Rent Sonic the Hedgehog for PS3
view large frontback

Sonic the Hedgehog

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.2

2197 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good

posted by Luigi221 (PLYMOUTH, MA) Dec 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have only played the first level of sonic's story but this game looks pretty good I'm not sure about the silver's story though it looks kinda boring . But shadow and sonic's story looks awesome trust me this game is not as bad as you think. At least try it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OK, I guess

posted by mrreview22 (HOWELL, NJ) May 1, 2007

Member since May 2006

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

I have liked Sonic the Hedgehog since the Sega Genesis, so I have played a lot of his games over the years. Personally, I like that this game brought back the adventure zone system of Sonic Adventure for the Dreamcast. I also like the game play and how you can play as some of the supporting characters as well.

The main problem I had with this game was that you had to have a lot of time on your hands to play, because the game has to load stuff every time you accept a task from someone or go to another part of the exploration area.

Except for the constant loading, I kinda like this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sonic the Hedgehog, A TOTAL WASTE!!!

posted by whyiotta (QUEENSBURY, NY) Feb 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

36 out of 56 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Alright now I am a pretty dedicated Sonic fan. Im not gonna lie to you. I went to my local target the day this came out and without thought bought it. It was the only action/platformer on the PS3, and hey, it was SONIC the games that are intended to be awesome!

WOW... what a waste of 60 dollars.

I put it in and was greeted by a normal Sonic intro, cool graphics but could be found on a playstation 2 final fantasy intro. Then the gameplay kicked in... oh holy god...

first the loading... ohhhh the loading why the heck did they make it so long. For literally a two second cut scene there was a 20 second loading screen then back to another 20 second loading screen after that.... but I wanted to look past loading cause hey theres gotta be some fun right?... RIGHT?????

Wrong, i started playing and the controls were sloppy, the camera was bonking off walls going in awful positions around Sonic as he ran at what i would say is a human sprint, not very sonicy feeling.

I was just sitting there staring at this disappointment asking myself, "WHY?" What could the makers be possibly thinking? It seemed so rushed, the fun of a sonic game was flushed out of it. Glitches caused me to almost break my 50 dollar controller. You will start running and somehow fly into god only knows where direction into the water that sonic cant swim in!!! AHHHHHHH!!!! THATS NOT MY FAULT!!!!

Once i stopped cussing at the horrible single player, oh before i forget the graphics werent even that good... sonic was shiny but um yea i could sometimes see the pixalation in the cutscenes.... anyway me and my friend played the co-op, what a joke we both screamed at the tv "WHAT IS GOING ON!!!!!!!!!!"

Anyways Ill im gonna say is SONIC THE HEDGEHOG sucked, thats coming from a guy that has all the Sonics on the genesis still, both of the adventures which ruled! And, well um heroes wasnt good and neither was riders. So is it maybe time to put down the rodent?

Happy BDAY Sonic
It sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THIS GAME IS VERY FUN!!!!!!

posted by supersonics May 14, 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has one really main thing that bothers me and that was the camera views are really hard to keep at the right angle.
But all and all it is very fun but very hard, but I like it that way that's what makes fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Nice Beta guys, but where's the real game?

posted by VincentX (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Hahahaha! Okay Sega this was a great joke. No really, releasing the Beta for the game because you knew years later you'd patch or release the real game!

Hahahaha...wait, what do you mean this is the real game? Seriously? This is supposed to be a finished product?

...Oh...wow...

Seriously though, let me make this clear: this is not a good game. The controls are broken, the camera freaks out, the load times take up a literal 11% of the game, the levels feel half done and even the engine itself is unfinished and might just kill you for no reason.

The music is probably the only thing that's not bad, a lot of the tracks are fun to listen to and the main theme "His World" is fantastic.

I actually enjoy this game but that's simply because it's so bad that sometimes the bugs and problems can be funny and I've played it enough that I'm actually good at it.

That being said, only play this game if you're interested playing a Beta of a game or if you have a good sense of humor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sonic

posted by pirate (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Feb 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

21 out of 36 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Please wait while this review loads...

This is game is a complete waste of time. Even the most die hard fan will be turned away in disgust.

Loading...

This game can be characterized in two issues bad camera work & loading.

Loading...

The graphics in the cut scenes are great too bad the actual game doesn't even look close to that.

Loading...

Don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst Sonic Ever!?

posted by bsktcse (MOORPARK, CA) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

13 out of 23 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I can't believe they insulted such a great series of games with this lousy game. The controls are embarrassingly difficult and it is a really dumb storyline.

Don't get me wrong, the graphics are AMAZING! It's still Sonic which automatically makes it worth trying, but it's BY FAR the worst Sonic I have ever played.

If you haven't played a Sonic game before you will probably really enjoy it. If you are expecting another version of the old Genesis "game-of-the-year" candidates you will be sorely disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sonic ran to the PS3 too fast.

posted by offdtynnja (WICHITA, KS) Mar 4, 2007

Member since May 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Whenever a new game system comes out, long load times are commonplace. Game developers just haven't quite figured out how to work the new hardware, so load times are long. And the one franchise that suffers this the most is Sonic the Hedgehog.
As I see it, Sonic's just too fast for a new system. And it really shows here. Horrendous load times plague this "fast-paced" game. Honestly, now, this game actually LAGS during basic, non-online gameplay. It's hard to think of Sonic as the world's fastest hedgehog when he and his world randomly freeze in midair for a moment.
3D Sonic games have just gotten worse from the start. His colorful, utterly useless cast of friends is still here--furry mammels like Tails and Knuckles continue to annoy. The other main characters, Shadow and Silver, offer some alternative from Sonic's fast-paced, hard-to-control stages, though. I did find Silver's stages to be quite fun, but Shadow offers the same gameplay seen in the last-generation game named after him. But honestly, whatever happened to the 2D Sonic games with no story and all action? Those were the days...
It's a shame, really, that Sega decided to put this game on the PS3 right now. It's a much better game on the Xbox 360, but only because Sega has had some time to learn that system. They should have waited a year on the PS3. Oh, well, I guess I'll just check out the Wii's Secret Rings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not the bad

posted by floopes (GALAX, VA) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I would like to start off that I am not that big of a sonic fan. Every once and a while i will pick up a sonic game or rent one just to check it out. This sonic game is pretty decent on game play there's a few loading problems and the fact of it not auto saving but other then that its pretty well. Ive heard a lot about the controls for this game being awful. I for one disagree with that. At first the controls are a little tricky but after you get the hang of it it isn't that bad of a game. Overall i give it a 8 so if you want some speed or a sonic game at least rent this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this game is hot!!!!

posted by Bagman04b (BROOKLYN, NY) May 7, 2009

Member since May 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

You would think for a sonic game it wouldnt really have uch of a great story,but this game was more than i thought it would be.the camera sometimes gets you dizzy but other than that this is one of the best sonic games yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very Dissapointing

posted by Davis7788 (DIBERVILLE, MS) Feb 11, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

When I first saw that the game was coming out for the PS3 I was excited. I loved Sonic the Hedgehog as a kid. While the other kids were playing Mario Bros. I was playing Sonic. So naturally I thought the other reviews were just being harsh. I rented it and now I see why the others were so harsh. They have completely steered away from what made Sonic the Hedgehog what it was. The game isn't too difficult or too easy or anything like that. It is just really korny with a horrible storyline. Next gen or not, give me the Sega Genesis 16 bit Sonic the Hedgehog over this garbage anyday. At least that was fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't hate the game, hate the player.

posted by Jordano (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

As a long time Sonic fan I was more than excited to pick up this title, and I did think it was going to be an online play game, which kind of dissapointed me to find out it wasn't, but se la vie. The game play is alittle on the buggy side, but then again with a sonic game when isn't it. The storyline was simply amazing, along with the cutscene graphics, looked absolutely wonderful on my HDTV.

This game played much like the original Sonic Adventure, and Sonic Adventure 2 for the Dreamcast, which were my two favorite Sonic games ever. I was skeptical with the release of a "new" hedgehog, but Silver quickly ranks up there with Sonic and Shadow, in his own unique way he is really fun to play.

The missions are just hard enough to keep me trying to get an S rank, just like in Sonic Adventure, all in all I think this game could have been better, but I don't think it deserves as low a rating as it is getting, escpecially from self proclaimed "True Sonic" fans etc etc... it was a good game with a great story line. Nuff' Said.

~The Overlord~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sonic Next-Gen. AN OVER HATED GAME!!!!

posted by Sonicfan1 (COVINGTON, LA) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Sonic Next Gen is a game that Sega said was going to be the best Sonic game of all time, but because Sonic's 15th Anniversary was coming verry soon they rushed it and sent the game out.when it came out 98% of the people who played it said it was the worst game they ever played on the 360 and PS3 (and people think the PS3 version was worse) and i think the complete opposite. here is my rating for each parts of the game and overall. and this is MY OPINION!!

Graphics: 10
Controlls: 8
Music: 9
Gameplay: (Sonic) 9.5 (Silver) 10 (Shadow) 8
Overall: 9.5/10.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointed

posted by xterranv (BELMONT, NH) May 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When this game was released I went and got at my local EBGames. I was immediately disappointed. The camera angles are awful, the character movement and manipulation was awful. The graphics were great, but that was about it. If you're a Sonic fan, you might find this game very under par.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sonic mess

posted by Sirynx77 (BURBANK, CA) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Regardless on how it looks in high definition(not counting the framerate issues), this game just doesn't give you a reason to play it after the first stage. Which is exactly the opposite with the original Sonic on the Genesis and the first true 3D Sonic, Sonic Adventure on the Dreamcast.

I'm having a hard time believing that Sega and especially Sonic Team signed off on this mess of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sonic the poochy

posted by VitaminG (DOVER, DE) Feb 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game might be fun for your four year old. If you ever played sonic on Genesis, then don't ruin your memories of him with this game. Playing this game reminded me of how mario 64 ruined the mario legacy of the Ninteno Entertianment System.

The opening movie looks like a Final Fantasy movie. It gets you excited before you start playing and realize someone wasted alot of time and money making this game.

Seems like almost all PS3 games have amazing graphics and terrible gameplay. After playing one level of this game I took it out of the PS3 and put in the Sega Genesis collection for PS2 and played Sonic 2.

Instead of making this game, they should have just updated the old graphics and kept it 2-D.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool game

posted by jcolon1013 (RIDGEWOOD, NY) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a hot game if u did not try it get it as fast possible
yo u missin all the nice things

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointing

posted by MLynch16 (EAST AMHERST, NY) Feb 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game while it looks decent is virtually unplayable. I ran out of patience just trying to get past the first level. There are many graphical flaws and this comes no where near harnessing the power of the PS3... hopefully the next in the Sonic series will resurrect the franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by isaiahhall316 (BROADVIEW, IL) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

sonic the hedgehog is the best sonic game in the world i know it had some gliches in it but Sa and SA2 had some gliches in it to and everyone love the game.sonic the hedgehog also had the best muisc in this game. and the best graficks here some tip when you get to crisis city sonic will be runing then he jumps on the rail do not move the controller or he will fall to his death. when sonic is in speed up mode hit the sguare button to do lite dash you dont have to be that close to use it in speed up. so now this should be the best sonic game in the world

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A VERY GOOD GAME

posted by godofwar36 (Poland, ME) Jul 8, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

sonic is a good game it is a little slow but the graphics are the beast in all the sonic games. you can also play as sonic Shadow and a new hedgehog named silver who has telekinetic powers the game play is good but could be beater. the game is boring at the beginning but it picks up Little at the middle you should rent it play after the beginning ore you will just think it is boring but rent the game and play it threw

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sonic in the sky

posted by sonicforever (AVONMORE, PA) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There are so many gliches on Sonic The Hedgehog 06. Like when I was on a box I kick it and Sonic went in the sky. I kept on doing it. Finally in the end it was an insent kill. Then I was in Crisis City were on the final part were you run super fast. I jump and it took me far away. Can anyone awnser why Eilise kisses Sonic on the final level

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sonic isn't as bad as they say.

posted by Gamepady (LEMON GROVE, CA) Mar 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I read the reviews and i decided to give it a shot. I didn't like it at first, honestly it took some getting used to. I did end up playing the game through I'm am at the last episode of the game right now and it's not the greatest game but it's fun. I think it's a challenging game, it can get repetitive but it's good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG - this game is terrible

posted by ciccarone (PLEASANT HILL, CA) Mar 4, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is probably the worst game I've ever played. Did anyone test this game before they released it? Everything is preformatted, the jumps and runs. Sure the intro graphics are awesome, but after those couple minutes are over... it goes to the dogs. DO NOT GET THIS GAME. you will be very very very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Probably one of the worst games I have ever played

posted by erikbman (KIRKLAND, WA) Feb 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am so disappointed in this game. This is Playstation 3 game and characters other than the mains ones, i.e. Sonic and Tails, they don't speak. In other words, it is just text, no sound!! Load time is horrible, and Glitches, Glitches, GLITCHES!! Graphics are decent, and game play is quite bland. I feel like this game was slapped together. Very poor game. I hope this isn't the norm from Sega...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This couldn't be worse.

posted by Skiingrule (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Feb 26, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I used to love playing Sinic the Hedgehog games. Not anymore.

check it down for just another really bad ps3 game. In a 19 game list of disapointments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse