Rent SoulCalibur IV for PS3
view large frontback

SoulCalibur IV

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.0

6035 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rise of the Soul

posted by robertcg12 (TACOMA, WA) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

21 out of 27 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The newest installment to the Soul Calibur franchise has you once again looking to gain the power of the two legendary swords, Soul Edge and Soul Calibur. The new story mode is short but will keep you on the edge of your seat for hours. Also there is the Tower of Lost Souls where you ascend twenty levels fighting tons of enemies and fighters from the Soul Calibur franchise, and then descending back for another experience. Utilizing the next generation console, it creates beautiful graphics that seem distract you on your first fight in the game. The fighting itself has not rapidly change except for making it feel like your not going to lose to your friend who keeps using the same technique over and over again. A new part of the game play has been added though which is Soul Crush which is that if you block to many heavy attacks you will become vulnerable to your opponent allowing them to automatically kill you with a critical finish attack. In addition to the fighters, two new guest characters have arrived to join the hunt for the swords, Darth Vader and The Apprentice from the Star Wars Galaxy. For those who have played Soul Calibur 3, the character creation has been brought back with tons of new items to customize your character. In terms of facing another person, Soul Calibur now lets you play people over PlayStation Network in a ranked/player normal/special versus match. Special versus mean that you can use any ability you equipped to your character using character creation to use to your advantage against other players. in the museum you can see Chain of Souls which shows you how each character each other thinks about one another, Art Gallery for drawn pictures and character models, Event Gallery for the endings you unlocked and Battle Records for Honors you have unlocked. I would recommend this game to any Soul Caliber fans and for those looking for a excellent weapons fighting game. May the Dark side of the force be with you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must play.

posted by Coreeyyyy (SMITHFIELD, PA) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

After getting this game yesterday and playing it last night as my first SoulCalibur of the series, I loved it. If you love one on one fighting then this is the game. The graphics were excellent and I found nothing at all slightly wrong with them. The story mode is short but fun to play with every character as you try to beat it with every player. The Lost Tower of Souls is also one of my favorite modes to play as you battle through 20 Floors of fighting and then descend back down for new challenges. Customizing a character is also fun. -WARNING- If you've never played a one on one game like me and don't think you would like don't be surprised if you don't but if you really think you'd like it then you must play it. I give SoulCalibur 4 a 9 because it deserves it. Graphics are nice and smooth and game play keeps you interested. Go ahead and play it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Fighting Game for ps3

posted by TDBears (LITITZ, PA) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have had this game for 6 months and still play it. The graphics and controls are tight. Yes the story mode is not very story heavy but the level of character customization is great. Who wants to spend 30 hours unlocking all the characters anyways? Also if you crank the story mode up to hard, you will lose some fights (unless you are really nasty, I lose rounds all the time on hard)

The voices are a bit cheesy but I am told that's how the series has always been. People who complain about it being a button masher probably aren't very good--there is a lot of depth and timing necessary to beat experienced players and some of the more challenging game modes (tower).

I play a lot of fighting games (Tekken, MK, etc) and this is my first SC game, and it's my favorite fighting game in the past decade. Darth Vader is cool, but there are a ton of fun characters (most of which play differently) and you can basically create an infinite number of your own. Go to youtube and search, some people get really into it and make just about anybody you can imagine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun, But Lacking...

posted by Mwoold (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

15 out of 22 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Well first off. The graphics of SCIV are amazing, especially running it upscaled on 1080p HDMI. The Game itself is lacking the fundamentals of a game that is worth $60. The story mode spans a total of 5 matches, and the story behind each character seems to have been thrown together in half an hour. The fighting itself is clean, and crisp, as were most soul calibur titles. The online is decent.. more or less if you can get into a game. You spend most of your time searching for a game just to be told game full. The servers lag from time to time. Running an 8meg connection, I rarely have issues with that. In all honesty this game is a good renter, unless of course you're a die hard S.C. fan. The main thing going to SCIV is the introduction of the new game mode: "Tower of Lost Souls". In this game mode you climb or descend a tower battling bosses on each level. With each level you clear you have a chance of completing a bonus objective unlocking a chest and releasing a piece of armor to use in character creation. Other than that... Buy at own risk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Most Repititive Game in The World

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Jul 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The graphics are great but the gameplay lacked interest. After I beat it a couple of times, it was the same thing over and over again. Making characters was the best part but it was limited. It's not worth buying but i guess renting. I just hate repetitive games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not as good as i thought

posted by Sadistic (NORTH HILLS, CA) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I really thought this game was gonna be better. The grafics are super, controls are easy, good soundtrack but the story was way way to short. I know its a fighting game but there werent enough fights. Online it was fun but the down side is that you have to wait for ever for someone to fight with. overall I still enjoy part 3 better then this version, I say its a good rent but not a keeper

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, bad 360 Port!

posted by Joshiese (MILL CREEK, WA) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not a bad game. If you are a fan of the genre and the title you will like....but this IS a XB360 port -- and a lazy port at that. Several of the screens are str8 from the 360, even the training screen which gives you how to do the moves has the 360 buttons and not the PS3. I mean come on, that's being lazy.

It's my opinion that we should avoid buying any of these type of "lazy" ports. We don't pay full price for a half arsed game! Send a message to the developers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nice

posted by joanmg06 (HIALEAH, FL) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is really nice game in the graphic point of view but when u really get into it is not that much interesting. I prefer mortal Kombat than this game graphics are ok but there is some things they should fix put more characters it have a lot but it isnt enough to me, they should put a bigger single player no just figth in stages and they should give it more movements and a fatality just like mortal kombat it have that thing u do with every player but u just do 1 and u win no fair for the other player its a nice game and i play it but not that much i hope u find out wat im saying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Polished combat, lackluster game modes, zero story

posted by awadog (COVINGTON, KY) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've always enjoyed the Soul Calibur series, ever since my introduction to the series with Soul Calibur II. (which is considerably the best installment to date) After playing Soul Calibur IV, I must say, I was a bit disappointed. Not with the combat, which is very fluid, despite the addition of critical finishes. (Which require a very rare sequence of events to happen before they can be performed.) What I was truly disappointed in was how the overall experience felt incomplete. I believe I may have felt this way because when I play any Soul Calibur, I compare it to Soul Calibur II. I don't make this comparison out off a shear bias toward SCII, but because I feel ever installment after II are not implementing things that were done so well in the prior game. One example of this being the tower game mode in IV. I found it to be very similar to the dungeon dwelling/loot hoarding that was in II but with less reward and appeal. Soul Calibur II made you anxious for your next encounter whereas, IV presents the tower to you as floors filled with waves of enemies.
Another area where SCIV suffers is in its story mode. The main reason its suffers is because there really is no story mode. The single player experience really consists of six to five matches and a boss fight against a character that is never fully realized. With this said, I know that fighting games are not really known for their deep narratives but what SCIV presents is ridiculous. I would also like to discuss the lack of depth in the character customization. The character customization mode involves applying armor and other clothing collected in other modes to template characters or existing characters in the game; what this really means is mix and matching the in game character's clothing on a generic template model. I just never felt that any character I created was really unique. In conclusion, strong fighting mechanics, lacking modes, and no story. Also there are guys from star wars, for what that's worth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not the worst game I ever played But....

posted by Thamm1979 (BROOMFIELD, CO) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's one of the many dilemas we face in the game world today. Either to put more emphasis on the scenery or the game play. and this is one where the latter lacks sufficiently enough to make this player send it back after two days of playing.

While it's visually stunning with the background and erm.. female characters, gameplay is repetitive and somewhat boring. The inclusion of Lucasarts characters makes no sense in the over all scheme of things and just looks like a ploy to lure Star Wars fans as Vadar has no distinguishable skills. I guess fulfilling the prophecy has it's weaknesses!

in conclusion, unless you are really into the series, or have a desire to create characters all day, I wouldn't bother with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What a JOKE

posted by PMSGamer (KILLEEN, TX) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Starting off, I was disappointed. The previous Soul Calibers makes this one look like a joke. In this one, each character, goes through 5 levels. THATS IT. I honestly expected way more. The story lines seem to be thrown together, and a good deal of them are really simlilar to other ones. Extremely repetative. On the upside, the graphics are BEAUTIFUL, but would I pay $60 bucks for this game....NO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Played one you played them all

posted by Downfall (WILKES BARRE, PA) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics were a step up from previous games but the gameplay was the same. Even with the added character of Darth Vader this game was nothing more than a revamped version of the others. The endings were weak and some did not make any sense. Play it to say you played it I guess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

eh....

posted by Lebowskii (JAMESTOWN, CA) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

so i got this game with high hopes. I remember playing SCII for the gamecube some years back. i was highly anticipating the story line where you build your own character, travel around, unlock new weapons etc. I popped this one in and... nope. "arcade" and "story" was it. story consists of fighting a couple of rounds over and over and over and over just with different characters... yay. so i went to arcade. a little better. now you fight 5+ guys each time with a different character. yay. granted.... the graphic are visually pleasing and once you get passed the butten smashing there are some cool combos out there, but gameplay and replay value are horrible. When playing with others, i found that is the only part of the game worth playing more then an hour or so.

Looks: 10
Gameplay: 5
Replay:2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by soi1948 (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I guess if you like to do the same fight over and over, it is okay. The story seems weak, because it is constant repetition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

soul calibur 4

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Surprisingly this game was an excellent game i know most of the soulcalibur games over the years have been just you fighting a bunch of guys and you advancing on but soulcalibur 4 delivers a much better approach in the fact of fighting it let's you customize character's, yous'e your hard earned cash to buy new charcter's,and has great fighting action excellent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is wack!!!!

posted by newsat11 (INGLEWOOD, CA) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off do not rent this game if you are looking for a good fighter game. This game was short and i passed it in about an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very disappointing, lame

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Combat system is not as good as the previous system. Not pressure sensitive. Graphics are OK, not great by any standards. Not much replay value. Unless your a huge fan of the series, which I WAS, its not even worth renting. Such a shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great new addition

posted by ASCDave (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game looks beautiful as expected. At start though there's only 1 new character, excluding Vader/Yoda, then you have to purchase the other ones which is fine, just different. The character creator mode still doesn't allow you to change how faces and such look which I think it should be able to allow. Also, be aware that they changed character moves. Taki's been toned down, Raphael's been WAY toned down, and yet they made Maxi even cheaper for button smashers. Haven't gotten very deep into the game yet but they added in a lot of features that add a lot of depth to the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

pretty weak

posted by NikeAir (BEAVERTON, OR) Aug 1, 2008

Member since May 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I was really excited to get this game. Saw the screen shots and videos, and was pumped. Got it yesterday, sent it back today. Overall it is nothing exciting, nothing new. The gameplay was very simple, just button mash and you win. No real skill required. Sure the graphics are nice, but that does not make a game. And come on, girls dont look like that, too over the top, and just sad that people drool over that stuff. I guess i was expecting much more, more depth. I unlocked all the characters in 30 minutes. It is just weak, I wish they would just hurry up and make a new Tekken!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad game to play

posted by miclarry10 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game has good combos and such to do with fighting how ever the game story is horrible and the game it self is bad u may want to send it back the first two hours or less of game play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too Complicated

posted by mikey212 (SPRING, TX) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Maybe I'm showing my age, but there were just to many buttons that needed to be pressed to get any kind of decent move. I don't mind button mashing at all, but Soul Calibar is just too ridiculous. The graphics were great. And the sound was good. But it was just too much on the combo moves. Again, maybe it's just my age....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

no tekken

posted by BigVito (WINSTON, OR) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game lacks what i real fighting game should have I cant wait for tekken 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Yet another lack luster...

posted by ThFlsh03 (LAKELAND, FL) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Honestly, I'm not a big fan of Soul Calibur because it's always a let down to me in one way or another. Darth Vader, being the hype for this installment, was by far one of the last characters I wanted to use again after finishing his storyline. He's slow, some of his moves never work for me, and I didn't know there was a fireball force power. Also getting all of the characters wasn't hard at all...I mean don't get me wrong I'm not that annoyed...but it wasn't even a challenge at all. All you had to do was beat 5 of them, beat Arcade modes with Darth Vader (to get The Apprentice), and then pay for the rest with easily obtained gold.

All-in-all this game is lucky it got a 2...and that's only because of the visuals and The Apprentice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A worthy successor to Soul Calibur 2

posted by LDJosh (SHIPPENSBURG, PA) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Finally a game worthy of following soul calibur 2. The graphical update is fantastic. The addition of the soul crush, destructible armor, and new characters bring a welcome enhancement to battle without breaking the balance of gameplay, and several new game modes add replay value to an otherwise 'party game'. Where SC3 tried to add the RPG element to extend the life of the game (and failed) SC4 adds new attributes to the character creator by giving you the fighting game you want with an economy-driven meta game. At it's heart it's still a wonderfully deep fighting game, with a single player campaign topping making a delicious treat for new-comer button mashers and old school veteran combo artists alike. The online arena with matchmaking and "friends only" options add pieces of flair to a uniform donned for fun that you can purchase without worrying if it's worth it.

If you were burned by SC3, It's time to let your wounds heal and "take sword in hand once more".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by ameriboy (POOLER, GA) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

7 out of 30 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

it was the best game i had ever played it was so so awesome i loved the game so much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse