Rent Spectrobes: Origins for Wii
view large frontback

Spectrobes: Origins

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

545 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

A lot of fun but a lot of tedium as well.

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Aug 20, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

20 out of 22 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Spectrobes is an action RPG based heavily on monster fighting. The sole purpose of raising Spectrobes is to bring them into battle with you. Each new breed has its own fighting style and properties. Once they reach level 10, secondary stage beasts can release a powerful elemental attack, which can hit multiple times and targets, and level 30 stage three monsters will do even greater feats. You can also issue attack commands with motions and, if timed right, can deal even greater damage.

My biggest peeve in the time I've played is the way you find items. Each time you want to send one of your 'child' monsters out to search, you have to wave the remote. As searching for materials is the main objective outside combat, you're going to be doing a lot of heard conducting. The commands don't always register either. And, as finding new Pokem... er, Spectrobes, requires you to search, it's necessary to do a little digging. I find it ironic though that these animals, which are supposed to be on the search team, can't find anything on their own. There should be an ability to 'unleash' the Spectrobe just to give the wrists a rest.

And speaking of feeding, it's a bit... overly complicated. You'll have to get a few hours into the game before you even get the option to do so. Once u can get to the room, which can only be reached via a save point or your ship, you can finally feed your monsters. However, you have to lay out the materials like Peter Griffin did candy for James Woods on Family Guy. The creatures will eat one by one, dragging what could be done in seconds out far too long.

There's a lot of nonsense but it never feels like there's a down time if you play your cards right. It might be tedious to shake the remote constantly, but the fighting is great, there are a lot of weapons to find, and the fossil excavating is done rather well. I would've preferred a more streamlined system in many parts but its definitely an enjoyable experience suited for the whole family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent game

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Sep 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Hi - this game is like a very light version of Shin Megami. Basically a lot of planet hopping ( so you get a nice variety of backgrounds) battling various evils. You do a lot of excavating to find goodies to raise your mini army at your command. You'll do a lot of upgrading to your army throughout the adventure. Combat is easy & fun. The path of what to do next is easy to follow.
I usually prefer adventure games to be a bit more exploratory (finding neat secrets, etc...) & have some creative puzzles to solve - so that aspect of the game was somewhat disappointing. But still a nice 10 hour rental that is enjoyable. My best, D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

aewsome

posted by gamefly10 (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is very good to be a disney game...if you have a wii and you like pokemon and alll the other types i recommend that you play this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweet game!!!

posted by coolio2525 (WYLIE, TX) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 24 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Awesome game its really cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ds versions are better

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

this one isn't as good as the ds games cuz excavating was a pain cuz its more with the wii remote, if u have issues with it. i found it complicated.

the combat is wat i like the most cuz u can tell ur spectrobes a commend and rallen says over there and get em. jeena is a playable character which is cool cuz she wasn't in the ds versions.

very much like pokemon and i really wish a pokemon game for the wii was very similar to this. cuz that would b awesome!

fighting the giant krawl is really fun too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pokemon with a Story

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

Spectrobes Origins is a Pokemon-inspired game in which you collect pets (Spectrobes) and level them up as your fighting companions. As in Pokemon, there is an element system in which certain spectrobes are better against certain enemies, and you can switch between several in your party in order to defeat your enemies. There are many differences from Pokemon, however. Some are good; some are bad.

Pros:
-Unlike Pokemon, this game has an actual plot (pretty standard RPG save-the-world fare) and a sci-fi setting in which you travel between planets and fight aliens who are being controlled by a mysterious entity.
-The game has a real-time battle system reminiscent of something along the lines of a Zelda game or a beat 'em up. In addition, your character himself has a level and equipment and participates in battles. (Pushing buttons controls your character while flicking the Wii remote issues orders to your spectrobe.) The battle system is well-done.

Cons:
-The game's leveling system has issues. Because your character participates in every battle, he levels up much faster than any of your spectrobes. Because new spectrobes you acquire start at a level based on your character's level, I found that new spectrobes always had higher levels than the ones I had. This makes leveling up your spectrobes quite meaningless and pointless, since it's easier just to swap them out for new ones every now and again.
-There are not very many spectrobes. "Catching 'em all" is not hard in the slightest, and the variety you can use is very limited.
-The game is too easy. Once I figured out what I was doing, I breezed through the entire game without ever worrying about levels or any strategic details like elements.
-The system for obtaining new spectrobes is a mini-game that uses the Wii remote. It's fairly well-done, but gets old really fast.

Spectrobes Origins is far from perfect, but it's a very solid RPG that I'm happy I played through. Rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than Pokémon

posted by STMKH7ALPHA (TORRANCE, CA) May 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

Even though this is similar to Pokémon, Digimon, and recent dinosaur fighter games of the same style, this is a refreshing new twist on the boring cliche franchises. Indeed you have to collect the title beasts, spectrobes like Pokémon, & you have to break the fossils out of rocks like Dinosaur King & Fossil Fighters, but instead of standing on the sidelines having your Spectrobes fight other Spectrobes to become a master of these creatures, you get to fight alongside your beasts as well as taking care, leveling up, of and training you Spectrobes to combat an evil alien race ready to destroy the universe, the Krawl. Also, each evolution in some way: child Spectrobes act as search party, adults and evolved forms act as warriors. This is basically one of the best RPGs I've played yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

like pokemon with weapons

posted by konoar (KANSAS CITY, MO) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

ok now i do heft to say i definitly definitly do not recommend the first spectrobes for the DS for its battling, but i do heft to say everything else about was good. for this game its almost the same problem until you use the targeting system then its pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's time too brawl with the Krawl!

posted by tomkarl (HAMILTON, MT) Jul 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

The third game in the Specrtrobes series. A good starter for the specrtobes series, if you have a Wii. You can play as Rallen or his partner Jeena. This game is kinda half 2-player, P2 can take controll of the spectrobe when in battle, or in search mode. The Krawl get kinda ugly as you pogress through the game and, the bosses are fairly easy, until the end. The weapons are my favorite part of the game,(my favorite one is the "Cosmo Blaster"). Overall fun for a short time only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun but really hard!

posted by rhonda32 (LEITCHFIELD, KY) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

this game,overall, is fun. you get to have spectrobes to fight with you but I got stuck on the boss of the fire ruins so i couldn't see the ending

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sweetness!

posted by floopes (GALAX, VA) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game is a improvment from the ds versions. The spectrobes look very nice in this game. Using the wii remote can be a pain cause it doesnt always take the comands right. I like being able to switch spectobes during battle cause it makes things alot easier then waiting till your out of the battle and going into the pause menu and everything. overall i like this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by ornjello (CROFTON, MD) Sep 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

this game is great for people that like strategy and action..... as you progress the game gets more challenging. Also if you get far enough you unlock card input which is useful and makes the game less challenging if you have input cards. as you play this game it gets more addicting and fun. the bosses are very tough which does make it harder. if you want to learn the story behind the game i would play the first 2 games before getting this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ive played for wii

posted by gamer221 (VACAVILLE, CA) Sep 5, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

i was in the desert planet when krux was summoning the giant krawl.
i saw his hair and thought thats the spectrobes masters hair. i was like holy then he showed his face at the end it was him! i was right. very good game i had a ryza child a ryza adult spina evolved form. torags adult form.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

When fossils fight, who wins?

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Aug 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

Got to excavate them all - oops, wrong game.
But Spectrobes Origins does have the Pokemon feel of catching and collecting creatures called spectrobes. Some Spectrobes fight alongside your character against enemies called the Krawl, which are different types of monstrous: creautres like four legged rock lizards, floating ice squid things, and so on.
Most of this combat is the player dodging the attacking Krawls while striking back - with his/her weapon and his/her Spectrobe.
But the combat system has a major flaw in it. Far too often an off screen Krawl would barge in and smash into our hero, doing lots of damage. Something I get hit with several Krawls at once and my life points suffer for it. (This game needs a simple lock on system.) It gets worse when the off screen Krawl hit me with projectiles. This is one game not for the easily frustrated.
And finding the weak spot on some bosses can get irritating - namely the one on the ice planet.
But there are other parts to the game, namely the collecting Spectrobes part. You do that by finding a cube of solid rock, bring it back to the ship, and use a console to blast through the rock with tools like a drill, laster, blower, and bombs. It is easily the most enjoyable part of the game.
After that, you awaken the Spectrobe by doing a simple rhythm based game. It is now ready to be part of the Search Team.
In order to get it onto the Fighting Team, you feed it an evolution crystal (which you find by wandering about the area.)
Spectrobes each have an element - fire, earth, water, and so on. There are five in all, and every element works best a different element (water is best against fire), and is vulnerable to a third element (fire is weak against water).
The story is simple; it’s about the search for some shards to stop a disaster. There's a lot of content to keep players busy for hours.
Spectrobes has some good ideas, but the combat gets very frustrating very quickly. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

way beatter

posted by ppostar (WESTMINSTER, CO) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

i played all three inclouding this one this ones by far the best if you liked the first three rent this one first than buy it if you like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »