Rent Spider-Man: Web of Shadows for PS2
view large frontback

Spider-Man: Web of Shadows

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.9

773 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is horrible

posted by jffgdfert (WAHIAWA, HI) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

20 out of 20 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this was going to be the awsome game you saw the vidoes of. but it is horrible i recomend you get it for wii ps3 or 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game of the year

posted by ntumba (Chicago, IL) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

22 out of 23 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

When i read the reviews for spider man web of shadows i thought that they just didn't like the game. When i got it the graphics sucked spider man died way too easily and the game kept being stuck and froze way too much. If u read this review do not buy or rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst spider-man game ever

posted by Tsunade (RENO, NV) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Feb 2004

20 out of 21 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This spider-man game was a fearking side scroller i was super excited when I fanally got my hands on spider-man web of shadows and I get a side scrolling ,bad voice acting, and graphics worse then a ps1 game. The controls were unresponsvie there was no real difference in suits except for color. With no challenge even on hero diffculty boss fights are just normal enemys with more helth and powers. All together there is nothing good about this game I'd rather play Barbie horse adventure then this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible piece of dodo

posted by shaun59 (ACWORTH, GA) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the worst game i ever played in my life. The graphic of the game is like it belong to a gameboy color. You can die so easy on the game. You can only move back and fourth on the game. i would rather play a atari game then this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Web of... Dissapointment.

posted by Izeck1 (KILLEEN, TX) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game today and was very exited about it. I knew it was going to be lacking compared to the next gen versions, but i was willing to overlook that. I pop it into my PS2 and as the main menu loads up I am impressed by the visual. I select new game and when the game loads I instantly notice something is wrong.

The game is a sidescroller, but even though I decide to give it a shot. I play the first stage and go to the next and I just can't do it anymore.

The writing is horrible, the voice acting is even worst and the game plays like it was made for the Gameboy advance (Press X to jump and X again to web swing). The first boss battle was terrible, many times when I tried to hit the guy the game wouldn't register a hit and i was left swinging punches like there was nothing there.

Spiderman has been fully 3D ever since the N64, why in the world do we get a sidescroller at this day and age?

People, skip this peice of junk. It's not even worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Is the guy that gave it a 9 serious??

posted by Spideyman2 (EASTLAKE WEIR, FL) May 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the WORST spider man game EVER! I would have rather played the spider man games from the PS1(which arent really that bad) Completly pass this game and get it for A next gen console PLEASE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game totally SUCKS!!!!!

posted by tbaby12 (DETROIT, MI) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game sucks so much,idont even know where to start,first of all,you can only go straight or back,when i looked at screenshots for spider-man:web of shadows on ps2,it looked like you can go all around the city and stuff,then they dont barely even talk on the game,you have to read mostly everything,it reminds me of the spider-man games that used to come out on sega,but this was even worst,i was so dissapointed when i got the game,i sent it back the next day cause it was so sucky,and the graphics suck on this game,you would think it would be a little bit better because it's the newest spider-man game out,but it totally SUCKS!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The Amazing Spiderman, Web of Disaster.

posted by CaptGamer (FESTUS, MO) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

True believers, if you are seeking a good spiderman game, try to avoid Web of Shadows.

The pro's of the game: Not many. The graphics look ok, and have the feel of a comic book, story line is decent.
Cons: Here the list is big, the controls are clunky, and unlike the past spiderman games where you can move about New York, here you are very limited.
Movement is limited to forwards and backwards up and down, meaning, whatever is on the screen. No longer any 3D movements, this game gives you a feel of playing a arcade game. Moves are hard, trying to web sling across a area during battle, hard.
The idea of of having points depending on what spiderman says is very ridiculous. The first mission you come across is to rescue a cat, accept or not, if you do, you get red points, (Good) if you don't accept and choose any one of the other comments, you receive black points representing the bad side of the black costume.
Spiderman can change from his red and blues to the black costume with a simple press of the select button, but beware, using it too much may have a bad impact.
The choices of what to say and what missions to take adds points to either the good side or the bad side, but come on! Why be stopped on a rooftop by a man who wants spidey's opinion of whether his new shoes are chic or too 80ish. Get points for that answer, why? I have no clue.
If you are looking for a good spiderman game with plenty of action, you came to the wrong one.
As a person who grew up in the 80's, this game would have been great then, but now, it just doesn't seem to feel like a good game.
However if you want something just to add to the colection, great, but wait till it goes way cheaper, then buy it. But for true spidey fans, like myself, expect a great disappointment.
As Stan Lee says: "Nuff Said"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST SPIDEY GAME EVER!!!!

posted by F1gHt3r (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, so iv seen the video previews to this game, i thought they looked freakin sick! So i rented it asap! I was super excited to get this, dreaded waiting 2 days to get it, when it finally came in, i put it in fast, and was horrified at what i saw!!! The graphics suck, PS1 games have better graphics then this. You cant even free roam! You can only move left and right like a dam arcade game! The fighting moves were lame, ans spidey dies in like 10 seconds. Idk what the creators were thinking, the previews look badass but the game is nothing like the previews! Or the cover! I assumed that the game was a fake and just for some weird reason had the same cover art as the game i was waiting to receive. But nope, it's not. It was the real thing. OH! And you cant fight in the air, and the 2 suits arent any different, they just changed the COLOR!!! This game is the worst Spiderman game iv EVER played, im so dissapointed....

Please, do not rent it, im sure no one will like it....
Hope my review was usefull =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

THIS GAME IS AWFUL

posted by fredb74 (COVINGTON, GA) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i'm a die-hard spiderman fan, comic books and all, but this game sucks! it was too easy to play, even on a higher difficulty. the graphics reminded me of an old nintendo game. easily one of the worse games i have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

so, i was definately lead wrong about this.

posted by karlayjay (GLENDALE, AZ) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i went out of town the same day this came in the mail and i waited an entire week to play it and i finally return home to only be disappointed and outraged to say the least. remember the spiderman game on the super nintendo how you just keep going forward and dont actually get to roam around? well this is the 08 version of that.

stupid stupid stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Spiderman Web Of Booty!!!!

posted by phillyslg (BALTIMORE, MD) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Man, I think my daughter could have made a better game, I mean come on. First off its side scrolling when all the other spiderman games you were able to go wherever you wanted to and the A.I is so boring that it doesn't even give you a real challenge. This is definately a kids game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow so so terrible

posted by demond (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well I got this game based on the awesome game footage I saw on youtube. Well the ps2 version is nothing like that at all. I feel as though I am being punished for not having a next gen system. It almost seems like the makers of this game went out of their way to make the ps2 version suck. It is a side scroller that maybe would have been almost cool on a ps1. Do not get this game you will be dissapointed if you do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

save your time and money.....

posted by IndyRyan (CAMP HILL, PA) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

what i did like is you could chose which spider man costume you wanted (black or red.) What I did not like is that spider man had very limited movement. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hows it possible!

posted by cahil10 (WATERLOO, IA) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is horroble .i bought it thinkin it was gonna be fun that was such a waste of $30. i beat it it in only a day.i didn't know a spiderman game could be so bad.but i checked out some gameplay movies of it for the wii and ps3 and it looked awesome. if you don't believe me ,see for yourself.

DC out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

didn't know this is a left to right game..

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Jul 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

until i rent it..

this game reminded me of the games at the arcade way back.. except with better graphic.. and pretty mucht eh same moves being used over and over..

this game will be a nice game for children that enjoy E rate games.. for those who are not.. they could get bored of it pretty soon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SPIDER-MAN web of shadows

posted by crazydude4 (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible because of the graphics. I mean come on u could only play the missions.U never get to swing around or just be bad or good.U even get the suit [black] on the first level.The only good thing about it is the descions.So if u want a good game I warn u not to get this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

release or not to release?! that is the question.

posted by stdlygy53 (HUTCHINSON, KS) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

woooooooooooooow!!!!! man got this the first day and for a second there i thought i was playing a super nintendo game. spiderman friend or foe had better graphics than this. i can't believe activision would release a game this...... terrible. i mean all the spiderman games that have been released and then this. i have not had a chance to try it on other systems but you would think they would have given this one a fightin.... well never mind that. the gameplay was slow and foreign the story sucked it had no where to go. the fighting was the same every backdrop you changed to. man i was really waiting for mario and yoshi to come out and chase the 1-up across the screen or at least a flight of stairs to jump off of to grab a flag before going into the castle. big big spiderman fan. don't even waste a thought with this game. especially when the graphics on the trailers are for the newer generation consoles. very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Winner of "Worst Transfer to Another Console"!

posted by nolefan33 (GADSDEN, AL) Feb 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought I was playing a game for the GBA on my PS2. It is the worst game I have ever played for the PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game is a Lie

posted by mctuttle (KENOSHA, WI) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have never been more offended in my life by a video game company. Of course, advertisements will usually over-glorify and glamorize their games but this company just straight up lied. The game play of the actually game is not 3D, as shown on TV, rather, it is 2D. Do you remember Contra for the Nitendo (great game for the era it was in), well, Contra and this game have same gameplay and graphics. Do not buy it, do not play it, and I would seriously question Activision and the other production companies associated with this game in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

PS2 Spider-Man: Web of Shadows

posted by 4815162342 (PEKIN, IN) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're playing this on the PS2 then you obviously don't have a 360 or a PS3 (like me).

It's a freaking side-scroller on a next-gen console. Side-scrollers went out with the SNES and the Genesis. What are they thinking? The controls are sloppy. The action is sub par as you only have two basic attack moves; punch and kick. There is a slightly noticeable difference between the classic Spider-Man and the black suit Spider-Man in that their fighting actions are distinctively different with the black suit being more powerful. Web-swinging in the game is pointless and extremely difficult to control in combat scenarios. The game BADLY attempts to throw in a little KOTOR-style dialog options for good, evil and neutral questions/responses, but they're not always as straight forward as they might seem. The character models aren't bad considering it's a side-scroller. The voiceover work is completely horrendous and lacks any real emotion. If you want a decent Spider-Man side-scroller get Maximum Carnage for the SNES. At least I was able to finish Maximum Carnage. After a half hour of Web of Shadows I was ready to use the game disk for target practice. Long story short; DO NOT RENT THIS GAME! DON'T EVEN TAKE IT FOR FREE! Otherwise, pony up some dough, buy a 360 or a PS3 and get either of those versions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Web o Shadows

posted by sirchico (IRWIN, PA) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

It stinks!: ( !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GRRR

posted by axlrox18 (HANOVER, MI) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The worst game i have ever played.
Thats all i can say about it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

spiderman web of shadows

posted by jojobees (Bronx, NY) May 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

IT SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Side Scroller!?

posted by gameguy102 (SEARCY, AR) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is not what I thought it would be. I expected a free roam web-swinging type game, and instead I get a side Scroller!The past spider man games have been great!But even Spider man for the Ps1 was better than this!The graphics are cheap, the fighting system isn't that good. Just don't get it unless you like side scrollers, or it's for anything other than Ps2, or Psp.If you bought it return it and get your money back.Dont even rent it!This game is an insult to spidey fans everywhere! :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse