Rent Soul Calibur 2 for GC
view large frontback

Soul Calibur 2

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox, PS2
GF Rating
8.5

1022 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Next to perfection

posted by Meekus (ROCKLIN, CA) May 26, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've never enoyed a fighter like I enjoyed SCII. Each character is beautifully designed and animated, the music is melodic and mysterious, and the game's presentation as a whole gives this indescribable feeling, like an eerie evil whispers to you through the wind...like on the brightest day the sun has ever shone but you're still overwhelmed by a darkness. i don't know, play the game for a month straight unlocking EVERYTHING and you'll catch my meaning. The Career mode is engaging, providing a plethora of challenges. Unfortunately once the career mode is 100% completely, this game doesn't offer much more for a single player. But with all weapons, costumes and characters unlocked, this game is untouchable as a multiplayer. And the best thing about the GC version is the addition of Link, which just seems more fitting in a sword and sorcery game than Heihachi or Spawn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Classic

posted by lazzyie (BOISE, ID) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I went back to visit this game now that I have my wii working again and was not disappointed. I loved this version due to the fact that I had link. The graphics are still pretty good and the game play is wicked, I miss this version of Ivy as well. If you are a fan of the series this game is still a blast and good for any retro tournament. Thanks gamefly for keeping this game in stock!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i think that this game could be my favorite fighti

posted by person1234 (West Chester, PA) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think that this game could be my favorite fighting game on the game cube the graphics are good and the fighting is awesome the only bad things about it in my opinion is that its a bit too complicated both in story line and in fighting. But if your a hard core gamer you should definitely get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

1 of the best

posted by J4c0b0 (LEXINGTON, NC) Jul 3, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the besst games for GC and in the fighting catigory it is #1 to me. This game has great graphics and enough characters for your enjoyment. The fighting system is great with each button a different action. I really loved the new option they put in this Soul Caliber, it Wepon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best fighting game for game cube ?

posted by Judaah (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 3, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This could be debatable and if it were I would say it is. The game has great graphics and great story lines no matter who it is that you play with.

Ups: The graphics, Unique fighting style of each character, The huge and challenging weapons master mode, and the variety of weapons available to buy or unlock throughout the game.

Downs: For a down I would probably say that some of the characters are to overpowered and can easily kill you before you even get a chance to hit.

Overall this game is a MUST to play. If you're an SSBM fan then this is a good game for you. The dialog in the game can get a little bit boring and during Story mode or Weapons Master mode there is a lot of reading involved but if you like to read and want the actually story behind each character then you would enjoy reading every bit of it. I give this game a 9 for its EXCELLENT game play killer graphics and just its overall fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best fighter on the GC

posted by MrChaos (SUMNER, WA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wasn't a big fan of Soul Calibur, until I played this game on this system. I liked Weapon Masters Mode because it went on forever and it helped me improve my fighting skills in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best fighting game for Gamecube

posted by maddad (OCONTO, WI) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is amazingly deep and very fun to play. The battle system is complex and the combo moves list is huge. A nice surprise is that Link (Legend of Zelda) is included as a special character. Overall, here is my review of the aspects to the game:
# of characters: 8/10
diversity of character moves: 9/10
gameplay: 10/10
depth: 9/10
sound: 9/10
graphics: 10/10
overall: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun with death!

posted by ihatesims (LINCOLN, NE) Sep 16, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is action pact always fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A fantastic addition to the series

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Jun 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Easily the best Soul Calibur game. Fantastic graphics wrapped around a complicated fighting system puts this in my top 5 games for game cube.

Pros:
Great fighting system that utilizes balance and timing rather then button pushing.
Graphicly amazing.
Good asortment of new and old characters.

Cons:
Dungeons can reduce you to button pushing because they are easy and repeatitve.
Conditions for battle don't always work correctly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Fighting Game

posted by Fusiliryan (PHOENIXVILLE, PA) May 25, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Personally, I have never been a big fan of fighting games. Sure I played Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat, but never really enjoyed them much. Soul Calibur II, however, is one of the few fighting games I like. The game offers a good number of characters, several more of which can be unlocked. But some are obviously better than others. The most basic moves for each character are pretty intuitive but if you want to do moves that look really impressive, you need to check the moves list (which is conveniently located in the pause screen). All in all, button-mashing will not gaurantee you a win, which is one reason I like it so much. This game offers a few game modes like Arcade, Versus, Adventure, etc. The adventure mode is like any there, with one feature that sets it apart. While each stage is just fighting another character, or several other characters(one at a time), you are given a goal that must be completed. They're not very difficult, score a certain number of hits, kill a character a certain way and what not. And as you travel through your adventure, you earn gold which can be used to buy different sets of weapons for each character. I enjoyed the versus mode the most. Playing against friends is one of my favorite things to do. There's plenty of variety with characters, and with the Gamecube version, you can beat your friends as Link! So this game is definitely worth renting, and if you love fighting games, this game is worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

#2

posted by linken (WATSONVILLE, CA) May 2, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is one of the coolest, greatest, and best games for the cube. For me, this is second only to SSBM.
RENT IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

get this on your mind!

posted by ThyMayhem (HIALEAH, FL) Feb 21, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I got a few words for yall...Link, Cervantes, Mitsurugi, maxi, voldo. the best players in the game...
Links uniqueness...POWER!, Cervantes uniqueness...BEST GRABS AND TEQUNIQUES!, Mitsurugis uniqueness...FAST, FAST AND FAST!, Maxis uniqueness... HITTING NEVER STOPS!Voldos uniqueness... HAS MOST VARIETY OF TEQUNIQUES AND ALWAYS MOVING...THIS MAKES IT PRETTY HARD TO GET A HOLD OF HIM!
HOPE THAT WORKS FOR YA! enojy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

soulcalibur fun

posted by RUNDAS (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 13, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome! there's no denying that but here are some tips i want to run you through 1 always choose voldo's third costume it's awesome 2 if you play as necrid choose his orange costume over the green one 3 whatever you do DON'T CHOOSE LINK!!!! besides that it's cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An Awsome game!!

posted by Gamekilla9 (PALM HARBOR, FL) Jul 20, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Since I have never played Soulcalibur before I was surprised whe this game was fun from the second I started. Okay I admit that this game would be more fun if you could play ith someone else,but even if you are alone this game is fun in the story mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Soul Caliber 2

posted by Selca5 (UPLAND, CA) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is so fun!I am a fan of Mortal Kombat,
which is a 3D fighting/martial arts game so
I definitely LOVE this game.

Pros:
3D fighting martial arts game
plenty of action
cool character weapons
cool character names(sorry had to add that)
awesome techniques and moves

Cons:
...I can't think of one!!=)

So, please try this game!!It is a very, very AWESOME
game!!Have fun and happy game playing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One of the worst GC games ever made!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible! I simply hated the story and the characters looked horrible! It was SO hard to understand the controls! Plus I hated the modes! LIKE arcade mode! Arcade mode was the worst mode in the game! I really want to give it a one! But...the game has a character from other games in it. Link from The Legend of Zelda games. (The only great one is Twilight Princess.) But they could have made him look better. (He looked HORRIBLE! IT WAS THE WORST THING I'VE SEEN!!!!) But anyway overall the game isn't worth your time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not bad not great

posted by tfp1119 (FRANKLINTON, NC) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

it was fun but the cobat stystem was not that great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Scratched soul Calibur

posted by shmanmom (LEICESTER, MA) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Sorry of such harsh words, but my copy was sent scratched! But let me tell you what happens in the game, basicly swordsmen (and women) were summond from their worlds to fight for control of a sacred sword. Suprize! Link from the famous "the ledgend of zelda" is also in this game. No other words until I recive a clean disk, fairwell sword calibur fans!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Still playing

posted by MeatPillar (Anaheim, CA) Aug 29, 2009

Member since May 2009

I got this game when it originally came out, and I'm still playing it. The game keeps track of the total hours of playtime, and mine shows almost 1000 hours. 6 years later, & still my favorite fighting game EVER! If you don't like the graphics, stick with Soul Calibur 3, the fourth one lost alot of what made #'s 2 & 3 awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Soul calibur 2

posted by Super105 (CASTALIA, OH) May 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2004

It sucked. you can beat the game within a half hour on normal within an hour on hard and extras are lame inles you want to read more about the games story and read more about the carictors and practice your fighting skils

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »