Rent Soul Calibur 2 for Xbox
view large frontback

Soul Calibur 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GC
GF Rating
8.2

910 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Oh the humanity!! (or lack thereof)

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Nov 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I am usually no fan of the mindless "fighting" genre of video games. Oooh ahhh, someone's heart getting pulled out after getting carpal tunnel entering some logarithm into the controller you'd need 16 fingers to master, I feel so alive now. 99% of them are just junk, or they can't accept what they are and try to go too far or get too complicated and screw it up even more than just leaving it be. Soul Caliber II is that 1% that got it right. I am not saying you're going to get a story worth following out of it, or some life lesson, but you're going to invest some time in the characters and have a blast in the process. Gorgeous scenery/background, mind boggling fluidity, well balanced characters, and a nice progressive format makes about as good a fighting game as is out there today. You'll discover some cool moves that you can do without finger dislocation and a deal with the devil too. You'll find yourself perfecting techniques with your fighter, then just leaving them by the side of the road as you select another to see what they can do, which is usually 5 seconds after that character whooped your butt with some sweet move you never saw coming. As with all the games of the genre, its pretty mindless, but its captivating, its exciting, and hey, its a boat load of fun. Go take a bad day out on the controller for a change and leave the cat alone. SC2 is a cure for what ails ya.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good game worthy of the Soul Caliber name.

posted by BIOShazard (JANESVILLE, WI) Aug 11, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game could make Yoda say "A good game, this one is." The great modes of game play, awesome storyline, and entertaining extra missions, makes you want to play this almost flawless game over and over. But sometimes you want to listen to music instead of hearing Taki scream in a dungeon, or listen to Nightmare say "Souls, come unto me!" While collecting weapons and defeating endless enemies, it does give a good vibe, but there are bad points to it as well. Going through dungeons, not knowing where the boss is going to be. Wanting to play through the game again, without having to press a button to get to the normal mission screen, you'll have to make a pit stop to the hardrive/memory processor to delete your file. It may be sad to leave the memories of your old game behind, but maybe you'll do even better then last time, getting to every stage, extra chapters and all. this is why I give this game 9, getting annoyed by the soundtrack, the sexy characters, the problem with wanting to play a new game. But it is still a must have for any Xbox/PS2/Gamecube collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

this game is good for a little while

posted by snakeeyes (ANTHONY, FL) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game needed more people to play the only good people were necrid and spawn.also it gets tiring after like ten minutes its more of a waste of time then a game i mean even hard mode was easy.and the extra games like survival mode and stuff was pointless.the game would have been better if it was online enabled but it still wouldnt be any more than above average.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

soul calibur 2

posted by Hubby32 (LA PORTE, IN) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I would like to know why I have got my second game in the mail yet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than expected

posted by Demon15 (Forreston, IL) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I had already played Soul Calibur 2 on the Gamecube, but rented this one to check out Spawn. I was expecting to find this character difficult to use and horrible to play as. I was very surprised to find that Spawn is probably my best character in the entire game. I really don't see why everyone says that Spawn in Soul Calibur 2 is horrible. He's really not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

soul caliber 2

posted by elmarko (SAINT PAUL, MN) Oct 1, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

SC is a good game wrapped in a bad game the graphics aren't that good and it gets boring after awhile the moves are barley block able and a few of them are cheap. the story line is not that different from the first one trust me i know video games this is not the best game for experienced players

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great regardless if fighting games are your thing

posted by freednerd (NORCROSS, GA) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

I never was a huge fan of fighting games until Soul Caliber came along. This game is so much fun and the weapon choices are great. If you like to fight, get some Soul Caliber today!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Soul Calibur 2

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Sep 16, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

This is probably the best fighting game available on the Xbox. The characters are cool, their weapons are cool, everything decent and controls are good. My only complaint is that you can't use the weapons more often. (That would be cheating in some people's minds)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

bomb game

posted by dankgamer (WESTMINSTER, CA) Jun 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

its fun its characters are pretty crazy and there weapons to good graphics and nice arenas but after u beat it u just stop playing it but its really fun with 2 players it gets really challenging and way funner

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Arcade Game Turned Into A Console Game

posted by deadbeam09 (HACKETTSTOWN, NJ) Feb 19, 2007

Member since May 2006

I haven't played this game on the ps2 or the gamecube, but I have played this game at my cousins house and at the arcade and it was... fabulous and I'll tell you why.

Graphics:9/10 Well the graphics aren't like halo 2, but very similar.Infact I'm sure this game will work on 360 if not somebody correct me and the characters are really, really hot. Same as the Environments in sense of detail and cemetricality. And What do yah know the Characters don't blur at all and move their moves as if they were real and by that I mean their mouths don't just move up and down they move like a humans mouth.

Game play:10/10 Do you fighting fans love mortal kombat well if your a veteran at mortal kombat than you'll be 3x better at this because even the hardest of combos are easy compared to the long mortal kombat combos. And the enemies are awesome and are witty because they counter attack, they block, they use actual moves, and when you block they will rotate around you and attack the spots you aren't blocking.

Difficulty:8/10 Well the games easy very easy because some of the enemies can do stupid things sometimes and the damage you can give them is not alot before they die thats were the second round comes in. The difficulty settings are all very easy and basically the game can be beaten in a few sit downs.

Sondtrack:10/10 Really soothing when ment to be really pulsing too all very beautiful thats all I can say.

So know you know that this is a fighting game worth renting. Thats all Deadbeam09 signing off

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »