Rent Speed Racer: The Videogame for Wii
view large frontback

Speed Racer: The Videogame

Rent

Keep for: $8.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS2
GF Rating
6.6

497 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good for kids that like racing games (5yr old)

posted by CFAM52 (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is great for kids. At first I thought that it would be too hard but it's really good because the kids can't go really far off the tracks and get lost which keeps them in the game. 5 yr. old enjoys this. Get the racing wheel - makes it easier. Not really happy with the 'trash talk' that goes on in the background while they are racing but I'm sure the older kids might find it funny.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good game!

posted by mragent (PIEDMONT, CA) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome! But you can't be the Mach 5! Only the Mach 6! Waaaaahhhhhhhh! But the game has a lot of cool action and stuff. I like shunting cars out of my way, tail tossing and using jump jacks and landing on another car and highly damaging another car. I also like when you or another car explodes! Good game. The action game is wacko fun! Bye!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun! .... for the younger ones too!

posted by Moms2Boys (FAYETTEVILLE, AR) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Speed Racer is fun and easy enough for the younger crowd too! My 4 year old Son loved playing this one and it's nice that the cars do not fall off of the tracks so that he can stay in the race! Lots of neat tracks. It is less distracting if you turn off the talking portraits during the game, do this in options. Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It is totally Wicked!

posted by Browncoat (SAGINAW, MI) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Graphics are amazing! Tutorials are very usefu. Full of surpises. Inoxicating speeds, magnificant race courses. Would have bought it if it was available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great battle action, true to movie, cool controls!

posted by CritScott (QUAKERTOWN, PA) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I loved the way this game was presented. The graphics, mood and feel was very much like the movie's "eye candy". There was a good selection of tracks, characters & cars from the movie. The gameplay racing is solid, good mechanics, controls, and goals are simple (smash into opponents!) It seems the focus is NOT on coming in first, but to smash into rivals and not smash allies, so there is a nice team element there. (Also just like the action packed movie!)

Gameplay:
The racing as a whole is very fun! The Car-fu, and unique motion control action moves you can make are about as fun and innovative as you can get. The problem I had after hours of playing (yes, and many more hours to come) is the AI. I know, this a common complaint, but when you exhaustively fight your way to first/second place, manage to pass your opponents in a long race and your are 10 seconds away from winning, it's a frustrating (read FAKE) scenario to have multiple cars missile you to death out of nowhere, putting you back to position 15. (I hate that, but I also hate it in Mario Kart) Theres almost no point in trying to come in first. Even kicking the game down like that, I can still say it's an awesome trip through the courses, avoiding obstacles, gaining speedups, and then going into 1-4 boost mode. If you appreciate the battle and car-fu moves, you'll favor this game (I play it for that reason only! lol) Like others said too, the actual perceived speed "2-300mph??" is really called into question - I found the boosting really gives no speed boost. The other racers will pass you or be passed when the AI is darned good and ready to make it happen (probably my biggest complaint.)

Being a Speed Racer fan has to be a plus. One more slam (again, I thought the positive outweighs the negative): there's not much depth, other than the car-fu points, trying to speed up, survive, battle and attack each other. Overall, one of my minor favorites!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The best and only Speed Racer game I've played

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Mar 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Yes, Speed Racer got a racing game and I can say with due certainty that it is one of the top Speed Racer games in history. It is definitely better than Sonic: Zero Gravity and has downright passable graphics and gameplay. If all of this sounds like backhanded compliments, they are. Come on, it's a Speed Racer video game!
Okay, so I wouldn't bash the game just because it's based on a movie that was based on an TV show. I would bash it for lackluster presentation and sub-par action, which this game possesses.
The championship mode has a few levels where you run a series of races for points, hopefully finishing first to unlock characters and more courses. Besides a rather boring interface, this part works the way it should.
In all fairness, the racing is functional. The Wii's motion-sensitive controls are responsive and the courses serve their purpose without becoming detrimental. But the game has a surprising lack of speed. Sure, you're supposed to be flying around the courses at unheard speeds, but it feels like you're taking the carpool lane. F-Zero this is not.
All of this would leave the game as average. But then the game throw in the absurd "car-fu", where jerking your Wiimote and pushing buttons on the D-Pad cause you to flip and spin, damaging your opponents. This more often leaves you skidding and facing the wrong direction rather than throwing off your opponents. Unfortunately, the AI drivers are much more efficient at hitting you, thus throwing you off track. It's just a twist that becomes more annoying than fun.
There's not much here too keep players engaged and too many flaws to recommend it. You'd probably enjoy watching the movie more than playing the game. And that's okay, just not for the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun!... for about an hour.

posted by JiiReview (TYLER, TX) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

Hello, This is a Jii review on the new game "Speed Racer: The Videogame" based on the movie starring Emile Hirsch "Speed Racer" (2008).

When I received this game I was expecting a bore based on the ad's I saw for it and it did everything but prove me wrong, When I put in the game disk and started it up one of the first things I noticed was it asked me to hold the remote horizontally while browsing the menu. I took the well put together tutorials and in about 3 minutes I was ready to start my first race, by this time I'm not at all impressed by the graphics but am quite surprised by the control of the car. The handling was easy enough and the simplicity of attacking other cars made gameplay fun. I start my race and quickly discover the addicting attributes of the racing it self, after completing the first two (out of three) championships I relised that I was about 75% done with the game and I had only played an hour.

In short The game is great for parties because it is easy to master but I would not recommend playing longer than about and hour and a half before boredom strikes. All in All I rated this a "Fair" maybe a good rent if you don't mind bad graphics and aren't up for a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Couldn't get it too play

posted by Momto2boys (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 23, 2008

Member since May 2008

Couldn't get it to play so requesting another one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »