Rent Soul Sacrifice for PS Vita
view large frontback

Soul Sacrifice

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

175 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

An excellent handheld experience.

posted by bleblock (ROSEVILLE, CA) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Monster Hunter killer, this game is a must have for ps vita owners. Beautiful art and graphics with quick responsive gameplay and addicting mechanics that make each battle unique. I love this game!!! 8]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Vita MUST

posted by Bartuby_Jones (CULVER CITY, CA) May 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Soul Sacrifice is exactly what the Vita's been desperately needing! A compelling single player story line but with the bulk of the game being online. Which is amazing by the way(but must buy an online pass to play...online...worth it)!
Full of creative boss' and beautiful spells and graphics, Soul Sacrifice is a must for any RPG lover who owns a Vita!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Do you want to know the truth?

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Nov 5, 2014

Member since May 2010

This game is about somone who is stuck in a cage while he reads a story. The story is about a sorcerer and his companion. This game is in reality a boss rush mode of sorts. Are you afraid of the truth? Our game industry is afraid of being honest with itself. They hire corperate lap-dogs to rate the game as perfect, but in reality it isn't. In fact, no game is truely perfect.. Yet, bully tactics by bigwigs in some corperate office try to silence any disent.. The game makers of today make LJN look like saints in comparison, and this is why we have gameffly.. Most of us who comment are in fact customers, buit sadly not all people are.. Don't buy this or any other game until you have tried it first, because it isn't about what the corperations want, but rather it is what YOU the consumer wants.. You should try a game no matter how good it is or how bad it is, so that you make an informed purchase. This is why I always say try before you buy.. Gamefly exists like most videogame rental businesses, for the purpose of having an informed consumer, and yet corperate operatives have been posting reviews that express how perfect a game is.. The truth is they are liars that have been hired by the video game companies to go over talking points to make a sale. But the one who must make the choice is you,and no one else. Do not hesitate to tell your honest opinion regarding a game.. This is why this opinion column exists. Beyond tat this game isn't really that good, but you must also weigh in too, because more than anything else whether a game is good or not depends on each individual player.. Gamers are all different, and it is sad to think that there are fake gamers who give a game cryptic praise, but they never truely tell you what they liked about it, yet they give the game a 9 or a 10. Be direct in your review about what you like or dislike about a game.. As always, Try before you buy..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it

posted by xpaultheman394 (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 27, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I wasn't a fan of any Monster Hunter type of games until I've played Souls. I feel like I shouldn't even compare Souls to Monster Hunter. I love the Save or Sacrifice system in this game, it feels refreshing. The only thing I don't like is grinding, but if I ever wana play a JRPG, I must grind. So I could live with it I guess. Great game, I'm digging the story so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

MP may be fun, but SP is very grindy

posted by Existence (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Oct 22, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

Be warned: It seems that this is yet another game that was supposed to built around multiplayer instead of single player. This is kind of problematic for Gamefly renters because an online pass is required ($10).

My experience is with mostly single player, so I'll review that instead.

If you're familiar with Monster Hunter this game is similar to it; it's a mission-based action RPG. Missions generally have you do one of two things: Kill "X" amount of monsters, or kill a boss. Instead of building weapons and armor, instead you are building various spells with different effects (defensive, offensive, support, etc.).

The one thing I like about this game is the story - even though the story is purely found in text, I still thought it was at least decently written.

But the gameplay is what irks me about this game; it's very slow paced based on numerous problems.

First, they overdid the aspect of customization. I feel that there are too many spells and not enough of them are truly useful in boss fights (regular enemies are simple enough). To compound the problem is how bosses have weaknesses, hence switching out spells for each individual boss fight is fairly regular (you can do without, but it helps) which I think is an unnecessary hurdle.

If you're not properly prepared for a boss fight, the fight can drag on for 10-15 minutes (avg being perhaps around 5-7 mins). And believe me, there are plenty of boss fight missions.

The boss fights themselves, although interesting, the enemy ability selection I think is kind of cheap. They get a lot of homing spells that are difficult to dodge; aoe attacks that hit large areas; and bosses generally are pretty quick in movement.

The biggest problem I found though was the lack of information; I find myself regularly searching the net looking for how to set up my character (such as what good offerings are).

Overall, this game requires a lot of grinding to play properly. If that's not for you, stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

TO BE OR NOT TO BE IS THE QUESTION?

posted by TheEnd8908 (STANDISH, MI) Oct 21, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

Soul Sacrifice is an action adventure video game developed by Marvelous AQL and Japan Studio and published by Sony Computer Entertainment. The main protagonist of Soul Sacrifice is one of the innocent bystanders that have been enslaved by a powerful and cruel sorcerer known as Magusar, who absorbs human sacrifices to remain immortal. Just before the protagonist is going to be sacrificed, a talking book appears before him/her. The book, named Librom, is a collection of stories that describe past fights between monsters and the powerful sorcerer. The player character is able to enter the book's world and experience the fights in events known as Phantom Quests, thereby gaining the experience and power needed to defeat Magusar.

Pros:
Creating your own charter in the story line.
Very good story line.
Very good graphics for the PS Vita.
Saving a soul or killing it.

Cons:
Long loading times before game starts.
Like to see more actives with the touch screens.
Like to see better online servers.

Thank you for reading,
TheEnd89-08

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Renting may have ruined my experience

posted by karlaamspacher (BEAVERTON, OR) May 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

No online support for renting, so that is a negative. The story seems so "B movie" to me. I do not understand why people love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »