Rent Sonic the Hedgehog Genesis for GBA
view large frontback

Sonic the Hedgehog Genesis

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.8

137 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Memory Lane's worst nightmare

posted by rogenjemi (PLAINVILLE, CT) Mar 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

So it's Sonic the Hedgehog's 15th anniversary (congradulations, BTW), so it would seem to any casual observer that a reprint/update would be in order, no?
There's just one catch: you have to get it right. It took about 40 seconds after turning the power on to realize that this simple endevor had failed miserably. Playing this game on the venerable GBA system feels like playing a bad PC emulator file of the storied classic. The enemies were slowed, the classic BGM tracks and SEs were marred on almost all occasions, and several hit detection markers were WAY OFF (In the hisoric first clash with Eggman(then called Dr. Robotnik) I was able to take him down in 9 seconds because I was able to hit him from the ground! Platforms needed not apply!)
As for the Anniversary Edition, sorry, no graphics, sound, or gameplay update for you. You get to play the exact same tarnished title with only one key difference: you can spin dash(move introduced historicly in Sonic 2). Here's the kick: the game was so well designed back then that spin dashing was not required!
The only actual improvement, and the sole reason this game was saved from the stigma of a 1 rating was the added save feature. Mom just tell you to turn off that #$%& Game Boy or your grounded? Go ahead, shut her down: game save will allow you to restart from the begining of that world's zone.
In Conclusion, this game was a waste of space on my Q, and the turn around for my next game in my Q would have been brutal had it not been for Gamefly's shiny new "Fast Return" feature. But, just to give you an idea, from the time I opened the envelope to the time I had it back in the nearest mailbox was about 12 minutes (new record, replacing Sigma Star Saga's record of 7 hours). I can only hope this review can spare my fellow gamers the loss of lifespan this disappointment inflicted upon me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks horribly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by luigiman (Big Rock, IL) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

uhg..what was sega thinking. Spring Yard Zones remix is horrible,thers only one sound efect.come on this was like 10 years after the great game on the genissis,sega couldve mad this game great,but no they screwed up.this is what literly killed sonic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sonic the HedgeHog Genesis

posted by RyanBevins (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is the worst game ever. I would not buy it if I were you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sonic is cool... this isn't

posted by chumichess (TROY, MI) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is just BAD BAD BAD! Not only is it bad, they made the graphics worse, and the music sounds like a Gameboy Cracking. I played Green Hill Zone, and the next thing you know... I shipped it back.

Graphics 1.2/10
Storyline 0.0/10
Music 2.4/10
Gameplay 1.1/10
Level Design 2.8/10

Score: 19%: Really? I'd rather not have a bed than play this game!

Just...don't rent it. Please, think of the children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great Idea, bad production

posted by Raiglet (LIVERMORE, CA) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sonic the hedgehog for the genesis is and was an all time classic. So why not put the original sonic game on a portable system such as the game boy? Sounds like a great idea and all, but when its put together with small screens and fast scrolling you get (besides sore eyes) not at ALL close to the best sonic game. I also noticed that (whether or not this was the specific cartridge or the game itself), this game froze faster then sonic running into a freezer. However, Saving IS a welcome addition. The new "Anniversary mode" did not seem at all different from original mode. Avoid this game, try a sonic/genesis collection to get your sonic within you refreshed.
4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Classic!

posted by demon6270 (RINGWOOD, NJ) Jun 6, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the greatest games on the genesis. Just having this game on GBA makes it a great classic thats now replayable on the go. People who don't have the genesis are now avilable to play it without using an emulator.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as bad of a train wreck as reviewers claim.

posted by Haruhiko (GENEVA, FL) Apr 6, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is a shortened version of my full review.

=

Graphics: 8.6/10

Wonderful, very good for a GBA. Very pleasing to the eyes. Despite what others have said, Sonic character sprite does NOT take up half the screen, or even a quarter of it. I have, however, put this game into a GameBoy Player, and when you do that, it appears to shrink the playing field and triple Sonic's size, something I have never seen a GameBoy Player do. Sonic looks like he did in the Genesis days, with maybe a couple different frames here and there. I espicially liked the menu screen. It looked very sleek and it was a nice presentation. Everything is as it should be. Well... not really. Continue reading.

Sound: 6.8/10

They redid the sound. Every lick of it. The BGM has changed, and the sound effects, although not terrible, are far from great. Also, the sound seems to be slightly muffled at times and dosen't sound like it should, but again, this is a very minor issue. In the sound department, its alright. But, for the real problem of the game, read downward.

Gameplay: 7.2/10

As I mentioned in the two previous sections, there are some problems. You may be thinking 'What the heck?' and I personally thought I would hate this game as well. But I didn't. Everything, and I mean everything gameplay-wise is retained. You still have the special stages, the same levels, complete with every secret. But most people's main gripe about the game is the slowdown. And they are right in a way. It IS the worst aspect of the games faults, but its far from unplayable. It does slow down severly in some places (such as boss fights), but in places you think the game would go to a screeching hault, it dosen't do so. (the special stage actually moves BETTER than the original) It can hinder your game, but its not terribly horendous. Glitches, from what I've played, are few and far between. So please, if any of that is holding you back from buying it, I would still say go for it.

Overall: 7.9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

SONIC

posted by Lucky4me (BRONX, NY) Mar 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game kept my younger son very active and into the game. My older children did not really like this game. I felt that Sonic was ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST REMAKE EVER.

posted by AtomicPuncture (FERNDALE, WA) Jul 16, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

This game perfectly embodies what the original game was all about, from the horrid lag added to this version, to the splendid GBA screen problems in this version, it all PERFECTLY embodies this MASTERPIECE of gaming!
THIS GAME IS SO TERRIBLE IT'S PERFECT!

Just don't actually buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DONT HATE ON IT!

posted by Megafan200 (INEZ, KY) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

this was my first sonic game i didnt notice any problems when i played it the only problem i had was diffuclty it deserves a seven atlest

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »