Rent Spec Ops: The Line for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Spec Ops: The Line

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.5

5036 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Fun

posted by lukemeister (FARGO, ND) Sep 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I didn't know what to expect from this game other than everybody saying "Gears meets Call of Duty". So I went into it expecting that.

It feels way more like Gears than COD to me, that's just my opinion. The gameplay is very similar to Gears, even throwing grenades and shooting from cover feels the same, so if you like those games you'll probably like this one too.

The story is pretty interesting, I ended up with a pretty grim ending to my campaign since I didn't really pay much moral attention to any of the choices. It's hard to tell if you're a good guy or bad guy during the campaign, which was kind of refreshing since many games cast you as the hero regardless of how you conduct yourself.

I thought it was pretty fun, and I beat it in a weekend. It was worth the rent.

Graphics are awesome. Sounds are awesome.

Once I got used to working with the squadmates the strategy can get kind of interesting as well. Sometimes I would get stuck on certain spots but switching up tactics seemed to always help get around these situation, rather than having to just grind through and try to get lucky.

Anybody looking for a shooter with a quick-paced campaign to kill a weekend with should find this to be a pretty good pickup.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gears meets CoD

posted by biscuits01 (SAN RAMON, CA) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Spec Ops: The Line is familiarly a 3rd person tactical shooter. Admittedly nothing special about the gameplay, cover mechanics are occasionally faulty but the combat sections are broken up with enough variation that they don't become tedious.
Where Spec Ops truly shines is in it's story. A compelling premise complimented by driving characterization, solid atmosphere and above average writing places Spec Ops: The Line among my favorite shooters of recent years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best games of 2012

posted by Irishf3tus (STAYTON, OR) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hadnt heard about this game until a co worker told me about it, and I am glad he did. From the very beginning of the game you are thrown into the middle of this raging battle. The story finds its way into your heart even though you are faced with tough decisions throughout. All leading up to an epic ending {and epilogue}. I only got 950 of 1000 of the gamerscore {mainly cause I didnt want to do the hardest difficulty} but I will cherish those points cause they were well worth the journey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Get it for the story, it's worth it.

posted by Angel_Molina (MIAMI, FL) Dec 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's a little bit difficult to put a numerical value on Spec Ops: The Line, because the game doesn't value itself on gameplay. Where this game rises head and shoulders among all other modern military shooters, for me, is in the story. The gameplay elements feel merely sufficient: you won't become frustrated by the controls, the AI handles just fine, and there are a moderate variety of weapons to use, there are just enough levels to keep you playing for about 6 to 8 hours on normal. But those 6 to 8 hours of story are more than enough to satisfy anyone who wants a military shooter with a plotline a notch above "the Russians did it" tired-old gag...

After finishing the game, I was left feeling reflective of my own morals. I can't spoil the story so all I will say is this: I recommend this to any gamer who has played many other military shooters or someone who wants an emphasize on good a story in their game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An actual story!

posted by Metoo999 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A very interesting, dark tale in the midst of some generic third person shooting.

Don't get fooled by the bland name, this is a good game. The scenery is fantastic, sometimes rivaling Uncharted 3. The sand-swept Dubai is amazing. Sometimes I had to stop the action and just admire it.

There's a real narrative and actual characterization, unlike most military shooters. I didn't think Nolan North really fit the part of a hardened soldier. I kept thinking of Nathan Drake, but he was okay overall.

The gameplay is a combination of Uncharted, Gears of War, and a little Mass Effect. The action set pieces and comrade banter are very much like Uncharted and there are some branching choices that change the ending. There's nothing special about gunplay, but it's pretty solid. Movement can be clunky at times getting in and out of cover.

The game is very short averaging at about five to six hours. The achievements are fairly easy to get if that's your thing. But it doesn't overstay its welcome, like a good movie.

Just a warning, there's a lot of disturbing subject matter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent Game

posted by yyoman (ROSEBURG, OR) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game has characteristics of Battlefield 3 and Gears of War. The plot is kind of weird and leaves you unsure of what just happened. It is nice that you can have several "alternate" endings and can choose different ways to complete the various missions, with each different choice resulting in a new achievment.

Pretty easy to go back after the game is over and get those missed achievements.

Very difficult on the harder settings, very challenging/frustrating/madening :)

Only played the multiplayer for a short time, and was less than impressed. Similar to Battlefield 3 and Medal of Honor on line play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow.. This story mode will addict you

posted by MetalYuri (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

18 out of 21 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This story mode.. was amazing. It puts you in such real war situations that Call of duty misses or over exaggerates.

Though I did die alot in the game, it was still interesting. I think I only died alot because I havent been put in that kind of situation before, even after playing ALL the Call of duty games! It was a new experiece! Its like Gears of War MIXED with Call of Duty!

And I am a biggg Call of duty fan, HUGE. But spec ops story mode was 2 notches above theirs! Spec ops takes you in the MIND of a soldier as well as situations. and the BEST PART OF THIS GAME. ITS REPLAY VALUE!! It has 2 different story mode endings, you basically pick what you want to do, and at the end of the game i can bet that you'll be like.. "Omg" lol.

Thanks to spec ops I feel like Call of duty missed out on being truly deep into the action. it starts in the mind first, not the gun!

BEST army title i have ever played. I lovedddd the story mode and even anyone who watched me play couldnt look away! Please make another following this! lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Play. This. Game.

posted by 40kfreak (VIENNA, VA) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This is a game you NEED to play, too many reviews for this lean towards the "Its not gearz lolol" argument, which is entirely true but doesn't mean it deserves a lower rating at all. Control-wise it's passable, not as polished as gears so I can see where some people are coming from in that regard. However in terms of gameplay and plot Spec Ops: the Line is the thematic antithesis of gear of war, which is the reason I'm giving this game a 10. In gears of war you have one-dimentional characters in a situation where the moral right of the protagonist is assured, regardless of the situation. Spec Ops on the other hand deals with the harsh reality of war, how it strips our romanticized idealization of war and violence and throws the terror, brutality, confusion, and meaninglessness in the player's face. Every single action you take feels as though it carries emotional weight and shocks you out of your comfort zone. I really can't stress how much you should experience this game.

"Abstract words such as glory, honor, courage, or hallow were obscene beside the concrete names of villages, the numbers of roads, the names of rivers, the numbers of regiments and the dates." -Ernest Hemingway

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very surprised!!

posted by Tubs12 (TRINIDAD, CO) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

When I first saw the trailer for this game I figured it was another take on killing COD. When I started playing however I soon realized that it was nothing like it. It reminded me alot of Gears Of War but also Ghost Recon:Future Soldier with its feel to the game. What I really enjoyed is its choice of how you want the game to play out. Wether it be killing the prisoner or letting him live both have some consequences and achievements. Overall I am very happy with the game also it's lack of repetition which is refreshing. NOTE!! For all the "achievement hogs" it is a very easy 1000 gamerscore (if you don't mind a little replay for the difficulty achievements)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not your average shooter

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Spec Ops: The Line is the shooter many of us have been waiting for. It isn't just a copycat of the Modern Warfare games, it is definitely original. The game mechanics are very creative, allowing you to use your environment to your advantage through the campaign, such as shooting windows to bury the enemies in sand.

Something different about this game, is that you aren't back shooting Nazis, or Russians or some foreign, faceless enemy. You are against other American soldiers, which has an odd feeling right from the start.

Where The Line really comes to shine, is with the moral choices you have to make along the way. There are multiple times when you have a choice of how to handle a situation, but unlike many games that give you the choice, The Line will show you the consequences of your choices, which makes the story a lot more mature of a concept. It makes you realize what you have done, and there have been a couple choices I've made through the campaign that left me wondering, "What have I done?".

I can't tell how the multiplayer is, because I have not tried it yet, but what I can tell you is that this is a great game, and it should be at the top of your Q.
If you have any doubts about it, try the demo, it gives you a basic feel of how the game is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ORIGINALITY SHINES LIKE A GEM!

posted by marshall420 (LEICESTER, NC) Aug 21, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

First off, I had not been able to find many reviews and feedback of this game. Either it didn't want to be found or the company didn't know how well it would launch after its release.

First things first. The story. It is very original! I do not want to give anything away. I will say.. the characters actions and how it plays out, there are consequences to a point of what you do and do not do. Be tactful and strategic in situations, Talk about an emotional connection this game brings to the gamer behind the conroller.

As you progress the game brings and keeps you in the entire time. There's an emotional and psychological connection that keeps me playing and wanting more with a more-than satisfying thirst quencher.

The gameplay, controls, surroundings, environments, scenery, cutscenes, dialogue, voice-acting and textures are all superb.

I have nothing bad to say! This is one of the most intensive-driven and in-depth emotional/psychological character connections I've played in a videogame in the past year at least. It's like nothing I've played as far as a war-related game is concerned too. I cannot compare it to Gears franchise, it just doesn't fit there. I cannot compare it to Modern Warfare, it's on a new level of creativty, imagination and depth all around.

There is level to level, moment after moment of very intense shooting, massive amounts of blood and with each enemy shot and taken down, there is a large amount of blood misting-like that comes gushing out of their bodies.

If you want a new change from the day to day games, I highly recommend this game! I enjoyed it that much! I appreciate you taking the time to read this review. Rate thumps up for positive feedback please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SPEC OPS:The Line

posted by jerZhed (FLANDERS, NJ) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Spec Ops is worth a rent. Cool game mechanics, decent story. I have not tried the multiplayer yet. Keep in mind they are planning to release a FREE DLC which is coop version of the campaign. If your still on the fence just play the demo. It will give you a good feel for the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertaining

posted by Maniax (PORTER, TX) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

While this game will never have the popularity of COD games or Battlefield games, it was enjoyable to plaly. The gameplay is smooth, the story was good, and while the game is primarily a shooter, there is enough differences and weapons to keep that interesting for the duration of the campaign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A surprise HIT

posted by xxsavage_mikexx (TUMWATER, WA) Aug 23, 2012

Member since May 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I heard about this game on a podcast "The indoor Kids" I had been putting it off expecting a gears clone done poorly. BOY was I wrong. The storyline alone makes this games, great graphics, tight controls. Granted you see a couple bugs. a headshot occasionally gets shrugged off. and it gets HARD. But it is all good for this new and original title. I hope they expand this series!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Spec Ops Was SWEET!!!!!!

posted by markhk (BOWLING GREEN, OH) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Spec Ops is the best 3rd person shooter I have played in a while. Its modern warfare like style makes this game sweet. The graphics are awesome on my HDTV. Great storyline. Pretty easy achievements. I really liked this game. Only took me about 6 hours to beat!!! Multiplayer is pretty good too...RENT IT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A different type of War Shooter.

posted by gamecrtic1 (ANTHEM, AZ) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

By the looks of the cover you're thinking "Wow this looks like every call of duty combined" Let me just tell you that you are straight up wrong. This is a very Mature Third person shooter. There were sections in the game where i had to put my controller down and say out load "What have I done?" This game has a lot of Mature war themes. This game is an absolute stunner in every way. A master piece in third person shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent shooting game

posted by dakuz (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

very nice, fun and realistic shooting game. great storyline. loving the 4 diff endings.
would recommend it to everyone who likes shooting games. in my opinion its better than COD and Modern war fare!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spec Ops: The Line = Epicness

posted by AgentBlackNight (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I must say. I played the demo of this game and it was AWESOME! The action is just so real-like to me. I felt as if I was the main character, like I was there. The details are beautiful and the plot is epic. Loved the story-line so far knowing from the demo. I love how the game explains itself slowly so the players can understand what is going on and how it all started from the beginning, who the character is and why he is there. To me, If i was a game critic, this game would've received a 10/10 from me, which it did in this review. That is how epic it is for me and I recommend this game to all players who are looking for a good story, lots of action and beautiful details.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

spec ops the line one of the best games ever

posted by ryanwest (SAN MARCOS, TX) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

spec ops the line starts out good and ends great but some parts are silly to add to the game one thing i was happy about is its not what it semms.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Overall enjoyed the game - perfect for a rental

posted by Tias44 (NEWPORT BEACH, CA) Aug 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I did not read any reviews of this game before I played. And if you read this before playing the game, I'd stuck here to add a better impact of the game for you.

I am a typical first person shooter game junkie, I know this is third person, but just bare with me. I am the type that gets sucked into a game from watching the trailers and if it looks worthy of playing I give it a shot. With that being said, I was not impressed with the game's video trailers, but due to a lull in games I enjoyed being out, I gave the demo a shot.

I found myself enjoying this game, because it was more than just a 'get to point B' type of shooter. I found myself actually paying attention to the story, and the development between the three charatcers in the squad. I don't want to spoil anything for people, but it was entertaining to see the developments.

Other reviewers have already articulated the intense internal struggle of the choices you are made to feel. Some reviewers had more self restraint, but I found myself automaticaly going down the path of using the method to cut down the troops the fastest (WPhos for example). After doing so, I felt extremely bad, because unlike other games, its not just a means to an end, its a choice, and I made it. I don't mean to get too deep, but I also felt bad about my auto-pilot thinking when other reviewers tried not to use the WPhos, and I didn't even consider an alternative. The entire time through the game I found myself saying, "this is horrible the situation I am in", but after contact, I found myself just mowing people down.

Let's just say this game made me realize that when you see news stories about people having increase tendecies because of video games, I would now agree with them. However, normal people understand the difference between fiction/video games, and reality.

Thank you for taking the time to read my first review. Any pointers/critiques are very much welcome.

Best regards

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good story

posted by DRS (OGDEN, UT) Jul 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have never been a huge Spec Ops fan. I thought they were all "ok". Not this one. This is a deep and twisting story added to excellent gameplay. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!! Much better story than CoD. It is that good. Short but just ... too ... SWEET!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Deffinately worth at least a rent

posted by DeTRoiT (Harrison, AR) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game had a lot of good and some bad
this game had some great visuals throughout the story
the sand isnt used as much as you'd want but it still workd the cover system was annoying at first but it also had new things like not being restricted when aimin over a ledge or around a support B this game is deffinately worth checking out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wow that story is a doozy

posted by ajtaormin (LA MESA, CA) Oct 23, 2012

Member since May 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Spec Ops: The Line is a generic 3rd person shooter in every sense of the word, but its story takes some pretty dark turns. If for no other reason than to see how far the game is willing to push the limits of storytelling, this game might be worth a recommendation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Creative

posted by jrwarfare (CHARLOTTE, NC) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Very creative and enjoyable to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best war movie you'll ever play

posted by VeritasX (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is solid in its basic mechanics: controls work, graphics are pretty good (Dubai makes a fun new location for a modern shooter), sounds are pretty immersive (Heads up, there is a TON of swearing in this game); it plays pretty well over all.
I sum all of the above up without deep detail because I wanted to focus on what really makes this game shine: the story.
-
You are a captain in the US Army and are sent to investigate Dubai, which has been ravaged by sandstorms. Colonel John Conrad, a man you once served under, led the 33rd battalion in against orders to help facilitate the evacuation process. They haven't been heard from since.
-
This game's story plays out a lot like a Vietnam movie (namely Apocalypse Now) in so far as the story focuses on the horrors of war fraying a soldier's psyche. It is excellent, a definite must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse