Rent Sonic and the Secret Rings for Wii
view large frontback

Sonic and the Secret Rings

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.2

3647 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

This game is pretty iffy

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 9, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

73 out of 80 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I was torn over this game. At first, I felt that this game was just horrible, and that if this is the best Sonic 3-D Sonic game, Sonic has went way down hill. I managed to finsih the game and I'll explain my finals thoughts.

The controls in this game are hit or miss. Using the controls to home in, jump at a target, and steer work fine, but trying to slow down, and back up are just a pain in the rear. If Sonic didn't constantly run, this game would have been a little better.

The visuals in this game are pretty good. A large environment that looks great, but you cannot explore it. In this sense, its back to sonic's linear path roots. I don't like to mention voice acting in my reviews because I know that a game isn't going to be as good as say, a cartoon show, movies or whatver, but in this instance it becomes VERY annoying. If you happen to fall of an edge, hit an enemy without rings, you will restart the level instantly and hear the same speeches that you heard the first time around. It gets on your nerves very quickly.

Once you get the hang of it, this game can be pretty decent. It's super fast paced, and once you can handle it, there is plenty to do even after you beat it. I'd argue that mini-games are nothing special in this game, but the yare there for those who want to play with friends.

Overall, its worth a rent. It's a decent game after you master the controls, and the new, constant running gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The game rocks!

posted by yumisan (FUQUAY VARINA, NC) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When you play the game you can play with the wii remote and you can only play as sonic in the game. there is another game callrd sonic and the black knight where you can play as sonic knuckles and blaze when you unlock them during story mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Secret Rings Saves Sonic Franchise

posted by DaKhDude (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

20 out of 27 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Many people will tell you that this game could've been much better, and I'd have to agree with them. But what they don't say is how much fun you can have with this title. This review maps out what you can expect from the game.

Story
-----

Alright, Sonic's never been known for it's great story lines, and this one is no exception. This game departure from the Sonic formula - Dr. Eggman tries to take over the world but Sonic foils his plans. Instead, this game takes Sonic into the tales of the Arabian Nights. The Story is OK at the most, and other than Sonic, only 3 familiar characters of the series make cameos (Tails, Knuckles, and Dr. Eggman).

GamePlay
--------

Speed. That is what the Sonic Franchise has always been about. But recently, it hasn't been a focus. This game rectifies that and makes it the core of the game. You control Sonic left and right with the WiiMote as he runs through levels. This will take some getting used to, as Sonic is always running and can only be stopped by pressing the 1 button. You can also jump with the 2 button, (holding down this button allows Sonic to jump higher) and do a homing attack by thrusting the WiiMote forward while in a jump. And after you've progressed far enough into the game you will be able to get two power up's - The TiMe Break (which slows everything down) and the Speed Break (which speeds Sonic up). That pretty much sums up the mechanics, but luckily for this game it doesn't get old or repetitive.

To progress in the game the player must fulfill certain objectives in each stage. Some of these for example are; Collect 99 rings, Don't be Defeated, and Defeat 20 enemies. Each objective varies in difficulty and sometime make the game very frustrating due to having to HAVE to fulfill the objective before continuing any further. But most levels are creative and fun to play over again.

Score
-----
Good game that brings back the speed in Sonic. It shows promise and definitely needs a sequel.

8/10 for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic and the very very annoying song

posted by nobody (PERRYTON, TX) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i like this game a lot but it doesnt get fun until like two hours of gameplay and my advice is when you play this, turn down the volume completely and listen to something else.You'll understand once you play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kinda disappointing

posted by Wariorocks (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I'm a hardcore fan of Sonic, and when I say hard core, it means HARD CORE. The adventure mode had high expectations, I THOUGHT it would be awesome, it really wasn't, it was O.K. It is very repetitive and sometimes even confusing. You don't really know when you get new missions, sometimes the tutorial sometimes doesn't even tell you what to do. But, on the pro side, the party games are pretty fun, especially with friends. This game has some really high expectations, especially from hard core sonic fans, but take it from someone who is one, only rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a breath of fresh sonic air!

posted by Phantom18 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

like any revamped game for the wii. This game has a learning curve but once u get passed it the game rocks. Now most likely the people bashing this game didn't give it a chance. The beginning is a little slow, but after playing it for a while u start to notice how fun the game really is. Also the graphics and level design are awesome. so all in all give it a chance. I say rent first and when you see how fun it is add to your collection. This is a nice change for the sonic series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Robotic Gameplay

posted by OssoBuco (ESCONDIDO, CA) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Welp, unlike most of the other reviewers over here that give this title an "AWESOME" score; I'm going to refrain from doing so for the following reasons that I'll list here. I find that this is generally a good game. Sonic isn't back to form in this specific Sonic title, but it's close enough from what people have been looking for in a Sonic game. It's fast, fierce, and memorizing. This title is probably the closest kind of Sonic we've been looking for in this decade.

However, playing this gives me the confusing feeling of disappointment. Yeah, it's fast alright; but I can't shake off the feeling that I'm just playing a game meant for robots. The levels (it really plays like a "track") the game offers doesn't open itself up for creative game play. It's almost impossible to roam around the levels and backtrack yourself when your running forward because the game forces you to run forward. You can move backward, but it's difficult to do so sometime. These "tracks" also become frustrating when I'm trying to traverse the objects that obstruct Sonic's path because most of the objects are placed too close together, and Sonic wouldn't move fast enough for me to get out of the way. I end up with a feeling that most of the tracks are poorly designed (it'll really peen you off when your doing time attacks). The game play will also take a back seat to the game's story sometimes and you'll also be forced to go back levels you've already completed.

Then there's the horrible music. All of the music on this title has lyrics. It might not bug some people, but I really get annoyed listening to this fecal matter. "Why not turn it off," you ask? Well, I would, if there were a way to turn it off. SFX and Music volume is totally omitted in the options menu for the game.

tl;dr: This will be the "fast" Sonic people have been looking for in a while. But an unpolished feeling may displease some Sonic fans. Definitely worth the rental, might not be worth my hard earned cash for a purchase

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game is Awesome!

posted by Shadow275 (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 22, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

This game is really awesome!
The graphics are great, gameplay is good too.
Controls may be hard, but you'll get the use of it.
I like the way that when you get hit, you don't lose all your rings, thats a good thing :).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Another Sonic letdown

posted by DarthWinst (MONROE, MI) Mar 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Many gaming websites gave this game a really good review, and the forum for the game was buzzing with positive reactions.

I hated this game.

First you get to see the first of many many "cut scenes", which are nothing more than unimpressive still drawings with voice acting over them. They are pretty long, and since you're just sitting there listening to some characters talk and looking at drawings, they... stink.

To start the game, you must first begin with a number of training missions, and each one (though short) teaches you one move. Now, it is important to have this type of thing for a game with all new controls, but they could have easily had one longer training mission that incorporated all the moves instead of the five or six that got to be extremely tedious and boring after about the second one. Also, the one that taught attacks really started to annoy because the attack method is so unresponsive... and if you miss an enemy, just one, you have to start over. You're being penalized because the controls stink.

FINALLY, you get to start the game... which is quite boring. The graphics are pretty good, but nothing revolutionary and don't even come close to making up for the lack of game play. You basically run forward through linear levels, jumping over obstacles and attacking baddies. The turning (basically moving from side to side, not really turning) doesn't control too bad, but the attacks (which are done by thrusting the remote forward) are extremely unresponsive and only seem to work about half the time. Apparently you can upgrade the controls by reaching new levels..... yeah, you have to earn good, responsive controls. Also, this game has a GOD AWFUL cheesy "metal" soundtrack that sounds so bad it reminded me of the kinds of things "DVDA" (Trey Parker and Matt Stone's "band") do in South Park... only it's meant to be taken seriously. I loved the early Sonics on Genesis, but like the past few years of Sonic, this falls flat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply AMAZING!!!!

posted by Iamawesome (CHOCTAW, OK) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thought that wario ware was the coolest wii game. (besides zelda of course) But i have now learned that Sonic and the secret ring is the best (besides zelda of course). Sonic should ALWAYS be about speed. This game is WAY better than the latest sonic games like Rivals and the 360, ps3 one. The cpntrols aren't completely spazzy like the 360, ps3 sonic. and its not a dumb racing game like rivals. The graphics are some of the best i have seen on the wii. Definately one of wii's best games so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst sonic game ever!!!

posted by Decalyco (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2003

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of any, and i mean any of the sonic games, don't play this game. it is the biggest disappointment i have every play, and one of the worst games ever made. I actually preferred sonic racing and shadow the hedgehog over this abomination. Game play is stiff and hard to control, the cut scenes are just pictures and you have to do this really bad tutorial. You also have to do annoying side quest in order to continue the story. I almost through this piece of trash in the garbage. Don't play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very disappointing

posted by zackmorris (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Apr 1, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

When I first popped this game in I was blown away by the cheesy music. I thought this was a sign of things to come....and it was. This Sonic game does not even compare to the originals. The levels are all laid out for you in a designated path and your only job is to jump and weave around things. The multiplayer is also not too great. It's very bland, much like the whole game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay

posted by danimdecke (MONTGOMERY, TX) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game was bought for my 6 year old. He can't play it. I played it a little and it was somewhat difficult for me. But it did seem like a cool game if you spent the time to learn every move. However for small children, it's just too difficult. There are too many choices for buttons to push, etc. It didn't seem like a great game. But it seems okay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Frustratingly tedious controls

posted by Beweeg (ROCHESTER, NY) Apr 26, 2007

Member since May 2004

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The Wii is a new system with a unique way to control games. Unfortunately, not all games should be forced to use this new form of control. Sonic and the Secret Rings opens with a very long, very boring series of still images that make up the story intro and from there it's down hill.

The game itself is not flawed, it's the execution. What used to be a simple button press is now turned into madly shaking your controller with mixed results. "Steering" the character left and right by tilting the controller is pretty cool, targeting enemies by "shaking" the controller is really bad and gets REALLY tiring REALLY fast.

It's really too bad, I was really hoping this was going to be a good Sonic game. But with unnecessarily dramatic controls it gets real old real fast. Thank goodness for GameFly, I didn't waste money on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horrible

posted by xwhorrorx (PLEASANTON, CA) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This is game monotonous. I hate the controls. I didn't like the fact that you didnt really have control of the character moving forward or his speed. He runs by himself. However the wii remote is quite responsive and the game looks pretty good. I wouldn't your time on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sonic and the Secret Rings

posted by anekin007 (MODESTO, CA) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

not sure why everyone is putting 9s and 10s rating. this game is not even that good. its a game for renting not something you would keep in your collection and play it again later on. graphics are good for a wii game. gameplay is ok. sonic is not fully controllable he is always moving forward if your not braking. its nice 3d environment but you cant even move sonic around yourself. its just a game to get you by before some better 1st quarter game releases.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heres to hoping for a a game much like this one!

posted by Saviour (MANCHESTER, CT) Dec 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm a Sonic fanatic but I've also criticized a Sonic game where it deserves it, Sonic 1-3 + Knuckles where Classics, ANY Sonic game for the gamegear needed to be locked up and ignored, Sonic Adventure and Adventure 2 battle, awsome concept graphics for 1st one where a little iffy, Shadow the hedgehog (i just personally don't like Shadow) was just to satisfy those whining shooter gamers out there.

Sonic and the Secret Rings is by far my 2nd favorite Video Game and my favorite Wii and Sonic game up to date. And I've layed ALOT of games (excluding sports and racing games).

People must remember that this came out when the Wii was still a bit iffy. The controls in the beginning are hard to get used to I'll admit that. But then again what game isn't without a flaw? Sonic and the Secret Rings allows you to do what every sonic fan wants, to run at mach 3 speed while performing acrobats. given they could have done something about the comic animation when proceeding the storyline. But once you've gotten into it it's really not all that bad, it makes the Ending and Opening much more special. People may not like him as much as his Super form, but Dark Sonic is ABSOLUTLEY ridiculous, and I mean that in a good way.

I loved the musi, and anyone who says otherwise doesn't know a true Sonic theme is. I honestly think this is a great game and the little sidequests is fun, and collecting and unlocking Music, videos and History info is awsome and worth the effort.

I honestly gave this game a 10 for a reason, because this game REALLY is good, and honestly if we all listened to everyone's littlest picky opinion then there would be no games to play/

Sonic and the Secret Ring gets a 10/10 in my book and desrves a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

fun for about 10-15 mins.

posted by pHmoney (SOUTH AMBOY, NJ) Aug 3, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

loving all the old sonic games, i was excited to play this one. a next-gen sonic game that i can interact with. the storyline is corny, made to look like a comic, and if you skip the cutscenes you don't even know why your doing the level. when i played the game the controls didn't work too well. and some of the tutorials got annoying becuase i couldnt pass them. but after several tries i figured out better ways to control the game. the game was very good and detailed and looked beautiful on the wii, but it got boring and repetitive very quickly. this game is good for a child, and i wouldnt recomend it for adults.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad game.

posted by Swift10210 (PELHAM, NY) Jun 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you're hoping for the rebirth of Sonic games, you've come to the wrong game. This game is probably one of the worst games I have EVER played. Trust me, I have every console except for PS3 (That includes Pong, NES, TurboGraFX, etc.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Utter junk

posted by ShinJi (MARIETTA, GA) May 24, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Probably the most boring and pointless game I have ever had the misfortune to play. I put it back in the mail that same day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sonic and the Secret Rings

posted by RPGSlayer (PADUCAH, KY) Feb 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

If your looking for a good sonic game....this is not it. My biggest complaint is the controls. The wii remote is very responsive, but I found myself having issues moving and jumping in secret rings. The plot is dull and boring. Basically sonic is chosen to save the arabian world by some random girl fairy. This goes on the way you would predict it to. Sonic is some form of legendary hero. I feel this is another step down for sonic. Sonic has never been a platform title, but this feels like your playing one. You basically jump into enemies to attack them, and if your timing is off by a small amount you will miss them altogether.

With a better plot and some more active controls this could have been a mediocre game.

Sega need to go back to the roots of sonic, and use the same game mechanics that made it so much fun on the sega genesis.

Only rent this if your looking for something to play and have the free time to do so. Don't bother if your already playing another game. You really have to be patient to give this game any chance, and most gamers will be bored within seconds of turning it on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it was perfect

posted by colichito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was perfect till i started getting to the end i didn't like the back of the box that much but the trailer looks nasty/cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Extremely Disagreeable

posted by GameDude00 (BEL AIR, MD) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was just awful. The controller didn't seem to work correctly with this game and I grew very bored in a matter of minutes. Don't waste your time renting this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic! Wii Love You...kind of

posted by MushuPorqu (ROSSFORD, OH) May 31, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Now, when you try and compare a sonic game, obviously the ones taken into consideration are the original, Sonic Adventures series, and the Sonic and Knuckles. Well, in this case there's no way to compare for the Wii has thrown out every notion that was pre-conceived to make it brand new. This version does not allow the free roaming aspect of Adventure and Adventure 2, but makes for a great installment with very intense quickness and upgrades. Some cheesy music, but even so the game is very effective and liv es up to the Wii hype! Sometimes you may look dumb playing, but you're brain will be racing as Sonic does on the screen...just skip the story "videos" and its great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is awful!

posted by Jimbox114 (CHESAPEAKE, OH) Apr 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought the Xbox 360 Sonic game was bad, but this one takes the cake! The controls are horrible, the music is annoying, and the gameplay is just lacking. Feels like a really long bonus stage from Sonic 2 for those who played it. This is probably the worst Sonic game I ever played. Stay far away from this title and rent something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse