Rent Sonic the Hedgehog for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Sonic the Hedgehog

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.7

3034 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Confusing....

posted by drPimp (LAWRENCEBURG, IN) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

33 out of 42 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

So, this game is not the anti-christ as the critic reviews seem to indicate, but it's pretty weak.

Good things:
-Graphics in places are freakin' awesome..
-Speed sections are cool, and gameplay when in an action level is dope.
-Cool for new gamers (like boyfriend/girlfriend or husband/wife kinda deals)
-Lots of characters and they all have different attacks and such

Bad things:
-Load times weren't very well thought out, and kinda ruin what could be a cool game.
-The town does suck, but in it's defense, some of the town missions are fun and challenging
-Character dialogue is ok at times, but at other times seems like it was written by a chimp..

To be honest, this game seems like it had every intention of being designed as an awesome Sonic game, however, maybe the budget got cut on this project because there are some annoyances that take it to the toilet (character dialogue, some "filler" town missions, load times, sonic not being likable).

I'd recommend renting it if you want to check it out, because again, their are cool aspects, but I wouldn't recommend purchasing because the cool aspects are few and far between.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Review Now Loading...

posted by TankXL (EDMOND, OK) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

First off, this is NOT a game for people that don't have a ton of patience; I wouldn't recommend it.

I heard a rumor on the net that brought me to rent this game. The rumor is, simply put, that there is a loading screen every 10 seconds during gameplay. I said to myself "There's no way that true." I got the game, put it into my 360, hit start, and 10 minutes later, I had gone through 7 loading screens, which took up a good 3-4 minutes total of my gameplay, and what I did get to play had little to no entertainment value. The loading screens actually became so annoying that I gave up on it before I even got through the first level. Don't get me wrong, I usually like most Sonic games, but this one was just boring and irritating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Seriously..... Your joking right

posted by Horcrux (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Wow... I honestly don't know what to say. I read the reviews and decided to take them with a grain of salt and try the game for myself. What a mistake; there are levels where the game runs for you and you steer sonic left right or jump. unfortunately the camera goes into these awkward angles and your stuck falling into the water or into a pit. In my opinion the game is almost unplayable. So disappointing i had such high hopes for this game and didn't want to really listen to all the negative feed back. Unfortunately I should have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This coming from a huge Sonic fan....

posted by GoldLyon86 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 1, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It sucked!
Ever time a new sonic game comes out I always play, it give a chance... Im hoping that Sonic team get it right. This game was poorly made, as if the game wasnt finished (thank god I rented it and not bought it). Loading screen ruined it, voice acting bad, game play... the worst! It hurst me to write this because Im such a fan I got Sonic Battle for the GBA and loved that... I even liked Sonic Shuffle... but this.. I dont even want to say anything else about this. I opened it, put it in my 360, play for 45 mins ( most was loading screen), took it out and put it back in the envelope and sent it back. SUCKS!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A lot of potential, not very fun

posted by IslandrFan (EVERETT, WA) Nov 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of the Sega Genesis Sonic series and after playing the XBLA old-school sonic, I wanted to try the next-gen version. I was sadly disappointed. The camera view/perspective was horrible, I constantly had problems trying to see where I was going. And when trying to go through various rings in a timed race, having a very bad camera angle makes it impossible.
Being as it came out in 2006, when the xbox360 was still young, the game has potential but falls short. The opening CG sequence is amazing. It is one of the best that I have seen and beautifully rendered. The town of Soleanna looks a lot like Walt Disney World's Epcot's World showcase lagoon.
I gave the game a 3 because I played for only one day as the camera was horrible. I constantly had to stop sonic and adjust the camera, which resulted in slower times and was very annoying. I have hopes that these early issues will be resolved for the next sonic volume.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WARNING may be harmful to you and others around U

posted by Axlthehntr (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Do you hear that sound? That is the sound of thousands of Sonic fans crying out and screaming in frustration over this game. I could go into great detail but this game doesn't even warrant the time. First off, it's a sonic game, yet it is slow, second the level designs are horrible and frusteration, you will constantly run off ledges (or through the floor or even the top of a loop in the worst cases) The controls are jumpy and impresise and the voice acting is attrocious. You will spend at least 25% of the time you play this game getting frusterated you will spend 70% of the rest of the experience on loading screens. NO game has EVER had as many loading screens as this one, it is not an exateration that you spend half of the games full playtime waiting for it to load. On a brighter note, this game does have some excellent music, so you'll actually enjoy the last 5% of what makes up this horrible game letting sonic and friends sit still while you listen to some awesome tunes, if you can find a soundtrack, buy it and save yourself some pain. The music is the only reason I gave this a 2 instead of the 1 that it really deserves. AVOID THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Can the XBox 360 handle "Blast Processing"?

posted by BraunOrgan (PENSACOLA, FL) Jan 16, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'll be honest with everyone; I'm a Mario person. I always have been and always will be. And, really, Mario has been good to me. In all of Mario's adventure titles Nintendo will not put one out until they're sure that they have a good game on their hands.

Being on the Nintendo side of the fence, I always saw the Sonic games like this: You run in the direction you're supposed to go, you try to miss all of the enemy robots (whom you can't see until you hit them, losing all of your rings), you hit little bumper things the developers put in just so you can bounce around and laugh with delight at something you really don't have control over, and you pray. You pray for the end of the level. If this is what you see as a Sonic game then I have some great news for you; This version of Sonic is just like those classics!

Even though you can see in front of you the camera system will have you running straight into the bad guys in a wonderful bit of nostalgia, so gather those rings and get ready to lose them all...IN HD! As far as attacks go, just keep hitting the A button and you can kill pretty much anything in range.

The game does have a good feeling of speed to it and you need some quick reflexes to get past the "Sonic's-in-a-hurry-and- he- can't- stop- because- he- has- to- outrun- a- tornado- or- something" levels. The slightest touch to the analogue stick will send the little blue hedgehog flying off the side of the mountain. And if you stick with it you'll eventually know just where you need to be when you have to jump because you'll end up doing it over and over again, driving yourself mad after accidentally running into a wall for the 29th time and just kind of hovering and looping around in a little Sonic Death Spiral.

The only easy parts are dispatching enemies (pound on that A button) and hitting those bumpers. And when you hit those...HANG ON! Well, not to your controller. You can put that down because you won't be doing anything until you la

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Looong Loading Times for Fast Hedgehog

posted by DirtySouth (HARKER HEIGHTS, TX) Jan 1, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The loading times on this game are long and many, and thats just the tip of the iceberg of problems I've found with this game. Before you can begin any mission or activity you have to initiate it by speaking to one of the towns people, not bad at all right? Wrong. After speaking to them and accepting your task, the game must load a scene of you doing the exact same thing you just did: accept a mission. Then the game has to load once again for you to actually begin the mission. SEGA forbid you fail the mission, it must then load a screen telling you that you failed then load the main world again and these load times are at least 30 seconds each, and some of the tasks placed before you take no more than 5-10 seconds. Thats 2 minutes of loading for 5 seconds of playtime on a successful challenge. Some of the challenges merely involve talking to a character and selecting the correct answer, and yes the game has to load 2 minutes for that to take place. Not to mention the horrible Sims-like chatter that the people speak to you in. I've ran into many glitches such as getting stuck near walls, sometimes you will start sliding across the ground for no aparent reason and can't move until you're released from the glitch. On "Board" missions I've been stuck in walls many times. I've also found a glitch with the "Purple Chip" (the one that shrinks Sonic) that you can obtain, the glitch lets you keep jumping while in the air so you can basically hover around anywhere you want to go by holding the right trigger and repeatedly jumping. The animation on most of the game does not match the voices at all most of the time, I found it painful to watch the cutscenes. The graphics aren't too bad, the music is so-so, most of the levels seem like rerenders of old Sonic Advanced stages and the controls are decent though they tend to have a mind of their own at times, and on fast running missions the controls are horrible especially for jumping over obstacles. Bottom Line: Worst Sonic Game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Hurry Up and Stop Making These Games

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Sep 28, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

I'm a Sonic fan, no matter what Sega does to him. Even Shadow, as bad a game as it was, couldn't kill my affection.

This is the best Sonic game since the Sonic Adventure titles I loved on the Dreamcast. This, however, is killing the game with REALLY faint praise.

Let's look at the positives: It looks decent. Some areas aren't painful to play. I don't mind Sliver too much. My 360 didn't red ring while playing it.

OK, now to the problems. The camera is your most persistent foe, Tails is still lame, and the town portions of the game --- which are fairly numerous and lengthy --- are bad. The undertones of human female/hedgehog male romance is just really, really darned creepy to boot. Visually, it is nice, but it's much nicer than the Dreamcast titles.

Sega needs to stop making 3-D Sonic games. The entire series works only in 2-D, which is why the handheld Sonic games are fun and these games on the consoles --- well, AREN'T FUN. At all. The 360 lacks platformers and I still cannot begin to recommend this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Some many bad reviews are NOT wrong.

posted by Jovanu (TURLOCK, CA) Nov 26, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game was bad. The other reviews are right. The bad reviews are right. I though, "Hey, maybe they just like to whine" but no, its true. Bad :::loading::: bad game. >If you play the game, you will know what I meant by that<. Well, first game I am not recommending, right here.
Sorry Sonic, I'll stick with you with my Sega.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A disappointment for a 15th anniversary release

posted by ShoLynx (COMPTON, CA) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is the first time I have ever written a review for anything. I thought I would debut with a game that I had my biggest disappointment with, Sonic the Hedgehog for the Next-Gen systems.

Sonic looks like a great Next-gen title with its significant graphics upgrade from those of the PS2, GC and Xbox, at first glance. When a player actually plays these levels, he/she may find them to be quite flat and uninspired. In fact, I enjoyed playing levels from previous Sonic 3D titles a lot more.

The control for the game is horrid at best, as it has always been with the 3D titles (with Sonic's ability to turn on a dime at any speed, sketchy inertia and lack of life saving abilities, such as hanging off of ledges and auto locking onto small platforms such as rails), but most of the levels from this game demand a lot more tedious platforming. The controls for the game just haven’t evolved to meet that demand.

The sound for the game is decent. So, I will not rant about that, but it seems that most of development was focused on the sounds and cinematics of the game. I say this, because the load time requirements for the game are horrible and most of the loading periods seem unnecessary. I mean, do we really need 15 seconds to see a NPC pan miming a simple sentence that players can read in less than two seconds, just to wait another 20 seconds to start a mini game (in most cases, isn't fun)? I didn’t. I didn’t want to see another load screen, I didn’t want to fight with the controls and I didn’t want to play any more boring levels. Stick a fork in me…I’m done.

My Rating: 1/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not that bad but...

posted by CAV1003 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I played Sonic 06, and frankly, it has its problems, but there are some bright sides. I'm a sonic "fanboy", and I thought this game would suck, but its not as bad as everyone says. But let's start with the problems shall we...

The loading time is the face of all problems in this game. You talk to a guy for a second, load. You walk up to tails, load, a small cutscene is shown, load. That is rediculous.

The camera keeps getting in the way. In one stage with Sonic you have to go up moving platforms. After I jump off of one of the platforms, in midair, the camera changes, and I die, got a game over, and to add it all, I didn't get to save. That is a problem they could've fixed.

Speed is the factor in all Sonic games. Now, Silver is an exeption, because it was never said he would be fast. But Sonic isn't as fast as in other games.

Now for the Good...

When Sonic IS fast, it is a pretty good job (not including bumping into something) and it's enjoyable.

Silver's gameplay is cool. To be able to levitate, hold things in midair, and then throw them, is an great edition to the game.

In all, the game isn't horrible, but it could've been much better. I haven't seen Shadow's gameplay so I didn't mention him, but the game is ok as of right now. I've seen worse (Sonic and the Black Knight)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I'm a lenient reviewer, but this is inexcusable...

posted by Roywill31 (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

14 out of 21 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm not gonna write much about this game since there are already plenty of reviews for one to make an informed decision....but since I saw 3 "10" scores on the first page (which I think is nuts), I had to throw in my two cents.

This game is not Sonic. I don't know what game this is....but it's so far from being a Sonic game, I don't even know what else to say.

It's darn near unplayable, the load times are horrendous (and much to frequent - I have to watch a loading screen for 30 seconds to load up one line of dialogue???), the deaths are cheap, the RPG-like town elements are completely out of place (not to mention incredibly annoying), and not being able to switch the inverted camera is just the icing on the cake.

Yes, the game has a nice sense of speed (when you're Sonic), and yes, the graphics are nice in spots....but that doesn't save this game at all.

I'm a big Sonic fan....his Genesis games, and even his Dreamcast outings are some of my favorite games of all-time....but I'm not sure what Sega did with the Sonic we all know and love....he's somewhere, but not in this game...this is something entirely different to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DO NOT CONFORM; DO NOT LISTEN TO THE OTHER REVIEWS

posted by billsnizzl (NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This was a very good game. The introduction of a new character was an oppurtunity for real goodness, and it came through with flying colors. My two beefs with this game were the camera occasionally messes up, and the title. The working title for this game was "Sonic: Wildfire", but now the name is "Sonic the Hedgehog." Any fan of Sonic will know that this name has already been taken by the FIRST GAME, and any player of this game will know thjat Wildfire would be the perfect name for this storyline, what with the "Flames of Disaster" and all. Additionally, the soundtrack to this game ROCKS. I mean, just plain rocks. Like, Sega guitar rock comes back in a blaze of glory. Play this game and be better for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sonic for 360 Takes a Few Steps Back

posted by g3n1u5 (ASHVILLE, AL) Dec 7, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Having been a fan of the Sonic series of games since the 8 bit era, and playing through the two 3D Sonic Adventure games on the Dreamcast, I was looking forward to what Sega could do with the franchise on next generation hardware. Unfortunately, Sega has failed miserably with this game. What's so wrong about this game?
1. Controls and Camera. The direction of movement is tied to the camera, which moves awkwardly about and forces you to move in a direction you never intended to go. You have a measure of control over the camera with the right thumbstick, but the controls for the camera are in reverse of what most console gamers would expect, using an inverted look setup that cannot be changed as part of the game options.
2. Slow Pace. A brutally long CGI cutscene starts the game, then you are immediately dropped into town, forced to explore around and collect certain items before you get to the first action stage. Once in the action stage, you will not find nice long stretches of gaming goodness that showcase Sonic's speed. Sonic accelerates very slowly, and cannot reach his normal top speed without the help of speed pads.
3. Confusing Game Play. From the outset, it is not clear what the player should be doing, and even in the action stages, the correct path is not always easy to find.
4. So Much Loading. Much of what you have to do around the town will require the game to load something, and the loading times are the worst that I have seen in any 360 game.
5. Game Play Gimmicks. The characters have been given some new moves and attacks, most of which are unpredictable and annoying. This game would have benefited from a simpler control scheme that is more accessible to a casual gamer.
As much as I wanted to like this game, I could not. Instead of learning from the faults and successes of the previous 3D Sonic games and producing a better product, Sega has somehow managed take a good concept and make it worse. I hope this game does not spell the end for Sonic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sonic 06? More like Sonic 0SUCKS!

posted by ILIKECAKE (DALLAS, TX) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Since 1991, the blue rodent has opened our hearts
and invaded our homes with his great speed.He has evolved from a humble blue hedgehog to an anthropomorphic hedgehog with a rockin' attitude.
Everything started going downhill with the horrendous series known as SonicX.
Thankfully, you won't see that incompetant
moron Chris Thorndyke.

-Gameplay
It's a Sonic game so it has to be good.Right?Wrong.
The gameplay is so horrible.(Ex.The loading screens
take up to 15 seconds to finish)Imagine this, you accept a side mission from a person, loading screen.
They give the instructions, another loading screen.
you do the mission,another loading screen,etc.

-Sound
The sound is decent to a certain point, so as far as music and sound effects,so you won't be dissapointed.

-Graphics
The graphics,like the sound,are decent but Sega forgot about the gameplay,so that's all I can say
about graphics.

-Overall
This game is not even worth renting because it has potential, but fell flat on its face.That is why I'm giving this game a well deserved 1 out of 10.
Never again Sega, never again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Believe the Negative Hype

posted by Sonic2Fan (JERICHO, NY) Jan 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I did not believe that this game was as bad as the review scores and word-of-keyboard has implied... but it is. I had to try it for myself but did not want to pay 20 dollars so I signed up for GameFly. Yes, the loading times are bad, even when I installed it to the hard drive via the new Xbox Live Experience's feature. The game is poorly designed in this respect, as you have probably seen in youtube videos illustrating this fact.

Let me be honest: I did not play through this game in its entirety. That being said, the game seems to be 75% wandering around the hub world of Soleanna, trying to figure out what to do, and 25% actual action-stage gameplay. Sonic controls fairly well, not excellently, but he is more than playable. Tails, on the other hand, is incredibly hard to control when in flight. It is very jerky and the camera becomes spastic.

Graphically, "Sonic Unleashed" looks better, but this game runs smoother and faster because it is a slower game.

If you're still curious about this game despite all the reviews and the few years it has been out, may this be your last warning. Stay away. Thank you, and have a happy New Year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Loading...

posted by GrowBeard (BELLEVILLE, IL) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I would like to preface this by saying that I am a fan of Sonic the Hedgehog. At least as it once was on the Genesis and DreamCast.
The sheer volume of load screens in this game made me want to die. Every 2 seconds its time to load. Want to perform this little side challenge, hold on, Loading... First I have to load the text to tell you about it. Then I must load so you can play. Then load again to get back to where you were. If you fail, more loading is required. This game would probably be fair if it weren't for all of the frustration waiting for yet another loading screen. So if you like frustration and you like waiting more than playing, this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ugh.

posted by XxZeroxX (MELBOURNE, FL) Jan 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let me begin off by saying that i am in fact, a sonic the hedgehog fan. This game however is seriously bad. There are two kinds of stages: Action stages, and town stages. Lets start off on the town stages. You run around a REALLY small town looking for people in need, buying things, or getting into an action stage. The town stages are frequently cramped, making it extremely hard to navigate (being fast doesn't help here). The quest system is 1.find person in need, 2.listen to that person talk, 3.accept, 4. 2-minute loading screen 5. more info on what to do 6. 2-minute loading screen.7.complete 8.load 9. reward 10.load. The shop is downright awful awful. with the only stuff coming in is stuff that you need for the main quest (wouldn't be so bad if you got them BEFORE the actually needed them!) Next is the action stages. These are (almost) as bad as the town stages. An average action stage is usually running and killing bad guys. So What's wrong with it? Well since you asked, Your attacks will sometimes shoot you way into different directions (which is often in a bottomless pit meaning you die!). Frequent bugs like falling through the level and running through walls into oblivion kill what could have been a good game. misc. Complaints
When you run out of lives, you get sent to the main menu. it forces you to do town stages again all thee way up to where you died (the action stages) the "checkpoints are after you beat action stages. Long load times are another complaint. like i said before each load is around two minutes and the occurs A LOT.
Pros?
Well, the pre-rendered cutscenes look absolutely gorgeous

Even if you are an extreme fan of Sonic i recommend you stay away from this one. If you must, rent it using your gamefly subscription. Don't make my mistake and shell out 59.99$ for it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst Sonic game ever!!

posted by Samsapopin (WESTPORT, MA) Dec 24, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I would play Super Mario Galaxy than play this game again. When I started to play this game it wasn`t too bad, but when I got to the end of the first mission and bounced on a spring, the game decided to make me go forward away from where I needed to be. The worst part was that I wasn`t even touchng the controller!

Another problem I had was the parts where Sonic decides to run like an idiot. If you move gently to the left or right he turns like he`s skating on ice. You can die just by not going up a ramp that you need to up. All you see while Sonic dies while running is him spinning like Saturn. One of the places where they a 1up is stupid because right after you get it you will die.

After I got a game over on the last part of the first level, I sent the game back. It`s a real shame because Sonic is one of my favorite childhood heroes and after playing this game, I think Sega will be done just like Atari.

Play the Wii Sonic game instead of this game. Unless you are a hardcore Sonic fan.

This game is bad!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Excellent graphics, but that's pretty much it

posted by Coldwater (LAUREL, MD) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

All right, The die hard hedgehog returns once again.. I love sonic games, I've played them since I was four.. but come on Sonic Team, What's with the "Now Loading........" screens, I've seen other more graphicly superior games not have this much loading time. The GamePlay itself is not that bad, the only thing that is killing this game is the loading time screens, and what is with Tails?, why are you making him sound like a young woman in every sonic game?, When Sega first introduced the character, it was "Miles ""Tails"" Power", Miles is a males name.. amazing,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sega Really Messed Up Here

posted by Brek93 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Coming from a Sonic fan, this game was utterly horrible. Long and very numerous loading screens give way to bad, unconvincing game play. It really seems like the whole Sonic Team just stopped caring about halfway through this project.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game coulda used some work

posted by Gouma99 (MONMOUTH, ME) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The level design is bad, its to easy to get thrown straight off course and to your death. Camera angles are horrible most of the time, especially in the main town. The game is extremely short but you might find yourself taking forever and wanting to throw your controller through your window.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sonic?

posted by MatthewJ (NORTH TONAWANDA, NY) Jun 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I rented this game and was purely excited for it to arrive i enjoyed sonic since the first one way back on genesis.

-To my suprise this game was very very different. Not only does it have a very RPG feel to it, but the load times are horrendous, and the missions are pretty bad as well. This isnt a sonic game where you go from one level to the next. There are very simple missions of chasing kids, and getting kids off of roofs. Which cause massive load times for one line of text. Also there is no retry if you fail, so you have to wait for it to load back to the world. Re-talk to the person, wait for it to load, so you can read the one line of text about the mission, then load again for the mission. You can be very easily discouraged from trying something again if you miss it once...
-The camera angles don't seem to keep up with sonic, and are poorly used. And they sometimes take away control of sonic from you in the middle of your playing and give it back randomly which can cause many un-necessary deaths or misses on a level. Some of sonics moves such as a light dash used to destroy enemys seem to lead you in the wrong direction even if you are directed at an enemy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible

posted by rmf724 (PENNSVILLE, NJ) May 30, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Had I read the reviews for this game I would not have rented it. It was a complete waste of time waiting for it to get here and now waiting to receive my next game.

The graphics are pretty good, but the game play is nothing like the old Sonic games.

If you liked the old sonic games I would not rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse