Rent South Park: The Stick of Truth for PS3
view large frontback

South Park: The Stick of Truth

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Used: $19.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.4

1691 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great Start

posted by Twosox87 (SAVANNAH, NY) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Loved it! Truly authentic. leveling cap hits at lvl 15, which was a disappointment, and story could have been longer, but nothing a dlc cant improve. Best of all though this game is HILARIOUS! A true must play for all South Park fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sweeeettt

posted by Bloodspillbill (EASTCHESTER, NY) Mar 10, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is simply epic. Would have been a 10 if there was not more than a few glitches here and there. Those however did not effect the game play experience. BRAVO! Fingers crossed for the next instalment!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty much perfect

posted by mutantchipmunk (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There's really nothing wrong with this game other than the fact that it kinda lags when moving from one part of town to the next but that's the consoles fault not the game. It's fairly short as an RPG but longer than most games. The whole game feels like one long episode that's over the top and you will want to explore everything and interact with every person. This game is so finely detailed and uses construction paper textures to give it the original feel. The battle system is pretty much perfect and turn based and that's a rarity this day and age. If you play this you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic

posted by drowkillerz (EVANSVILLE, IN) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

SP: SoT is one of the best games I've ever played. It is simply amazing!!!

Couple of notes:
-To all the morons who are rating this game a 1 just because they can't rent it from Gamefly...you are bringing down the avg score. Don't punish the game through the review just because Gamefly was terribly unprepared.

-And yes, I was one of those who waited, and waited, and waited. And guess what. It never came, so I had to go buy it full price. It was worth it and I was able to beat it and turn around and sell it for 40 dollars, so no biggee but VERY DISAPPOINTING IN GAMEFLY. Writing a review on Gamefly for a game they couldn't send me is as dumb as it sounds.

-Lastly, do not let your children under 15 years old play this. If you've been living under a rock for the past 20 years, THIS IS NOT A GAME FOR CHILDREN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cartman Strikes Again!

posted by maverickvip12 (ALVARADO, TX) Jun 14, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all, I am a huge South Park fan. I always wanted a South Park video game that feels like an interactive episode of the show where you can impact the plot. In South Park: The Stick Of Truth, you can do just that!
From farting on other South Park civilians to defeating the mighty ManBearPig, South Park: The Stick Of Truth takes you on an epic journey throughout the infamous town (and Canada). You can explore the different parts of town with your favorite characters from the series without any limits. P.S. you can even let it rip at your own will, it doesn't get much better than that.
The character customization is absolutely fantastic. You can choose from a vast variety of unique clothing, wigs, beards, and other accessories. You can even have CHINBALLS! The customization is key to having a fantastic, young life in South Park.
I also love the fact they the game includes many references to episodes of the show. Whether you're running into former characters or simply obtaining an item featured in the episode, The Stick Of Truth really finds a way to bring nostalgia to the long time fans of South Park!
I have little to complain about this game. I do wish it contained a longer story with more activities to participate in, as I was sad to finish the game as soon as i did (I completed all the side quests as well). I also wish that i was a little more difficult. I played on hardest difficulty and still had little trouble finishing quest and winning battles.
Overall, this game gets a 9/10 from me. It features a large variety of epic and hilarious quests that truly makes this a South Park game. If you haven't seen the show (I recommend you do), there's no need to worry. You will still find your experience as a fun, hilarious, enjoyable one. South Park: The Stick Of Truth truly defines the word fun, and I would recommend it to all you gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by gamergray (FAIRBURN, GA) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. I really enjoy watching the tv show and this game is like playing the tv show. The rpg is great for this game. With all the other bad games that came out this year, it took South Park to keep me entertained and playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by Mr_VidGReview (ROUND ROCK, TX) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Awesome game,funny story, and hey it's south park? Medium game and was always intrigued! 9.2/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just like the show!!!!!

posted by BKLYNSON (MARIETTA, GA) Mar 9, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

So much fun and really funny.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what a joke

posted by jason61580 (WATERVILLE, ME) Nov 12, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

makers of south park should stick to making shows not games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

awful turn-based fight mechanics ruin it

posted by neuronet (DURHAM, NC) Nov 11, 2014

Member since Nov 2008

The turn-based fighting mechanics are horrible, and you cannot get away from them. Otherwise the game would be an 8. As is, unplayable. Wanted to like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don't want it now

posted by skoty (BATON ROUGE, LA) Nov 10, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

Friend said no fun. It never came so plz cancel

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Funny

posted by gardenome (PUEBLO, CO) Nov 6, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

classic southpark fun

posted by arty315 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 4, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

awesome game would be a 10 but itsx soo fun you run through it fairly quickly and then your like "ahh man that's it?"....otherwise awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

absolutely epic.

posted by Dunkley (SPANISH FORK, UT) Nov 2, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

This is by far the funniest game I have ever played. Level cap at 15 kind of bites, but I was less interested in leveling and more so in progressing the story line. Try it out. It's a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome games

posted by TheStonedKid (CINCINNATI, OH) Nov 2, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

I really enjoyed it the jokes was funny the story never got old like most games i would play it over and over

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by CupcakeNinja (OREM, UT) Oct 30, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

What a awesome game! I really loved the storyline and the jokes were dirty but really funny.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Only if you are a fan of QTE and the show ...

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Oct 9, 2014

Member since May 2010

Quick time events are something i have always hated..
I never had too much experience with the show, and I was not impressed here.. It was doable until i realized that was in the sewers and my character was talking to a talking peice of feces that the game went from "tolarable" to WHAT AM I DOING!? Quick time events rear their ugly head and they are a pain in the rump to slog through.. While for the most part the animation or the lack there of can slide, because that is South Parks style I still find it a bit creepy on how characters move... There is a surprising alot to do here..
the story is regarded as short in fact I could probably pay through the entire game in a about one or two lengthy play sessions were it not for the Quick Time Events.. As a result, i feel this game was padded.. My hatered of quick time events bar me rom rating it hire and I will not be keeping it.. The show seems to be made into a parody or spoof, but some of it just comes out wrong on so many levels.. What are we showing our kids these days???? Try before you buy... Talking human feces what is the world coming to???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

worth the wait

posted by Regular_Stormy (SPRING HILL, FL) Oct 8, 2014

Member since Apr 2011

The only real issue I have with the game is the length. It is a bit short. But the production, lines, gameplay is all spot on and very enjoyable. If you love the show you must play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you enjoy South Park you will love this game

posted by Hastingo (OLYMPIA, WA) Oct 8, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Playing Stick of Truth is just like stepping into an episode of the TV series. So many great cameos and hidden jokes. I was blown away at the depth of the material it explored as well as how raunchy the game was. I found myself laughing out loud throughout my play through. Additionally there is a lot of humor targeting Skyrim so if you also enjoyed that game, it will make the humor that much richer. The game play also had enough depth to push this game into the ten category for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Funny, but thats about it

posted by Raven305bal (STILLWATER, OK) Oct 7, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

If you a huge fan of south park and have seen enough episodes to get all the inside jokes, this game is pretty funny. It is basically like watching a south park movie. But its a short game really, and after about 30 minutes into it you learn which attack to use and just use that one over and over. If it were not for the fact that this game has a south park setting and jokes, this game would qualify for a free online game. 10 rating for the jokes, 4 for the actual game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by Mrtbearfield (SOUTH SHORE, KY) Oct 7, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

This game is amazing fun. Loved the turn based quick button timing . The various weapons and outfits were wonderful. Its not too difficult to obtain currency. And the cast and TV show element is amazing they put almost everything u could imagine from the series. Not suitable for children :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Enjoying It

posted by Merph (EAST GREENBUSH, NY) Oct 7, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

I haven't stayed up to date with my South Park watching, but I'm still really enjoying this game.

It looks like an episode of the show, has a Super Mario RPG-esque battle system and a ton of references the series. Not a very in-depth rpg but I didn't really expect that.

My minor gripes:
1) There's slowdowns if you try and sprint across an area when you've just loaded into it.
2) TONS of loading screens (though generally short). Every door or area you enter is another loading screen.

If you enjoy the show (or have in the past), check the game out. It's definitely the best South Park game I've ever seen... though that comment doesn't say much and doesn't do the game justice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

All South Park Fans Should Play

posted by Aldeema (SCHENECTADY, NY) Oct 3, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

I loved it. Great use of characters, and story. Always worried when they take a show or movie and make it into a game. One of the few well done ones. Very Funny.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Plat

posted by TylerJC (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Oct 2, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

I platinum-ed this game in 3 play throughs. took 25 hours or so but it was a funny game with a lot of good clean fun. I recommend this to any south park fan or platinum chaser

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SWEET!!

posted by Knight42025 (WARNER ROBINS, GA) Sep 26, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I love this game! It was super fun!, and the cut scenes are hilarious! And look really good looks just like an episode! The abortion levels are hard but the whole game is just awesome! If your a South Park fan you will love it too!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse