Rent Spider-Man: Friend or Foe for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Spider-Man: Friend or Foe

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, PSP Games, DS, Wii
GF Rating
6.1

2472 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Old School Brawling & Rare Co-op

posted by Tomeeboy (SPRINGBORO, OH) Oct 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

20 out of 20 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Many will think that Spider-Man: Friend or Foe is fairly watered down in comparison to many games on the market these days. It's a simplistic game, with an old school feel to it. It's not a bad game, though, and can actually be quite fun if you focus on the gameplay rather than everything the title is missing.

The co-op play is a welcome feature and provides something that most Xbox 360 games lack; local multiplayer that does not rely on Xbox Live. It compares well with the co-op play in Lego Star Wars II, and has a similar "jump-in" / "jump-out" functionality that allows a friend or family member to take control of your ally. The simplicity of the game makes it easy for just about anyone to pick up, so this is a great title for somebody wanting to spend some quality gaming time with their kids or significant other. If there's one complaint I can come up with for co-op, it's that the ally characters aren't anywhere near as enjoyable to play as Spider-Man, so the person playing with you might have a bit of web envy when seeing all of the things you can do.

The game's graphics are simple, but sharp and crisp looking. For the kind of game this is, I think they fit quite well and benefit the gameplay when combined with the smooth frame rate on the 360 version. The sound is pretty good as well, and features some nice voiceover work.

Overall, it's a fun game that is probably worth a rent. I can't say that I would personally recommend buying it, as it is quite short and lacks features that might increase its replay value. However, if you enjoy old school gameplay and the ability to team up with somebody who is actually sitting right next to you, then Spider-Man: Friend or Foe should provide you with at least 5-6 hours of fun (and an easy 1000 achievement points as well!).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If you like gamerpoints...

posted by Delirium (SOUTH MILWAUKEE, WI) Feb 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

...then this game isn't a bad choice. All achievements are fairly easy if you follow a guide to find the collectibles and you spend a couple of hours to level everyone up.

That being said, the game play is fairly simplistic and is played by hacking away at the punching button. No real strategies are used while playing the game so it gets super competitive. The only way I see someone playing this game is if they really want those points.

The graphics are decent and there are many recognizable characters so if you're a fan of the comics and old shows, it'll be somewhat worth it. The only negative is that everyone fights the same and there's no real depth in the whole system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a horrible game...

posted by Scooter217 (PAWTUCKET, RI) Feb 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was not bad, but it was very easy. Definitely geared towards the younger gamers. It was a bit repetitive and started to get annoying towards the end. I beat this game in about 7 hours so its not a long game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

decent

posted by swebb5 (HARRODSBURG, KY) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game itself is pretty short, even after finding all of the secrets and ulockables. Easy 1000 achievement points!!! Great for children

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Well, Spider-Man 3 Looks Decent In Comparison

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Feb 17, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To refer to this game as "baby easy" would be an insult to infants. A less challenging game has yet to developed. It is, literally, almost impossible to lose. Actually, I'm not sure it's possible to lose.

OK, the story is that some robotic force is taking your enemies hostage via mind control. You are then teaming up with allies and enemies to fight whatever nefarious source for mind control evilness is out there.

I will now enlighten you and spoil the game by naming every single bad guy you will face in the game. This is not an exaggeration --- it is, in fact, every single enemy in the game: human-sized robot, larger robot, big robot, big robot with bamboo shield, big robot with metal shield, Doctor Octopus, Rhino, Goblin, Sandman, and Mysterio. This is the entire roster of enemies. And, as you can imagine, you don't fight many enemies outside of the first 2 --- so you will be fighting the same enemies over and over.

It couldn't be more tedious if it tried.

It is a moderately pretty game. The audio is decent. But the game is roughly as monotonous as any game has ever been. You can't die. You'll pop off 925 achievement points in about 5 hours --- but the last 75 points is a total marathon. A marathon run on shards of broken glass. With wolverines chasing you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as bad

posted by Ca2106 (Dallas, TX) Oct 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I got this game cause im a huge spiderman fan. It's not that bad but it could have been better i wish in the story mode you could pick different heroes together instead of picking spidey and some else. Ovarall it a cool game kinda sort but its ok once you mix the heroes up a play it again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ok game

posted by leon1406 (PALMDALE, CA) Oct 9, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this game was ok

graphics-
the graphics in this are only good in the movies they are ok in gameplay but i think it could be much better

gameplay-
the gameplay is good because it is mostly like ultimate alliance just with not much characters

characters-
the characters are not that good because they look too childish they shouldve made them way better and have a lot more moves

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by SpiDerMaNn (MIAMI, FL) Oct 21, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is actually a really good game... The only thing is that its more fun if u play with someone instead of just yourself. So go buy it and have some fun =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wait a second here..

posted by Vonfolger (WINTER PARK, FL) Oct 5, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Having played through the demo no less than 5 times, I can honestly say some of there reviews are missing the point. This game is an old school - Beat em' up title!

With the ability to unlock a ton of heroes and villains, each with their own set of powers, you're in for a fun ride.

Very much looking forward to playing the full version..

Think of it as ultimate alliance - lite.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worse than the Spiderman3 movie.

posted by Adder0 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Not even children that are fans of Spiderman will find anything fun about this game. I have played better games on newgrounds. This game may have been passable 8 years ago on PS1. As a next gen game on a next gen console this game is pathetic. The graphics flat and un-inspired. After playing five minutes of this game, you will have played everything the gameplay has to offer. There is no sense what so ever that you are playing a superhero let alone a character of any kind, you simply move around a pathetic looking avatar and punch other pathetic looking avatars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

worst spider man game ever

posted by babyabyty (BELL, FL) Oct 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

Its ok, but I wouldn't wast my time on this game. Go play spider-man 3. Its 10 times better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

suck BAD

posted by xboxlive36 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 3, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 25 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

do not rent this game it suck bad man rent Spider MAN 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the cd is no good

posted by pennyi1 (LANSING, MI) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Jul 2006

the cd is no good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ehh..

posted by uzumaki_naruto (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

they could have done a better storyline for this game. made it way too kiddie, wont be appealing for young adults but good entertainment for your elementary school kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Spider-Man: Friend or Foe

posted by J3ssi3_4U (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Spider-Man: Friend or Foe

Very easy, beat it in like 5-6 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Total. Waste. Of. Time.

posted by 4Charlie (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

What. The. H3!!. Is. Activision. Thinking? After Web of Shadows I was stoked to play the other Spidey games but have been woefully disappointed. Shattered Dimensions was so bad I only played 2 levels before returning it, but Friend or Foe took it to new lows. Not only was it "campy", but there was no camera angle changes (left stick on xBox360). You may as well have been playing Mario Brothers with marginally (MARGINALLY) better graphics (competing with Shattered Dimensions for taking several steps backward in the gaming graphics arena).

I force fed myself through 3 levels (was bored) but wish I had stopped before finishing the first. I am a bit disappointed that I finished Web of Shadows since it is the only one I would be willing to pick up again.

Save yourself some time and move onto the next game in your queue.

GOOD: cannot think of anything good to say about this game (feel like I wasted money this month on my membership with the time breaks between Shattered Dimensions and Friend or Foe return and delivery).

BAD: everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Worst of the Spider-Man Video Gamess.

posted by Circus15 (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Spider-Man: F.O.F. isn't as good as I thought it was going to be. The idea of partnering up with friends and foes alike was a good concept, but they really messed it up. The levels were too complicated and at the same time too easy to beat. I'm looking for more of a challenge with the next game I get. Spider-Man Friend Or Foe shouldn't even be in your Video Game library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Made me impatient.

posted by cord339 (BROOKLYN, NY) May 17, 2010

Member since May 2010

It was fun at first, but midway it got repetitive and draggy. It became more of a chore than fun for my brother and I. However, we were well into the game to stop; so we continued until we finished it. Besides you get plenty of achievement points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect Arcade Game! So much fun

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Apr 28, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

I rented this with low expectations because I never heard of it. It was awesome to say the least. There's no amazing graphics or super sweet God of War gut ripping combos with a sick soundtrack. BUT, it's an almost perfect Marvel arcade game, and here's why!!!!! This is great for anyone of all ages; I'm unfortunately 25. and single.

Spiderman is the main character, but you always have at least 1 sidekick, whom you can choose to control at any time, making Spiderman the AI now. You unlock other teammates as you defeat them in about 20 levels. Levels have medium exploration capabilities , but are very engaging in that you can pick up almost anything and throw it at enemies or whatever. Everyone from Lizardman, Rhino, Doc Octopus, Green Goblin, and 9 more are here. Anytime you get sick of Spidey, switch to someone else.

The controls are also almost perfect. They are not overwhelming like other games. If you've played Ultimate Alliance, you'll feel at home here, and there are not many buttons to push at all. You do spend a lot of time button mashing X and B, but so what.

You can collect points to upgrade your skills as you progress, and your teammates' skills and attributes as well, which is cool. Customize away.

It was also extremely easy to get 1000 achievement points, which took me <6 hours. If you're a hunter, gather this one up for sure! This and TMNT are fun and super easy to get 1000.

I would say absolutely rent this. You can play co-op offline only, which blows, but it makes the game tons of fun if you have someone to play with, and pass the joint to.

Milt Drucker- xbox gamertag
breaking controllers one day at a time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A very simple basic game

posted by DieCell (COVINGTON, KY) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Very repetitive, simple, childlike and short. Good for a quick 925G through one play through as the collectibles are easy to find. Co-op, the game is actually more enjoyable. It gives you a slight feeling like the old Maximum Carnage and Separation Anxiety games back on Sega Genesis with another player. And instead of fighting bosses alone on single player a buddy can assist you in the battles. Good game for kids or achievement seekers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not terrible

posted by gameboy102 (LENOIR, NC) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

it was a good enough game the graphics are kinda poor and everybody's face looks the same like kinda little kidish but besides that its cool I mean the fighting and the leveling up was interesting enough it was a fun game for co-op and kinda reminded me of an older ninja turtles game I played before but yea if you're having friend over and you want a game for you two to play and you like marvel and spiderman this is definitely one you should look at

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Who needs friends? Only foes

posted by aroness26 (FRESNO, CA) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

When I first heard about this game it gave me no desire to play it much less find out what its about, but I was pleasantly surprised at how fun it actually was.
First of all I was far to surprised that they kept the same character designs from the movies, that was a huge mistake! They should of just kept the same character designs from the comics. Would of worked much better not to mention they did not even try finding any actors that even sounded like the ones that played them in the films so whats the point?
Good news is the game is actually a lot of fun. I always wanted to fight as Doc Oc and now you can and its a lot of fun. Why these villains decided to fight along side Spider man made almost no sense at all. Long time villains ready to rip you from limb from limb now be friend you for some payback? They can get that on their own no question. But its a good excuse for us to play as these villains.
The combat worked well for each and ever character in the game giving them their own unique type of fighting that works well for them.
The game takes you on a given path so you cant actually go out of it, which is hard for a Spider man game because you want to swing around but sadly that doesn't happen.
Overall this is a good co-op game more then anything. You get so much more fun out of this game with a friend playing it with you and kicking some butt together.
Its a fun game that is worth looking into. It wont be your favorite game but it will give you a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Repetitive!!!

posted by BadatGames (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Spiderman Friend or Foe is the most repetitive game i have ever played. Even though there is a large selection of characters and cool powers, it feels like your playing the same level over again. It feels like you just want to get the game over with because of it's badness. The only good thing is co-op mode or versus,you can choose your own villian or hero and battle. One thumb up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent

posted by XKendo (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Let me start off by reminding players that this is a E+ game so It isn't as violent as other spider-man games.Now just because it isn't like other Spider-Man games doesn't mean its bad.Spidey:FoF unlike other games in the series is a dungeon crawler game where the main goal is to find,beat,and recruit Hero's / Villain's.Once beaten the hero or villain will be added to your side kick list which can be found on the Shield helicarrier.Each level has collectibles such as DNA helixes ,which unlock powers for spidey,and keystones ,which unlock arena's which once beaten will be unlocked for vs mode.The story line is about average and the game play is very simple , but the graphic's could be better. all in all I recommend FoF to any fans of the spider man series.

5.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

spider man freind or foe

posted by dolphins54 (BUCKEYE, AZ) May 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

this game is perfect for your kids between the ages of 5-12 years old. any older and it will be to simple to play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse