Rent SoulCalibur V for Xbox 360
view large frontback

SoulCalibur V

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.5

2681 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fantastic gameplay, Really bad storyline

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Feb 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2011

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

If you are new to Soulcalibur ill tell you that its a weapon based fighting game, and its a great one.

Ill start with the few bad things this game has, which pretty much just is the storyline. its mostly about the largely forgettable character Patrlokos which is on a quest to wield Soul Calibur "in the name of love" and rid his estranged sister Phyrra. You will play as some other characters in the short and boring story such as his sister and a few more, but it will mostly be about him.

Although the single player was a disappointment Soul Calibur has lots of stuff to offer. The game has about 30 characters, it has both new and returning carachters some of the many returning are Nightmare and Ivy.

The online in this game is amazing, whether you just fight against a friend or new people its really enjoyable. The game looks gorgeous, has great combat animations, and a great variety of maps, the battle arenas are great, the games run smooth and the characters are nicely detailed. For all AC fans in this game you can pay as Ezio Auditore and he really fits in to the game well and they did a really good job taking in his weapons from AC games; both ranged wepons and non-ranged

I have friends that are new to fighting games and they have had some trouble to get those combos, but just give it some time and you will se how amazing it is, because the combat system really has a lot of depth. Another great thing is the "character creation mode" which lets you creat your own characters and us them wherever you want(except story mode). So lets sum it all up...

Pros:
- Very smooth and amazing gameplay.
- Looks gorgeous
- Great game to play with friends.
- Great combat system
- Character animation is stunning
- Character creation mode is a lot of fun

Cons:
- Poorly written storyline
- Overly dramatic dialogue
- Took out some fan- favorites

The game is very good, but if you don't like fighting games this game wont really change anything.

Conclus

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Soul Calibur V: My opinion...

posted by Squiggles (CHELSEA, OK) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Well after waiting since the announcement trailer I finally got my hands on a rented copy of Soul Calibur V. Here are my thoughts broken down into list.

Pros:
-The character models and animations look amazing and all the flashy skills and ability's just increase that.
-The combat is smooth and responds well, probably the best in the series.
-Voice acting and music is put together nicely and definitely fits the setting.
-Character creation, now for the past 3 or so games SC has been doing this character creation thing. Now by far this is the best.

The iffy:
-Character list Now a lot of people might dis-agree with me on this but I hate the fact this game is 17 years later. All of our favorites have been replace and or removed. Setsuka is replaced with Alpha patroklos and Sophitia and Cassandra have been replaced with Patroklos, pyrrah and pyrrah omega. Other favorites such as Zasalamel, Talim have just been completely removed.
-The unlockables, now don't get me wrong I love all the unlockable character creation stuff but the unlockable characters and stages are just disappointing. Elysium, Edge master, Kilik are all mimic characters, I swear Algol is the only unlockable that has his own fighting style. Now Pyyrah omega is just Pyyrah with a more violent style and alpha patroklos is just Setsuka with a patroklos skin.

Cons:
-I'm gonna go ahead and get this out of the way, BAD STORYLINE. The storyline in this game is to predictable and short. A mere 20 levels (levels = fights) it took me about 3 hours total. You also play as Patroklos and Pyyrah Sophitia's kids.
-Little to no offline content, when I got this game I was hoping the offline content since I cannot get live where I'm at, there are only a few modes, Legendary souls, Versus, Story, Quick battle and arcade. Legendary souls is just arcade with the cpu's on steroids, and quick battle is I'm guessing supposed to "simulate" online multiplayer idk.

But anyway that concludes my review, I wanted t

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game is awsome

posted by Soul_Well (LOUISVILLE, KY) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I played it and loved it, the story was good (but could have been longer giving the three year wait). Character roster was great and healthy number of people to pick. it had some pros and cons though,

Pros

Character roster is large,

Gameplay is nice,

Character creation is enhanced and you have more options to use,

Story mode was pretty alright,

Cons

Controls are a little dodgy,

Character creation voiceovers are not all that great like in 4,

Although story mode was good it could have been longer,

Story mode wasn't all cutsense (Spelled it wrong, sorry),

The "Chain of Souls" is gone :(,

Some characters are really weak while others are strong.

Other then those cons the game is GREAT!!!!! Can't get enough of it, also the details are epic, the teams did a great job on this game. Good job guys, good job, TWO THUMBS UP FOR THIS GAME!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!!!

posted by rex8112 (ABERDEEN, SD) May 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I love it! better then the fourth one. character cutomization is confusing but in this one its just for looks no armor actually gives you an advantage wich I like cause then I actually get a challenge when fighting family, so dont be surprised if you've played the fourth one.

story mode lacks content but the fourth one had no content what so ever.

I would say buy if your a fan of this kinda fighting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Soul Caliber V aptly deserves its number.

posted by IdiosynIndi (LIVONIA, MI) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I found the story to be interesting in the first fighting stage, but after that, all of the plot choices that the developers chose were very cliche, such as the Master deceiving the apprentice, hero of the story being rebellious, his sister being a morally evil character who is also deceived. blah blah blah. I liked the graphics but found no reason to play any more of the game once I beat the story mode. I found that the fourth title was a lot better and required more skill as I beat all of the stages with the old button mashing technique. I am definitely glad that I did not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by rwith121 (DAYTON, OH) May 10, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this is an amazing game for both competeative and non competative gaming great charecters awsome fighting charecter creation is great ive made all kinds of charecters from ninja turtles to jason vorhese ryu for ninja gaiden and even spiderman i personaly think its better than mortal kombat and im even buying it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun But Frustrating, Not A Casual Game

posted by ZMannZilla (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 7, 2012

Member since May 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you're familiar with the previous titles in the Soul Edge/Soul Calibur saga, then you may find Soul Calibur 5 to be fun, but a bit of a let-down. The arcade mode as you know it isn't there, and the story mode has one long, mostly pointless story that you've already seen at least 4 times before (oh, someone in a Soul Calibur game is looking for their sister? When does that ever end well?) My biggest issue with the game is that it's definitely not casual, and here's why:

1) Online play is populated with a bazillion obsessive personalities who only need one split-second opening to chain ridiculously over-powered combos together. Seriously, if your opponent picks Nightmare and opens Round One by chaining together two big attacks that involve lightning, just go grab a snack.

2) Offline play isn't much better, the difficulty curve is all over the place - one minute you're hacking away at useless pushovers, the next you're struggling to get a move in edge-wise (no pun intended) while the AI shows off.

3) AWESOME character creator mode. You can create and texture really great looking characters, even design a photo for them - of course, the aforementioned obsessives won't even bother looking at the character you make, as they will be hammering the A button and skipping all the pre-fight fun stuff. So really, you're just pleasing yourself.

I guess what I'm saying is, if you're going to rent Soul Calibur 5, you should consider buying it. Like I said, very fun, but far from casual. There's really no point investing your time in this game if you aren't interested in keeping it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

4 was better

posted by gearslovingun (WYANDOTTE, MI) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

fighting is slow and the story is played out through pictures with voiceovers. how exciting...not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful. Simply beautiful.

posted by CitiRaven (GRAND CANYON, AZ) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Soul Calibur series has always taken arcades and home consoles to their limits, and SCV is no exception.

Visually, this game is perfect. All the fighters are rendered flawlessly with robes, capes and armor effortlessly flowing with your movements. Even the created fighters who have been lacking from their story counterparts are perfectly presented in this installment.

Soul Calibur V also shines in gameplay, offering up its predecessors timing and combo system with a couple of twists. The Soul Gauge is gone, replaced by a more familiar Critical Gauge that works similar to Street Fighter IV's Ultra Gauge, unleashing a powerful attack (which leaves you wide open for almost a full second if you miss).

Online play has seen several improvements. You can text chat with your friends during fights. In spectator mode, the action is viewed on a picture-in-picture which does surprisingly little to diminish its visual quality. If you aren't up for Ranked or Player matches, you can join the Global Colosseo, letting you test your skills against players from your immediate area and almost guaranteeing you the best connection. Random matches and Tournament matches are available in this mode, which can also simply function as a big chat room with no spectator mode.

Character creation has been significantly upgraded (or downgraded, depending on how you look at things). Items no longer offer stat bonuses, allowing you to choose the look you want rather than just going with what will give you the stats you need. More costume options, hairstyles and voice tweaks will make created characters more interesting than they were before, as well.

All in all, Soul Calibur V is leaps and bounds above Soul Calibur IV, and though I will definitely miss playing as Yoda, Ezio Auditore is a fine addition that fits the storyline beautifully.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Upsettingly horrible sequel and painful to play

posted by tfey88 (COOPER CITY, FL) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am very upset with the direction of this Soul Calibur game. I have been an avid fan but they really dropped the ball here. Not even having the awesome Ezio Auditore from Assassins Creed helped it. The theme was based on a new generation 17 years later so many old characters did not return(Taki,Talim, Yunsung,Setsuka,Seong Mina, Cassandra, Rock,Xianghua,Zasalamel) and were replaced by new ones which is not easy to accept but I let that slide. The story was written very poorly and very uninteresting. They show slides of concept art and horrible voice acting for the majority of Story mode. I'm guessing they were too lazy to animate the 3D character models anymore. There seems to be many plot loopholes(Ivy, Voldo,Tira don't age 17 years later) and lack of info on any of the characters changes in form or power, weapons or conflicting events like they did very thouroughly and impressively in SC4. The control and style of gameplay has changed dramatically again and is nowhere near as simple as before which leads me to the most frustating part. This game is insanely difficult for even the best of gamers with very few limited ways to change difficulty settings. Character creation is neat but you need to download 5 compatability packs and spend more than 2000 points for your below average DLC. There are no character endings, no leveling up a characters weapon or power, no balancing them out nothing. The previous game seems to be more of an improvement.This game feels like it was rushed and there was little effort put into it and it upset me. I expect way more out of Soul Calibur.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun at first

posted by nargashadow (FRESNO, CA) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is fun and adicting when you first start playing it, but after about three days it gets really boring but on the cutscenes the graphics are awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Soul Calibar is pretty freaking hard

posted by Donpiporro (ENCINITAS, CA) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Soul Calibur is one of those fighting games that isn't talked about with friends at any area. It isn't that popular, but it is a very good and different fighting game then other 3D fighters.
Story Mode (3/10)
Amazingly some of the story fealt like garbage. Most of the story was about a white blonde haired boy who hated demons, and then killed people. Oh yeah and his sister was a demon. THE IRONY!!!! Not even all the characters were included in storymode. If only they did a little better.
Graphics NO NUMBER NEEDED,
IT IS GREAT!!! Makes up for the poor storymode.
Character Creation (9/10)
When I first did character creation, I had a flashback of how it was going to be like Soul Calibur 4. I was wrong!!! The character creation allows you to make beautiful and unique characters. Sometimes your character can look like it actually was made by the creators of the game. Once I got to level 72 I got bored using the same clothing over and over again. Their isn't enough items, but their is some DLC for it.
Offline Mode:
Versus Mode(10/10) You can set up in many ways for a perfect fight!
Arcade(9/10) All of your matches are saved and put up on your players license so your rivals can see, but try getting a good time when Nightmare keeps killing you!!!
Training(10/10) Training mode includes all the moves for your character, including some free combos. P.S You can make your own.
Legendary Souls (4/10)
Three words: REALLY FREAKING HARD
It took the best player on soul calibur 92 minutes to do the hole thing.
Quick Battle (9/10)
With quick battle mode you can unleash on different levels of players from Cheap To Combo Master. It is going to take a while beating all enemies.
Online Mode(6/10) 25% of players are fair, nice and will help you anytime. 25% use the word spammer and will kick for doing the same move in a round 3 times (not in a row) or even doing that move 4 times each round(not even close to be in a row equals kick. 50% are japanese and will beat you. Enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Everything was good, but the storyline

posted by drtyolbuz (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is another SoulCalibur game. These games have been known for their weapon based fighting style and each characters individual story line. Although in this game they decided to go a more standard route for Story mode. It was short and a very cliche story line as well. If not for the character creation and the online play and quick battle modes then i would have sent it back the moment i got it. Overall it is a good game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good addition to the series

posted by JustaBird2 (NOVATO, CA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

+ Fighting feels great fluid and less button mashy
Great character editor
Online play including lobbies spectating and ranks
new characters have some interesting weapons
look great

- Story mode is a joke
extra features are lacking

If your a fan you will enjoy it especially if you like taking your fight online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Liked it!

posted by DanMaiorana1990 (PARLIN, NJ) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If your looking for a game to play with your friends its a great pick, otherwise this game has a decent story. The main character departure from Seigfried/Cassandra/Nightmare, turns to Patrolokos/Pyrrha. The character creation is the most fun aspect like most soul caliburs, making identical versions of other major game titles characters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

technical but fun

posted by racoonsurvivor (CHESTERFIELD, MO) Feb 27, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty cool, especially for a fighting game, the story mode is solid, very Japanese but solid. Leveling your player rank un locks new stuff for a very good character creator, and titles for on line play. The roster is good and Etzio is a great fit for the series. Being able to make any kind of character makes you feel invested in there safety. Some of Ai is not always balanced but over all it works well and it was rare that I felt that the CPU was raising its skill to high. The only complaint i have is that you dont feel like the different items or weapons have any effect on you like the last games, but with online competitiveness gaining popularity I understand how balancing would be hard. All and all this game is worth a rent and trying out if you like fighters, however if you are new to the genre you may want to start some were else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!!!

posted by badjamie (BOURBONNAIS, IL) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Loved it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you aren't into fighting games, check this out!

posted by airstriker747 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has changed my view on how fighting games are epic. This game is extremely intense and has a very very good storyline. Plus, ENZIO AUDITORE IS IN THE ROSTER!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

YES!!

posted by Glinty11 (TIJERAS, NM) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let's start with the gameplay. It's absolutely AMAZING!! So much more fluid than SC4. The combat is much more intense due to all of the changes they added. Such as the power meter that you get in most fighting games. It adds just that much more to the game!

Now the Singleplayer experience. You get much less than you did in SC4 in this game. The story mode is mediocre. You usually only play as Patroklos and Pyrra. The son and daughter of one of the previous characters. Unfortunately, they both use styles that barely differ from each other, and are practically the exact same as their mother's. You can look at that as a good or bad thing. The arcade mode is just as bad. It's just 6 random fights with a cheap Nightmare at the end. And NO CHARACTER ENDINGS!! WTH!? It seems the only 3 modes that can make the Singleplayer worth while are standard vs, quick fight, and character creation. The standard fight is where you can go against a CPU, against a friend, or have two CPU's battle it out for your amusement. Quick Battle is where you battle created characters from around the globe. There are some pretty crazy creations out there, and it's fun just to see what you'll find. Character creation allows you to customize your own fighter with an extremely in depth creator! It's even more in depth than SC4, which was absolutely amazing for its character creation. The only problem is instead of creating your own fighting style like in Mortal Kombat Armageddon, you have to pick one from another fighter. It's a bit annoying, but acceptable none the less. There's also legendary souls, but let's ignore that for now.

The multiplayer now. I haven't really tried the multiplayer yet, because I'm having so much fun fighting my friends and creations made by other people!

In the end, the game is solid, but it's missing some things that were fun in SC4. But the game is still solid and holds up none the less. 7/10 Missing something, but still good. Rent it first, then see if you like

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Entry in the Soul Calibur franchise

posted by DarthEns (FORT WORTH, TX) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

SCV is a great game. If you've played any Soul game, you'll be in familiar territory.

New game play updates include:

- Simplified moves for each character. They kind of streamlined each character so there isn't a million things to remember.

- Added new EX-special moves (enhanced versions of combos that do more damage but use up a meter that you build while fighting, ala Street Fighter IV or the new MK game.)

- Added super meters that allow for high damage special combos (again, think SF IV)

- A better and more "robust" character creator and allowing a bit more customization.

- Addition of Ezio is pretty good, and he fits the universe and has pretty good moves.
Cons:
These are minor, but as a SC fan, these hurt a bit personally but not on a gameplay level

- Removal of Setsuka and Zasamael. I know they weren't popular, but man, I loved those characters. Also, Setsuka's fighting style is in there, but Zasamael's is not.

- Unlockable characters are lame. They are just different versions of Pyrrah and Petroklas (new "story" characters") with different fighting styles. Also, 3 of the unlockable characters have "random" fighting styles, meaning if you choose them, your fighting style will change randomly to another characters each round.

That's pretty much it. I love the game, and it's a good game for people not good at fghting games to get into as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

3 Years later and they only killed it more.

posted by RockerVirus (KAWKAWLIN, MI) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The story, short, with a rather meaningless story behind it, taking no more than an hour to beat if you skip the drull cut scenes. Several of the characters, Poorly resembling the original, not to mention the lacking supplies to create a decent looking character. However, despite the overly easy story and the poor status of the characters. The multiplayer is more than fairly hard. The systems still show tremendous lag, making online matches nearly unbearable, the community is filled with spammers and poorly rounded fighters. Though the same can be said about the computers, though they put up a challenge, it's a common occurrence that they spam the same moves over and over or often tend to juggle you leaving you unable to block or even counter. All in all there isn't a single positive aspect about this game, Nothing setting it apart from four, nothing setting it apart from what is sitting in my toilet bowl, The game is a sad display of an attempt for attention that these creators feel they desperately need despite the fact that they managed to simply kill a fairly decent game series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love it when a good series gets better.

posted by Manaceous (SOUTHPORT, NC) May 16, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The story could have been longer, I know but come on. The character animations, the graphics, I noticed some character attacks were slowed down, which I understand. I had a great time with this game. Character creation was by far the greatest feature of this game. Simply amazing, once you get some of the cooler looking armor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short story, fun fighter.

posted by Mantis26 (NEW PHILADELPHIA, OH) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It was very underwhelming with the storyline. Character creation is fun. Online has been very annoying. Wait forever for matches to happen and then get d/c as soon as your match come up. Worth the rent, not a buy. I will be sending it back after 2 days of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

just flat out amazing there is really all i can say. if you've played this came in the pass you will love this one. finally the second best fighting game of all time. Mortal Kombat well thats a no brainer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Whats so different?

posted by Dextronaut (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I just got it in the mail, and I can't see many differences in graphics or play styles. Its another sequel that didn't improve on the formula. Id rather go play part 4... at least they had jedi...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse