Rent Spider-Man 3 for Wii
view large frontback

Spider-Man 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

1026 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun game.....while it lasts

posted by KingJames (MANCHESTER, CT) Jun 22, 2007

Member since May 2007

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

When I first got Spiderman 3 I was excited, I couldn't wait to swing through the streets using the Wiimote. My first reaction was that the controls were extremely hard to use, but after a little while it got easier. I could talk about how the graphics are not the greatest, I'm not sure about you but I didn't buy the Wii for it's graphics. The main story is extremely quick, I don't play game a whole lot but it only lasted 5 hours and by that time I was bored with it. I didn't even bother to fight all the gangs or find all the hidden treasurers. Bottom line if your on a 2+ game plan it's a decent rent. If your on a 1 game plan don't bother unless there is no other game you want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, not-so-great controls

posted by galdorky (HAZARD, KY) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fairly good game. Very much like the first two, but the controlls are a bit more difficult hindering gameplay. Overall decent game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game, but almost no replay value

posted by GenHavoc (WICKES, AR) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is a fun game, but it can get a little repetitive. As with any superhero game you have to beat multiple bosses including Lizard, Kraven, Sandman, and Venom; as well as their various minions. Using the black suit is neat as it increases your strength and provides a much deadlier set of moves, but if you use it to much, it will knock you out. Also the more you use it, or as you get into the later parts of the game, it will be increasingly difficult to remove the suit. I know it sounds strange, but to remove it, you have to perform an increasingly difficult set of movements, your time to react will decrease as well. New moves are bought using using experience point, which are gained through defeating enemies, but this is a very slow approach. The best way is to complete missions, as this gives you a whole point. New moves range in price from one point, to ten points. This game is not that hard for any moderately experienced gamer. It took me only four or five hours according to the in game timer. Probably the hardest thing to get used to is swinging around the city, because in order to do so, you have to mirror Spidey's usual swinging arm movement. You are given a camera to use to take pictures of all your enemies, (not sure what for though). The game essentially follows the movies events. After that the majority of the game is trying to defeat New York's toughest gangs. I hope this review helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love this game

posted by banerh (FILER, ID) Jan 7, 2008

Member since May 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you want to know how it feels to be spiderman this game is it. Swinging through New York using your nunchuk and wiimote is just a kick in the pant. I had to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Spider-Man...............- .What Happened?!?!?

posted by Pizzalogic (DAVIE, FL) May 5, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Spider-Man 2 was one of the best and the first free roaming cities ever. Unfortunatly this game doesnt follow the pattern.

Control:
The Wii controls feel EXTREMELY rushed. And just thrown in there. Moving the remote left and right makes u punch, while the A button makes u do a strong attack. You flick the NunChuck to dodge and use the Z button to jump. Doesnt sound to bad. But between that and the odd control over spider-man's web slinging, the controls feel cheap, and silly.

Graphics:
This title's graphics is not its strong point. I know its a PS2 import. But even for the PS2, this game REALLY could look better. Like the controls this also seems rushed.

Sound:
Brice Cambell (the narrorator) is hillarious as usual. Spider-Man could have better lines, but thats not too bad. The music is good. and the sound effects are average.

Presentation:
The menus are just kind of....there. There really is nothing impressive here.

conclusion:
Spider Man 3 is a great movie! But the game really is not as good as the film, or Spider-Man 2 the game. The Wii controls are kind of silly and dont work to well. Graphics could have been better. Spider-Man 3 just doesn't feel like they put to much work into it.

Its worth a rent, if that. I only walked away from this game with disapointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better Than Marvel Allience

posted by oakland510 (SAINT CHARLES, MO) May 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

18 out of 31 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games on the Wii the controls are very cool. The game is really fun and the graphics are cool this game is highly recomended for hard core gamers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spider-Man Rules!

posted by dracula (YUCAIPA, CA) May 13, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome! If you just got a Wii, start smaller, because the controls are difficult to get used to. I love fighting all the gangs! It is sort of like Risk. If you attack them and win the mission, it turns into a Police outpost. But, they can attack each other and they can attack the police, so you have to act quickly. It is an excellent game, but some of the missions have nothing to do with the movie, but no one realy cares.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It was good, but It might get old quick

posted by bigbadelmo (LOVELAND, CO) May 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Since spider-man 3 came out on 8 platforms, 4 of which are console systems, I was having trouble picking which one to try first. I tried the Wii version. The wii version of Spiderman 3 is actually really fun. Although, I fear the replay value is very low after you beat the game. Also, the graphics are horrid and sometimes the voicing is strange. But although I might not recommend buying this game, renting and beating is easily worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Does it have the movie game curse?

posted by kingdom8 (OAKLEY, CA) May 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

15 out of 27 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

When i first saw the trailer for spidey 3 for the wii i couldn't wait. I thought that the swinging would be awesome and the combat would be cool to. Now that i have the game it didn't really disappoint me. the web swinging is good but it can get annoying. the combat is easy and sometimes fun. I love all of the villain appearances but there are some villains that are in the 360 and PS3 that i wish were in this game, but this game has its own villains; Morbius. The other thing that only the wii version has is that you can change your suit at any time in the game. Overall this game is fun but im sure it will get boring after you beat the game. 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Spiderman 3 is a hit with the wiimote

posted by world5436 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) May 13, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I just started playing this game and feel I should put my two cents worth on this great game.
The controls are unique but also do let you interact more with spidey than the 360 or PS3 versions as your actually are spidey.
The graphics wont wow you but its more gameplay than graphics that make the game work folks. Why the fuss of graphics if the game is playable. And spiderman 3 lets you play alright you fire off web swings by motioning with the wiimote for the right hand and the nunchucks for the left my only deal was shooting the web and driving spidey.
The lines are funny but would be more interesting if they fit the scene.
I give Spidey3 a 9 its not bad at all and does show off the wii. I do agree with one review been alot more exciting if they allowed spideys hands and fist to be the wiimote and nunchucks instead of the remotes movements.

If you like spiderman I think this game would appeal to any wii fan and spiderman fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but not great

posted by MCnasty (COTTAGE GROVE, MN) May 7, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have a great time doing things in spidey.

First I jump off a high building and get into a freefall. Second when I get close to the street I then web sling out of the fall. Finally I see how far and fast I can go before I hit a building is one of the funniest things I have ever done in a video game.

However this game does lack some refinements. People walk through cars. Spidey sometimes is inside an object climbing. Sometimes you jump over things when you hit them running and sometimes you do not. It would be cool if you hit a light post with the web/yourself. The night graphics are so much better than the daytime graphics.

The combat I find to be fun.

I like to grab onto a person with the web and then pick them up and then slam them into the ground. I also like the come here manuever ala Mortal Kombat.

The overall combat seems pretty formulaic, but otherwise they definitely make you fling the remote around and jam buttons to make the cool stuff happen. I also like to web splat the group and then uppercut them. One bad thing is when I get into a group of baddies and I web sling onto a big guy the other characters rarely help out.
Overall I would say that the combat is a fun.

A couple of add-ons.
There is repetitiveness in your side missions, and combat.
I don't know if this is a rentor or buy game yet. For me it depends on if 6 months from now I pop it in to web sling around or not.

PS3 vs 360 vs Wii.
PS3
I am in that group that graphics are not all important.
I do think the environments that will be created by next year will be awesome. If you crash into concrete or wood and then having different things happen will be amazing. It will change gameplay.
360.
If it can match the horsepower of the PS3 or keep it close the games on this system rock right now and publishers are going away from exclusives.
Wii.
If you want a fun system to play and don't mind being active. No more just sitting on the couch. Here you go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SPIDERMAN3 RISE OF THE SYMBIOTE

posted by warioman2 (BROOKLYN, NY) May 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I think spiderman3 is the best game ever!After I saw the movie I played the game. I thought it was just like the movie.I have All the other games,but this one is better then any other!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Suicide

posted by hamstaman (CLIFTON, VA) Jun 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game iv ever played it makes you want to kill yourself. The graphics are horrible but if you don't mind that you might the sound sounds cruddy. But if you can get past that its the game play if you can get past that there's nothing left. For example your supposed to swing the remote to dodge the hit so u swing it and nothing happens and you get hit. i'd rather stare at a wall then play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Spidey Close to Webing up Master Chief!!!

posted by Camandlay (LINCOLN, NE) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Spider-man 3 was a terrible movie, but the game couldn't have been better. The graphics are perfect, it is the actual voices from the movie, and the game play is really fun. I say it is close to Halo Because Master Chief Doesn't Freely Web around New York.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lacky Controls

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) May 6, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If you are a spider man fan and the wii is the only system you own, this is a game for you. If you own a 360 or ps3 go with spider man on that, the graphics are better as well as the controls. The wii version of spidy 3 wasnt designed well as far as the controls go, i didnt care for them. Nunchuck is used for controling camera angles and kicks and punches are a little lame being that you use the wii-mote to blow hits, rather than using the nuncheck for left arm and wiimote for right arm. Graphics are average, nothin special.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome game I gues

posted by mushyman29 (MARICOPA, AZ) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Fun game I cant wait to swing throe the city. But it keeps going rentebull to unevaluble. but it fainly came to me. You have to buy it. And well if you dont to bad. Just wach it on youtub. Im a little kid.

I hope you youlove my R-E-V-o!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok.. dount rent only if u have nothing better 2 do

posted by ttyl2468 (MIAMI, FL) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

this game is pretty bad. i only got it becasue my freind gave it to me and i was desprate for a game.... but belive me if i had a choice to chose a game that was 1.5 percent better then this game i would pick it!. it keeps yo intertained for a while but then it gets boring once u beat it. and i dount like that u have to shake the wiimote evry time u swing. And the game froze on me once just once but still was a bother.so dount rent only if you have no games for the wii this is a good starter. and if u have nothing better 2 do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Spider-Man 3

posted by twfguy (BARDSTOWN, KY) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

I thought the game was very fun the only problam was the controls for it Spider-man 3 does not do good for nintendo wii reecomend it for another console

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

SO SO SO SO BORING

posted by DaTruth78 (BLOOMING GROVE, TX) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

this game makes me sick when you swing around new york! terrible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Spider Man 3

posted by Unknown23 (GARDNER, MA) May 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I made the mistake of buying this game when it came out.

The graphics are not very good.
The fun of using the wii remote and nunchuk does not last long.
THe boss battles are boring and repetitive.
THe side missions are dumb (fruit pies?)

I recommend you don't play this game. It is not very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty good

posted by ThanatosAz (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

My 4 year old plays this and seems to get along with it well. I have played a bit and found the game well put together. The web slinging is a bit tough, but if you practice it should get easier. The graphics and environment interaction are both good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not very good

posted by longview (LONGVIEW, TX) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

this game is nothing like the movie. I would have to say, if you bought this game its a wast of money, and if you already have it, bring it to game stop, but try it out. rent it from here and maybe you'll like it. I'm also 17

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad. Verrrryyy bad!

posted by GeminiNYC (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I usualy like to try games myself and not listen to reviews. I'm mad I even wasted my time renting this game. The city pretty much looks dead. The gameplay was a little too complex and weird for my liking. I think there was a rush in trying to put this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Does whatever a Wiimote can

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jan 9, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Spider-Man 3 for the Wii will probably remind most gamers of Spider-Man 2, mostly because New York City and the game in general looks basically the same. Also similar to previous Spider-Man games, it barely follows the storyline of the movie. So, if you think you know what's going to happen, think again. Unless I wasn't paying attention, the Lizard, Morbius and Shriek were not in the movie. And Spider-Man couldn't switch between his black and his red suits. But let's get to the game. The Wii functionality is used to some success in this game. Quick attacks are made by shaking the remote. Web slinging is done by flinging the remote and nunchuk. This can get tricky, especially when the web goes to the wrong place. The main story missions don't take long, I'd say 4 or 5 hours. There are other things to do, like collect meteorites and spider emblems at the end of the game. You can also engage in crime patrols where you can take down gangs and return control to the police. Although this can be interesting and 100% control will take awhile, it still only extends the game to about 10 hours. There are also some challenge missions, but overall the content is lacking. Presentation is nice and the upgrade system works well. Something that bothered me about the story missions though: you really don't get to Sandman and Venom (main villains of the movie) until the last three missions. It's just strange, like the developers suddenly realized they were basing this on an actual movie. It almost feels tacked on. Technically, there are some flaws. Sometimes missions fail instantly, sometimes your frantic shaking doesn't quite register and once (I'm not making this up) the screen turned black except for the map. Now that's a challenge. There are also loading screens after each mission, which seems unnecessary. Some more content and polish would have gone a long way to making this better. As it stands, it's a fun diversion that loses it's appeal rather quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun to swing around NYC

posted by aerophex (CENTENNIAL, CO) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

The open-ended web swinging was fun, and taking back territory for the police was amusing. I played through the game on normal difficulty and found it enjoyable yet still difficult enough.

There's no point to taking all the pictures, which is truly a disappointment, because taking candid shots of bad guys was kinda fun too.

There is a lot of replayability, you can do stunt and race runs. The fighting gets repetitive, swing swing swing A or something similar.

But if you were like me in GTA3 and cruised around simply for the atmosphere, you will enjoy this game a lot. Worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse