Rent Spider-Man: Edge of Time for PS3
view large frontback

Spider-Man: Edge of Time

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, DS, Xbox 360, 3DS
GF Rating
6.6

1696 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by sonicboss101 (BOCA RATON, FL) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

to start things off i'll say that the storyline is amazing good job to whoever thought of it.next is graphics, they were honestly some of the best graphics i have ever seen in a video game, way better than ironman 2 where tony looks like a mexicanese(mexican and chinese lol!). combat, the combat was pretty good,not great though, very similar to shattered dimensions which was great.overall very nice though definitely could have used some tweaks.p.s. to all batman fans out there, spiderman would destroy him so hard that batman wouldn't even know what hit him.peace! :p

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a bad sequel

posted by NTNSE37 (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played shattered dimensions before this and enjoyed it just a tad more, but probably due to the various spider-men in it. However, Edge of Time was better in the story mode sense because you kind of saw how the time different spider-men tied into one another. The controls were pretty much the same as one another and the wacky camera angles were pretty much the only slight problem in both the titles. The graphics were not the greatest but they were not terrible in the least.
I would recommend this to anyone that wants to continue shattered dimensions or wants to kill some time. Edge of Time is definitely worth the try and sure any spider-man enthusiast would appreciate the two worlds of spider-man. Have a great time playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing!!

posted by joeclay_RISING (UNION CITY, IN) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game Is the best spiderman game I've played yet.The story is a little hard to follow sometimes but it makes up for it with awsome game play and even better graphics.My personnel favorite part of the game it the freefalling its a challenge but very fun.I highly recommend this game.9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as Bad as everyone says

posted by PoTheDon (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If your a spiderman fan its good to rent. Never-mind the bad reviews people are just mad that the game isn't as good as the last Spidey title. The story is interesting & the gameplay is not as bad as they say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun Game!!!

posted by Snoopinator1013 (KENTFIELD, CA) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Game Spider Man: Edge Of Time Is A Fast-Paced, Action Filled Game With Awesome Camera Sights!!! The Story IS Very Intruiging Too...

P.S. I Think The Final Boss Is LIKE! A! BOSS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Spiderman: Edge Of Time

posted by Gavinci215 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game, lots of fun, interesting storyline and easy to learn controls makes this a must have for spiderman fans.... Even non-fans can enjoy!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as good as shattered dimensions

posted by discoking (CAMDEN, DE) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok this game is shattered dimensions graphics and gameplay. However you only have two spidermen not 4. That's not really a bad thing so much because the two chosen drive this story. What's really kind of lame is the bad guys go from 13 in shattered down to 4 in edge of time. And 4 is stretching it 2 very unique cool bosses and 2 lame not really new or unique lame bosses (don't want to give spoilers). The enemies get boring and repetitive. Unlike shattered where each boss had their own unique thug, which kept things fresh and exciting. Trophy wise it is an easy platinum and similar to shattered. Fully level up, collect all gold spiders, beat the levels and bosses, and complete the web of destiny challenges. If you played shattered you have played edge if u want an easy platinum or just like a new spidey story rent it. The graphics and story alOng with voice acting is top notch. But don't expect anything new or great it will feel like a step backwards as far as freshness or originality.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An ok game

posted by armorrekka (OLYMPIA, WA) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

The gameplay was decent but became a basic button mashing game during fights and to unlock doors. The game gets stale after a while with huge groups of enemies attacking on screen. Its one to rent and enjoy if your a fan of spiderman but not worth 60 dollars to own. I beat the game and have no strong urge to replay it anytime soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cost saving quick sequel

posted by Troilus (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Edge of time is a rushed sequel using shattered dimensions assets and framework. They cut out 2 versions of spider-men, noir and black. They also cut down the boss fights from 12 to 3. Using only 2 spider-men and the same building across 2 timelines, they could reuse most of the environments across the game. This makes the game feel much smaller than shattered dimensions which gave you 12 rather large unique places.

The good of this game... they did work on their theatricality a bit, so the game flows entirely from start to finish much like an uncharted. Makes the game play more like an adventure, than how shattered dimensions felt more like arcade play. The challenges are also a bit better, seeing how you can instantly choose to attempt and restart them from inside the web of challenges which is great.

The 2 spider-men have slightly different power sets, but both are essentially the exact same which makes playing a bit monotonous compared to shattered dimensions, where you got 4 very unique different play styles. I myself loved the noir dimension and wish it was here.

The game is also an easy platinum for anyone looking, and one story playthrough takes about 6-8 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Spider-man gets better and better Spoiler Alert

posted by Dominicgetdown (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I will admit this game is not the greatest. If you are a fan of the Spider-man series video games you will appreciate how far along the Spider-man games have come. The graphics for this game are far improved from shattered dimensions and web of shadows. The combat could use more work though. Web of Shadows had combos (excluding wall-fighting) that are much more polished and advanced then this game. The story line for the edge of time series for spider-man is great. Every character plays an influence into the game and the personalities of Amazing and 2099 Spider-man are captured Perfectly. It also brings you to a point you have never experienced before in a Spider-man game, even Any Superhero game. Seeing a Superhero we all know and love decide whether or not to just let himself die. You see sides of Amazing Spider-man's character that you never see from a battle he has very early in the game and mid way through. Going onto gameplay, the camera is not perfect. No Spider-man game has ever had perfect 3rd person camera angles. If you play Spiderman games, you would realize that Spider-man is one of the fastest moving Superheros in a game and he constantly changes direction. If you have any common sense, you would realize how difficult it is for game designers to keep a steady camera angle for a character like that. For this type of the game, the camera angles are just fine... if you have good gamer skills, the camera angles are no problem. Overall, this game is an improvement over the Entire Spider-man series as far as Character development, storyline, and graphics go. The web slinging and fighitng combos are not an improvement, just the same as shattered dimensions. Spider-man deserves more combos in a game to mix it up. Overall I give it a B. Great game, Spider-man Rules!
P.S. Please don't give bad reviews of good games, like I saw a guy give a review already for a "4" because he does not like 3rd person games. That is not fair to Spider-man and this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wanted to like it more

posted by otie798 (RODEO, CA) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The controls are not quite there, getting stuck in a wall can happen. The wall climbing can get in accurate when it counts. Fun for being a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by wolverinegmb (STOCKTON, CA) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

great game all it needs is some extra characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by game_freak (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Oct 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

its different from all the other spider man video games but just as good there may be a few glitches at times but a great story line a good game to rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not great. Not good either.

posted by Fr2Protest (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Edge of Time takes the best elements from Shattered Dimensions and throws them to the side, adopting a more streamlined approach to EVERY aspect of the game. From combat, to upgrades, even web-swinging, it has been changed/dumbed down. The only thing Edge of Time holds over Shattered Dimensions is the occasional cinematic-esque presentation. Every level is a repeatitive button masher, playing as both Amazing and 2099 Spider-men feel identical, and each characters signature move 'slow-mo, enhanced vision, etc' has been opted out to a shared ability of 'you-run-so-fast-you-leave-a-ghost-trail'. I hate it. It gets in the way, and its confusing. The enemy are random, and boring 'thugs' or 'robot thugs' and they do the same thing over and over again. The enviroment is also a repetive letdown. Aside from the two title characters, there are no characterization, no villian you enjoy laughing at, or look forward to taking out. Not a single enemy that requires anythought, or skill, or a unique approach. Edge of time is missing the charm, replay value, and variety of Shattered Dimensions, this game feel like a rushed movie tie-in. But there is no movie. This barely gets a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not good at all

posted by Baloonknot (Crestline, CA) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I like Spider-man.I wanted to like this game. But it is just a repetitive button masher with awkward controls and a lame story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spider Man's Biggest Fan

posted by jmackstl (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I would have to say next the most recent spiderman game called shattered dimentions this is the greatest one ever like I mean starting from the 1st spiderman game that came out with the movie til now they have only gotten better and better........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spider-Man: Edge of Time WOO WOO WOO YOU KNOW IT!!

posted by condrel79 (KIRKLAND, IL) Oct 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is a great game all the way around!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetitive, uninspired, and short.

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Jan 27, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Playing as Spider-Man has always been fun and being able to play as the original and 2099 version is even better. They both have slightly different moves to make each one unique, however, the game fall short in many areas. The overall level design, enemy design, and objectives, leave a lot to the imagination. They environments feel uninspired and the enemey AI is atrocious. After the first few hours comabt begins to get tiresome and you find yourself repeating the same objectives over and over again. Worth a rental if you're looking for a game you can finish in a weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Even Fairly Amazing.

posted by theMAGOOru (MELBOURNE, FL) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When I heard about Spider-Man: Edge of Time, I was intially skeptical. I mean, an apparrent sequel to Shattered Dimensions, which was released a little over a year ago? Doesn't really inspire confidence, but I still had hope. Unfortunately, my gut instinct was correct; Edge of Time took everything that was actually fun about Shattered Dimensions, and threw it out the window, for the most "meh" Spider-Man game in recent memory.

Instead of the four distinct dimensions from Shattered Dimensions, this game only offers you the Amazing Spider-Man, and Spider-Man 2099. Reducing the number of Spider-Men from four to two may sound good on paper, but as you quickly realize when you start playing the game, there aren't enough differences between the two of them to warrant more than one. The entire game takes place in one building, only at different time periods. Unlike the different art styles between the two universes in last year's game, we are treated to the same, albiet very polished, character designs throughout the game. The environments, even between the two times, look almost exactly the same, so there is little to differentiate the two time periods beyond which Spider-Man you are at any given moment.

Combat, easily the weakest part of Shattered Dimensions, becomes the focus this year, but it hasn't gotten any better. Actually, it's worse. You move from room to room, knockout a mob of identical enemies, get one of a number of keys for the ridiculous amount of locked doors, and move on. There are a few web-swinging sections, but nothing that really makes you feel too spider-y. The characters control exactly the same way, which is weak. The controls are super sensitive, so if you're a button-masher, prepare to swing at a lot of air. There is no target lock-on, but considering the amount of enemies you face in each room, it's not really a problem.

Spider-Man: Edge of Time may not be the worst Spider-Man game ever, but it was definitely going for the crown.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I liked it

posted by Stuntog (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I liked it better than dimensions. The graphics where amazing and to be honest I'm was more into the story than the actual game play and the main reason for it was simply because its super repetitive. It was like nice this happened I'm in suspense but dam.n i have to fight like a 1000 things to see what happens next lol. Its a good game if you like spider man games you will enjoy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome!

posted by thunders84 (HAWTHORNE, CA) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It's sort of like Batman AS but with spider-man. It's a fun game. I have played the past spider man games for the PS3 and they were not even as close as this. The story itself is awesome! for those who just played it and gave it a bad review are picky. it's a bit of a button smasher but you get to upgrade so you can do more with the combos. Pick this game up. I think I might keep it myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome voice actors

posted by spiderechidna (WHITTIER, CA) Aug 24, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

well the reason I like the game because of the legendary voice actors of spider-man animated such Josh Keaton from spectacular spider-man & Christopher Daniel Barnes form spider-man the animated series thats why i liked the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Loved It

posted by Germaximus (GLENDALE, CA) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Pretty cool story, not deep or anything. There's a scientist who's name is Walker Sloan (voiced by Val Kilmer!) who has warped time so that he could control the planet in order to save it from itself, makes sense to me! Peter Parker and Miguel O'Hara (2099 Spidey) have to work together in each of their time-lines to reverse it. Miguel has used Peter's DNA so that they can speak to each other in their own time-lines. The game explains it better than i do of course. There was a twist i never expected and it was dang cool, i think just to see that twist is worth playing the game. That's not to say it's the only good thing about it tho!

The combat was very nice, easy to control and a whole ton of fun. Lots of crazy cool combo's and really kick-butt special abilities and upgrades which you unlock as you progress through the game. Miguel can plop down a decoy for enemies to attack while he smashes their faces in. Peter can toss out a huge web that captures all the enemies in front of him for a couple of seconds to smash up. Those were my favorite abilities, there's plenty more.
Overall it's a simple beat-em up that you can pretty much get through with just mashing the same combo. Don't get me wrong tho, you use the same combo the whole time but you can't just spam it without getting hurt, you still need to play smart. The combo's were long and easily combined with other moves and they just looked super cool. I always felt like a total butt kicker even tho sometimes i did get my butt kicked if i tried to take on too many difficult enemies at one time head on.

The bosses rocked! The final boss being the best of all. It's too bad there weren't more tho. There's only three that i can remember. I guess that makes sense tho since there's only three chapters in the game. I would love to tell you more about the bosses but since there's so few i don't want to spoil them. That being said, i didn't think the game felt too short nor did it feel too long, it was good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing at best

posted by Astronskas (AUBURNDALE, FL) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

I have really enjoyed the past Spiderman games, but this one was nothing short of disappointing to me. The controls felt overly complicated. The accuracy of aiming and swinging are terrible. The fighting system seemed lacking. If you are a die hard Spiderman fan then give it a try. Otherwise you might be like me and send it back after a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

too short but awesome graphics

posted by Filthylooker (WORCESTER, MA) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

good game but once you beat it which only took me maybe a few hours all you got left is challenge mode and if you get vipcodes which you can find on any cheat site you get the arena and even that was easy. basically all you got after you finish is a chance to do it over in hard difficulty and the challenge modes to unlock alternate costumes to do the story all over again in. so if you buy it it's basically a waste of money i'd say just rent it and then send it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse