Rent Soulcalibur: Broken Destiny for PSP Games
view large frontback

Soulcalibur: Broken Destiny

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

540 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Soulcalibur 4, the psp edition

posted by Carbine (RIVERSIDE, CA) Aug 31, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Yes this is Soulcalibur 4 which you have probably already played and probably already love or hate. With tons of fighters, modes, and extras I really believe this is the first fighting game on the psp to give Tekken a run for its money. The only real difference here is they have gotten rid of the star wars characters and brought in kratos from god of war.
Game play wise if you have ever played a Soulcalibur game before then you know what to expect, if not then you are in for a deep yet friendly weapon based combat system. Soulcalibur is pick up and playable as most people can figure out the basics pretty fast. Fighting involves the standard block, dodge, counter, know the range of your attacks game play up front. However it also supports more intricate moves such as armor breaks, ring outs, finishers (which have been fine tuned and are a bit easier now), and more.
The graphics are setting a new standard, period. This game is B E A utiful! Every time you see it you are going to wonder if you are really playing it on your psp as these visuals push the bar beyond anything I personally have ever seen on any handheld. Everything in soulcalibur stands out and you will find yourself taking a time out sometimes just to admire the eye candy.
Soulcalibur supports multiple fighting modes including quick battles, story, arcade, training, a gallery, etc, and everyones favorite create-a-fighter. Your first time in create mode you will notice its already pretty big with plenty of options for customization but thats only the tip of the iceberg. As you play through the game you will unlock more and more options for customization and eventually have a huge assortment of items and gear creating your own fighters.
All in all I would call this a must rent for any psp owner. Its one of the best games to come out so far this year and possibly one of the best fighters on the psp since Tekken.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I hate having to only give this game a 7 because i

posted by HotJohnny (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The translation of Soul Calibur to the PSP was quite successful. I was happy to learn that the ability to create a character was still intact, and quite thorough, in fact. The gameplay is great, the graphics are top-notch, and i have only played it once since i got it.

The problem is there is not much to do. There is no real Arcade mode. There is a story mode, but i didn't want to do that, i just wanted to play through a cast of characters and see an ending. Instead you are forced to play either the afore mentioned story mode with has you follow around another character in a non-cannon story, or you play individual matches against computer controlled created junk characters. By junk characters, i mean they are randomly built, created characters, and you don't even fight against the true cast of the game. I like that as an option, but i would like to fight the original cast, like in the arcade mode of SC4.

So obviously, i like a good arcade mode in my fighters, but we all know its the one on one battles with another human that are the true test of any fighter. And that's the major problem with this game, no online play. You can play wirelessly with someone you know in the same area as you, but it does not support online fighting. Major Bummer.

This game is a beautiful, portable version of SC4, i just wish they would have made it online so we could have the real Soul Calibur experience anywhere, anytime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

soul calibur broken destiny

posted by radone (LAWTON, OK) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

the game felt boring and most of it felt like one giant tutorial trying to make you perfect and grading you on every mistake

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

soul psp

posted by jakeob (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game is plan fun. it those have a ton of glitches. it would have a 7 but this is my first fighting game i have own on the psp should of course i give it a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

crapy game

posted by sonofabiii (MOCLIPS, WA) Dec 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

i bought this game for $26.00 totaly crapy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

OMG!!!

posted by rdavis429 (ELLENWOOD, GA) Jul 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is horrid. The game play is good, but no story mode or Arcade mode!!!! What! The! Heck! Man!!! I may be worth the rent, but save your money and buy something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Could have been better

posted by Zephyr71 (EL PASO, TX) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I was excited to recieve this game but was disappointed when I finally played it. The game play is okay. The game modes are nearly useless and boring. It would have been better to have a story mode for each character.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good but not great

posted by gamespro (LA PUENTE, CA) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

this game first of all has no story mode which sucks. To tell you the truth this game whithout a story mode gets boring quick. but its still a good game to rent but not buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is STUPID

posted by hello1 (LONG BEACH, CA) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

Ihate this game it is so slow I dont know why they didn't put a story mode in this game I woild have liked it if you can get some cutscenes th only two things I liked aboutt this game is creating people and KRATOS. If I said rent it buy it or forget about it, FORGET THIS GAME EVER CAME OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too cartoony/cutesy

posted by itsfive0 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

No arcade mode, story mode sucked, and no quick missions. If you like SC3 then avoid this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

soul calibur broken destiny

posted by XXXXXX (Madison, WI) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

what happened to story mode and arcade mode this is a pathetic imatation of a great fighting game. i supose their going to blame that on the hardware not enough memory to include a full game well thats a pitiful excuse most psp games i have played are like this and i am getting sick of it the only thing its good for is watching movies at least its the same on the psp as it is any where else and you can count on nothing being changed downsized cutout or missing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Should be Considered a party game, Useless 1P..

posted by Fireaspect (ERIE, PA) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I will start off by saying excellent job on bringing this game to the psp. The graphics are good and the custom fighter maker is fun to play with.

I feel that sony should have put on the box that the game is for 2 players or more. There is nothing for the single player to do in this game. Yes, there is a "gauntlet mode" that has a generic, very boring story to it that doesn't change no matter who you are. The gauntlet mode becomes very repeatitive very quickly. Constant repeating of moves that have to be done in few seconds. Honestly, it is like a annoying practice mode set to a lame story.

The game is only fun if you have someone to link with. After linking it is pretty much no different than playing it on any other platform. So I would not recommend this game unless you have multiple friends to play with. Let's face it fighting the same friend that doesn't pose a challange gets boring quick. Just like the games pathetic excuse of NPC's.

On one last note, I think the character creators of Soul Calibur need to go back respec and redo some of the characters. Yes, it's fun and cool to keep your originals but it can become annoying to see two characters with almost the exact fighting styles and moves. While they are at it they should think about a Nerf on some characters. Did anyone else think that Kratos, Angol, Cervantis, Ivy, Nightmare, Sigfred, Taki and Mitsurgi were WAY OVER POWERED ?

Overall, I would say don't waste your money unless you and your friends need something to do between classes, long car rides or something to do 2 am. at Deny's while waiting for your food.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »