Rent Spider-Man: Edge of Time for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Spider-Man: Edge of Time

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $19.99

Also on:Wii, PS3, DS, 3DS
GF Rating
6.4

2564 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome

posted by Serincino (BRADENTON, FL) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not sure why people complained about this game or said it was a bad game. It was a straight forward Spider-man game. It wasn't a long game, but the story was interesting, the voice acting was GREAT, and it made you want to keep moving forward. All and all a good game, not open environment like some others, but the story wasn't for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I don't get the low ratings on this game...

posted by Ashes_Darkmare (CENTRAL FALLS, RI) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played hours on hours on this game... my only complaint? I wish the game was longer... This game was a lot shorter then Shatter Dimensions. The game felt like a continuing of Shatter Dimensions in the same gameplay style... some things in it was not needed like some of the Web of challanges missions... some of them was frustrating but I got all Gold emblems for it so that good... I could rent this game again one day after I rent Shatter Dimensions so I can get a save file so I can get the extra costumes.

So I give this a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Less than what I'd hoped; definite rent.

posted by supershdow (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Sep 2005

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Having played Shattered Dimensions, I had high hopes for this title. Because I played Shattered Dimensions, I was slightly disappointed with it. The opening cut-scene from the start menu was a neat touch and drew me in immediately, but as the game progressed my adrenaline gradually died down. The game play is alright. You play as two versions of our friendly neighborhood Spider-Man: Amazing and 2099, Amazing taking place in our time, and 2099 taking place in the future. The two Spiders play very similarly with only small differences being level design and attacks. Objectives are very limited in the game however, consisting of brawling with endless waves of goons appearing out of thin air, and collecting keys, which are held by goons that appear out of thin air. The levels consist of narrow halls, and "futuristic" labs and such. For those who played SD, 2099's sky diving mini game is back and appears a lot. Like, a lot a lot. It's not open world; very linear. The voice acting is a major positive and the graphics are decent, however the style presented in SD appealed to me more so.

The story is pretty straight forward. A head scientist in 2099 attempts to rewrite history and screw with the current time line, and Amazing's. Future Spidey has a beef with this and devotes himself to foiling this plot. The scientist succeeds and 2099 Spider-man must recruit the Spidey of the past to correct the time-lines.

Major villains that are featured include Anti-venom, Black Cat (for some reason), the new Atrocity, and the final boss who I won't reveal (it'd be a major spoiler if I did.)

All in all, it's by all means worth a rent, but don't buy it, because once you beat it( took me less than 10 hours), there's virtually no replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Surprise hit

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I didn't expect very much from Spider-Man: Edge of Time at first glance. Essentially it's Shattered Dimensions without the Ultimate or Noir dimensions. I didn't have too much faith in it from the beginning, so I decided to rent it first and see how it is. To my surprise I found it pretty hard to put down. It has a much deeper story than last time, but despite the gameplay changes, overall you don't feel like you're missing very much. It draws away from the gameplay variation of Shattered Dimensions, but it makes up for it in its overall complexity. The complexity of Shattered Dimensions derived from the variation in each of the four types of levels. The levels themselves were more cut and dry. With Edge of Time, the whole game is more complex in and of itself. It's more story driven, and you may have to do something in the past to save the life of whichever Spider-Man is in the future, and it's cool to see the world change around you when that happens. "Quantum causeality", as it's refered to by the Spider-Men. A lot of these moments will force the Spider-Man in present day to act fast before the other Spider-Man is killed, and it can be really tense. This game isn't perfect, and it's not quite as good as Shattered Dimensions, but it's still a satisfying experience nonetheless that is worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Beenox improves in storytelling, everything else..

posted by Ghost_72429 (BOGALUSA, LA) Oct 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

One of the biggest complaints of thw 2010 Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions was that the story was weak, nonsensical, or just plain stupid. Developer Beenox took this to heart in their development of the loose sequel, Edge of Time. However, many gameplay elements from the first are lacking.

Story 9/10

Premise: Bad guy from 2099 uses time machine to go to 1970 to found Alchemax earlier and Amazing Spider-Man is killed. Spider-Man 2099 sees this and uses a mental link to try and stop it. There is fantastic character development, entertaining banter between the two Spider-Men, and one particularly jaw dropping moment about 2/3 through.

Design 5/10

The game doesn't have self-contained levels like Shattered Dimensions, and flows from one chapter to the next as you switch from Spidey of now to Spidey of later. The Web of Destiny returns, renamed the Web of Challenges, and some of them are VERY difficult, requiring almost perfect performance. There are only about half a dozen enemy types for each Spider-Man, and they get old quick. Boss battles are cheap and frustrating.

Gameplay 4/10

I hate to say it, but the developers took a massive step backwards in this particular department. In Shattered Dimensions, I don't remember spamming the x button the entire game. There were unlockable combos and much deeper combat mechanics. There are some new elements, but they really don't mesh too well. Each Spider-Man has an ability to avoid damage, but that's about it.

Presentation 7/10

The graphics are crisp and sharp, character animations are well-done, and movement is smooth even when dozens of enemies begin to crowd the screen. The voice acting is absolutely top notch. However, the ENTIRE game is set inside the Alchemax building, and the environments get very samey very quickly. The combat sound effects seem...unsatisfying. Can't really put my finger on what it is, I just didn't feel like my puches and kicks were causing real damage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A letdown

posted by JJackson2288 (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Okay so after playing Spider-man: Shattered Dimensions and really enjoying it, I had high hopes developer Beenox's second Spidey title. I expected them to learn from their mistakes and improve on what they did well. Sadly that is not the case. The first act of the game sure had me fooled as it started off strong with a great opening and a level of presentation that wowed me. The great voice work, graphics, the pace of the story and the fast and fluid combat had me convinced that this game was going to be a truly great title.

Unfortunately, after ACT 1 ended it all went downhill from there. The game turns into a straight up button masher. The mission objectives got repetitive and while there were some changes to what you had to do. Most of the time you had to obtain a key from a baddie to open a door. Beenox seems obsessed with the number 3. Fight through waves of enemies to acquire 3 keys to open the door, hit 3 switches to access something. Not a very fun set of missions. When playing as Spider-man 2099, you get to play free-fall segments like in SD but there are too many of these segments and they get annoying fast.

There is even less web swinging this time around as the entire game takes place in one Giant Building. While the back and forth banter between Amazing Spider-man and Spider-man 2099 are fun to listen to, the game isn't as funny as Shattered Dimensions.

Even though the story doesn't falter and the combat still manages to be fun at times, the amount of repetitiveness and lack of laughs keep this from being great game or even a good one. The extra costumes (which are pretty cool) you can unlock and the challenges you can do to gain more experience to power up your Spider-men aren't reason enough to replay this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Story, but felt lacking

posted by foxwoods87 (BROOKFIELD, CT) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It recieved spiderman the edge of time yesterday, and spent about 6hours to beat the story on normal difficulty without going through all the web challenges. Like its previous game shattered dimensions, edge of time feautres regular spidey and 2099. Both are going back and forth between present and future to help each other to prevent a full on cluster f of emense proportions.
I really enjoyed the opening sequence of the game and how they presented the credits and it truly had a move-esc feel to it as you enter the evil alcemax corperation.
The game had a great beginning a decent end, but like alot of games, faltered in the middle. What i liked about the previous game was that it had different side story arcs and villians that the different spideys would eventually have to fight. as for this game their are truly only about 4 main villians that you fight. not that im down playing the villains that were in the game, 3 out of 4 of them were very original and fun to play againest, but going through out the building doing the same tasks and fighting the same mindless drones and guards became kind of boring after a while. it just took to long bewteen boss fights.
As far as extra features go i felt the newspapers were the best add on, and the most hiliarous featuring villian news storys in alternate dimensions.
I felt they took a step back with the web challenges this time around. In shattered dimmensions they had unique challenges that were quite fun and challenging to achive and played consequence to the upgrade system. Edge of time merely had time challenges and orb collecting among thier few achievements.
all in all i thought the game had a good story line and could be a nice animated movie, but the middle just dragged on and lost me half way through. not that the game was that long either. Id list it as a decent rent but definatly not worth the 60$ at the store.
Oh and cross promoting it with xmen destiny wont help out thier sales either...horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Spiderman vs. the same 15 generic bad guys....

posted by jango62301 (NORTH APOLLO, PA) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to admit that this was the worst Spider-man video game that I have ever played! The whole game consisted of battling about 14 versions of a generic template foot soldier. And Atrocity?! Don't even get me started...the game had such promise with it's story and it just didn't flow. The ending of the game (if you can call it that) left many more questions than answers. And I don't see this game ever getting a sequel to answer them...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This is the type of game perfect for gamefly!

posted by KMA2k10 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Its a good game, its not great. Its a perfect rental. Its not as good as shatard demensions & starts to drag towards the end but still a good rental. I finished it in about 6 hours on normal. I would suggest a rental but not worth buying!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It's just terrible.

posted by Saotrosi (NASHVILLE, TN) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There are not enough words to explain how bad this game is. Even the biggest spidey fans will hate themselves for ever trying the game. Avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring!

posted by XxBXxxSavagexX (BRONX, NY) Oct 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i expected better im a spider-man fan but wow this game is so repetetive and it gets old quick --__--

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun to play! But nothing crazy...

posted by INSAN3J3D1 (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) May 9, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This title was pretty fun to play if you're looking for a quick story to play through. I was personally a fan of the first game of this series, Spiderman: Shattered Dimensions. Sadly, this title wasn't as good as the first one, but still a fun game. It's your basic spiderman game with tons of beat-em-up moments. The only down sides to this game are the clunky controls for webswinging at times, repetitive fight sequences and the fact that the entire campaign can be completed in one sitting. There also isn't much replay value. There are things to collect throughout the game, but you find yourself wanting to just finish the game at times instead of continuing on collectible searches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE

posted by tony2mil (HIALEAH, FL) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm a Spiderman fan I've been reading comics and playing videogames of Spiderman for a long time and this game edge of time sucks it has a really bad story and is the most repetitive ever to all Spiderman fans avoid this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

if it aint broken, dont fix it

posted by NateDog500 (MISSION VIEJO, CA) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is bad. i was expecting a quality game like shattered dimensions, but seriously beenox what were you thinking? why change something that worked and make it into a terrible game instead. had to stop playing this within like the first 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THE BEST SPIDERMAN

posted by STR78974 (ANAHEIM, CA) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Finally a Spider-man game worth sinking your teeth into. Beautiful level design. No annoying camera problems. Yes you read right NO PROBLEMS with the CAMERA. Level up system can’t be better. Replay value high. Plus extra suits to play the game through again. The Best part, those suits you have to play them free like beat 30 man within a given time limit to either receive bronze silver or gold medal. Win 5 challenges and you get a key to unlock a new suit. If you like me loved Spider-man , GET IT. For those who never had the chance or didn’t wanted too. This is a game you will enjoy.
Thank you and have a blessed day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Oh so disappointing....

posted by chadsplace (FENTON, MO) Oct 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you played Shattered Dimensions and loved it as much as I did...please for the love of god DO NOT get this game. DO NOT sully the reputation of the previous game with this garbage...complete and utter garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

awesome game so far

posted by JonM7o3 (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

just picked it up from walmart it is a very good game pretty much like shattered dimensions i give it a 8 since it is not a sandbox game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by Hopester (THOMASTON, CT) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

These games keep getting worse every year. I hate this free falling BS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Jeremy1 (GRIFFIN, GA) Feb 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The person who thought that adding a free fall in the game should of been fired.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

swing freely.

posted by theobear88 (MARION, OH) Oct 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

you should be able to swing freely it would have got a 10 rate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Amazing and EPIC

posted by Batman21 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I'm not a big fan of Spider-Man video games because they are never that great and glitchy. But this Spider-Man video game is simply amazing and Epic. From the moment you pop into your system and begin playing it you are hook. The story line is very well developed and never gets boring. You can tell the game developers took a lot of time focusing on the story line for this game, let me put it like this... They should have made this game into a Spider-Man movie that's how great it is. Now to get to the graphics of the game... They are very colorful and vivid. The graphics of the game stand out a lot and everything is so detailed. The camera angles are not glitchy and they actually give you a good look of everything that is going on around you. I love the upgrades for this game. like any other games you gather up points to upgrade your moves, and what you are able to do in the game. I love the concept that not only can you play as The Amazing Spider-Man, but you can as well play as Spider-Man 2099. You switch back and forth and you can unlock suites for them to play in the game by doing challenges. Over all I think this by far one of the best games I have played this year and i'm not even kidding or joking around it's that great. And notice I didn't give any spoilers that how great it is. Rent it or buy I leave the choice to you, you won't be dissapointed with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

best spidey game ever

posted by gambit23 (MISSOURI VALLEY, IA) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

played a little of this game was awesome best spiderman game yet ever. love the controls love the story and love how it goes from amazing spiderman and the 2099 spiderman

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst ever

posted by BRANDALL76 (DIXMONT, ME) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Played 25 min, Spider man did nothing but crawl on pipes. No walking, no fighting, little swinging, I put it right back in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Got tired of it quick

posted by Jbobim (AVENTURA, FL) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I played for about an hour. The game is very promising. The storyline is incredible and I enjoyed the dialogue between the two spider-men. The only thing that was offsetting was the tremendous amount of security robots you have to fight off inside of an abnormally large building, and there are no main intriguing characters introduced. In the beginning you meet the main villain Sloan, and his main sidekick Doc. Ock, and you have a brief encounter with Anti-Venom, and from what I read those are the only characters in the game beside Mary Jane.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

its meassing up

posted by jayjaybeast (REYNOLDSBURG, OH) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

every time i get to the avtion sign its always saying disc unreadable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse