Rent Spider-Man 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Spider-Man 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

2162 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SPIDER-MAN 3

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Jan 19, 2009

Member since May 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had played but not beat the game SPIDER-MAN 3. POSITIVE: the graphics are great. The controls are ok. In this game you can go around cities and search for missions. NEGATIVE: in some parts of game you have to press different buttons and its a bit too hard and confusing. This game is very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spider-Man 3 PS3

posted by djezesk (BROOKFIELD, WI) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. The storyline is really good, the action is fun. The button mashing can get a little old but its still fun when you finally accomplish it. It would have been nice to play this game with the fighting controls of Spiderman Web of Shadows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Spiderman game ever made.

posted by captain7 (HARLINGEN, TX) May 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

20 out of 22 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Spiderman has always been an icon when it comes to movies and games, but when Treyarch and Activision were tasked with creating the Spiderman 3 game, not only did they succeed, but they created the best experience you could have with Spiderman, New York, and the many, many villains that are present in the game. The fighting mechanic has been improved so well that it never feels repetitive. The shear amount of missions and crimes going on really show how the city is a living, breathing metropolis. The graphics are nothing short of amazing and there are NO MORE "saving the kid's balloon" missions. The camera has been zoomed in a little creating a more cinematic feel to the game. The city contains many different storylines creating a more free feeling. You can choose to go with the story mode or go with stopping the gangs or helping the cops. Let's not forget the awesome mighty power of the BLACK suit. Spiderman becomes more dark and more brutal when he has the black suit on and once you have it, you can change between the suits whenever you want.

The only problems with the game is that there is no "normal swinging" from the second game and the difficulty can be a little high but I like a challenge. Other than that, this is the best spiderman game and possibly the best movie game ever made.

P.S. On the PS3 version, you can play as the new GREEN GOBLIN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Spiderman

posted by Bibbl80 (LODI, NJ) May 7, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game could of been made better but this is by far the best Spiderman game out on platform.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

so awesome

posted by calculator (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Feb 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is so awesome. the graphics are excellent, and you could spend a long time just swinging around the city without becoming bored. and speaking of the city - it's HUGE!!! gigantic, with so many different buildings and parks and people, and finally spiderman can swim. photo mode is cool, and the photo missions are fun. the missions are fun and actually interesting, but some levels are really hard, like the boss levels. all in all, the ps2 version is nothing compared to this, it's rubbish. the ps3 and xbox 360 versions are the only ones that are good. i mean, excellent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't even start with me!

posted by Kraneman (MIAMI, FL) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is 10 on the rating scale. Especially when you have to take down Harry from his hover-glider. That part was awesome! Sort of hard 2. But still, it's perfect. I wouldn't expect that the Spider-man 4 game is gonna be AWSOME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun, But... A Little Cheesy

posted by Legolas101 (GOOSE CREEK, SC) Jun 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2003

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been waiting for Spider-Man 3 to become availible for a very long time(Darn all of you who kept it forever!)so I deceided to just buy it. I did, rushed home in my car acted like a dork making web noises and sticking my hands out. I popped it in and started playing. It was really fun, accept some parts didnt make sense.

Example #1:
I'm vicously fighting New Goblin, punching the blood right off his chin, doing some mad jumps,too. Then at the end you do a special movie were you have to push the right buttons at the right time. I hurt Harry really bad and Peter says,"Harry! Are you ok?! I'm gonna take you to the hospital!"
!MISSION ENDED!
It shows Spidey again, but, wears the hospital, no were NEAR a hospital.

Example #2
Ok, this is a little more stupid. I am currently Peter going on a date with MJ. I have been affecting by The Black Suit so I get mad and yell at her. She says,"Take me home now!"
I do, and the mission is to tick her off by going the wrong way, getting her scared and so forth. We stop, we break up, mission over. So, with me being single, I look at my missions, the first one a see is to take MJ on a LOVE RIDE. WE BROKE UP! HOW CAN I TAKE HER SWINGING LOVE STYLE IF WE JUST HIT ROCK BOTTOM!!!!!

Well all the other things are superb, like the graphics, the fighting, the stuff that kept me making weird web noises in the shower, fighting the water as if Spidey were doing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

web slinger 3:)

posted by superg (BLAIRSTOWN, NJ) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok. i may be 13 but that doesnt mean i cant play spiderman origly this was my brosgame he wanted out but since there was cursing and FAKE blood (wich mom didnt notice) it was mine now the game takes place ya know after the best game in the seires spider man 2 (well it used to be) and if you think you do all that annoying stuff like in the movie well.... you dont you acluly do alot of stuff in the game i mean like they have kingpin the scirpion (wich you acutly play as :) ) you can even go in the subway! oh the grapthics great for a 2007 game like it felt like i was waching the movie! so you should rly buy this game oh and if you want a suprize for doin stuff then buy specel version you play as harry!!!:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

decent

posted by jtb484 (ALLISON PARK, PA) Jun 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

i was expecting alot from this spiderman game and i guess that is why my rating is kinda low. the good points of this game is free open map, good fighting sequnces, and abibilty to swing and go on any building. the mini games are also fun along with the awsom crime fighting that u can do all over the city. but the main missions are terible along with the gangs that u have to fight and the graphics r not ps3 quality at all. so i think that this game is a must rent just because how fun it is to do the races and skydives and other mini games. the other quality is the crime fighting which i wood just do that for 2 hours because u can stop gang fights, muggings, carr theft and other stuff. deffinetly rent this game for a couple days but most likely not a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Get ready to swing thru the city with a GRIN!

posted by xterranv (BELMONT, NH) May 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I think they did a great job on the PS3 version of this game. The graphics are sweet!! The game action is great. I haven't had a lot of problems with camera angles or maneuverability. It's a really fun game to play. You feel like you're swingin' thru the city.

If your a Spiderman fan... game or movie... this is a great game that's well worth playing, renting, or Buying. I bought this game on it's release date and I'm happy I did, no regrets. I Highly recommend it!! :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

By far the best of the trio

posted by ManSpider (NORTHPORT, NY) May 9, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is an awesome game. If you liked the first two, you'll love this one. If you didn't like the first two, you'll still love this one. They took out all the bad things about the second one, like the little missions with the balloons and stuff. No more repetitiveness, all new missions and so much freedom. There are now 10 story lines and more bosses than the movies. This is a great game and you should enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bad Graphics, and missions are much too hard...

posted by Edgarllama (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Jun 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok, I consider myself an above average gamer (don't we all), but the missions in this game were way too hard. I enjoy missions that are difficult in the sense that once you get a task down, you can do it again pretty easily. For example, once you beat a fighting game you can do it again. However, with Spiderman 3 there is a large amount of luck in beating the missions, depending on how the AI reacts. Also, the bosses are just ridiculous. Instead of making the situation more difficult the designers opted to have you either repeat a stream of attacks while the bosses simply block and counter while you (hopefully) dodge or find a glitch in that particular character and exploit it. Also, you are too dependent on your reflexes ability, it gets quite annoying having to hold the same button down for every fight... I think my left index finger may be my strongest body part now.

The cutscenes where you have to enter button commands to do certain attacks is also annoying. Half the time I thought the event was over and was reaching for a sip of my pop only to see a big x appear on the screen and die. Sure it shows Spidey doing cool things but, they could show that anyway.

The graphics.... Horrible. All the characters look very bug-eyed. I understand having to rush a game out to coincide with the theatrical release, but come on...

So, if you're a die-hard Spidey fan, which I am, pick the game up from Gamefly and check it out, just don't get your hopes up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than the first two

posted by LunarJon (PECULIAR, MO) May 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

As far as Spiderman ports go... they did a great job on the PS3 version. It's very similar to Spiderman 2 when you look at the game mechanics but they vamped up the graphics, sounds and city size for the next-gen consoles.

I really feel like I am swinging around the city with webs flying out of my wrists. The graphics are truly Amazing. There are rare occasions where the fps will stutter a bit, but it's barely noticeable. The new spider senses are wonderful with the new "tracking crime" lit spots that appear on your screen. The missions are well played out and the bosses are quite fun to fight.

The only problem I had with this game is the fighting controls. At times Spiderman 3 can be near impossible to play. I have one friend that said it took him days of trying to find a way to defeat the KingPin because of his ability to block your attacks and counter throw. Trust me, it will frustrate you at times.

All in all, Spiderman 3 is a superb game well worth playing on the PS3. Whether you are a huge fan or just looking for something fun to play, get your copy now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

crazy fun game mans!

posted by GameJacker (SUGAR LAND, TX) May 4, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

This game is the bomb and I mean it. It is way better than the other games of spider-man. I mean first you got the expanded city witch is more realistic than Spider-man 2 and the way you can do all sorts of web tricks is off the hook. Oh ya and not only can you just free play instead of doing the story mode they put more stuff you can do to save the city instead of just fighting thugs who are attacking women. But the best part is the Black suit its the BOMB I mean it acutely improves your speed and strength you can jump on a tall building on one jump instead of doing a double jump with the regular Red and Blue suit. So my recommendation is rent this game or better buy it cause once you got it you wont want to give it back if your real spidey fan who always like seeing YOUR FREINDLY NEIGHBOR-HOOD SPIDER-MAN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spider-man 3 Is the Best Spider-man out there!!

posted by Spiderfrek (STUART, FL) Jul 31, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First of all this game has the BEST graphics in any Spider-man game out there. It was some-what easy after you become Spiderman lol.. "I beat this game in 11 Hrs" It timed me.. Any-way This game is a must (BUY)! I LOVED IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by Pilloeros (OCEANSIDE, CA) May 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I bought this game a few days ago and it is awesome. The graphics are fantastic, of course you have to have HDTV to fully enjoy. The game play is very very good. One of the better games on the PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Spiderman...nah lets just call him spiderguy!

posted by jwil3333 (KENMORE, WA) May 7, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Can someone please tell me where are the graphics that i paid 800 dollars for? i can excuse the sports games being bad, but there is no excuse for spiderman looking like something from 1998. the gameplay is good, and there is plenty of things in nyc for you to explore, but i want my graphics! Am i wrong for that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Go get 'em, tiger!

posted by SmileyDude (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) May 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Well well well, good 'Ole spidey's back, and looking good. This game is the sequel to Spiderman 2, which you should all know by now(of course). You play as Peter Parker through the game, though there are unlockable characters to play as. The graphics, I must say, are great! Everything is sleek and shiny, and the buildings and characters look fantastic, except for their buggy eyes at times. The camera is terrible in this game, however. when climbing up a wall it is okay, but when you reach the top it flips out and you have to spend a couple of seconds realigning it. Also, this game is unusually hard at certain points, such as boss battles, so frustration may ensue when playing. But, the coolest thing in the game I think, is the fact that New York is HUGE! Webbing around never felt so fluid and cool, and when you unlock the black costume... I can't describe it, you'll have to play it for yourself. But I am a nerd, so my opinion is probably a lot different from "normal" people. But about the web. ITs okay. I found it hard to fly up high, because there are some missions where you have to go high, and I got stuck there. But i am bad at this game. I can play it, but i stink. THe combat system is cool though, and is one of the few things in this game that I am good at. Lots of combos and attacks, with a good dodging system, it just rocks. Overall, a better-than-average movie game(that's a first)with some problems, but with more advantages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

button Mashing Boredom

posted by Wooder46 (OCONOMOWOC, WI) May 10, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be quite boring. I played it twice and sent it back for you to judge. It is a full blown button mashing, no skill requiring, check your brain at the door snoozer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Spider Man the man with the suit

posted by Miracle4 (WILLIAMSBURG, VA) May 9, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was excited to get Spider man 3 but disappointed when i put it in the beginning was about lizards c'mon Activistion and carrying mary jane whats up with that.Spiderman1 was horrible but this one was no better. There was things i did like about Spideman 3 the boss battles in it where good. Taking care of bombs was a waste of time Some of the missions were a waste to. What wanted was more fighting and less about carrying mary Jane i gave this game a Fair5 for a reason because i think that's fair for Spiderman3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

RUSHED!!!

posted by dlem28 (BRONX, NY) May 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game seems like it was rushed to be ready for release with the movie. The graphics are poorly rendered, the camera (views) are horrible and the controls are unresponsive. Performing moves involves as much luck as skill. The missions are very frustrating due to the poor controls. At first I wasn't going to even try and finish it but I was bored so I kept playing. The game actually gets a little better later on when you get to play in the black suit (symbiotes make everything better ;-)
This game could've been so much better. I enjoyed the first two games in the series (and even the Ultimate Spiderman game). This game didn't change much from the other games, it just didn't do them as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SOTLEN

posted by MrGamer888 (LANSDOWNE, PA) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

sorry i cant find my game somebody stole it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

spider man

posted by freezebite (DETROIT, MI) Aug 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its great theirs tons of things to explore numerous crimes to stop and don't forget the best of all black suit spidey this game is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a Craptastic game!

posted by imdrbill (OLATHE, KS) Jun 9, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game blows. The fighting system is not only extremely lame, it's also boring. Boss fights are cheap, and while swinging through the city is fun for an hour, I'd rather just get to my destinations quickly. Oh, wait, no the missions are re-tarded, I don't want anything to do with them. I got so annoyed/bored with this game, that I sent it back after 4 hours.
As far as graphics are concerned, I've seen better on the PS2.
Bruce Campbell was nice though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spidy back on track

posted by MFSFNBIR (SENECA, SC) May 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

It is about time that a good spidy game came out. Spiderman 1 was very good but easy. I beat it in like two hours(with some cheats). Spiderman 2 was horable(sorry for the misspelling). But now for spiderman 3. This was the best game of the trilogy, just like the movie. The game was good at sometimes and bad at sometimes. Here are the pros and jokes.

Pros- Good grapics
It allowes you to free play with spiderman and black suited spiderman when you have unlock it.
A lot of villians.

Jokes- None.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse