Rent Spider-Man 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Spider-Man 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

5582 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best spider-man game yet!!!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) May 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

49 out of 77 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I dont know why this game got such bad reviews (from gamespot it got 6.6/ Gametrailers 6.1). Yeah it may have some glitches, camera isues, and its the same old design as in other spider man games, but its all been re-done and made much much better! Trust me on this one! swinging around New York has never been more exciting and thrilling. You can dual webswing, run across walls, go faster while swinging on one web, jump very high, crawl up walls, its all here. The sense of speed and awsome while swinging is unlike it has been in any recent Spider man games. The graphics just add to it. The buildings, environemnts and spider man just look amazing. The combat is better too. Tons of combos (many that include your webs which is really awsome), timed button presses (which is one of the best things about the game) where you have an on screen prompt and must match the corresponding button or analog stick movment(very similar to God Of War I and II). You can yank enemies from the ground and do many combos over and over devastating your enemies. All the baddies from the spider man universe are in SM3. Sandman, Venom, Harry(the new goblin), Scorpion, Kingpin, Rhino and more as well as a few gang bosses. The game is pretty long, it will take you about 10 or so hours to complete every mission and about 15 hours to complete everything in the game (combat tours, races, much like in Ultimate Spider man). As i said before, one of the greatest highlights of teh game are the button mini-games. I must admit that they are better than even the ones in God of War because they take true reflex and skill much like the real spider-man. The only thing is somtimes they just happen without any wrning so it catches you off guard.
GRAPHICS:8.9/10
GAMEPLAY:9.6/10
DESIGN/CONTROLS: 9/10
STORY:7.8/10
OVERALL: 9.2/10
A great game. If you dont want to buy it, it is a must must MUST rent. Check it out and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Just Spiders... This Game has LOTS of Bugs!!!

posted by n0nPr0phet (GWYNN OAK, MD) May 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well, I finally got around to playing the game today. My main impression of this game was that it could have been so much better.

Bright Spots:

1. Swinging around the city is a lot of fun and the animations when spidey is running on the ground or the side of buildings is pretty cool.
2. Crawling on buildings, ceilings, etc. works pretty well and the motions look fluid when he changes from wall to ceiling and over lips.
3. The controls, while they are simple and button-mashey (yes, that's a word now), aren't that bad and are pretty fun.

The Dark Side:

1. Why is it that the only environment objects I can interact with are newspaper stands? I can't kick over trash cans, lift cars, punch innocent bystanders... I know I'm supposed to be a hero, but half of the fun of sandbox games is interacting with the environment... even if "the environment" happens to be an innocent's face.
2. Collision detection is AWFUL. Yes, you can splat into the ground or the tops of buildings if you drop from a great enough height... but did you notice that if you do a header into a car from 100 stories, you will just stop and not take ANY damage?
3. The graphics are sub-par at best. You don't really notice it that much in most of the city, but the water and foliage in Central Park brings out the worst in flat, bright textures with no shading. It seriously reminds me of playing the original Wolfenstein on my old Pentium I (ok, let's call that an exaggeration... but you get the idea).
4. THE CAMERA SUX. 'nuff said.

So, this game really wasn't horrible. It wasn't great though either. I'm in agreement with any review that gave it a 6 or 7 out of 10. To be fair, I couldn't bring myself to "play through the pain" like so many of you have in order to have the game grow on me. It's on it's way back to GameFly as I type. The one phrase that I will always use to describe this game to anyone who asks is: "It could have been SO much better"

Moral of the story: DON"T RUSH DEVELOPMENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One word: Buggy

posted by Astaroth (COLLEGE PLACE, WA) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Here's how my review system works for this game. Give it an overall score, then subtract the amount of times I had to reset the game because of a bug that froze it all up.

Initial score: 7
Freeze-ups: 5
Final score: 2

As sandbox games go, this was a fun game to play. Hardly a comparison to GTA or Saints Row, in my opinion. So I felt okay giving it a 7. But all the bugs occured during actual mission play rather than the minigames like web racing and sky diving. Heck, if only the bugs occured during the sky diving minigames as those were simply TERRIBLE.

I finally returned the game when the freezing blocked me from actually PROGRESSING in game progress. Oh, and I should mention that this happened early enough that I couldn't even unlock play as Venom. Sweet, eh?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse