Rent Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions for PS3
view large frontback

Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS, Wii
GF Rating
6.7

8699 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best Spider-Man game yet, but still has flaws.

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Oct 12, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

28 out of 32 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The game is really a blast. Each dimension has its differences, but enough similarity that it doesn't take too much to learn how to play each one. The game is split up into 3 stages, each with a 30 to 50 minutes level for each dimension. You can play these in any order and it won't mess with anything, which is a nice touch. Through the 12 levels, 4 of them really stuck out as amazing. The Sandman and Juggernaut levels for the Amazing Universe were both well-made and very fun to play, the Goblin level in the Noir Universe is a worthy finale for that realm, and obviously, fighting Carnage is exactly who it would've been. hard and intense the whole time. Truly my favorite. And all the 2099 levels are fun, they're probably my favorite realm due to its amazing graphical presentation and style, but none of the levels are stand-outs. Unfortunately, this game has bad levels. Such as Kraven, Vulture, and Deadpool. The Ultimate Realm and 2099 are the best of the bunch. Ultimate has the most stable levels with the least problems and the Rage is awesome! And 2099 has its glitches and camera problems at times, but are the most out going levels. And the closed off levels versus the open world style of old Spider-Man games, actually makes it better.

Pros: Amazing presentation for all the dimensions, especially 2099. Great differences in combat and level design for each realm, the Web of Destiny is a super cool addition, levels are great, especially Carnage. Videos and character bios are a plus. Voice acting is perfect. Web zip is great, and the character designs are top notch as are the videos.

Cons: Bad camera at times, some bad and just annoying levels, and several annoying glitches in the camera and gameplay. And the final level against Mysterio is just bad. Glitchy, long, and dumb.

This game is worth your time, defiantly a rent, and a for sure buy for hard-core comic nerds.I'll be buying it, just be prepared for controller throwing anger at the finale. Which is a shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great idea but flawed

posted by PB1988 (STERLING, VA) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

The idea of having multiple versions of Spidey battling his gallery of villains is great, but the control system/camera is highly annoying and it's very, very difficult to get your bearings as to where you are in a given environment. It is also very hard to precisely to get to a given spot using the camera/navigation, esp. during boss battles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Shattered Dimensions Review

posted by JosephS (ARCADIA, CA) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

23 out of 33 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

During an encounter with Mysterio, the Amazing Spider-Man accidentally shatters the “Tablet of Order and Chaos”, and causes unbalance in multiple Marvel dimensions. Four different realities of Spider-Man: the Amazing Spider-Man, Spider-Man Noir, inspired by the Noir series set in 1930s Great Depression era, Spider-Man 2099, based on Spider-Man (Miguel O'Hara) created by Peter David and Rick Leonardi for Marvel Comics' Marvel 2099 line, and Ultimate Spider-Man, the Spider-Man currently bonded with a symbiote (Venom suit), must help Madame Web restore order in the Marvel Universes. Shattered Dimensions is a decent Spider-Man game worth renting.

The game has an authentic Spider-Man feel with Neil Patrick Harris, Christopher Daniel Barnes, and Josh Keaton as some of the voice actors for the alternate types of Spider-Man; all have background in animated or other game versions of Spider-Man. Also, Stan Lee finds a way to fit in as the narrator. Each Spider-Man has his own voice with plenty witty humor. There’d be no Spider-man with out his villain, and the game is full of them such as the Goblin, Sandman, Juggernaut, and Kraven the Hunter to name a few. There are even new Villains like Hammerhead a 1930’s loan shark with a skull inches thick and good for a head-butt.

At first the game play seems versatile with button mashing as Amazing Spider-Man and using stealth as Noir Spider-Man, but the level formula stays the same. Basically, you spend the level chasing a super-villain and destroying any henchman in your path in order to get a piece of the artifact, but it’s interesting to see who you have to chase next, since Spider-Man’s villains are some of the best in comics. Also, the Character and Combo upgrades are interesting. You can complete some exciting combos and earn a few alternate Spider-Man customs.

Overall, I give Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions a 7 out of 10. Big Spider-Man fans should consider buying this game while moderate fans should just rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but can be very boring

posted by Bman_725 (BROOKPARK, OH) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game has solid gameplay and story but is very repetitive how you get to play as 4 different spideys well everything is good bosses are unique story fine but it just gets boring fighting goons and weird creature every level i played 4 levels on the hardest difficultly and i fought hob goblin, kraven, hammerhead, and electro all different spidermen voice acting is good even brought christopher daniel barnes the voice of 1994 spidey as Noir. Good graphics, story, and gameplay but when you have nothing but just button mashing it gets boring if you like spiderman you'll love this game just you can't play it all at once i played it in intervals

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Extremely Fun! Extremely Rent-able!

posted by Gamer3253 (HAWTHORNE, CA) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I give this game a 8 because it's interesting all the way until the end...
But also because I wouldn't buy it. I'm an young adult who's a fan of spider-man I'm more interested in serious games, I guess. Although, I recommend younger kids or teens to buy it. Heck, if you're a adult and like Spider-man it's fun enough to rent and buy too.

There are parts of the game that remind you of Spider-man 1 on he PS1 system, which is the wall crawling part and the swinging off of sky. (which is not possible) but It brought me back to fun and exciting games.

Bosses are pretty fun. Each level changes up enough so that it doesn't get repetitive. The cut scenes are great. This spider-man is a little more sarcastic and meaner than all the others which makes the game more funnier. You Upgrade just about everything for each Spider-man character, and the more spidey icons points (if that's what they call it) you collect you'll soon be able to unlock different costumes. Which they are pretty sweet. You'll want to see them.

Rent it... Buy it... The game is honestly fun, especially for Spider-man fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Josher (WINDERMERE, FL) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

15 out of 24 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I was pretty skeptical when I added this game to my GameQ. It turned out to be a Great game.

As We all know, The past games are your usual "swing across the city to Your missions, While beating up baddies on the side", But this is totally different.

The game is cut up into Levels. No, You can't go around A City and swing around like a Crazy Bafoon. The Levels give you alot of freedom, And the boss Battles are awesome, Especially the Sandman one.

Graphics are Average, Nothing that will make You drool or anything.

As we all know the levels are cut up into 4 Dimensions, You play a level for each one and get a piece in a certain order, the order is: Amazing, Noir, 2099, and Ultimate. And then you repeat that order, Each level You chase after a boss Who has a piece.

They all give You a new taste, Amazing is a more Brighter play field (Great feature in several levels: In levels such as sandman, Boxes and crates and barrels will start flying around all over the place in the air, and you can web zip from these crates, Think the scene in Spiderman where he is diving to save his aunt, pulling himself closer with the falling rubble.), As Noir is a darkness field (It plays out like Splinter Cell: Conviction, Its brighter when Your in the light and people can see you, And will shoot you if they are turned towards you. You can do Takedowns from the walls, From behind somebody, And more), 2099 is a more futuristic setting, They have a cool feature where Your skydiving between buildings after a enemy. You also have this Accelerated Vision, Where You can turn it on when the meter is full, and time slows down for everyone around You and you can beat everyone up in that time.
Ultimate Has pretty much the same playing field as Amazing, Maybe just slightly darker? You have a Rage bar that can be filled as you fight and then you go into a powerful state and You can kill everything rather quickly.

It has some funny jokes as well, And with all of this I give it a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

EH, worth playing once

posted by stiles (KANSAS CITY, MO) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

keepin it short n sweet, game is ok, worth playing once, dont buy, u may be disappointed. no replay value. Fun concept tho

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

No Go

posted by bigelliot (LAKEWOOD, WA) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game absolutely blows.
It is boring. The concept is great, but the gameplay is absolutely lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

just awful

posted by telatsu (COVENTRY, RI) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This game is a poor knock off of every other platformer out there +webbing that doesn't target correctly. i played this game for 2 regretable hours i will never get back. if you want a fun platformer, or even just a good game to play do not get this game it is terrible.

while some parts are beautiful others looks rough and cheesy, spider mans banter in any of the worlds are horribly played out and mediocre
this game handles like a poor mans assassin's creed. the camera is rarely ever centered where you want it and when you try to adjust the camera it makes accurate movement close to impossible. overall if you were handed this game for free you were still ripped off because your the one that will have to put in the effort to throw it in the trash

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

total failure

posted by GamrGuY00 (TUCSON, AZ) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As an avid spiderman fan and one who has played all of the other games, I must say that this game was a major let down. Now there are some things that u get to do in this game that u didnt in previous games but, it lacks some of the most basic things that make spiderman who he is. in each level u do the same thing, badguy has peice of slab chase him down, kick his butt take it back. The game wasnt a total failure, u do get to pull of some pretty cool combos and the player design of some of the bosses is awesome. But over all if u try to compare this game to any other game like Arkham Asylum ur going to be very diappointed. Im not going to lie, Im not a batman fan in the slightest but that was an awesome game. this one however gets an ok at best. I wish I would have rented instead of bought. but its to late, the damage has been done so o well. As I have stated before there are some highlights in the game. the story line being a major point. Also the spiderman noir version is probably the best demiension and in my opinion could stand on its own as a seperate game. it was an intresting look at nother side of our hero. I said before that the game is missing things that make our hero so cool these things are as follows: you either fight on rooftops or one ground not both, why cant u do like in web of shadows where some of ur best fights happen on the side of buildings? the web swinging just flat out sucked so does the web zip as well. Again most of the areas u fight in are large enough so that u should be bouncin of the walls instead u have to struggle to get a good swing. Spiderman is all about speed agility and acrobatics, its like when they made this game the just settled for the least amount of these aspects. compare this game to others at ur own risk but know that this game had potential and they screwed it up big time. fun to play, bad to buy. In my opinion a real spiderman game was and always will be web of shadows. If u havent played it ur missing out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good concept, clumsy implementation

posted by funtime (MEDFORD, MA) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are fantastic, the combat is frenetic and fun, the character upgrade system is based off the of the popular Devil May Cry model, with an innovative twist.

However, the controls are clumsy and the boss fights are poorly designed. What must be accomplished in each fight is usually clear, but the controls make the fight significantly more difficult than is necessary. In essence, the controls themselves become an obstacle in the boss fight.

Another month of polish on the controls and targeting (as well as the irksome camera) would have made this an 8 easily.

Overall, it's a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

could be way betetr but camera and wonkey controls

posted by kingkiller (BOWIE, MD) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is a great game the plot and thoery behind this game make for a compelling game. but the camera controls and limnitations they put you in and surrounding leave something to be desired. the sandman final battle really perpetuaties all this with me having barely been able to see where i needed to go and how bad it was. i got frustrated ready to rage haha. but this gbame needs improvements but like where it was trying to go

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

COOL

posted by bubbaj (SAINT GEORGE, GA) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Spiderman is a fun game to play.Lets start with Noir is probably the best out of all of them to me.There are numerous amounts of takedowns,but the only thing wrong is its always kill, save citizen,kill,boss fight,but other than that its fun.Amazing was ok the boss fights at the end are preaty cool,but he has no special abillities so not as fun as you would expected.2099 was really epic jumping from high buildings to chase the bad guy.2099s special abillity is to go in slow motion to dodge rockets,and the boss fights are fun.Ultimate was really cool going into rage mode is awsome to use some.Boss fights are fun but some are easy but its fun.Overall is was fun its has a problem here and there.The finall boss fight wasn't as fun as I expected,but im not going to spoil it for you.The games worth a rent .I give it a 8.5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The best one yet

posted by the1sam (WATERBURY, CT) Sep 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is real good is the best spider-man game I play. The story is not that good but the action is well made

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

PERFECT FUN GAME FOR ITS TARGET AUDIENCE

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

WHICH ISNT ME.... no just kidding . if you enjoyed Arkham Asylum gameplay,,, new style Borderlands art graphics and Forgotten Sands style combat(button mashing) than bucko we got you a game to rent.. no nudity or profanity just a good story line that kids will find easy to follow.. afterall this game is for kids ...isnt it?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not like the others....

posted by Fatalizm (NEWARK, DE) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this game, being the previous spider man games were rather fun and entertaining. However, this was a bit too much of a "kiddie" game. By the graphics, senseless humor, and overall play of the game. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not the worst, but certainly worse than I expected

posted by Bogalu (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The initial appeal to spiderman games to me was the superhero-grand-theft-auto like feel to the last what has felt like a 1000 spiderman games. If that is what you like about these games, than I would not recommend this game at all! There is NO open world. It strictly mission based. No side missions. The concept of different dimension spiderman games was a fantastic idea, but the execution had me nearly screaming at the game because of how linear the game play was. Its literally easy enough to sum this game up as swing around, beat up a few baddies, and if your lucky enough to be the splinter cell like spiderman, then run back into the shadows. The game play gets soo stale that I found myself bored 3 hours into the game.

This was a huge disappointment and if you value your time at all, than you will not rent this game, let alone buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

EH...

posted by prfctsabel (MILWAUKEE, WI) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

It comes off as a poor mans arkham asylum but is completely linear. Combat can turn into a button mash at times. Game is very short, glad I rented it and didn't buy seeing how easy of a game it was. For me, the noir levels were the most fun because it was a stealthy thinker type levels. Fine to rent but I'm sure there are better games to try first

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best spiderman game ever

posted by miclarry10 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

if u can get through the first part the rest is so awsome and the differnt characters r so amazing im about to buy this game for its amazing gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

shattered dimensions

posted by cptbatman (SLIPPERY ROCK, PA) Sep 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you are a spidey fan this game is excellent and its difficult to ask for more... you will like it alot. if youre not that big of a spiderman fan, this game is still solid but might not be a keeper.

spiderfans should buy it

action game fans should at least give it a rent

-peace out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

VEERRY GOOD!

posted by Discipl (ARLINGTON, TX) Sep 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was a fan of spidey WOB, but this game puts evvery spidey game to shame! Sure the game isnt very long, about six hours or so (depending on if you like to collect extras) and the extra content in this game should keep you replaying this game. instead of cellecting certain orbs, you complete challenges, and they are very fun to do! unlocking extra suits and concept art, figurines etc. This is about the ONLY game to where I look forward to fighting a boss, they are phenomanal! each dimention is like playing a whole new spidey game, so that should keep the variety going. Also the FPS battles are very cool, especially in NOIR. the levels and gameplay are fresh and this game was well put together (unlike WOB and many of its predecessors) sure they took out free roam, which I was very iffy about, but it surprised me how I still had so much room to dish out exploding combos and zip around without a camera siezure. and the voice acting and graphics for this game was great! neil patrick harris did amazing! also they brought in the young peter parker from the spectacular spidey carttons (which was cool) and nolan north as dead pool was GREAT! Now for the cons, the only thing I found iffy was some of the camera moments at times ( especially during the sand man level) it was frustrating trying to throw an object at the enemies to make them vulnerable. but that was about the only level I found myself frustrated at. The other problem was in the noir demension, sometimes the camera wont lock on to do a takedown, but this is easly outwieghed by how much fun this game is. I also encountered about two minor glitches, one where the enemy dissapeard and in order to continue you must defeat all the enemies, but thanks to their good checkpoints, I didnt have to start too far behind. And the other was when I shot through the ground outta the map (which was actually pretty cool). all in all, this game was a fantastic spidey game, I hope you guys enjoy the awsome suits and collectables!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok job spidey

posted by batman77 (LONGVIEW, WA) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game game was pretty fun it had alot of exciting parts with all of the various villains it was a bit reppetitive when you went into 1st person view but it was a nice touch the biggest problem was it was kinda glitchy and sometimes you would have to wait to die kill yourself or turn off the console but over all it was a good rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good game, when you can play it...

posted by Troghdor (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Oct 10, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The Good: Decent Storyline, Great voice acting with the likes of Niel Patrick Harris as the amazing spiderman, and graphics are done well for each dimension.

The Bad: While gameplay is fun, It can become monotonous, beat up baddies here, save the hostages there, oh, and the first person boss beat downs while initially something fun quickly turn into an annoyance.

The Ugly: Glitches, Glitches, GLITCHES. During my attempts to play through, enemies fell through the floor, making them impossible to defeat, and the game froze on no less than 5 occasions, causing me to force a restart of my PS3. There were times I would be chasing down electro, and I would skip to the next section of the stage without fighting the mobs he spawned, and finally after each chapter was completed and I moved on to the next, I would get stuck on the loading screen, watching the loading bar flash for 5-10 minutes, able to interact with the hint menu, but nothing else.

Overall: If you're dying to play the game, give it a shot, but if you can hold out, wait until they get a patch because this game is unplayable under most conditions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Way to many ppl to save.

posted by Diablo8 (LAMONT, CA) Sep 28, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Seriously got repetative and boring after the first 4 missions. Not an Adult type game, But seems good for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Spiderman game ever

posted by Financial (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

My review title says it all. Great cartoon graphic style and short cinema scenes. Great idea to have four dimension/Spiderman to play. Moves and controls work well. Overrall, this game deserves higher reviews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse