely dissapointed with the lame ps2 version of the game this one rides in and blows my freakin mind with the go your own way and clever upgrades for each suit this game get a ten all around for story and for the marvel universe having a bgger part this time and letting you explore the darkside of the wall crawler

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but actors could do better.

posted by CoryDaManY (WHITE LAKE, MI) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Spiderman Web of Shadows is a great free-roam beat em up game. If you like flashy fighting and aerobatics, this is the game for you. The fighting mechanics of this game are easy to use and understand, timing is the key to a lot of this, thus it can get kind of annoying. Once you upgrade your fighting skills you are hard pressed to see the same moves twice. For gameplay I give it a (9/10)

This game seems to be the only one of its kind that follows in the Marvel universe to such an extent. The story incorporates a lot of references and cameo appearances across the game. You may want to brush up on your Marvel Know-how because it becomes necessary in some parts of the game. The story progresses rather fast and cam seem to be the same thing over and over again. Only now and than does it give you a new weapon to add to your arsenal. Another let down is whoever they hired to play Peter Parker, learned how to voice act by recreating the screeching from the birds in Aldred Hitchcocks movies. For story, I give it a (5/10)

This game has well structured graphics. Only every now and then will you be faced with lag from this game. It is kind of disappointing that you can only break certain things here and there. I thought they could have done better, given it is a next gen console. For graphics, I give it a (7/10)

Overall, it is a good game, but not recommended for someone looking for a game to keep them busy for awhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not that bad... if you like spider man

posted by chito35 (ELMWOOD PARK, NJ) Jun 21, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

At first I gave this game a much lower rating but I find myself pouring time on it. The game have a lot of bugs and flaws, the graphics is not good, and the story is so-so.

The one thing that's great about it is it's action-packed and you don't need to think to play this game insert the disc and have a BLAST. It could have been the best spidey game ever just needed more polished and testing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

dope sick

posted by Jbeatzzz (POINT ROBERTS, WA) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The free roam is incredible..swing through the city like spider man crawl on walls with to much crime to stop.. you get some good skills and attacks for both red and black spidey...a little repetetive but wut game isnt...graphics were done over very well.. voices kind fo cheesy but very spiderman like..... over all this game was dope definately try it.. i been thinking about actually keeping it for the limitless hours of fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by Berzacker (HUEYSVILLE, KY) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Goods

Combat

I thought the game was a very fun game to play. The fighting system is very fluid and the animation of Spider-Man is great in both fighting and while swinging through the city. The Moves you acquire through-out the game seem to never disappoint in thire look and feel. By allowing a seamless switch of attack combination like a "Air" attack to a "Ground" attack straight into "Special" its all so fluid giving a slight movie like feel, it would seem to an onlooker like every fight is a choreographed scene. Even when Spider-Man gets blocked it all seamless. The camera helps by slowing and adding an effect of anticipation for each move to connect. The two suits in the game also make the combat even more expansive each having its owe style of fighting and movement but what makes it even better is you can change suits on the fly in mid punch making the combos even more creative. For example your fighting in the "Red Suit" which is more agile allowing for fast quick hits giving your enemy less time to counter and then switch into the "Black Suit" by having a more powerful more destructive attack you can land your finishing blow.

The City

The scope of the city is much bigger that I expected. With great detail on each building it seemed to have its own individual architecture making it hard to tell whether a building had been used more than once in the landscape of the city if they had I never noticed. It even has places that if you read the comics you might recognize while these place have no baring on the game or story they still brought the a 3D comic Book vision of New York to the readers of the comics. And added more reason to explore the city out side missions.

The "Not-So-Goods"

The story. for me its not all that great but its not bad either Ive played worse, Oh and spider mans voice you'll now what I mean, [ L1 ] BUTTON CLINGS TO WALLS,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

web slingers paradise

posted by mwood5033 (NORTH FORT MYERS, FL) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am not a big Spiderman fan but I really enjoy this game. I thought the graphics and ease of control were most excellent. Having a open enviroment is what made the game worth playing. The replay value for me was good enough to purchase the game and I don't buy games unless they keep me entertained.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Spiderman web of shadows

posted by kellogz (AURORA, CO) May 30, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This was a great game I never really had to much respect for spiderman as superhero until I played this game. What I enjoyed most about this game is the full use of spidey's powers. You are not bound by limits and you can pretty much go anywhere you want in the game. The story line was long enough where u didn't have to worry about beating it in one or two good sittings. My favorite part is web-slinging through the city and watching spider-man as he does so is a quite a treat for the eyes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Below average

posted by Aramaeus (BEAVERTON, OR) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Not sure if it really is a spider man game or some weird knock off of what someone thinks happens in the spiderman world, story is filled with plot holes, spider man sounds incredibly whiney, and a lot of things seem out of place. Moral choice system is boring, doesn't really affect gameplay at all, city feels like some one just copied and pasted the same building over and over. But luckily combat is fun albeit very repetitive, and swinging around "new york" is fun, but a horrible camera and various flaws makes it not seem like what a spider man game should be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Unless your 8 steer clear!

posted by Cain0404 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am an avid comics fan and have played just about every comics game adaptation (for better or worse, mostly worst). Let me start by saying that this could have been a good game, the graphics are there, the story is there, the execution however is severely lacking. The controls are uncomfortable and their is no way to customize them, this is a major drawback. Next up is the god awful camera. An example, you are awkwardly swinging through the city and see an orb (these are used to upgrade spideys talents) you attempt to land on the building, once you do the camera refuses to rotate around you. This is not because you are at an awkward angle it just simply refuses to work with you. This leaves you running around blind hoping to catch a glimpse of it before you fall off the building. I did not even have high hopes for this game, however after spidey's several other game incarnations and a few that felt like incarcerations, I expected the swinging and the camera to be at least adequate. They managed to make it happen for the movie games and at least for one other title. This one however left my with a sense of vertigo and the bad taste of soured webbing in my mouth! Even as a fan I would only rate this as slightly better than the god awful friend v.s. foe. If it for a kid they might be able to tolerate it. However, if you have played a decent spidey game just re-rent it and revel in the glory that once was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

spidey shadows

posted by GowCommand (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok i personally think this game is awsome if you dont mind he bad voice acting. ok i really want to know if anyone has the same problem as me. ok when i jump into a gang fight it glitches and the second guy is under ground, i can still kill him but i can see him, big glitch, plz tell me if you have the same problem

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

spiderman dawg

posted by gupper (DOWNEY, CA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was a good game it seemed to easy for me it was cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You wont find much worse than this

posted by ptrac30 (HICKSVILLE, NY) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

PS2 graphics at best. Awful voice acting. Beyond generic environments. Stupid Controls. Camera Issues. Super repetitive. Utter drivel. This one should have been scrapped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not good enough

posted by Lsadiner (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) May 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I decided to give this game a try since the reviews were so different from each other. Some people would say this game was amazing, and other people would say it was the worse game over. So l decided to try it myself... I am a spider man fan, not a supermega fan as some folks claim, l am just a fan that enjoy the movies, and the graphic novels and everything and to be honest, the game is not good. Yeah you could have fun chilling around the city but the bad guys are so lame, they can hardly attack you, the storyline is not strong, the graphics are not jaw-dropping ( like Uncharted, those are good graphics) to beat the bosses is like a routine... l usually play l game until l finish it unless is really bad, with this game l pass the Venom level and l stop playing... l just didn't felt like playing it anymore... I know this game is focus for younger gamers, but should be also fun in general, and is not... IS WAY TOO REPETITIVE... l do not recommend you rent it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Crawl Away From This One

posted by cptbatman (SLIPPERY ROCK, PA) Aug 13, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I love spiderman! not this game though...i actually feel like the devs made a bad game on purpose just to crush my hopes.

why is it bad? well spiderman wos is just unfinished. a large majority of the combat is sticky and you feel like you need to repeatedly jam the same combos to finally get them to work. the best thing about the combat is the triangle button... thats it.

The best thing about the game is obviously the web-slinging, which cannot get any better(you feel like spiderman.... when youre swinging)

the graphics themselves are mediocre, just meh, but theres lots of colour which is very welcome, and the spidey design is awesome, felxible and nimble. The rest of the presentation is tremendously lacking (voice acting in particular.) Another deal breaker is the near constant screen tearing, framerate dive-bombs, and ugly glitches. this not only rips you away from the experience, it lets you know youre having a bad experience.

To top it off, this is possibly the most repetitive game of this generation. all you do is swing around and fight bad guys... nothing else. THAT translates to this: air travel through a sea of unfinished gamebreakers and stop every bit to press triangle. does that sound fun?

YOU MAY ASK YOURSELF... why is this review so long? Thats because Spiderman Web of Shadows has many Many problems, that i feel i should warn about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Friendly Neighborhood

posted by userhalo (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Alright, there were only 2 things i found to be at fault during this entire game. The camera is a little bit sketchy when your surrounded by multiple enemies, and although you can learn/upgrade to 50+ moves you need to use about 12-16 total during the entire game. That being said this game was amazing. from start to finish the best spiderman game i've ever played. the Swinging is flawless, as are the cutscenes. the voice acting is 10/10 and the in game decisions are part of what makes Web of shadows such a great game.

Overall 10/10
MUST RENT for anybody that likes spiderman.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is how a Spidey game is meant to be

posted by JDLX912 (TAMPA, FL) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First of all I have played on the Spidey games and they keep getting better and better. This one blows ur mind. If ur a fan or not, this game will either turn u into one or make u happy that u paid the $60 for it. The controls are really easy and graphics are off the HOOK!!! I like the idea of having other Marvels heroes help out in crisis that happens in this game. Or on the flip side villians that help out. Anyway, go out and enjoy this game.....Till Next time...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its ok!! (for user that speak spanish)

posted by FiFiX07 (GWYNN OAK, MD) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Comienzo por decirle que el juego es entretenido(aunque repetitivo), lo interesante del juego es que depiendo lo que hagas, la historia va cambiando, aunque en ocasiones en la historia se quedan espacios vacios(se daran cuenta cuando pelean con black cat por segunda vez, casi al final del juego). El juego es bastante facil, y no tiene ningun tipo de puzzle ni nada por el estilo. Todo fanatico del hombre araƱa disfrutara este juego.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst yet.

posted by DiscNinja (BURLESON, TX) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

2 out of 31 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

I'm a big Spider-Man fan so I ordered this without waiting to rent it and reading reviews. Boy what a big mistake that was!
This has to be the silliest Spider-Man game ever.
The writing is just lame.

The first thing I have to mention is the rotten voice acting. If you can call it acting!
Where did they get the dork to be the voice of Spider-Man, Fruits-R-Us? He's a super hero not a dress designer! He sounds like a darn fruity Weird Al Yankovic!!
I got used to Tobey Maguire's whiny voice but this guy is HORRIBLE!!
I'm NOT buying another super hero game until they get the lead voices right!
The rpg style dialog boxes are a pain too.SDo is the menu screen.

The game play itself is ok, but nothing outstanding. Basically the same as the last few games with a few changes.

The graphics are pretty good, not quite as polished as they could be.

My question is why does Spidey need training from Luke Cage or anyone at all? Why not someone cool like Black Panther or Daredevil?

Over all I like Spider-Man 2 the best of all the series of games. This one is only a rental. It's worth my 60 bucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So disappointing...

posted by ecg408 (GIG HARBOR, WA) Oct 15, 2014

Member since Feb 2011

I really wanted to like this game. Spiderman has always been my favorite comic book superhero. But so many of the Spiderman titles have been disappointing because of their linear story arcs, difficult controls, or poor graphics. And this one was a little different in that it added another disappointment: it was boring. Between the repetitive combats, the easy-to-find collectibles, and the bland side missions, there really wasn't much enjoyable about this game. Whenever I was finally getting into it a little, some of the very obvious bugs would get me stuck in a wall or make an enemy disappear. The black suit vs. classic suit choice that pops up throughout the game is a clear rip-off of Infamous. And finally, while the open platform was a pretty cool idea, the map that accompanies it is completely useless, and the openness only serves to let you wander around the city aimlessly between missions. The only reason I'm giving it a 3 is because I can't bear to give Spidey a 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Web of Mediocrity

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) May 18, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

Having been pleasantly surprised recently by both "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" and "Captain America: Super Soldier", I decided to give this Spider-Man game - a game I had long avoided on principle - a try. Well, I'm afraid this decision was ill-fated, as "Web of Shadows" failed utterly to hold my interest, and, at best, can be described as sub-par. The combat is clumsy, the web-swinging is executed badly, the missions and objectives are repetitive and dull, the camera isn't all that cooperative, and Spider-Man's voice actor sounds like a whiny little fourteen-year-old.

If you're looking for an enjoyable Spidey game, I'd recommend "The Amazing Spider-Man" or "Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions" instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Spidey's Sack Gets Drained, Thanks To Black Cat!

posted by Kill_Klemm (MARION, OH) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This game was alright. I thought it would be better than it was due to its very low availability, But Meh. I did like calling on Logan to kick some butt though. Black Cat was as sexy as ever. I love you Felicia Hardy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse