Rent Sorcery for PS3
view large frontback

Sorcery

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

270 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Move Title to Date....

posted by prneal77 (SPANAWAY, WA) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is what the Move was meant for. The gameplay was great and it was fun. There are a lot of aspects of this game that should be encouraging to those fof us who bought into Move.

While it definitely is not perfect the game's mechanics are pretty solid. Using the move to cast spells worked very well most of the time. While there is a small learning curve to, for instance curving your bolts and casting alternate spells you do not have to even use these to progress in the game. They are just added abilities that once mastered lend to the fun. After playing for an hour or so you pretty much figure out how to hit what it is you are aiming at and I rarely had to recalibrate to stay accurate.

The spells themselves are powerful enough and while there certainly could have been more spells over all the nine or ten spell types are enough for the short length of the game. There are 5 elemental groups aside from the default arcane magic: earth, wind, fire, ice and lightning. Four of those have a main cast and an alternate cast. Earth being the lone spell with only one cast type. The fun (and at times frustrating) part is mixing them on the fly to create powerful combinations to deal lots of damage to multiple enemies. Casting a flaming tornado then shooting acrane bolts into it to send fire balls all over the place is really cool.

There are other things to do beside casting magic but they are also not required to progress and beat the game though they help as alchemy is used to upgrade your spells and comes in the form of a mini game where you use the Move controller to mix them in a cauldron. Pouring, shaking and stirring are all accomplished using gestures with the Move controller. You even have to shake the bottle and tilt it to drink. It all gives you things to do with the controller and are suprisingly fun. Though fun it is limited.

With a decent story and a great use of the Move this game is not to be missed by Move owners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GoodNuff

posted by TehPWNZOR (VERNON, VT) Jun 9, 2012

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a fun game that has its own little hiccups involving small stuff like the camera (but what games dont have at least a few issues involving that) and some unresponsiveness front he controller. the controller can be solved by simply pausing the game and calibrating once in a while. the camera thing is somthing you will need to adapt to and can even prove valuable somtimes. overall its a great game that brings more life into the move but not necessarily saves it from its slippery slope.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the Move Savior

posted by wengfu (IOWA CITY, IA) May 29, 2012

Member since May 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I had high, HIGH expectations for Sorcery. After E3 a couple years ago this was one of my most anticipated games. The story feels rushed and the characters leave you wanting less. The gameplay becomes a little too simple and repetitive. This is what I'd expect from a Wii game, not an exclusive Sony title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just ok....

posted by 3stooges (BOCA RATON, FL) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I guess I was expecting a lot more, but it is a decent game. The move controller was accurate with the movements, although there would be hitches here and there. An ok game to rent, good for children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An actual game for the Move, not mini-games!

posted by Metoo999 (NEW YORK, NY) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

This is not the "killer app" for the Move everyone wanted, but it is a decent enough game.

The spells are fire, wind, lightning, earth, ice, and the standard wand blast. You have to activate each kind of spell with a different motion. Some of them are annoying to activate like the wind spell, which requires you to wave over your head. In the heat of battle, it's difficult to keep track of which motion to do, because you have 10 enemies coming at you or throwing projectiles.

You can combine spell effects, like making a mini-tornado and shooting fireballs or thunderbolts through it at enemies. There are also some easy puzzles to work through using the spells. That is the gist of the magic.

You also combine ingredients you find to upgrade your abilities. There's a fun "witch's brew" section where you put ingredients into a cauldron and mix it.

Unfortunately, most of what you're doing is flicking your wand like a gun blaster, so it ends up feeling like you're playing Ratchet & Clank with a wand.

The camera works fine, except there's no lock-on, so if you're trying to hit a boss character, you might start hitting a minion. There's a free look, but it's very limited.

The graphics and music are excellent. Aesthetically it reminds me of Dragon Age's backgrounds but with the colorfulness of the 3D Zelda games, although eventually they get repetitive. There are 2D storybook-type cutscenes that are gorgeous, sort of like the game Folklore.

This game is much aimed at kids as there's not a lot of effort put into the story or characters. Not to say it's bad, but boring. It's like a ho-hum Disney animated movie without all the bad jokes. The dialogue is funny at times with the banter between Finn and his talking cat.

If you haven't used your Move and want to play an actual game, not a bunch of mini-games stuck together, then this is it. Note, it does require the Nav controller.

I wish they had allowed more creativity with the spells.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I was Ready to quit so many times

posted by GlassDarkly (STEVENSON RANCH, CA) Sep 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Once you calibrate, do not move. Otherwise, the camera will not know where you are and your shots will be off.

I found this out the hard way. Even then, it is not a perfect wand.

Still, I did finish the game and overall enjoyed my time with it. The world looks OK, although repetitive and linear. They do a nice job with bonus potions and such, but changing spells is sometimes a challenge. Luckily they slow down time for you.

It's just ok. If you're looking to use your Move like I was, there are worse ways to spend a few hours. But be ready for some annoying moments trying to line up your shots and a sore wrist from all the flicking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Move support, Bad game

posted by looplijuh (MAGNOLIA, KY) Sep 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

This is one of those games that has a good idea weaved into a mess of cliches and just plain outdated and bad game techniques. Don't get me wrong, this game is entertaining for the first 20-30 minutes of play-time, until you repeat the same thing and beat the same enemies every single time. I do think, however, that this game integrates move extremely well, the way move was designed to work. But the overall game is very repetitive, and plain boring. I found myself by the infinite stairs/step (something of that sort) just not caring. I did like the permanent upgrades, and the idea of brewing your own permanent upgrade potions, but that was one of the two or three things I did like...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One of the best Playstation Move games out there

posted by cablenajun (ALVIN, TX) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

From graphics to gameplay, Sorcery has done a great job of appealing to gamers of all ranges of skill. The jump in difficulties ranging from apprentice to nightmare mean that a more experienced gamer (like myself) could enjoy the title just as much as a child would.

The game also presents it's story well, introducing characters and the plot in such a way that isn't abrupt or out of place. The voice acting is well above average for a video game of its caliber, and adds to the character depth.

Unfortunately, with any Move title, there is always a degree of irritation that comes with calibration of the Move motion controller. Eventually I fixed the problem, but the innacurate controls made the first few minutes of gameplay more upsetting than anything.

All in all, a great Move title, worth a buy for younger audiences, and worth a rent for older ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Magical Fun!

posted by iLuvEzio (MUKILTEO, WA) Aug 10, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I got this game for my daughter . . . but we were all captivated. The graphics are really good. This game is much better than Deadmund's quest since the main character gets to move around freely to fight and explore his surroundings. It also had an engaging story mode. However, switching between spells could be difficult at some times. Overall it's a really fun game and recommended for the "move"!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally a Reason to Use the Move

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I felt like I wasted $100 on my Playstation Move until I played this. In the two years I've had it this is only the second game I've played with motion controls on the Playstation and the first was Sports Champions that came bundled with the Move. I'm not going to say that this game justified my purchase, because one 6 hour title should not sell hardware. The only disappointment I had with this game is that the game was too short and there was nothing to do afterwards. The gameplay is fun, the characters are semi-memorable and the visuals make this game have it's own personality. It's a shame this game sold so poorly because I would have liked to see a sequel with more replay value. It's not going to win any game of the year awards, but it's going on my list of underrated games alongside Rayman Origins, Shadows of the Damned and Vanquish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Neat game for motion wand..

posted by Ncristella (MERIDIAN, ID) Aug 4, 2012

Member since May 2012

The game itself graphically is a light PS3 game something between the PSP and the PS3. The use of the wand is pretty awesome, highly accurate and a lot of fun. You can curve shots across a huge range with the snap of a wrist. There are different spells, shield, etc...

The game lacks a bit in its production again.... There are parts of the game that do strange things. One of those stuck for no reason at a part of a game without any real puzzle behind it. Its often trying to find the "secret passage" only to find out it was a small rock you had to toss in a bucket to open a door.

Beside those small parts of the game the overall scenes are pretty neat and it kind of gives simple magic a good name. Definitely something I'd like to see improved and used again in the future. Kind of makes you wonder what a Harry Potter game would be like if the makers of the matrix used this style of play in Wharthog saga.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

just about makes MOVE worth it.

posted by ReverendJerry (QUINCY, MA) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I have to say the story wasn't the greatest, game didn't last long at all. But using the wand as a 'wand' was great, flicking the wrist to throw a fireball quick tough and you'r launching lightning bolts. I'm still surprised how much i enjoyed it, probably the closest one can get to being an actual wizard with a working magic wand. Just wish it lasted a bit longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Still Not Complete

posted by ratandjmt (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2005

The game is fun and I liked the story but it has some problems. There have been many times I turned away from the enemy I was shooting at because of the camera wanting to do its own thing. The Move isn't as responsive as I hoped it would be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lot's of fun..perfect for family

posted by fader (ARCADIA, CA) May 26, 2012

Member since May 2011

This is a great fun adventure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »