Rent South Park: The Stick of Truth for PS3
view large frontback

South Park: The Stick of Truth

Rent

Keep for: $32.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.5

1242 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great Start

posted by Twosox87 (SAVANNAH, NY) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Loved it! Truly authentic. leveling cap hits at lvl 15, which was a disappointment, and story could have been longer, but nothing a dlc cant improve. Best of all though this game is HILARIOUS! A true must play for all South Park fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sweeeettt

posted by Bloodspillbill (EASTCHESTER, NY) Mar 10, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is simply epic. Would have been a 10 if there was not more than a few glitches here and there. Those however did not effect the game play experience. BRAVO! Fingers crossed for the next instalment!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty much perfect

posted by mutantchipmunk (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There's really nothing wrong with this game other than the fact that it kinda lags when moving from one part of town to the next but that's the consoles fault not the game. It's fairly short as an RPG but longer than most games. The whole game feels like one long episode that's over the top and you will want to explore everything and interact with every person. This game is so finely detailed and uses construction paper textures to give it the original feel. The battle system is pretty much perfect and turn based and that's a rarity this day and age. If you play this you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cartman Strikes Again!

posted by maverickvip12 (ALVARADO, TX) Jun 14, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all, I am a huge South Park fan. I always wanted a South Park video game that feels like an interactive episode of the show where you can impact the plot. In South Park: The Stick Of Truth, you can do just that!
From farting on other South Park civilians to defeating the mighty ManBearPig, South Park: The Stick Of Truth takes you on an epic journey throughout the infamous town (and Canada). You can explore the different parts of town with your favorite characters from the series without any limits. P.S. you can even let it rip at your own will, it doesn't get much better than that.
The character customization is absolutely fantastic. You can choose from a vast variety of unique clothing, wigs, beards, and other accessories. You can even have CHINBALLS! The customization is key to having a fantastic, young life in South Park.
I also love the fact they the game includes many references to episodes of the show. Whether you're running into former characters or simply obtaining an item featured in the episode, The Stick Of Truth really finds a way to bring nostalgia to the long time fans of South Park!
I have little to complain about this game. I do wish it contained a longer story with more activities to participate in, as I was sad to finish the game as soon as i did (I completed all the side quests as well). I also wish that i was a little more difficult. I played on hardest difficulty and still had little trouble finishing quest and winning battles.
Overall, this game gets a 9/10 from me. It features a large variety of epic and hilarious quests that truly makes this a South Park game. If you haven't seen the show (I recommend you do), there's no need to worry. You will still find your experience as a fun, hilarious, enjoyable one. South Park: The Stick Of Truth truly defines the word fun, and I would recommend it to all you gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic

posted by drowkillerz (EVANSVILLE, IN) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

SP: SoT is one of the best games I've ever played. It is simply amazing!!!

Couple of notes:
-To all the morons who are rating this game a 1 just because they can't rent it from Gamefly...you are bringing down the avg score. Don't punish the game through the review just because Gamefly was terribly unprepared.

-And yes, I was one of those who waited, and waited, and waited. And guess what. It never came, so I had to go buy it full price. It was worth it and I was able to beat it and turn around and sell it for 40 dollars, so no biggee but VERY DISAPPOINTING IN GAMEFLY. Writing a review on Gamefly for a game they couldn't send me is as dumb as it sounds.

-Lastly, do not let your children under 15 years old play this. If you've been living under a rock for the past 20 years, THIS IS NOT A GAME FOR CHILDREN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by gamergray (FAIRBURN, GA) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. I really enjoy watching the tv show and this game is like playing the tv show. The rpg is great for this game. With all the other bad games that came out this year, it took South Park to keep me entertained and playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by Mr_VidGReview (ROUND ROCK, TX) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Awesome game,funny story, and hey it's south park? Medium game and was always intrigued! 9.2/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just like the show!!!!!

posted by BKLYNSON (MARIETTA, GA) Mar 9, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

So much fun and really funny.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Well...

posted by callasynth89 (PLOVER, WI) Aug 13, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

It was a good game, a lot better than I thought it would be. Definitly not an EPIC game such as any o the god of war games or even lego games, but it was decent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Clever, Funny and down right raunchy

posted by Cfh935 (NOVI, MI) Aug 4, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

I was pleasantly surprised by this game. There was never was more then a few minutes were I wasn't laughing out of my chair. The game play is very fun and reminiscent of RPG I played as a kid (I'm 33). I won't name them here but there were several big surprises that added variety to progressing through the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Real funny and great!

posted by SneakyDevil (OKEECHOBEE, FL) Jul 30, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

The game is incredibly funny and fun to play, very original. Good amount of game-play and great story-line. Without spoiling anything, the replay ability is moderate, but that's my opinion and you will see why. All in all, it's definitely worth playing all the way through till the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wholeheartedly surprised.

posted by bortomlivet (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 26, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Wow, what a game. I am still a bit surprised and in-awe at how great this game is, and how enjoyably addictive it was to play. A true RPG and proof that not all South Park games are absolutely horrid, South Park: TSOT manages to impress with a great battle-system (not to mention the hysterical Skyrim references). This will definitely do more than please fans of the show (which I wasn't prior to playing this; I know, I know, just not my kind of humor) and lovers of a fantastic games alike. A+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

hilariously fun

posted by crzyjoedrt (CHULA VISTA, CA) Jul 24, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Although the game was a bit shorter than I would have preferred overall it was an excellent game if you like the tv show you'll laugh till the milk comes out of your nose!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just Like the TV Show

posted by meb730 (HENDERSON, CO) Jul 22, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Fun game if you are a South Park fan. Just like the show with the graphics and humor. The story is also fun and brings you in the South Park world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

surprising good

posted by coreywathen91 (MECHANICSVILLE, MD) Jul 18, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I usually don't like games like final fantasy type game but this was an exception. I was never bored and loved exploring all of South Park. Best Adventure game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GREAT! FUN! but short...

posted by hborlilayn (CORTLAND, OH) Jul 17, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Excellent game play, enjoyed all aspects of the game, but the main storyline and misc stuff doesn't take too long to achieve, but with the trophies available, I'm sure one could find many more hours of entertainment. Overall, a great game, hillarious, and screams South Park, all the way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Come on down to South Park

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jul 15, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

As an RPG, "South Park: The Stick of Truth" is fairly short-lived. The story campaign doesn't take long to complete, and the side quests aren't difficult at all. It plays well; rather like a game from the Mario RPG series, with its action commands and easily navigable overworld. It's fun and satisfying to play, but it probably won't last you more than a few days.

As a love letter to the fans of "South Park", however, "The Stick of Truth" delivers in spades. It's positively filled to the brim with fan service in the form of numerous recognizable collectibles (everything from Chinpokomon toys to Purity Rings to Okama Gamespheres), constant references, and appearances by just about any character you could think of. The game's creators truly mined all 17 seasons of the show (plus the 1999 movie) to construct a "South Park" extravaganza that no fan should miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Starts Good but controls ruin it

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jul 8, 2014

Member since Mar 2004

The game starts out as fun until you try and use the Magic Spells then the controls for doing that make the game not fun to play anymore don't bother renting even if your a fan of the Show

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Fun!!!

posted by gulecki (ROYAL OAK, MI) Jul 3, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

Love the game, really fun and funny

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cringe worthy

posted by Eric_cheek (GAINESVILLE, FL) Jul 2, 2014

Member since May 2014

What makes a game great? Well to me the fact that it can completely and relentlessly make you cringe at some of the antics that your character stumbles upon is not an easy feat to accomplish in today's world. I actually had to put the game down at one point while shaking my head and mumbling "that's too much!" That's where the greatness of this game comes from, not to mention its hilarious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

an ok game

posted by donovanballas (WICKENBURG, AZ) Jun 23, 2014

Member since Apr 2011

the game was pretty cool, but gets boring after a while. every one said it was really cool , but some parts were just disgusting especially the parts where you get probed and when the mom and dad are having intercourse.and the fighting was just boring after a while.i liked how they mixed lord of the rings with skyrim.i would rate the game with a 4 because the story line was so short i finished it in two hours. maybe if the game had better fighting and a longer story line i would have enjoyed it better but the fighting was terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dont buy it, just rent it

posted by pens297187 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 22, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

if you like spouth park youll love this game, just dont waste money buying it. its a one time play kind of game. but it is really awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very enterprising game for South Park

posted by JDeb (SPRING VALLEY, CA) Jun 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

The Stick of Truth is an exciting game for rpg and adult video lovers. There is copious violence and animated nudity which is right up most players' alley. Your fully customize-able character can choose how to upgrade stats from four classes. Those classes as well as decisions the player makes (in-game) affect playable outcomes in a moderately distinguished manner.

The only downfall in the game I could find was the frame rate sacrificed to make the characters and background HD. This was clearly seen if, while playing, your character runs for more than 5 seconds.

All-in-all a very good game, 8 out of 10, and I would definitely recommend this game to a fraternity buddy or my 15 year old nephew.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

South Park at its best, but thin RPG elements

posted by KeeperOfTheBeer (MADISON, WI) Jun 7, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This game is a must rent if you are a South Park fan. The South Park elements of this game are near perfect. That being said, as a RPG, this game is very limited. Customization is near non-existent, fights are repetitive (even the game says this), and ally and enemy skills and abilities are not diverse.

If I had issues with South Park's humor or if I was looking for a deep gameplay experience, I'd give this game a 5.

However, it's all about perspective. I love South Park, and this game's writing competes with the TV shows prime seasons 3 through 9. If you like South Park and can handle its sense of humor, play the game as if you're going along for a ride, to see the characters at their best. Don't fixate on the gameplay, otherwise you'll be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Turn based combat should not be a thing.

posted by US2WEIRDOS (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2007

I have no idea why anyone would tolerate anything that requires turn based combat. I'm a big South Park fan, but the gameplay here killed it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse