Rent South Park: The Stick of Truth for PS3
view large frontback

South Park: The Stick of Truth

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Used: $19.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.4

1776 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great Start

posted by Twosox87 (SAVANNAH, NY) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Loved it! Truly authentic. leveling cap hits at lvl 15, which was a disappointment, and story could have been longer, but nothing a dlc cant improve. Best of all though this game is HILARIOUS! A true must play for all South Park fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sweeeettt

posted by Bloodspillbill (EASTCHESTER, NY) Mar 10, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is simply epic. Would have been a 10 if there was not more than a few glitches here and there. Those however did not effect the game play experience. BRAVO! Fingers crossed for the next instalment!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty much perfect

posted by mutantchipmunk (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There's really nothing wrong with this game other than the fact that it kinda lags when moving from one part of town to the next but that's the consoles fault not the game. It's fairly short as an RPG but longer than most games. The whole game feels like one long episode that's over the top and you will want to explore everything and interact with every person. This game is so finely detailed and uses construction paper textures to give it the original feel. The battle system is pretty much perfect and turn based and that's a rarity this day and age. If you play this you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic

posted by drowkillerz (EVANSVILLE, IN) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

SP: SoT is one of the best games I've ever played. It is simply amazing!!!

Couple of notes:
-To all the morons who are rating this game a 1 just because they can't rent it from Gamefly...you are bringing down the avg score. Don't punish the game through the review just because Gamefly was terribly unprepared.

-And yes, I was one of those who waited, and waited, and waited. And guess what. It never came, so I had to go buy it full price. It was worth it and I was able to beat it and turn around and sell it for 40 dollars, so no biggee but VERY DISAPPOINTING IN GAMEFLY. Writing a review on Gamefly for a game they couldn't send me is as dumb as it sounds.

-Lastly, do not let your children under 15 years old play this. If you've been living under a rock for the past 20 years, THIS IS NOT A GAME FOR CHILDREN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cartman Strikes Again!

posted by maverickvip12 (ALVARADO, TX) Jun 14, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all, I am a huge South Park fan. I always wanted a South Park video game that feels like an interactive episode of the show where you can impact the plot. In South Park: The Stick Of Truth, you can do just that!
From farting on other South Park civilians to defeating the mighty ManBearPig, South Park: The Stick Of Truth takes you on an epic journey throughout the infamous town (and Canada). You can explore the different parts of town with your favorite characters from the series without any limits. P.S. you can even let it rip at your own will, it doesn't get much better than that.
The character customization is absolutely fantastic. You can choose from a vast variety of unique clothing, wigs, beards, and other accessories. You can even have CHINBALLS! The customization is key to having a fantastic, young life in South Park.
I also love the fact they the game includes many references to episodes of the show. Whether you're running into former characters or simply obtaining an item featured in the episode, The Stick Of Truth really finds a way to bring nostalgia to the long time fans of South Park!
I have little to complain about this game. I do wish it contained a longer story with more activities to participate in, as I was sad to finish the game as soon as i did (I completed all the side quests as well). I also wish that i was a little more difficult. I played on hardest difficulty and still had little trouble finishing quest and winning battles.
Overall, this game gets a 9/10 from me. It features a large variety of epic and hilarious quests that truly makes this a South Park game. If you haven't seen the show (I recommend you do), there's no need to worry. You will still find your experience as a fun, hilarious, enjoyable one. South Park: The Stick Of Truth truly defines the word fun, and I would recommend it to all you gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome but rent

posted by deviljin23 (ROGERS, AR) Dec 12, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game did not let me down I love rog and I love south park and these two mix perfectly the story was awesome and so were the references and jokes to the show. A 9 out of 10 everything was awesome. Although my only complaint was that it is short and you will hit max level close to the end. But rent it you won't be disappointed. Hopefully another one comes out just like this maybe one dealing with imagination land that would be hilarious plus we will finally face manbearpig. Excelsior!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by gamergray (FAIRBURN, GA) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. I really enjoy watching the tv show and this game is like playing the tv show. The rpg is great for this game. With all the other bad games that came out this year, it took South Park to keep me entertained and playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by Mr_VidGReview (ROUND ROCK, TX) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Awesome game,funny story, and hey it's south park? Medium game and was always intrigued! 9.2/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just like the show!!!!!

posted by BKLYNSON (MARIETTA, GA) Mar 9, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

So much fun and really funny.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Electricity Vs The Dead

posted by nuffsaid (PAHOA, HI) Dec 19, 2014

Member since Mar 2008

And every road you tried was blocked with burnt out cars
Used the smoke in the distance as a goal and took the forest paths
Kept fires til morning

Until you broke into the aftermath

So flare the darkness
And blow on the ashes
Casting spells vs playing with matches
Say casualties
Say poor collateral
Cos all that matters is just winning these battles

So you should keep yr head down
Wait out in the wreckage and the rubble that used to call home
Whole cities lie empty

Whole cities are ghost towns now

Now you know how quiet an apocalypse sounds

So goodnight hometown
Don’t miss me too much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome i just wish it lasted longer

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Dec 10, 2014

Member since Oct 2006

the balancing is good. the story was awesome. and they let you have the game as ez as you would like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fans of the show should play this game

posted by pyrose974 (WILMINGTON, OH) Dec 10, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

As soon as I got this game and started playing it I fell on the floor in tears from laughing so hard. This game makes you feel like you're actually apart of the show. Definitely a must play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WAY better than what you expect

posted by Iluvuwhenudance (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 6, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

I was REALLY impressed. Made me laugh and kept me entertained. Not too difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing and Funny

posted by EQOAnostalgia (NEW YORK MILLS, NY) Dec 1, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

Fan of the show? Don't bother reading anything else, rent this now! NAY! Buy it! It's worth every penny! It's like an entire season of South Park rolled into one epic gaming experience!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great rpg

posted by brettthreat (BREWER, ME) Nov 30, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

its a sweet throwback to old school turn based RPG's. however it does have a timing attack/block system that is a little janky at first. however its is worth checking out for sure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just a whole lot of inappropriate fun!

posted by TenaciousP (HASKELL, NJ) Nov 28, 2014

Member since Aug 2009

If you are thinking this is just a long flatulence joke game, you are only half right. Under all the jokes is a pretty solid RPG with pretty clever (albeit somewhat wonky) combat. Enemies leveled up as you did, and with customizable difficulty, is easily accessible to almost any gamer. Plays well, graphics will probably never be super impressive, but it is JUST like playing one super long episode of South Park. Really liked playing this, had to keep the kids out of the room, as the language was just brutal the whole game. I spent half the game being casually caught off guard, while laughing hysterically. I can't think of a reason not to rent this game, unless you don't like south park.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what a joke

posted by jason61580 (WATERVILLE, ME) Nov 12, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

makers of south park should stick to making shows not games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

awful turn-based fight mechanics ruin it

posted by neuronet (DURHAM, NC) Nov 11, 2014

Member since Nov 2008

The turn-based fighting mechanics are horrible, and you cannot get away from them. Otherwise the game would be an 8. As is, unplayable. Wanted to like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don't want it now

posted by skoty (BATON ROUGE, LA) Nov 10, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

Friend said no fun. It never came so plz cancel

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Funny

posted by gardenome (PUEBLO, CO) Nov 6, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

classic southpark fun

posted by arty315 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 4, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

awesome game would be a 10 but itsx soo fun you run through it fairly quickly and then your like "ahh man that's it?"....otherwise awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

absolutely epic.

posted by Dunkley (SPANISH FORK, UT) Nov 2, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

This is by far the funniest game I have ever played. Level cap at 15 kind of bites, but I was less interested in leveling and more so in progressing the story line. Try it out. It's a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome games

posted by TheStonedKid (CINCINNATI, OH) Nov 2, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

I really enjoyed it the jokes was funny the story never got old like most games i would play it over and over

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by CupcakeNinja (OREM, UT) Oct 30, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

What a awesome game! I really loved the storyline and the jokes were dirty but really funny.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Only if you are a fan of QTE and the show ...

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Oct 9, 2014

Member since May 2010

Quick time events are something i have always hated..
I never had too much experience with the show, and I was not impressed here.. It was doable until i realized that was in the sewers and my character was talking to a talking peice of feces that the game went from "tolarable" to WHAT AM I DOING!? Quick time events rear their ugly head and they are a pain in the rump to slog through.. While for the most part the animation or the lack there of can slide, because that is South Parks style I still find it a bit creepy on how characters move... There is a surprising alot to do here..
the story is regarded as short in fact I could probably pay through the entire game in a about one or two lengthy play sessions were it not for the Quick Time Events.. As a result, i feel this game was padded.. My hatered of quick time events bar me rom rating it hire and I will not be keeping it.. The show seems to be made into a parody or spoof, but some of it just comes out wrong on so many levels.. What are we showing our kids these days???? Try before you buy... Talking human feces what is the world coming to???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse