Rent Spider-Man: Edge of Time for Wii
view large frontback

Spider-Man: Edge of Time

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS, DS, Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
7.4

245 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pushes the Edge of Action/Adventure

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Your friendly neighborhood Spider Man is back, and this time he’s got help from the Spider Man in the year 2099. Seems something has gone amiss in the time stream, and the two Spider Men have to team up to stop it.
The formula is what you’d expect from the genre: go from point A to point B, bash everyone in sight, then repeat until you get to the end of the game.
But this game is much more than just a simple beat ‘em up. The story is gripping, the chemistry between the two Spider Men is spot on, and some of the boss fights (including the last on) are a lot of fun to take on. But there are some sections – namely in the middle - where there’s a lot of “beat up the bad guy so you can get the key to go on to the next section.” And there are many segments where I had to rapidly shake the Wiimote (to open doors, tear apart robots or power up machines.)
Luckily, these annoyances don’t happen too often – and with challenges, upgrades and trophies to collect, there’s plenty of reason to go back and try the game a second or third time (it will took about five to seven hours for me to get through the game the first time around).
The controls do get some time to get used to (especially the attack buttons on the Control Pad), but after a bit of toying, I was able to get used to controlling both main characters. The only problem I have was shooting the web; sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t.
Spider Man: Edge of Time really stands out in a genre of disappointments (including X-Men: Destiny.) If you are a fan of action/adventure, then this is one you have to try out. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

spiderman edge of time

posted by goldendestroyer (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Oct 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

i just recieved my game on tuesday played it and heres my opinion... awsome sit on the edge of you seat thriller many alternitev costumes epic story everything about it is just so perfect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Big disappointment

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After the awesomeness that was "Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions", I felt confident in developer Beenox's ability to craft a genuinely good Spidey game. I even went ahead and bought "Edge of Time" brand new without even trying it first.

Well, so much for that vote of confidence

"Edge of Time" takes everything that "Shattered Dimensions" did right and throws it out the window. The game environment is dull, dreary, and unchanging (just one big series of featureless hallways and metallic antechambers), and there isn't even any stylistic difference between the year 2099 and the present day, just as there isn't any notable difference in the ways the two Spider-Men behave. The combat is little more than mindless, repetitive button-mashing, and the enemies are extremely annoying. And believe it or not, actual progression through the game is just the old, tired, boring cycle of "beat an enemy to get a key, use the key to reach a switch, throw the switch to access another room full of enemies, beat those enemies to get another key, etc."

Where "Shattered Dimensions" was loaded with clever writing, vibrant personalities, varied challenges, and dynamic levels, "Edge of Time" is just one, big, tiresome, sub-par bore.

Looks like "Shattered Dimensions" was just a fluke, folks. Spider-Man games have been stinking up the shelves for years, and it looks like they're going to continue to stink, probably all the way into the year 2099.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's fun but,,,,,,

posted by WHOOPWHOOOP (HUMBOLDT, AZ) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Could b better but I liked the others game's a lot more because there is more 2 the story then what they did here,they should have put more work on this game...but fun 4 the kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could only take about an hour of this.

posted by KLSnow (APPLETON, WI) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The premise here is really cool, and the story quickly drew me in. But after spending about an hour crawling over and over on the same labrynith-like walls with no sense of direction, I got frustrated and put it back in the envelope.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

really?????

posted by thegamer209 (STOCKTON, CA) Dec 6, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game has the worst image ever but u cant blame the game you can only blame the wii....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No....

posted by ttitb (HILLSBORO, OR) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The only thing cool about the game is the costumes. Other than that, not really impressed. Expected more after Shattered Dimensions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Edge of Insanity

posted by SableFox97 (JAMAICA, NY) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

Quality voice acting with hints of nostalgia? Check.
Entertaining storyline? Check.
Quality main cut scenes with unsettlingly realistic graphics? Check.
Quality gameplay with no glitches? Fail.

You play as Miguel O'hara, spiderman of 2099, and Peter Parker the original spiderman as the former goes on his quest to maintain peace in his own time. He teams up with his inspiration in the past to fix damage made by a time-jumping mastermind. The opening leads right into some fresh gameplay that seems fluid and fun at first but quickly devolves into struggling to survive relentless hordes of overpowered clone baddies, cloned hallways and arenas, then struggling [and failing] to accomplish some near-impossible challenges.

You need only look at the publisher of the game to know what you're in for in terms of gameplay quality. Activison has the goods, shows the potential and rarely, if ever, delivers on fun with big-name heroes like spidey. At best, you'll just be throwing your controller to the floor when you die on your millionth try to survive another one of O'hara's free falls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

spiderman

posted by twztdmnd (RICHMOND, KY) Dec 20, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

was hard to play with wii remote. will wait for ps2 adapters then try again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What is this? I don't even...

posted by Zerodin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2006

Uneven PS2 grade visuals, clumsy and confusing controls, no way to tell where your objectives are, and an unruly camera. This is the poster child of bad games. I can't speak for the HD version of this title, but there is no reason to play the Wii version. Don't even bother renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

He's Back :D

posted by hazelheart (EVERETT, WA) Jun 9, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

I liked the story of the game, the whole concept was good. but i have to say i was very dissapointed when it came to the graphics it could have been a whole lot better and also i thought anti venom was WAY too easy as well as the CEO. but there was one thing out of the whole entire game that really annoyed me the most.....the word SHOCK
miguel O'hara uses the word shock waay toooo much!!! like i think i heard hime say it 3 times in one sentence! and i wish there was more sences with black cat but other than that the game was good and if your a fan of spider man you'll like this game :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Game dosnt work

posted by droze (SUMMERVILLE, SC) May 29, 2012

Member since May 2012

We think the game might be scratched from the last people that played it so try to fix it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

free roam

posted by alexc770 (SAVANNAH, GA) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

need free roam need need need no fun without

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

long game

posted by jakeanglo (DERBY, CT) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

its awsome. the only thing is that some levels are very hard. the story line is good. it is also very long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great

posted by heatblast (HAMILTON, OH) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

it's a good game.but the levels pretty hard and its hard to upgrade health and stuff.but its still awesome.i like both spider men.there special abilty rocks too.spider man is hyper sense and spider man 2099 is a spider man decoy.but still its awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I'll Stand the Best To 2099

posted by poppatrick12345 (RIVERSIDE, RI) Feb 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I don't know WHAT you are talking about MetalMario this is the best Spidey game I've played so far. The grapics are as amazing as Spidey is himself. The Gameplay is intence where ya don't know what's gona happen next. I think they could make this a movie with the grapics it has.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »