Rent Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, DS, Wii
GF Rating
6.7

11590 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Spiderman: shattered dimensions

posted by vjosh23 (DENVER, CO) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

70 out of 77 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

So, I have played almost all the spiderman games going all the way back to the original nintendo electro sinister six, and I have read the comics since I was a kid a long time ago. As a loyal fan I would say this game is awesome, even though it only took me around 7 hours to beat the whole game on normal and getting way over half the achievements in the game, the first person combat is definitely a new spin on spiderman, as is the inclusion of many new villains to the series, it is better than spiderman 3, but not better than web of shadows in my opinion, maybe I just enjoyed the mechanics of being able to switch from the classic red and blue suit to the symbiote suit instantly, this game has 3 levels per suit plus the training and final levels, all in all I think it is a missed opportunity for the series, if it was a little bit longer and had more replay worthiness then I would buy it, it is most definitely worth a rent, I would just recommend not to buy it until it at least goes on sale for around 30 bucks or so, otherwise you are wasting your money, for sure worth the rental though, any spiderman fan will really enjoy this though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Shattered Dreams

posted by BrokeGamer (NASHVILLE, TN) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

30 out of 37 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I have been an avid Spider-Man fan since I was about 9 years old. My father purchases me a copy of the Spider-Man game for the Sega Genesis; within it was a subscription card for a free 6 months of The Amazing Spider-Man. The rest for me is nerd history. That said, I had high hopes for this game because I have longed for a stellar Spidey title for years, especially since Batman got his awesome Arkham Asylum game. Unfortunately, web-head has not fared as well in his digital adventure.

First off, the good stuff. The graphics in this game are amazing (pun intended), and the voicework is topnotch. The actors deliver their lines wonderfully and the jokes are quite funny. Also, even though the game is completely linear, there is plenty to do. Each level has a variety of challenges for you to complete which garner you points with which to upgrade Spidey. It's a tried and true system, and it is still addicting in this title.

Now to the bad. The controls are pretty slipshod. Spidey seemed to move around a bit too loosely for my tastes; far too often did he move in an unanticipated direction or his webslinging just plain would not register, which would send him plummeting to his death. Next, the camera is pretty bad. With a character like Spider-Man, who is jumping all over the place, having good control of your camera is vital; combine this with his loose controls and frustration ensues. Also: the Spider-Man Noir stages are TERRIBLE. The braindead AI completely ruins what should have been some of the coolest levels. Sometimes you can take down a thug right next to his buddy without a peep, other times you make the slightest movement and some jerk halfway across the map raises the alarm. Again, frustration ensues.

To finish up, the game exhibits tons of polish in every category except the combat, which is majority of the game. Maybe next time Spidey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best Spidey Games

posted by SkaVeNgeR (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2005

34 out of 46 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Normally you get one long drawn out game where Spider-Man chases one villain throughout a game or goes thru a series of crazy problems before finding out who's causing them. This is like 4 games in 1. Multiple versions of Spidey that we normally only get to see in the comics finally make videogame debuts and with each realm comes different abilities and villains. Any fan of Spidey would easily love this. Many liked the free roam games of the past but this linear game is packed with quality baddies, amazing graphics, and multiple forms of gameplay. This is a keeper! I rate it 9 out of 10 just so I don't seem to over exaggerate my point but this is an excellent game, a keeper because you won't be able to find it to rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If You're A Fan

posted by iLikeGoooo (DALLAS, TX) Sep 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

32 out of 51 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

Go ahead and rent this game. This game is awesome, but it's not worth the 60 bucks. Not to put it down because a lot of games nowadays aren't worth it. If you liked Ultimate Spiderman and like the marvel universe, you should play it. It has a slurry of enemies from Juggernaut to Hobgoblin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game for spidey fans but I would say rent it

posted by JonM7o3 (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Sep 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

im about half way done with the game its a good game easy to pick up its like the other ones really

Pros

Good story lots of villains.

I know people say that whole first person fighting thing sucks but I think its kinda cool.

cool how you can use 4 spidermans

Cons

its pretty short
its not open world(sandbox) like the other spidermans
after you beat it not much replay value

overall i would say check it out and rent it and for hardcore spidey fans i say wait till the price drops to at least 30-20 bucks to buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

spiderman shattered deminsions

posted by wiggerz (JACKSONVILLE, AR) Sep 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

this game had some good things and bad things. mainly bad things the camera sucked weiner the levels were all the same thing basically. fight the boss chase him fight his henchmen the chase him again. i thought the first person fight scenes were kinda cool but not enough for me to buy or even rent this game again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good enough, if you don't mind being annoyed

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 11, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

14 out of 23 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Graphically speaking the game is good enough, you can see everything and the bad guys look somewhat different when you go to a new area. Not anything to write home about but you can see leaves and it has a certain comic book feel.

Control wise it's not quite right, there is a slight delay between pressing a button and him doing anything. The camera has a tendency to go behind you instead of staying where you put it. It does not have the dead because you can't turn to see what is hitting you so it's a livable problem. The actual combat is rather one dimensional, when you fight you press one button until they stop moving, there are blocks that you use a different buttom to break, rare so it's rather pointless.

Story is well, comic book, understandable since Spider-Man is Stan Lee is involved and interesting in it's own right. The problem comes in defeating the bosses is less about fun and entertaining and more about doing a specific thing.

Rent to try, I wouldn't want to have bought this. Easy enough doing the in game challenges, I completed three before I realized there were any.

It is a good game, the controls are not quite there enough I guess is the term, the story is interesting the spider men are different. Just not fun enough to me to keep or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Iffy Targeting, Invisible Walls, Jammed Cameras...

posted by BongSabreX (BURGAW, NC) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Major problems solved in previous iterations have somehow resurfaced to make this game a jumbled mess in later levels.
- Targeting while surrounded tends to send you flailing into unoccupied space at absolutely nothing at all.
- Web-swinging, which is what defines the character, will often send you bumping into invisible walls and when over chasms, falling to your death.
- Close quarters fighting in a confined space tends to jam the Camera angle into looking at the ground, blinding you to incoming attacks.

There are other things wrong, very few that went right, but I'm not wasting anymore keyboard on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Button Mashing Boredom

posted by fersurdude (DALLAS, TX) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

After reading the IGN review for Shattered Dimensions, I decided to give the game a shot and see what it was all about. I was intrigued by the idea of getting to play as several different versions of Spider-Man instead of the familiar red-and-blue Peter Parker version. Now that I've played it, I don't understand how the critics could have seriously rated this game as high as they did. It's not so much the idea that falls flat, it's the execution. The levels are extremely linear and each enemy is nearly identical to the last from dimension to dimension. The control layout is fine but some of the functions only work about half the time...web swinging and "web-zipping" are extremely painful experiences.The combat system is about what you'd expect from any comic book game: mash the quick and heavy attack buttons in succession and perform the same combo over and over again. The only part of the game that didn't fully disappoint me were the graphics, but I about had a seizure from all the flashing lights and bright reds/blues in the 2099 dimension.

I only made it through about 3 levels and I had to put this one back in the sleeve and send it back, so I'd say unless you're a die hard Spider-Man fan or are really entertained by beat-em-up button mashers just skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good spiderman game

posted by Pete89 (HOLMDEL, NJ) Sep 21, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The game is pretty cool. The moves and setting all show off the spiderman universe pretty well. The story is lacking, chase a bad guy, fight people and get the tablet. The 4 dimensions are all cool and fun. Ultimate (black suit) and 2099 (awesome future suit) are my favorite, where there is also the amazing spiderman (standard suit) and noir (stealth black suit) which is fun.
Two things i hated in this game. The camera, especially when climbing walls, however when moving and swinging around the camera holds up pretty well.
Also, throughout the game, Spiderman is CORNY. Omg the cheesy lines he lays out (all 4 of them!) are just so corny and take away from the superhero aspect. Now i know spiderman lays some lines, but literally every comment to bad guys is a joke and LAME...next time just dont talk spiderman please

but overall spiderman is still my favorite superhero and this game is def worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Seen Better.

posted by GoodPie (QUEBECK, TN) Oct 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I know they tried to take a new out look at this game. But the lack of free roaming is a big turn off. Every Spiderman game has had it, it's something that makes the game.

I personally found that the camera was not much better at all. The game gets pretty old pretty quick. I do like the how you switch between worlds, but that's about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

thats how its done

posted by boomdizzle (TOPEKA, KS) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being a marvel and spiderman fan, I can easily say this is the best spiderman game. ever. In the past games there was always a free roam game, with missions scattered about and I just never really got into that. This game is layed out into just different missions and levels. The catch is that the levels are divided into 4 different dimentions where you play with different spidermen with different abilities.The noir demintion is based on stealth and silently taking out enemies. the 2099 dimintion is more based off of combat, and the 2099 spiderman has an ability to momentaraly slow down time. the ultimate dimention is focased on combat and a little bit of platforming, and the ulimate spiderman has an ability similar to 2099's time slow down, but instead, with rage making it easy to just wipe most enemies aside. the amazing dimintion has platforming with some combat.

There are 12 missions,( plus a tutorial and final battle) that each last about 30 minutes, three for each dimintion. one of the only downsides is that once you have beaten the game, the replay value is little to none. So unless your a huge fan, you probably wont want to shell out 60 bucks for this one, put it is a really great game and is definetly worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

8 out of ten stars.

posted by Mjd772 (DRAPER, UT) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm going to be straight forward this is my first review so I will try my best to do this right.
The game itself is interesting and contains good graphics. Although I think that this game tried to much to be like arkham asylum.
For example, the end boss in the noir dimension looks like the scarecrow boss in arkham asylum. Then when you fall you get the same message you get in arkham asylum press RT to save. Other than that the game is fine, although the worst part about spidey games is that once you finish the story line its basically just this free roam game that you know the story line for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Suprising Let Down...

posted by GamePro48 (HOPE MILLS, NC) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Since I played web of shadows, which was a pretty good game, I was expecting a LOT. Especially for 50 bucks. What I got was horrible graphics, terrible controls, and a lame storyline.
Like I said, Web of Shadows was a pretty good game. So I was shocked, when I noticed the HUGE difference in quality. For one thing, if you went back 6 years or so, then graphics like that would be acceptable.
The controls were also bad. For doing a web swing, and a web pull to pull youself onto mounts, you use the same thing, the Right Trigger. Well when I was trying to web pull myself, it would mistake it for me trying to swing. This gets annoying if enemies are shooting at you. I may have been able to ignore this if you were able to crawl up the web while you were swinging like in Web of Shadows.
It does indeed have a terrible storyline. It just seemed to rushed, like a book that dives straight into the problem. In Web of Shadows, it took a while for the symbiotes to form and for all the trouble to begin, except in this game, you dive straight into action combat. Basicly all you're doing in the storyline is beating up bad guys, and collecting their pieces of a tablet that was broken. I honestly prefer the older games were ther is only ONE spiderman, and I loved the setting and the openness of the city, and the fact that you had that whole city to "play" around in. But in this game you're confined in the "layers" of the villians. Totally dissapointed, and like someone stated, it was so bad, that I quit after 20 min. of game play. While some people might think that I didn't give it a fair chance, consider that that was 20 minutes of my life wasted. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I played it for 15 minutes.

posted by RenegadeBob (AVA, IL) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I am a huge Spider-Man fan, so I was stoked to play this game. Unfortunately, it was a let down, especially compared to Web of Shadows.

The game starts with a cut scene that sets up the plot, which is acceptable for a superhero game. After the cut scene is a short tutorial level that teaches you the basic moves... which would be fine, except the basic moves are ALL you have. As the game progresses you can unlock additional moves... but I was unwilling to play any longer than 15-20 minutes.

The game has some great features, such as good graphics, unlockable costumes, and the concept of a stealthy Spidey (a good idea, but poorly implemented). However, for me, the game bombed. All I played was the first level after the tutorial, but my experience included a linear and uninteresting level design, a Spidey that couldn't run up walls or blast enemies with with web until unlocked, and some web slinging/swinging and stealth gameplay that was frankly boring.

While it could very well be a great game after the first level, I personally did not enjoy playing a Spidey that (unless unlocked) couldn't even use webs on enemies.

This was a step back for Spidey and Activision.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pickups

posted by gargam3l (LUMBERTON, NJ) Sep 15, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

game was good, would have been alot better without all the pickups. I really hate when there are so many it takes away from the game itself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

my thought

posted by Hector79 (HIALEAH, FL) Sep 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

it looked and seeemend like fun but the game play is horrrible bu good graphics so i give it a 4 but yea i do not recomend unlsess you are really bored and have no other better game to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

JUST A GOOD GAME( 7 out of 10 )

posted by TripG18 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

HERE IS THE SCOOP .... i got the game put it in m 360 and fired away. It started off great... the features and everything is good just that the game does become a little repetitive..seems like your doin the same stuff as on the level before. so all in all it isn't a great game but worth renting if ya need to fill your GameQ... i give it a 7 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

spiderman game is not that good.

posted by MAGLITE420 (WARNER ROBINS, GA) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

storyline and graphics were ok. gameplay horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mr Lee, go get some original idea's huh?!

posted by GamerKat (PEARSALL, TX) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Game looked cool, graphics were great and our main spidey managed to deliver his usual charming wit through-out the game, old woman was annoying as (oh wow how is that a swear word) THE BAD PLACE WHEN YOU DIE...



Just, did anyone else play those noir spiderman stages and get the feeling that they were playing arkham asylum?



Seriously, an all black spiderman who's main advantage is to stick to the shadows, and take out his enemies with stealthy nab and grabs with the other goons being none the wiser... hmmm, funny because it seemed to me like a certain caped crusader has been doing the exact same Fing thing for ever!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spider senses

posted by Ace1984 (NEW YORK, NY) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Now this is by far the best spiderman game ever and believe me I have played them all and I give this 100 out of 100

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Spider-man - Shattered Dimensions

posted by HappySun88 (REDONDO BEACH, CA) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game was incredibly fun. You get to play as four different Spideys, with different worlds and different attacks. But then... then come all the time challenges... which i assure you, are SO frustrating unless you play on easy... They brought the whole game down for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

whorrrrable

posted by xbrandon740 (NEWARK, OH) Jun 11, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

completely lame....I recommend this game to a child only

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not as good as expected

posted by toast (PLAINWELL, MI) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Definetly dissapointed in the gameplay, too much button mashing, upgrades can be a little much to do right in the middle of gameplay. if you have played previous spiderman games with the open map type, go where ever you want then this is not the game for you it tells you where to go in a confined place not really any room to web swing. and thats really dissappinting to me. extremely simple game if thats what your into overall not worth the time to play very dissapointing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertaining, but a few flaws

posted by glantern13 (HAZARD, KY) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Probably one of the best spiderman games Ive played, The games last about 6 1/2 hrs, The story's compelling and entertaining, spiderman jokes actually come across as funny, and each level is based around a certain Villain which keeps it fresh and interesting. The downside is the controls are unresponsive sometimes in tight situations when you have to flea from a battle and the noir levels try to do something new by introducing stealth into the universe but it just isn't that fun they end up being the least entertaing universe in the game, If you can put these minor problems aside you will come out with a entertaining experince,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse