Rent Soulcalibur Legends for Wii
view large frontback

Soulcalibur Legends

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.5

1472 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun new concept, gets old though

posted by oLderSKooL (APPLETON, WI) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The control was great, tuned in pretty good, although the exact same motion didn't always produce the same attack, especially when you are flailing your arms to ward off the 12 or so baddies that are encircling you.

That's right, the new Soul Calibur game is a Hack-Em-Up adventure game where you are Siegfried and you are on a quest for power. You meet other familiar characters along the way and some new ones and there's some emotional drabbing on as you realize that power corrupts and stuff. Some of the exchanges between characters is corny, but it's a hack and slash game, what do you expect? There were some characters missing that I would've liked to see on the Wii, you only have 7 to choose from.

The 2 player party games are pretty decent. My girlfriend who is not really a gamer was entertained enough to play them more than once and she was just a bit sad to see it go back. Anyone can jump into this game and have success, the longer you play it the better you get at pulling off combos and annihilating your opponent, but any 6 year old can give you trouble from time to time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Lightning1 (FISHERS, IN) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really cool. Your Wii remote is your sword which is makes this gamer really fun. If you stab then you will stab in the game. The bosses are hard which makes it fun. I've been playing this game 2 hours a day and really like it. You can also do a co-op mission with a friend or battle your friend. The only bad thing is that their are only 8 characters and i wish there were more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't Trust The Ratings!

posted by Mikhail (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game had a shockingly low rating, and I was surprised because I have loved this series so much over the years... and luckily I can tell you not to trust the rating.

The mechanics are great. I felt myself very invested in the slashing. It packs a quick punch, and I think it's definitely worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Solid idea so-so execution

posted by paulpreib (LONG BEACH, CA) May 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

6/10

The good:

Controls- The remote's intuitive nature allows to easily step in and go at it with decent success, yet there is enough to it that you feel like you are improving somewhat as you go, and not merely flailing the thing around. Any finer tuned and it would lose some of the ease of stepping into it, and broader and it would feel far too flail-ish.

Action adventure- really the best way to incorporate the control system. While I listed that I enjoy the feel of the controls, they are still a bit too broad to really work well for vs. fights. Fighting scores of weaker enemies lends itself much better.

The look- While not 1080 hyper-real, I still think it is a relatively attractive game overall. Even the simplistic 'story' dialogue scenes brought me a bit of final fantasy tactics nostalgia.

The Bad:

Variety- Beyond simply the combat style, the greatest draw to me of the original game (only one I've played) was the array of weapons all replete with a variety of statistics, this offered some strategy behind choosing your weapon, as well as the frequent satisfaction of gaining a new one. This version has 7 characters with four weapons apiece, half of which you don't get until quite far along. Those weapons that they do have do not list any specifics stats to draw from when deciding which to use.

Non-fighting action- These are both the offered 'puzzles' as well as booby-trap type items. These feel heavy-handed and put into place as deliberate non-combat items rather then organic to the game. Puzzles are oversimple and limited to a few varieties (fan out flames, cut ropes to lower a bridge). Were they a part of the puzzle-ish aspect they'd be fine, as the whole thing they're laughable. The booby traps are worse, many of which are completely unavoidable without prior experience (most of the blame falls to a slow-responsive camera that I'm out of space to discuss)

Overall the idea was good, the controls solid, but feels a bit underdeveloped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool game

posted by jynx12345 (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been a MAJOR soul calibur fan for a while now. and this game Gives the series new life. the controls were easy to learn and were fun to use. over all a 10 out of ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is one awsome game

posted by GDIsoidier (MAKAWAO, HI) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Soulcalibur Legends is awsome!This one of the best games I played,trust me I played ALOT of games.Has a good story line.I totaly recamend this game to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This is NOT a fighting game.

posted by epictunes (BATON ROUGE, LA) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Even though Soul Calibur IS a fighting game, this particular installment is an ACTION ADVENTURE. The controls are a little tricky to master, though. The graphics were pretty awesome. Nightmare is inCREDIBLY hard to control. When you do get other characters though, it's a lot smoother

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not to good

posted by free2play (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this surprised me when i came home to see this was not a 1 on 1 fighting game.Legends has a good story mode but you don't stay 2 interested.Namco could have just added story to a regular soulcalibur style game.Also, it has a very small selection of characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Soul Trainwreck

posted by Arcade4Lyf (TUCSON, AZ) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would save your rent time and avoid this c quick cash in!If you don't own a PS2,XBox,360,PS3,or a Gamecube please get ANY version on these systems!! Even the original on the Dreamcast is WAY better than this.Get Soul Cal 2 for the Gamecube and kick but with Link!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by Zexion (GERMANTOWN, TN) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I give this game a 10 overall, and I noticed that a lot of people say that you swing your arm like a maniac and get tired fast and stuff, but at least its fun. and the only two things I think this game needs is points to spend on health and energy boosts, and an easy difficulty. But TEN overall!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best wii games

posted by JohnsonRL (ROWLAND HEIGHTS, CA) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't get why this game got such bad reviews because this game probably has one of the better wii graphics in it. The graphics don't look cheap and the gameplay is not frustrating with the wiimote. You slash with your wii mote and dodge by swinging the nunchuck. The story of the game is similar to dynasty warriors in some aspects and god of war in other aspects where you sometimes have to fight enemies within a time limit and sometimes you have to fight enemies in a puzzle-like maze. It does not get boring because you get to choose many characters from the soul caliber genre. Plus, you can upgrade your weapons and get different weapons for each character, so this plays like a rpg. Overall, this game is worth getting if you like dynasty warriors and god of war.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's alright...

posted by penatec (MISSION VIEJO, CA) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics aren't anything too special (and Resident Evil 4 was a great example of what the Gamecube and the Wii are capable of as far as graphics go), the game play is too repetitive (I found myself just playing through the levels only to satisfy my curiosity for the story), and sometimes I felt that I spent the same amount of time reading as I did playing (Voice narration between levels would have been nice). I would have also liked to see some more animations like the ones in the beginning.
Aside from all of that, the story was pretty decent, and the character design was good. I'm not sure if all of the Soulcalibur games' stories match up with every game, but it was interesting to see more of Siegfried's past.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Almost, but not quite

posted by attilio (East Elmhurst, NY) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When you think Soulcalibur, you think "Wow that game HAS to be amazing". I guess thats not always true. The single player Quest mode in this game is relatively easy. I've only spent 2 hours playing it, I've already reached Chapter 4, and I've only died once and that was against these two bosses that you have to fight, and even then the battle was very close. The game play is good, I like how you can swing the remote and attack while moving your guy around with the control stick. The graphics are also pretty good as well.

The story line is alright, but this one character keeps talking about his home country and his sister's bread... so far I haven't found any meaning behind that, it seems like mindless rambling. There are only 6 or 7 characters to choose from, which is no where near being awesome.

The two player mode is pretty good, but I haven't played it extensively. So if you are just looking for a game where you can swing your remote around and get an idea of how sword fighting games for the Wii are, then by this game; otherwise stay away from it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good addition to soulcaliber series

posted by Skroa1 (HARRISBURG, PA) Sep 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A good game at the beginning. After a few stages, you have to go back and repeat the same stage with a few twists, gets old after awhile. The controls seem to favor one attack over the other three, most of the time. The storyline is easy to follow, but it does get cheesy sometimes. Overall, it's a likable game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Steller for a medicore game

posted by Geist13 (VACAVILLE, CA) May 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Controls:
Soulcalibur Legends has surprisingly tight game control. Although, experienced gamers may find the lack of technique boring or stiff, while a beginner will find it fun and innovative. The play mechanics are very well done and controller interface is simplistic. Character movement is near-flawless with the Nunchuk, and with a flick of the wrist, the Remote makes it that much more rewarding. The game controls do suffer from the occassional hiccup at the worse possible times, but easily overcome with some practice.
Graphics:
The average Wii gamer is already well aware of Nintendo's decision to pass up superior graphics for the element of sheer excitement. In other words, ditch a breathtaking graphics processor for hands on fun. Soulcalibur Legends, is no exception to this rule. The graphics are very basic lacking depth and detail. Often, levels look cloudy and repetitive in design. Which is disappointing considering the Soulcalibur games of past sport gorgeous, colorful graphics.
Difficulty:
The game honestly has none, however it does begin to increase towards the climax. Changing from "yawn fare" to downright frustrating.
End Result:
With repetitive enemies, simplistic movement, short "go to point A to point B" stages, once in a while bad camera angles, and horrible voice-over Soulcalibur Legends is still a fun first attempt adventure for the Nintendo Wii. A rental unless you can buy it for under $20.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

As a stand alone title it works

posted by JediAngell (GREENSBORO, NC) Feb 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not coming into the game expecting it to be a fighting game, I thought it was pretty fun. It was ok; the controls were decent. The Graphics were great. The only place I think the game really falls down is when it couldnt make up it's mind deciding if its going to use animated cut scenes or those campy, still view, read the dialog, 1990 story progressions. One or the other PLEASE! Other than that the game was fun. Certainly worth renting. I am however happily awaiting SC4 (a fighting game) this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's Just one of those games that are like..

posted by MINISLASH (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Jan 31, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Meh. Not bad, but then again, not that great. I am a soul calibur fan and all, but this game didn't keep me entertained for a while. It takes advantage of the Wiimote sort of and the writing for the cutscenes is kind of weird, too. So if you like Soul Calibur a lot, try the game. If not, you might not like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good game

posted by ThanatosAz (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Dec 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like the story line in this game. It was much more engaging than SC. The controls were very intuitive and game play progressed very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

All the Pros and Cons plus my Opinion

posted by Beerpong (CAROL STREAM, IL) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros
- Responsive to remote movement, its always more fun than button mashing.
- They did a good job making it so u have to plan bock, then jab, then combo, ext.
- Over all story make u want to see more.

Cons
- Confusing lock on set up.
- Other than major movies cut scenes lack interest.
- Combos consist of swing your remote around like i mad man.

Over all its hard to say to many good things, however compared to most of the WII games out to date its hard to find a game that gives u action and strategy. If your looking for a game to get lost in for a couple of days pick it up, but I'm not suggesting u move it to the top of your Christmas list.

I did enjoy it but its not a game for everyone.
hope I've been helpful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is the bomb.

posted by dawgbone (HIGH SPRINGS, FL) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome to the extreme.Once I played Soul caliber I became addicted.The way it has a quest mode makes it better.Although in almost every game there are a few flaws.I miss the way the old way soul caliber was.They could've made a seperate mode for that.I also think there arent enough characters.What happened to kilik and maxi and even yoshimitsu.The party mode is pretty cool,but the camera view is pretty drab.Other than that,Soul caliber legends is just awesome.Not perfect,but awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game

posted by ScottS (GLOUCESTER, VA) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game deserves much better than a 5.6, it is entertaining for hours, the controls respond much better than Dragon Blade ever did for me, has fun co-op + vs modes for 2-player action, has a great selection of buff male and super sexy female characters, and (for a Wii game) has very nice graphics. The Wii remote was made for swordplay games like this, DB, and Red Steel. I played this game for 1 day before I bought it from GF and still cannot understand why Zelda has a 9.0 on GF...I returned that boring horse riding snoozefest to GF the next day when I tried it. Thanks GF for selling me Soul Calibur for $25 and saving me from wasting $50 on Zelda.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Seems Easy but isn't very easy at all

posted by JWnPooh (SCOTT DEPOT, WV) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I did not read the reviews for this game and the only reason I rented it was because it seemed like a Final Fantasy layout, which it is. You play with one or two characters at a time, beat a bunch of Evils and then move on.

I found the first 4 chapters extremely easy and was getting bored with it. Then after beating Barbaros, and having to fight with just Seigfred, I found out that hey, this is pretty cool. And difficult. So much more than I thought at the beginning.

I also thought hey why am I fighting with the 'Evil Sword', shouldn't I have the good one because I'm good. I have never played any Soul Calibur games before so I don't have anything to compare it with. I am thoroughly enjoying my playing time. I only received this on Saturday and it is Tuesday when I am writing this and I am currently fighting the last battle after they split up ... what's next I can't wait to see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Soul Calibur Yet!!!

posted by Kakashi12 (CARSON CITY, NV) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think that this game deserves a better score than it got. I thought this game had one of the best story modes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It had to Happen Sometime

posted by TheManEd (NEWMAN, CA) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I knew since the second soul calibur that Namco, or in this case Project Soul, was going to make an action adventure game(Even though it's still categorized as fighting). I really like this game because, since its for the wii, the game is more interactive. You have to actually use the wii remote as a sword... or whip. or knife. "Project Soul" caught me off guard with that. I was just waiting for it to happen and I think that's the main reason why I like it so much. It was bound to happen and and soul calibur lover would really enjoy this game. I just wish you could use everybody though...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if youre a fan of soul cal, and the characters, youll love this game. if not youll find it a decent action game. the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse