Rent Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions for Wii
view large frontback

Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.3

1039 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game. Wii bit frustrating, though.

posted by InwardJim (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Though it is a fun and decent Spider-Man game, the Wii makes things very frustrating at times. 90% of the game is controlled using the buttons and plays well and enjoyably. The other 10% is tedious Wii motion nonsense. To web-pull a wall you have to use the wiimote to point at different spots on the screen to select them. And in some boss battles it goes into a boxing mode where dodging is frustratingly difficult because the wii doesn't always acknowledge the movements. That's it for Wii motion uses, so it hardly seems worthwhile to me to have added them in in the first place. The rest of the controls are very fluid, and though not immediately intuitive after a few minutes they are well-though out. Controls alone might make this game more enjoyable on another system.
My only real gripe with the game is that not a single real 2099 villain was used. Scorpion doesn't count since that was from the lousy Timestorm 2009-2099 limited series put out last year. Venom, Vulture, Goblin, Flipside, Man-Spider, Halloween Jack ... anyone from the original Spider-Man 2099 run would have been great. Wasn't a fan of the Doc Ock 2099.
Hammerhead Noir was a great boss.
Over all a fun game, but not perfect becuase they had to give a nod to the wii's vaguely motion sensitive controls. And Doc Ock 2099. Those are the only two real negatives I saw.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Quite the Amazing Spider Man

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 12, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

When your friendly neighborhood Spider Man accidentally breaks a magical tablet while stopping Mysterio from stealing it, it sets off an adventure set in four different dimensions - Spider Man: Shattered Dimensions.
There are four different Spider Men - the Amazing Spider Man, the Noir Spider Man, the Black Spider Man, and the 2099 Spider Man. Most of them play out the same way - you swing through the level from point A to point B, beating up bad guys, saving civilians, and defeating the boss in one or more boss fights.
The one Spider Man that stands out is the Noir Spider Man. He plays out like Tenchu: Shadow Assassin. You use him to sneak up on the bad guys and take them out without alerting the others (but there are areas in his levels where you beat up bad guys who don’t have guns.)
I found playing the game a lot of fun; I liked the great cut scenes, some of the web based combat, the wonderful voice acting and the engaging boss battles.
But there are problems with the game; first one is trying to get Spider Man to web the item I want him to. Far too often he would hit an object or ledge that was off camera instead of hitting one right in front of him.
The second, and much bigger, annoyance is when Spider Man has to race against something (a tidal wave, a radiation leak, a crashing ship, a train). I found these segments to be really frustrating; it took me several dozen times to get past the tidal waves. It got so bad that I wished the game makers would let me skip those segments so I can get to the rest of the level.
These two flaws badly tarnish Spider Man: Shattered Dimensions. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spider Man: Shattered Dimensions

posted by Excession (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

All I can say is, nice. At first the graphics disappointed me. The cut scenes are nice but, in game is left wanton. However, the fact that the game play is so engaging and relatively intuitive makes up for this wholly. I was also pleasantly surprised to find it is not "one-dimensional" i.e. Spider Man web slinging through a city beating baddies, the end. In fact, their are over 180 goals to complete in the game.

All in all I'll probably buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by idunnohowaboutu (WOODSIDE, NY) Apr 26, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I love this game, it's really well done and all 4 spidermen have a different feel to them and gamestyle. Sometimes it gets a bit slow but immediately picks up , and launched you back into action. I would recommend any spiderman fans to buy this game its amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

That's a good spider!

posted by frow (BLOOMFIELD, MO) Nov 23, 2012

Member since May 2011

It is very good with all 4 dimentions

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game

posted by bobby603 (FISHERS, IN) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The spiderman game ( shaddered dimensigns) was not all to great. it was ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions...

posted by SpideyFan1 (SELMA, OR) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

..., totally shattered my expectations. This was BY FAR the BEST Spidey platform EVER!!! Spider-Man Noir was an awesome addition to the Web-slingers multi-verse. Can't wait for the sequel..., hope it'll be soon!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Spider-Man: SD

posted by hazelheart (EVERETT, WA) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

i enjoyed playing this game, i liked the whole story line and the cut scenes they showed before u start a mission. i also really enjoyed amazing/symbiot spider-man's jokes ecspesially when symbiot spider-man was joking about electro having " Nooo Pants!" LOL hard at that scene XD but if i have to complain about something it would be the camera like it didnt give me any problems intell the very end when i was fighting Mysterio >_> but other than that the game was pretty good and thankfully i didnt have any gliches :) so i would recomend renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by heatblast (HAMILTON, OH) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this is a great game.you could be 4 spider men.you can unlock combos and upgrade your health and special abilty.each spider man has the power of agility,speed,sleath and power.so its awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome spiderman game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by xxgamersxx (PLAINFIELD, IL) Dec 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

you can play as four diffrernt spidermen. noir which is in the 1930s and stealth based. 2099 which is in 2099 which is spider man with a bunch of technlogical advances like being able to glide. Ultimate which is the black suit. and last but not least your neighborhood friendly spiderman which is the spider man we all know and love.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

spider man future, black, past and, normal

posted by charlie3 (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

this was a great game. i honestly thought this wasn't gonna be good but it was great the graphics are good.

the future. in the future spiderman is a bad man/good he fights awsome people like hobogoblin, and scorpion

the past spiderman fights really cool/freaky guys like hammerhead and vulture

the black spiderman was good but he wasn't the best

the normal spiderman is really good because he has been the spiderman we have all known since we were kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Spidey's Back and Better Than Ever

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Nov 17, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

Most people are aware that the Spider-Man games haven't exactly had a good track record over the past decade or so. But Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions has undone that.

-PLOT/CHARACTERS: In all honesty, the plot is a bit shaky. A magical tablet is broken and the fragments wind up in four different universes, and the four Spider-Men of those universes are recruited to restore the tablet. It's not stellar, but it works well enough with the game.

As for the characters, all four Spider-Men have similar personalities, but there's enough differences that they don't all feel the same. The villain choices are absolutely excellent, too; even the ones that don't exist in the comics fit in well with the game and have their own unique personality and twist.

-SOUND: Each Spider-Man has his own voice actor, and all four do excellent jobs. The villain's voice actors pull their respective characters off fantastically as well. The big issue with sound is the fact that sometimes the banter between the Spider-Men and whatever boss they happen to be facing is incredibly repetitive, but it's not too much of an issue.

-CAMERA: The worst part of this game is the camera. There are occasional periods where, while trying to do certain tasks, it flips out and you can't even see what's going on. All in all, it's not too big of a deal, though.

-GAMEPLAY: Each Spider-Man has his own specific gameplay style. Amazing uses webs, Noir relies on stealth, 2099 uses speed and agility, and Ultimate combines strength with the symbiotic black suit. This keeps the game fresh and not too repetitive. The 180 challenges add to this diversity, as some of them can be completed throughout the progression of the game, and others by making an effort. They also unlock new costumes and upgrades as well.

The graphics are absolutely great for a Wii game, especially the level design. All of them are superbly colored and perfected to look beautiful and comic-like.

Definitely worth a bu

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better then any other

posted by lowry630 (KENT, WA) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

i think its cool because you get to be all 4 spider amns

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

spiderman shaddered dimentions

posted by panda5000 (CHARLOTTE, MI) Aug 29, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I rented it once and it was really fun Id recomend being the old time spiderman.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by jakeanglo (DERBY, CT) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game is really fun heres the base story is that spiderman acidentely breaks a magic tablet when magneto is trying to steal it and than he has to go on a adventure through 4 dimensions with the amazing spider man noir spider man ultimate spiderman and 2099 spiderman personally i like all the spiderman except for noir cause you have to be sneaky with him and i dont like defense i like ofense

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Shattered Dimensions

posted by mojo4300 (PRESCOTT, AZ) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

I honestly loved this game, its almost everything a Spider-Man fan would want in a game. Not only can you play as the Amazing Spider-man himself, but you can also play as 3 other Spider-Men. Theres the Ultimate Spider-Man (aka black suit spider man) who uses his powers to defeat massive waves of enemies. Then theres the 2099 spider man, a Spider-Man from the year 2099. He has very fast combos and can slow down time, and sometimes you do this really cool diving thing. And lastly theres the Noir Spider-Man, who uses shadows and stealth attacks to attack his opponents. This game provided a decent amount of content (extra missions, alternate costumes, concept art, etc.) there was only 14 levels, and in each level you would take on a different Spider-Man villain. the graphics weren't all that great, but thats adds to the theme of the game. There where way to many glitches, but still the game is great. The game play barely got repetitive cause of the ability to be other Spider-Men. This game is great and its totally worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wii controls are frustrating for this game

posted by katreview1 (CASSELTON, ND) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

I don't mind a challenging game, but it's a real pain if the controls are difficult to accomplish. The motion-based moves could have been done better in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

realy fun game BUT NO FREE ROAM!

posted by reddilonis (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Mar 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

the game has simple controls and an interesting story line. in this one you have to stop mysterio. this games controls are very simple instead of shaking the wii remote you simply point it up. I gave it a seven cause there i no free roam and its way to easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This Game

posted by Elgino (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This Game is fun but a bit Glitchy, sometimes the combos dont work, it only wants to do a strong attack over and over and over wich is frustrating. But the game itself is fun, I also could have used a bit more carachter progression and or been able to play different levels with different spidermen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by elianator (GROVE CITY, OH) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

this is great for spidey fans its just geat although a little frustrating but cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

spider man is a awsome game

posted by keystone13 (ROWLETT, TX) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

this game is a lot of fun and being a spider man fan this game has it all awesome level cool bosses and the controls are easy to learn. the levels take about 20 to 50 min depending on how far you are in the game. the 2099 and noir spider man are the most fun in my opinion and the amazing spider man is fun. but the ultimate spider man has flaws the bosses are easy and the levels are not much fun but over all i give 10 out 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's ok

posted by Jordanbee5 (IRVING, TX) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game was ok. the day i got i also got Kirby epic yarn which is a sure 9 or 10. but this game is too long. controls don't make any sense i love spider i got spider man web of shadows and that was ok. but i got this thinking i would be better i was wrong. no freedom. camera is bad i give it a 6 or 7. please only get if nothing else in game Q or a huge spider man fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Spider-Man EPIC Dimensions

posted by CGNERD (AMARILLO, TX) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Though the game lacks free roam, you can replace it by beating one of Hammer Heads mobsters and hiding him in a web cocoon. Very fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game of the Year -- Duh!

posted by PhatDaddy (THE VILLAGES, FL) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I am so glad I rented this from GameFly. I spent 45 minutes on the tutorial and never graduated. I still have no idea how to use the game and finally gave up. If it's me, all I can say is -- Duh!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The glitches bring it down (Wii)

posted by ChillGamer (ATLANTA, GA) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I really like spiderman. The game was pretty fun. The cut scenes were interesting. But the play control was pretty bad. And the glitches mad it almost unplayable. I don't know about the other systems, I'm talking about the Wii.

First of all, if the game is going to be a button masher, please let me use my THUMB to mash buttons and not my trigger finger. I can mash with my thumb for hours. I can't with the trigger.

Second of all, the game has glitches. One time I couldn't trigger a cut scene and wondered around for a minute before I finally restarted the game. One time I was doing the boss fight and I got trapped in the wall. One time I somehow phased through a door I was supposed to pull open and ended up trapped with the room with the person I was supposed to rescue. One time my character froze but everything else was moving. Same thing happened to a henchman.

I couldn't move the camera right, if spiderman turns around the camera would not adjust and there was no button for it to center. The targeting system wouldn't grab the closest enemy. If there is an overhang in a building, spiderman would not be able to crawl to the top. Things like that made the game SUCK.

The costumes were lame. I mean LAME. There was no way I would want to use the other costumes. The build ups were silly and inconsequential. Once you get that you don't need or want half the powerups in the game, you understand that the game has just lost any depth in gameplay or replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse