Rent Spider-Man 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Spider-Man 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

5583 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Spiderman 3

posted by Stifmaster (LAKEWOOD, CO) May 23, 2007

Member since May 2007

22 out of 25 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Spiderman 3, the sequel to two previous Spiderman, movie based games.

The graphics on the game are fairly good for the XBOX 360. Detail is nice, no complaints on the graphics during gameplay. Although, during the cut scenes or movies, the graphics go back to what I could see on a playstation one console game. Just detesting in the cut scenese but its alright, since that really doesn't matter. Its all about the game right?

So anyways, Other then it being just like the other two spiderman games, with the combat, its pretty cool. The free roam, the few things here and there you can now do. It's pretty neat. Fun to play for a few hours. Like I said, same old combat, its just button mashing, but if it were any different, I'm pretty sure it would still be button mashing combo's etc....And you can't really expect much more. Somewhat confusing though, but I guess it's all feasible.

So if you are asking if you should rent, or buy this game, I'd say yes, if you liked Spiderman 1 and 2. If you're a gamefly person, possibly rent it. If the free roam stuff is fun to you, maybe you should buy it, but renting it, is the best way to go for me since it's not really a multi-player fiesta, or something you would want to go back to after you beat it too much (As in something you would buy). But if you like the game and are one of the people who go back to it and unlock everything etc....maybe you should buy it

Overall the game is pretty good. No huge complaints other then the cut scene graphics, and some odd/confusing interface things (Like a lot of times its random button combo's that pop up at you) but the game itself is pretty good. I give it a 7/10. Definitely worth the rent at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth it about 50% of the time

posted by johnb73 (HOBOKEN, NJ) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I never played the spiderman series, so it started off with some serious fun. Alot of fun swinging through a fairly accurate manhattan, too bad they didn't have my building there! but when it got about 40, 50% done, the game would crash during missions or not. I got trapped under the world, or the game froze. About 30mins on the mission wasted! because I had to reboot and that returns you the city before you started the mission. So you play it again, only to crash again! and waste 30 more mins. Painful!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horrible!!!

posted by riley995 (RENO, NV) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is a disgrace!

-GOOD-
This games graphics are pretty good it looks nice. The combat is alright but you can get away with just button mashing to beat up guys. The story line is fun you face alot of Spidermans enemies, but in a way you kind of have to be a Spiderman fan to fully enjoy this game.

-BAD-
Anyone who has played Spiderman 2 knows the fullest part of the game was just swing around and jumping off buildings, right? Well i guess the creators of Spiderman 3 didn't understand that. The swinging is horrible!!! They completely butchered it! You move so incredibly slow it seems like! They made the city alot larger so you'd think they'd make you be able to swing faster but no....
Another thing is jumping is pretty bad too. They removed the jump meter so at some points you'll jump way higher than you want to.
And don't even get started on these stupid button sequences! Randomly throughout the game big buttons will pop onto the screen and they expect you to press the right button at the right time to accomplish tasks but seriously they come out of nowhere.
Oh and the camera angles sometimes will make you want to throw your controller. You'll find yourself shuffling on your couch to try and see Spiderman.

-OVERALL-
Pretty bad game defiantly don't buy it. It might be worth a rent if you REALLY like Spiderman but thats about it. Stick to Spiderman 2... :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best spider-man game yet!!!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) May 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

49 out of 77 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I dont know why this game got such bad reviews (from gamespot it got 6.6/ Gametrailers 6.1). Yeah it may have some glitches, camera isues, and its the same old design as in other spider man games, but its all been re-done and made much much better! Trust me on this one! swinging around New York has never been more exciting and thrilling. You can dual webswing, run across walls, go faster while swinging on one web, jump very high, crawl up walls, its all here. The sense of speed and awsome while swinging is unlike it has been in any recent Spider man games. The graphics just add to it. The buildings, environemnts and spider man just look amazing. The combat is better too. Tons of combos (many that include your webs which is really awsome), timed button presses (which is one of the best things about the game) where you have an on screen prompt and must match the corresponding button or analog stick movment(very similar to God Of War I and II). You can yank enemies from the ground and do many combos over and over devastating your enemies. All the baddies from the spider man universe are in SM3. Sandman, Venom, Harry(the new goblin), Scorpion, Kingpin, Rhino and more as well as a few gang bosses. The game is pretty long, it will take you about 10 or so hours to complete every mission and about 15 hours to complete everything in the game (combat tours, races, much like in Ultimate Spider man). As i said before, one of the greatest highlights of teh game are the button mini-games. I must admit that they are better than even the ones in God of War because they take true reflex and skill much like the real spider-man. The only thing is somtimes they just happen without any wrning so it catches you off guard.
GRAPHICS:8.9/10
GAMEPLAY:9.6/10
DESIGN/CONTROLS: 9/10
STORY:7.8/10
OVERALL: 9.2/10
A great game. If you dont want to buy it, it is a must must MUST rent. Check it out and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Just Spiders... This Game has LOTS of Bugs!!!

posted by n0nPr0phet (GWYNN OAK, MD) May 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well, I finally got around to playing the game today. My main impression of this game was that it could have been so much better.

Bright Spots:

1. Swinging around the city is a lot of fun and the animations when spidey is running on the ground or the side of buildings is pretty cool.
2. Crawling on buildings, ceilings, etc. works pretty well and the motions look fluid when he changes from wall to ceiling and over lips.
3. The controls, while they are simple and button-mashey (yes, that's a word now), aren't that bad and are pretty fun.

The Dark Side:

1. Why is it that the only environment objects I can interact with are newspaper stands? I can't kick over trash cans, lift cars, punch innocent bystanders... I know I'm supposed to be a hero, but half of the fun of sandbox games is interacting with the environment... even if "the environment" happens to be an innocent's face.
2. Collision detection is AWFUL. Yes, you can splat into the ground or the tops of buildings if you drop from a great enough height... but did you notice that if you do a header into a car from 100 stories, you will just stop and not take ANY damage?
3. The graphics are sub-par at best. You don't really notice it that much in most of the city, but the water and foliage in Central Park brings out the worst in flat, bright textures with no shading. It seriously reminds me of playing the original Wolfenstein on my old Pentium I (ok, let's call that an exaggeration... but you get the idea).
4. THE CAMERA SUX. 'nuff said.

So, this game really wasn't horrible. It wasn't great though either. I'm in agreement with any review that gave it a 6 or 7 out of 10. To be fair, I couldn't bring myself to "play through the pain" like so many of you have in order to have the game grow on me. It's on it's way back to GameFly as I type. The one phrase that I will always use to describe this game to anyone who asks is: "It could have been SO much better"

Moral of the story: DON"T RUSH DEVELOPMENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One word: Buggy

posted by Astaroth (COLLEGE PLACE, WA) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Here's how my review system works for this game. Give it an overall score, then subtract the amount of times I had to reset the game because of a bug that froze it all up.

Initial score: 7
Freeze-ups: 5
Final score: 2

As sandbox games go, this was a fun game to play. Hardly a comparison to GTA or Saints Row, in my opinion. So I felt okay giving it a 7. But all the bugs occured during actual mission play rather than the minigames like web racing and sky diving. Heck, if only the bugs occured during the sky diving minigames as those were simply TERRIBLE.

I finally returned the game when the freezing blocked me from actually PROGRESSING in game progress. Oh, and I should mention that this happened early enough that I couldn't even unlock play as Venom. Sweet, eh?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

eh, its ok.

posted by tekg80 (DALLAS, TX) Sep 7, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is decent. its the same standard gameplay from the previous installments which follows the same idea of exploring the outside environment of a city to fight baddies. (spiderman, ironman, superman, etc) the fighting gets boring quick as with the other games but the web slinging is pretty cool and the graphics are up to par. the missions are super cheesy and theirs not enough in game movies to enhance the storyline. rent it if your a fan. skip it if your not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth the effort

posted by SabotFox (LAWTON, OK) Sep 3, 2008

Member since May 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

To be honest, I only spent about two hours or so on this title. At first, it was really fun (Bruce Campbell makes a amusing narrator and tutorial instructor), and the graphics really grabbed me as I swung about the city. Then I started getting into the game, noting the poor camera controls, the odd glitch of two vehicles occupying the same space, and the buggy responses to control inputs. As I got into combat related missions, this buggy response became more frequent, making the game frustrating to the point that I no longer wanted to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetitive and Boring

posted by xScruffyx (OMAHA, NE) Jun 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I personally didn't think this game is all that other make it out to be. Yes, swinging from buildings is cool... but how long can one enjoy this single aspect of the game. After you learn the controls and fighting style, it becomes so monotonous and repetitive that I sent it back the second day I had the game. This game only gets a 4 from me...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

To many glitches

posted by 1ShOt1KiLl (TORRINGTON, CT) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has so many glitches. For example I was fighting Kingpin (who is extremely hard) and I finally got to the last part, but all of the sudden he disappears. The camera angles suck in tight spaces too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a respected effort

posted by soloboy52 (HONOLULU, HI) May 9, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

first of all, if you did not like spiderman 2 the game, i would not keep on going with my review.

the game play in the spiderman 2 and this spiderman 3 game has not changed much at all, its still pretty much the same concept, swing around the city and chose missions to continue on with the game and see different parts of the story, but they added little things as certain parts of a event you will have to press certain buttons with timing most of the time to pass the scene, disarm bombs and evade enemy attacks.

i would say the graphics is pretty nice, smooth, no lag in the 360 version, and beautiful most of the time, especially swinging around the city, but some sequences of the scene could be more polished as the other cut scenes was, but truthfully, i think that its alright, the cut scenes and the swinging around the city matters most.

the controls are just like the first one, but i don't quite remember but it seems that the fighting seems to have been more solid in the 2nd game than this current one, the moves are learned through completion in the game rather than gathering points and purchasing them this time, and i gotta say that the camera is the biggest downfall of the game, you pretty much have no control over the camera at points which makes it hard to play.

the voice acting, well you have the original cast acting, i would gotta say, its pretty dam good, music is minor.

story, with added parts as the rhino, scorpion, mad bomber, the lizard, gangs, and etc, keeps the length going for the spiderman 3 game.

but i gotta say this, i did not finish the game, i did not even get the black spidey suit yet, and i am 30% in the game, so predict that this game might be kinda short, i'm sorry i can't tell you more but at the moment this is my conclusion.

I personally love games, i respect the company's that try their best, and well, activision tried well with this game, still can be improved but, hey spiderman fans and people that loves games, try it out. Laterz

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Spiderman 3 - Too much coolness?

posted by Tzimme (SAINT LOUIS, MO) May 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

In the preceding games, the simple characteristics of the movies and the powers of spiderman have been closely followed. The first game was not all that fun because it only allowed the player to wander in a designated zone above an imaginary line on the city buildings. The second was a major step up, resembling the revolutionary qualifications attributed to Grand Theft Auto 3 in its flawless transition between areas in a huge map of New York. The same map exists in Spiderman 3 and they added a little perks, and setbacks. The perks are that the animation is downright incredible compared to the previous games. The mini games present in both Batman Begins and God of War are employed in advanced battle sequences and the disarming of bombs in heartpounding action. However, the setbacks are such that would turn the tide against the huge advances. For example, the camera work when fighting multiple bad guys is at some times abhorent, at some points you can't even tell what is going on. Another example is that, not to seem like a wuss, but they are extraordinarily hard. In one instance, you have to fight off 4 badguys who are all just as good at evading as you are with the leader shooting you at will. To add to that, your spider-evading only works for a LIMITED TIME. This proves to be detrimental to the player when he needs to dodge multiple axes and bullets. To sum up, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME RIGHT OFF THE BAT. Rent it, either from Blockbuster or Gamefly and see for yourself how you like it. DO NOT take some shmucks word for it, but this is just my impression of the game, and after playing it for a week it leaves me desperately searching for invincibility cheats online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Boring Game

posted by Amen13 (BROOKLYN, NY) May 21, 2007

Member since May 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I was thinking of starting off this review by typing in all caps and saying, "This game sucks! Stay away!" but I figured I could be more eloquent than that.

When I say this game is a bore fest, that's no understatement. I got through a little over two hours of playing time and just discovered that I really don't care. The fighting controls are your typical button mashes with combinations strung together by randomly pressing the X & Y buttons. But when you go on missions and fight swarms of the same bad guys, the game drags. It's one thing if half these people you were fighting were slightly competitive and made it challenging; but when you know Spidey is going to destroy these people almost effortlessly, the fighting just feels futile. I really stopped caring about the missions half way through.

I need to reitirate what every review has said about the cameras. There's no such thing as getting used to it -- the camera angles suck, and it will make things more complicated than it needs to be.

It's not all gloom and doom, though -- NY looks magnificent. Seeing as how I live in Brooklyn, NY, I do get annoyed with the things that are inaccurate (LOL at elevated train tracks in the middle of the city), but the city truly is well detailed.

In short, if you've played Spiderman 2, you've played this game. The differences are subtle, and the jump in graphics on the next-gen consoles isn't significant enough to warrant playing the game. If you're a hardcore Spidey fan, than you'll probably enjoy it for it's novelty. But the truth is, it's not a very enjoyable gaming experience.

Hope this helps,
Amen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but not fun enough

posted by Chr0n1c (KITTY HAWK, NC) May 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

21 out of 40 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

"Spiderman Spiderman does whatever a spider can..."
Spiderman 3 is a fun addicting game with many hours of fun and enjoyment. the game gets boring though and is best being played in short increments. its definately worth a rent and possibly even worth buying. If you want to jump into the Good and Bad side of Peter parkers alter ego spiderman the definately pick this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OKAY

posted by patton1123 (MINEOLA, NY) Jun 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This game was just okay. It didn't get catch my eye at all. I would not recommend it. There are too many better games to play than this.

patton1123

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Spiderman3

posted by Dudeman5 (East Stroudsburg, PA) May 22, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I think this is the worst game out for the XBox360. The camera is so horrible that it makes your eyes burn at certain points. The fighting is very unrealistic. It has the hardest bosses and the easiest mind puzzles. SO esay a caveman ca do it. It really bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spidey Tacular

posted by terrill120 (AURORA, CO) May 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

19 out of 39 gamers (49%) found this review helpful

The game is very good if you have played the 2 previous installments of the game this is nothing new but there are a lot of villains. The camera angles in tight spaces can be difficult to navigate at first but you'll get used to it. I like how you can chain combos. Make no mistakes the enemy's (regular ones) aren't pushovers they will kill you in about 5 to 7 hits make sure to use the dodge button as much as possible. The graphics are amazing also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another X-Men Type Game

posted by RedShoe (REDWOOD CITY, CA) May 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

12 out of 25 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

The game plays a lot like the X-men game for the 360. A must play for fans of spiderman. Though in general games that are in some way tied to the upcoming release of a movie - are best played on a rental basis only - overall the game is fun. Give it try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

spider-man movie bad, game's great though!!!

posted by mario2544 (GROVE CITY, OH) May 6, 2007

Member since May 2007

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Spiderman 3 game is amazing it does have some "few" cons though but those dont play into the action the list is right below

Pros- freeroam, varying boss's black suit, greatly made enginge for dodging and conter attacking, just to many to list

cons- theres a challenge then theres easy then theres some things that's impossible to do just no difficulty setting and bad cinematic graphics and lastly is fighting just seems like your button mashing at times

i would suggest even if you hated the movie get this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

People Are to nice to this game

posted by Skunkysti (BALTIMORE, MD) May 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The camera is terrible the controls are sloppy, there is no real story at all just mission after mission of frustration. The camera ruins any chance the game had at greatness as its almost vomit inducing at times. Overall the game feels unfinished and unrefined. I suppose if you love spiderman that much youll look right past it but this game is bad, its just bad and frustrating even for a button mashing movie title.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hgfhklgf;d

posted by whatthefoo (AUGUSTA, ME) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

dude game rocks eat sleep and breath spiderrrrrrrrrrrrrrr mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn. yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyoooooooooooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Spider Man....Spider Man......Does whatever.......

posted by jf1977 (WEST GROVE, PA) May 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I ended breaking down and buying the title. I have to admit it's much better than 2. But not as Good as SM1 for the PS1. That really had a love for the comic book. The begginging of the game can be slugglish. Yes the Lizard does make a appearance in the title, but at first you have to take pictures of giant lizards before you go one on one with him, and disarming bombs by pressing x and y three times in a row can be a pain in the you know what. But the enhanced spider sense makes the game worth while and then there's the Dragon's lair button timed attacks......and let's not forget the black suit. Not the best title and was dissapointed with the film.....still its an acquired taste.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the movie was good, but the game is better!

posted by dingoman77 (CASTRO VALLEY, CA) May 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

spider man 3 the movie was good, but trust me the game is better!! The only problems was the camera and some stupid missions but all together the game os really good! from the great boss battles like venom, sandman, goblin, the lizard, kingpin and much more is just part of how good this game is! this is a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spider man 3 is awesome!

posted by blackspide (SHAWNEE, KS) Aug 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Spider man 3 is awesome! You get to battle new characters. Like New Goblin,Venom and Sandman. I would reconmend this game. You'll find spider man 3 awesome. I hope my review was helpful to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2SUITS

posted by 2SUITS (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) May 23, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS AWSOME! YOU GET TO WEAR 2 SUITS! THE RED ONE AND THE BLACK ONE. IDEFEDED VENOM AND STARDED AGAIN WITH THE BLACK COSTUME THIS GAME IS GREAT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse