Rent Spider-Man 3 for PS2
view large frontback

Spider-Man 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

1678 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots Of Fun

posted by Spider (KANSAS CITY, MO) Mar 17, 2008

Member since May 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot better than the spoof game Spiderman: Friend or Foe. This is based on the movie Spiderman 3. This one has villains not in any of the movies like Kraven the Hunter and The Lizard. It also has battles where you have to press the right button at the right time to create movements and reactions that can't be put into games otherwise. Those are fun. It stays fresh with Upgrades and Moves. The downsides are sometimes when you have to press something rapidly the movement is extremely cheesy, and sometimes you can get stuck because of bad directions.

Well, this is a fun game that you should rent before the buy. I give it 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spiderman 3

posted by 2011gamer (ROCK SPRING, GA) Aug 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A game to go with the third spiderman film. It was a great game. It featured the villians in the movie plus a few more. You are able to switch from the red suit to black suit and vice-versa.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW

posted by darthl1378 (SAINT HELENS, OR) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was wayyyy too easy. The graphics are okay but the gameplay and storyline are horrible. If you are smart DO NOT GET THIS GAME !!!! Except for the WII or XBOX360,those versions are AMAZING. In conclusion, DO NOT get Spider Man 3 for the PS2!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

jon

posted by cheeseneck (BELLEVILLE, MI) Jan 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Spiderman 3 had to be the best spiderman game I have ever played. The best part of the game was getting the black suit. A reason it is the best part of the game is because you get to choose between the red & blue and black suit. This game was so good, I had to go out to the store and buy it myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

wow, simply wow

posted by gamegeak (EL CAJON, CA) Dec 11, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

as the title says, simply wow, the game was all in all very good, i give it a nine for the good gameplay and significance. It has terrific gmaeplay but it does seem like they mostly focused on the next gen consoles and then just left the scraps behind for PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

spider-man 3

posted by willis9123 (GAINESVILLE, GA) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

spider-man 3 is a very challenging adventure/action. call me crazy if you don't think this is an adventure game, but this game takes you all around manhattan including the sewers. everything is good and well until the vampire bride and groom reunite against you. there are different gangs that actually he;p you in certain challenges. this is definitely an upgrade from spider-man 2. this game was a excellent game with a couple flaws that still need to be changed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spider Man 3

posted by GamerJD (FONTANA, CA) May 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

45 out of 62 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This game is the bomb and I mean it. It is way better than the other games of spider-man. I mean first you got the expanded city witch is more realistic than Spider-man 2 and the way you can do all sorts of web tricks is off the hook. Oh ya and not only can you just free play instead of doing the story mode they put more stuff you can do to save the city instead of just fighting thugs who are attacking women. But the best part is the Black suit its the BOMB I mean it acutely improves your speed and strength you can jump on a tall building on one jump instead of doing a double jump with the regular Red and Blue suit. So my recommendation is rent this game or better buy it cause once you got it you wont want to give it back if your real spidey fan who always like seeing YOUR FREINDLY NEIGHBOR-HOOD SPIDER-MAN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Delicious fruit pies

posted by Spidey33 (GREENE, RI) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Spider-man 3 is a good game to rent, but its nothing compared to Spider-man 2. in the first half hour of spider-man3 i thought "this game is terrible" but after spidey learned new moves it was better. the swing button is now R2 instead of R1 like in Spiderman2. there`s no spidersense slowdown time button like SM2 but now we got the stronger black suit. the graphics are terrible, when people talk their mouths don`t move, civilians don`t say anything to you when you bump into them, i`ve seen civilians walk right thru vehicles, spidey cant stick to some walls, the bad guys steal shipments of fruit pies and other annoying things.

Like fighting the Lizard, i cant figure out how to balance spidey while riding his back, can anybody help out?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very disappointed!!

posted by killerkiss (NEWARK, NJ) May 7, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2006

18 out of 30 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I am very disappointed at the quality of this game! I was expecting a game as good as Spiderman 2, but this game went in the opposite direction. It feels like the company spent more time on the next generation systems and just put together the leftovers for the PS2 owners.
This game could have had so much potential. Why didn't they just reuse the same graphic engine for NYC as they did in Spiderman 2? It would have made the game experience 1000 times better!

I played it for a few hours and I packed it back up and placed it into the mail box.
I'm glad I only rented this game for a few hours. Save your time and rent another game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Spiderman 3 The Game PS2 Review

posted by mragent (PIEDMONT, CA) Jan 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When you get this game you might discover that the second game was better right from the begginning! When you start the game like always you always have only so much combat. But with this game it stays that way! You can purchase different combat moves from the combat store, you will find once you use the move that it's really similar to all the other moves in the game! The graphics aren't as good either. I don't know why, but they just aren't! The gameplay is a little strange, but the storyline is better than the other Spiderman games. And also Spiderman's response to the attacks you activate is horrible! I tottally recommend Spiderman 2 The Game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It was O.K. But very addictive

posted by seamus (SACRAMENTO, CA) May 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game is the 2nd best of the trilogy.
I think this because in Spider-Man2 you can actual
sprint in this one you jog. also if you want to
play a game based on the movie then dont get this.
I still think the game is fun. My favorite thing
about this game is the Black Suite And free roam

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

more like spider man 2.5

posted by rvg2012 (HUTTO, TX) May 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

all this appears to be as a horrible expansion pack or a trick because it was short,boring,and honestly at sometimes i actually quit from boredom i mean come on i beat it in less than half a day and theres really no real reason to go on other than if you own only this games.i was not even once tempted to keep going after i finished or to do one of the boring side missions the story has severe problems i mean come on a vampire couple.even the boss fights were boring.of course i enjoyed one part the button pressing.being a fan of god of war & god of war 2 i love the context sensitive button presses but thats a very small part of what is a very small game.they also add parts to the next gen and had a seperate developer.all i know is this should be cut in half and maybe save some plastic because all this was to me was what had enormous potential cut and half and then ruined further.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

spiderman 3

posted by nellie (WORCESTER, MA) May 8, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I expected this game to offer more, considering how far along the gaming industry has come. The graphics were poor, the commentary got annoying and the combat was lame. The only fun thing i found about this game was swinging around. It would have been more interesting if you were able to ineract more with citizens;possibly create your own destiny. I know this game is "supposed" to follow the movie, but....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gotta love the Spidey!!!!

posted by angelfan16 (COVINA, CA) May 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Im a big spider-man fan to begin with so when i got this game i was already stoked. yes i will agree with some that the graphics and sound is hoeky and all that other suff but COME ON!!! whoever is entertainded by swinging around new york on a web, cralling on walls, jumping high buildings, kicking venoms butt, and listening to that hiloarous narrator should go play zelda or something......seriously.- ........this game kicks butt and i cant wait to see if they make another!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

you are spider man even more realilistic then ever

posted by gurujones (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jun 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Man this game sent me on a wild ride! Every minute I felt like I was really Spider-man. web swing controls are excellent. the story is great it is so like the third movie. but if you haven't seen the movie first and play this game just yet. the characters are designed perfectly and the fight scenes are fantastic!!!!! Don`t fell bad if you die a couple times cuase the game challenging at the right level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good

posted by gaminigpro (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game the dificulty was good the graphics were ok and it was fun playing as vemon and black suited spiderman after i beat the game and found all the symbiote and spider icons! A+++++++++++++++++

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spiderman 3

posted by bennyt1000 (GROVE CITY, OH) Jan 23, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I would love to be able to review this game but each of the 3 times I received it, it didn't work. Thanks Gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

spider man 3!!!!!!!!!!

posted by mikeyt (YUBA CITY, CA) May 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

10 out of 25 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this spider man is way better than the other 2 rock on spider man

p.s. the new black suit rules!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

played for 30 min great

posted by play30min (EDINA, MN) Jun 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I played at my friends house really good. the only thing was bad was the swinging. but besides that it is really good. if y have a 360 man you will like it with the better graphics!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

spider man 3

posted by sumathy199 (BELLEVUE, WA) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is good effects .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spider man 3

posted by iouiou (LAPEER, MI) May 5, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

This game was much better than the first two games. I think that this game lacked one thing: You have to make sure that you do not stay in the new black suit too long. If you do you lose a level and start again in the red and blue suit.

The final battle with Venom has a trick to it when you get him to his first level up keep vaulting over him and you will be well on your way to victory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Spiderman 3... horrible

posted by snowflake (WALLS, MS) May 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game is very inconsistant, doesn't follow the movie at all. It also seems very slapped together just for the movie release. I'm not sayin don't play it... just don't expect the best spiderman game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

VERY INTERACTIVE

posted by ACE619 (CLIFTON, NJ) May 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

THE GAME IS VERY GOOD GRAPHICS ARE ASOWME WHEN YOU FIGHT VENOM YOU USE A WEB CATAPOLTE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game was Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!

posted by FreshP (BOULDER, CO) May 6, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I loved this game it was so fun. the bad thing i thought about was it is short and pretty easy to beat. I think it gets boring trying to kill all the gangs but all the rest were fun as h33l. There is so much to do and i'm getting bored of finishing the gangs. that's all i can do now. Well all in all i loved this game the movie was great too. I'm glad they made a game because it was freaking awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

VERY Disapointing

posted by HaloBoy (WEST HILLS, CA) May 6, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

this game sucks the load times suck the voice acting the worst i'v ever heard the combat is bad the only thing that saves this game is the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse