Rent SoulCalibur V for PS3
view large frontback

SoulCalibur V

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.5

1869 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its a darn shame, the franchise need to shape up!

posted by Lucread (CLEARFIELD, UT) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I've been a fan of Soul Calibur since the good old days of the Sega Dreamcast (I went back and played Soul Blade, too, just for shiggles, but the first Soul Calibur is where it all started for me). I played a ton of SC2, and SC3 was an obsession for years. SC4 was the first title I didn't keep playing until the next one came out, but it still got hundreds of hours of gametime... but this one?

There was a certain set of tactics needed to be great in the previous games. Yes there were cheap ways to win with almost every character, but a familiarity with these would help you come out the victor regardless (I should know, I was the reigning Northern Utah champion of SC3 and SC4, only to be dethroned upon my "retirement" from the tournies)... but this game is different.

Thanks in no small part to the removal of gaurd impacts (or the alteration of them to something completely different, rather) and the introduction of a Street Fighter like soul gauge and accompanying easy to perform super attacks, all strategy and tactics get blown right out of the water, as the game becomes a button mash contest to see who can get their gauge up fast eough to win the match. Now, I'm not saying the Street Fighter mentality is bad, per say, however I find its utilization in a game such as Soul Calibur to be insulting to the core fanbase.

We don't want to play Street Fighter, we want to play Soul Calibur... its basically an example of the old expression "don't fix it if its not broken." Of course this expression exists to warn people that fixing something that doesn't need fixing will often result in breaking it (just look at Microsoft Windows).

Bottom line, this is not a game for SC fans. Its pretty, and has a great customization mode, continuing the trend started in SC3... but its not really a SC game, and that is truly unfortunate. Namco needs to listen to its fans and make another one like SC3... but no, instead we're given this sad excuse.

We deserve better... SHAP

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Huge Disappointment! Actually Made Me Sad!

posted by Gobind05 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

I've been playing since Soul Edge. It had an amazing story and good gameplay. Throughout the years they got better and better then Soul Calibur 4 came out and blew everyone away. Great story mode, great creation mode, and well....great pretty much everything.

First Disappointment!
We all know to get good at any Soul Calibur game, it takes hours of memorization/technique to get the combos fluid. I was ready to rock out online with my best characters but guess! They aren't there! No Zasalamel, No Lizardman, No Talim, and No Cassandra! Namco did not put in any replacements for these characters! Sophitia's kids, Pyhhra and Patroklous, do not play like Cassandra. Aeon does not play like Lizardman. I do not know about you but I was PRETTY upset.

Second Disappointment!
Extremely lackluster story mode....like...seriously. I'm not going to ruin it for you if you want to play it but it solely focuses on Sophitia's kids. It hurts how bad it is....trust me on this....Plus, it's super short.

EXTREME Third Disappointment!
No individual endings! Yup, you read right! The only story you will know about is what happens to Sophitia's kids. For me, I enjoyed playing through with each character because it let me try out each one while completing a goal (Viewing the ending). Namco dropped the ball completely on this one. I was so excited to find out what happened to all the other characters but NOPE! Not happening.

Fourth Disappointment!
The guard system is whack now....Days of being pro at guard impacting are over. They completely threw away that system. This was a big disappointment for me because I spent HOURS getting good at guard impacting in SC4. BAH!

The Short List of Good
-Critical Edge moves are pretty awesome
-Graphics are gorgeous
-Music is great
-Network play has been polished up way more than 4

Overall, SC5 is an extremely unfinished game. SC5 has tarnished the Soul Calibur franchise for me. Why take out unique characters that people spent hours l

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What Happened?

posted by Ngo (DALLAS, TX) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

15 out of 22 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Games like this make me scared for the entire fighting game genre
Soul Calibur used to have one of the best single player experiences in a fighting game out there but now.....Its in all honesty horrible
Though I could whine about how Seoug Mina, Yun Seong, and ALOT of other memorable characters aren't in the game
but they kept Voldo so my favorite wasn't removed so I'm not as ticked as others

and the story mode
SO BAD!!!!! other then the story being pretty dumb you only get the story for the LEAST interesting and memorable characters in the series
but what makes me disappointed and the reason behind this sub-par rating is that this might be the first fighting game I've ever played without individual endings and the only real ending goes to the WORST character IMO,
It makes me wonder how many people really like Sophitia because I never saw her as anything more then a filler...to make her kids the main protagonists was a pretty bold (and stupid) move

but other then that the fighting system is great (aside from the new guard system) and it plays really well has beautiful music as usual and looks great and the Online play is really smooth and seems like most of the creating was focused on the online BUT this is why I hate that Online play is THIS MUCH of a priority for gaming... because of the focus for online play, The single playing experience is taking a MASSIVE tole and I'm nervous that it soon won't exists anymore in any fighters

Some people just enjoy button mashing and having swearing contests with bratty kids from Europe and can play Online for hours without getting bored

But I cannot say I'm one of those people

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not quit there

posted by RushSykes (PUEBLO, CO) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Good: Playing Encio, Additional charaters, Creating characters, upgraded online options

Bad: Main story quest is way to short, some new characters are blah, old SC characters changes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

USED to be a huge SC fan...

posted by D0CT0R (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I own SC4 and playing SC5 makes me want to just pop in SC4 and forget about this abortion that they made... I was not a magnificent player of SC4 but I was good enough to hold my own, what I loved was that it was a balanced game where you need intelligence instead of just a rapid fire controller. If I wanna button mash to play a fighting game I'd play Street Fighter, IMO it's just another SF knock-off. They BUTCHERED the blocking system, my favorite characters like Kilik aren't selectable at first & the new characters are blah. I really, really wanted to give this a 9 or 10/10 since this WAS my favorite fighting series since the good old Dreamcast days of old... In fact if I still owned one I'd rather play the original DC game than this one!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Story mode is downright dumb.

posted by Kanon1989 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I only played it for a day and my classmate said the AI is broken. It's true when I experienced. Also the story mode lacks amusement. Storyboards? How expensive for them to make CG cutscenes? I can do storyboards during the development, but a finished game like this? N-O, NO. What was the point of having them?

The difficulty settings differ every single player mode. On VS battle, there are four difficulty levels. On Arcade mode, there are three. Legendary Souls has one and that's insanely hard. Quick Battle lets you define the difficulty to each of the created characters. However, it's a poor attempt of ranking up for boredom. The mechanics is almost the same as the fourth and the new characters are forgettable. I do want Talim and she is my favorite character to use. Since Project Soul took her out, she may be included as DLC and if not, then I forbid myself from buying Soul Calibur for a reason. Without Talim, the franchise is screwed.

Do me a favor. Just wait for Street Fighter X Tekken for the PS3 or the PC. Project Soul needs to go back to the ol' drawing board, especially NAMCO for milking. I'll give this a 3/10. It's just not what a fighting game fan wanted to see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Where's the rest of it?

posted by Ameel81 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I've loved the Soul Blade series since it was on PlayStation 1. Asides from being a huge Assassins Creed fan this game drew me in.

Sadly it's in my opinion the weakest, lamest, worst entry into the series ever. Asides from the 20 levels of story mode (30-45 minutes max to complete) not ONE character has an ending. You get 6 fights and after the last one you get a small screen that says to return to character select, restart or main menu.

WTH Namco?! Not even one ending for anyone?! Even the story mode wasn't done properly, it was all clip art with voice overs 90% of the time. I was glad to return this game for a full refund. They really let me down in the end.

Good rental though, but beautiful visuals, a lack of any real offline playability and special guest characters don't make up for a shell of a fighting game that feels so rushed it's incomplete. Next time if ever people, try to finish the product before shipping out this trash you've given us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Horrible Excuse For A Fighting Game

posted by LoneSage (Saint Petersburg, FL) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Not even a full 24 hours after receiving this game in the mail do I have it back in my GF sleeve ready to be shipped back. This game was a waste of my time to say the least. To think that the developers want $60 for this game is just disgusting.

I have always been a fighting game fan but even though I played all the Soul Calibur games, I don't consider myself a fan. Just like all the other SC games, this game can be very challenging and very, very aggravating. I'm sorry but making the game ungodly unfair is not a good excuse for replay value for a game. It seems that is the case because there is a major lack of modes in this game.

Usually SC games have a variety of modes but SC5 has only a arcade mode (with no story for any character whatsoever), training, story mode (that is only at most 3 hours long and is just a lazy story that I bet everybody has seen a million times already), quick battle mode, online and then a mode you unlock after beating the game which is just you fighting enemies who basically kick your butt and cheat to win.

The game play is horrible and I just couldn't connect with any fighter I played as except for Ezio, who is from Assassins Creed. I even came across a lot of lag....IN SINGLE PLAYER. So many times my character would do what I pressed like a full second after I pressed it. The combat is just slow and sluggish and for some reason now has super moves that are straight from Street Fighter 4.

Online is the main component of 5 because single player is so lackluster. If you don't have patience, don't even bother with this game. Yeah in player matches you can get into a match quick but in ranked it takes way to long to get into a match. Plus while the game searches for a ranked opponent, it plays an annoying sound effect like it knows you are going to wait awhile for a match and just wants to aggravate you further.

The only reason I give it a 4 is because of the graphics, sound and stages. Other than that, don't bother with

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Soul no longer burns

posted by Kinzu (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you want a true one of a kind 3D fighting experience go find a copy of Soul Calibur II or better yet find an arcade cabinet of it. This series has gone down hill ever since then. A franchise that once stood out for it's feature full console experience is now nothing more than a bare bones fighter. The combat is still as fun as ever with some very much un-needed Street Fighter style super moves. The turn off though is the lack of online modes, offline modes, and characters.

However at Project Soul decided to leave out most of the past character and try to introduce new mostly copies of those characters needs to be demoted. The single player story mode also feels unfinished. It feels like they planned on doing a full cinematic presentation of the story, but then they ran out of time. So you get storyboard like art work with voice actors for the most part with a few animated sequences in the beginning, middle, and end.

I was ok with Soul Calibur IV being a bare bones game since it was the first on the next gen consoles, but they have no excuse for Soul Calibur V is in some ways a worst game with even less good qualities. If you really need Soul Cailbur on your PS3 or Xbox 360 go find a copy of Soul Calibur IV. It's cheaper and will contain mostly the same experience although with a better cast of characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing new to offer here.

posted by Tomamagic (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Fans of the Soul Calibur series who are looking for tons of character selection, tons of fight modes, solid/interesting storylines and cutscenes will be disappointed. The only thing that is worth the time investment is probably the character creation. I enjoyed customizing my own fighter. Graphics are pretty to look at, but it didn't keep my interest. I kept this rental for one day and shipped it back the next. Maybe it's me and I've grown out of this fighting genre. It's a solid fighter, just nothing new was added.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Failure than the previous.

posted by MzGracy (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played 4 like crazy, fighting was complete and it was much more competitive.

5 felt like it was rush and all moves from the previous game was simplified. Sad thing is this game has gotten noob friendly, most of the characters has their stances removed and it just destroyed it. Not worth renting or buying.

Have I mention that there are 5 mimic characters? The famous Kilik is mimic as well and doesn't play his own moves. The new characters Viola, Z.W.E.L Patrokalos and whatever that wannabe Sophita move style are all garbage.

If someone gave me this game for free or as a gift, I would immediately sell it to craigslist or gamestop, if none taken i'll throw the game away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont waste your time

posted by Adubb (BELLEVILLE, MI) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This has to be the worst game ive ever rented since joining gamefly.

I loved some of the old soul caliburs so I was excited for this, but what a dissapointment.

The story mode took me maybe 2 hours to beat, and the story itself was horrible, and the ending even worse. and the only other game mode is arcade challange (wack 6 fight thing with no reward) and online.

Tried for an hour to get a match online and I couldnt!

what was the point of this game besides a money grab!?!?! I'll never play soul calibur again.

So upset I wasted my gameQ slot on this now im missing the kingdoms of amalur release!

Dont waste your time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is bosss

posted by pocket33 (WORCESTER, MA) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love this game there's so many new features to offer plzzz everyone buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very sad!!!!!

posted by sgheginger (KANAWHA, IA) Mar 14, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played all the soul calbur games. But this one was very sad. The stary mode was only on the one persons story i like being able to go threw all the storys. I also like to read the bios on the charectors. I was just really disapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same Soul Calibur

posted by Rockiclay (SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ) Feb 20, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nothing new here except the graphics were cleaner. Same as SC4 without the Star Wars. Ezio was a good addition though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible ...

posted by usafman81 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not sure what's happening to this series but it's completely gone to the dumps. Story mode is almost exactly the same as other games out there, it's childishly easy (see never lost a fight on the first time playing it by just spamming a few buttons over and over), and online play is either full of children or people who drop matches just before they are about to lose. At least I didn't waste my money buying this and it's just filling a spot while I'm waiting for a few games to come out later this month.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good game, but

posted by Tony196899 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

A great game, it definatly lives up to the soul caliber name, besides the fact that they have removed beloved characters such as talim. The story mode is, well, bad. You'll probably force yourself to do it anyways because you unlock characters. The game is great, but to the die hard fans, it may be a let down. I think it's such a great game because of the customization and online. Some may not agree due to issues with network connection, but when it works BOY it's fun. I believe it's fun, but not worth $60, I'd rather just buy SCiv again. I think you should Rent, then mayb buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Best to Rent but not for purchase

posted by animeboi4u (CONCORD, CA) Feb 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I made the mistake of purchasing the game oppose to renting because I figured the game would be exciting and will keep me interested for a long time, but alas if fails to do so.

1. What is up with the massive button mashing and SF/KOF moves? The whole reason why I enjoy SC or Tekken is it doesn't involve many button mashing or SF or KOF controller moves.

2. The storyline is not exciting or lacks plot. Why do we have to play Patrakalos for the storyline? We should at least be able to select any character like the previous SC series.

3. Some of the old chars are not playable and why replace Taki? Was she too Asian that she had to replaced by a Caucasian girl? Sigh....I just don't understand the character swaps and changes, they should of just left it alone. In addition, I am a Cassandra player and have no idea why they removed her and her niece and nephew don't play like her. I was very disappointed to say the least.

4. Why revamp the blocking system? In SC 4 we are already used to the Blocking system and now they implement a horrible blocking system.

5. If you can give Tekken game individual endings then why not SC? They better give individual endings for TTT2 or I will just boycott Bandai/Namco for life.

If you all thought SC5 was going to keep you entertained till TTT2 comes to release, you are wrong! My advice is for players to rent the game before purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by wendy673 (TAMPA, FL) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i loved the game. oi love it that you are able to customize your character anyway you want. they really boosted that up. im a bit disapointed with the battling system. i dont get the "B,A,E" and whatever else. but overall it is a great game. i recoment this game to people who like to make their character and see them fight. i mean i was able to make a female Luffy from One Piece. this game would be for anime lovers.im buying it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Same old, tired stuff

posted by Strider3000 (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game hasn't changed much in over 5 years. Same old boring combos and traps that I've been doing since SC2. Same old glitches in gameplay with bad hit boxes.

Final word: Boring boring boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amen this game is great

posted by kbildens (SAINT PAUL, MN) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game sucs... not! I was a little scared by these negative reviews i thought that i would lose my sc love but nope i've loved this series ever since i got sc3 back in
late 2010 i als0 think this game gets too many haters that say it sucks because they criticize it.
i envy namco and project soul for making this amazing game. game still seems the same but im glad they also made up for that terrible story in sc4 not to mention ubisoft gave them him! (ezio auditore). customization resembles the sc3 customization only with less clothing options, still the stickers are a nice touch.as usual voldo is still a freak and ivy is still rather gross. natsu,leixia,xiba and pyyrha are just copy charcters of taki kilik and xianghua and sophitia FYI talim zasalamel rock and cassandra have been removed. new charactersare patrokolos,a patroklos(setsuka without umbrella in diffrent char), zwei, viola. P.S. those who miss taki seong mina cassandra and sophitia should make chars that depict how you think they would look in sc5. P.P.S special attacks have been added.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game in the series

posted by Dashinthis83 (DAVISBORO, GA) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

After Soul Calibur 2 the series just have been going down hill. All they did was changed most of the characters name and designs but kept the same tired fighting styles. I never been so upset about a game glad I never wasted 60 bucks on this recycled mess of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fighting never gets old...

posted by ben18bk (HARRISBURG, PA) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

other than the story, everything else was great, I still love the gameplay and they worked more on the created character which is a plus, and love the fact that you can unlock new fighting styles so you can't steal the reg characters stuff which is neat, I just started this yesterday night and im into it like I was with all the other soul caliburs!!, good job Guys!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I HATE THIS GAME!!!!

posted by KyleTXCC (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game is horrible because the difficulty is on easy and im still dieing for like a 15 hit combo. your chacter has like a 10 long button combo which is really hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh

posted by x9ZachAttack5x (FRANKLIN, TN) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Not much to say.... Not happy with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse