Rent Sonic and the Secret Rings for Wii
view large frontback

Sonic and the Secret Rings

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.2

3647 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Didn't like it

posted by Offspringchick4 (PORTLAND, ME) Jan 12, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I really hated this game... I love Sonic but this game was just terrible. Sonic is constantly running and you can't stop to get items or explore your surrounding. If you had the option to walk as well as run, this game would be much better. I sold my copy bull moose.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE

posted by ksc0130 (MIDLOTHIAN, TX) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I actually didn't get the finish the game because of bad controls... I mean they were terrible!!!! That's it... it was THAT bad!!! If there was a -100,000,000 I would put it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

played this like 4-5 years ago, hated it

posted by mackdaddyyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

i don't know why Sonic stopped being a good game, because on the old Sega... you just cant beat it

i could make a better game than this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game's okay...

posted by BludSqualo (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I bought this game around its release, thinking it was the greatest game I've played on the Wii. I was wrong. The controls can be a MAJOR pain, I mean, why SHAKE the Wiimote to attack?

The storyline is pretty good, though boss battles can be cheap. (C'mon! I DODGED that! How'd I get hit?!) And it's only good for one playthrough. Beat it once, and I'm sure you won't be picking this up again. Rent at your own risk...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Who greenlit this game?!?!

posted by Barkus (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

The only reason I gave it a 1 was because there isn't a 0 or -1 on the rating system. Yet another example of Sega trying to take a side scrolling platform and make it into something it isn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed

posted by Games12341 (BRIDGEPORT, CT) Aug 17, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I am very disappointed and I didn't like this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sad excuse for a game

posted by awitucky (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Very repetitive single player game. Instructions for multiplayer game are awful. The multiplayer game is a cheap knockoff of Mario Party.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THE RINGS AND THE GAME ARE BAD!!!!!

posted by COOLTOAST (UPLAND, CA) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

I kept crashing into walls and dying over and over again.I had trouble using the controlls and holding it the right way. I even had trouble getting the mini turbo to work.This game is very frustrating...its hard!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

1

posted by disgaea (WEST DES MOINES, IA) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

the way you control sonic sucks it is as simple as that if you can find a way to control him be my guest. other then that is a good game if you can control him

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a fan

posted by WiiFan1 (RALEIGH, NC) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Could only stand playing for 10 minutes. Enough said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game totally sucks

posted by narutoben (PLEASANTON, CA) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

sonic and the secret of the rings is the worst sonic game i have ever played all you get to do is to steer with the wii remote and it's really easy to mess up i hope they make sonic and the dark knight better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Possibly Worst Than E.T.

posted by jameshall4 (LAKE CITY, FL) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

In my History As a gamer i have played my fair share of bad games. But Every once in a while, one stands above the rest. I have to admit I haven't Played a game this bad since Superman 64.

Bad Controls, (Hold Wii mote on its side and tilt.) What were they thinking? its not a racing game. I suppose they wanted you to feel like your racing through the horrible levels. Truly Though tilting the wii mote forward to go makes it near impossible to achieve such speed, so the whole shpeel there seems really pointless.

Like games where you can explore the environments freely? Well your out of luck here, instead enjoy being guided through the level by linear tracks and terrain that limit you to only going one way.

Stupid storylines are common in sonic games, but this game goes above and beyond to show you the lack of effort that was put into this games.

How many gamers like comic books? I'm Guessing not too many. Well have fun watching comic book style cutscenes, that are in black and white most of the time.

THis is a horrible game, hands down
If your looking for something terrible to laugh at try the 360 and ps3 renditions of sonic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

disappointed to the extreme

posted by Kiefer32 (SEGUIN, TX) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

very disappointed with this game. Game play is not all that great with just the control of just tilting the wii remote. no personal input unlike the original games. story line is uninteresting, the game cube sonic games have a better story line than this. just terrible. not worth the rent or the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst ever. ...ever

posted by ScottLaura (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

Can you shake a stick? You'll still fail at this horridly engineered horror of horribleness. With the worst movement system of all time, you are forced to navigate recycled terrains by tilting the wii remote with its overly sensitive gyro (but ironically unresponsive game movement). The game design expects you to be psychic in order to stop your mad dash on a dime, jump into the air and thrust the wii remote forward to destroy the enemy you couldn't have seen coming (Yes this is the only way to take out an enemy. Frankly, I'd rather roll dough with all that push-stick-forward motion). And that's just the adventure mode!
Do you enjoy being rewarded for the fruits of your labor? Don't try the Party mode! In this mode you play several fun minigames in order to move forward on one of the many race boards. Luckily, the outcome of the minigames have no effect on your characters progress! Because of the randomly attributed traps and bonuses awarded on the board, after spending a full hour winning every minigame, I was able to come in last place regardless!
Enjoy this worthless ball of hog at your own risk. Just don't say I didn't warn you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible just horrible.

posted by hahk13 (GLENSHAW, PA) Aug 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

The worst game that I have ever played it must go close to superman 64. The graphics are alright but there is no point to the game. You do not even have to do anything most of the time, the game is completely unhelpful, horrible storyline, worst sonic game.

Pros

- Okay Graphics

Cons

- Gameplay is lacking a lot.

- Storyline is horrible.

- The game is unhelpful.

- Has to be the worst sonic game created in the history of the sonic series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

all wii no sonic

posted by duanek2 (VACAVILLE, CA) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

this game is all about the wii controller and not about the game. does not live up to the sonic brand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Death of Sonic The Hedgehog.....

posted by chb619 (SURPRISE, AZ) Jun 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

This is the only boring wii game i have ever played. Not only is the story boring and complicated but each level is a living nightmare to sonic fans. I loved the other sonic games for gamecube and even the really old ones but this game killed the franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad game.

posted by Swift10210 (PELHAM, NY) Jun 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you're hoping for the rebirth of Sonic games, you've come to the wrong game. This game is probably one of the worst games I have EVER played. Trust me, I have every console except for PS3 (That includes Pong, NES, TurboGraFX, etc.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I didnt know....

posted by Elvaanish (COLVILLE, WA) Jun 20, 2007

Member since May 2007

I didnt know it was possible to make a game THIS bad. Almost unplayable, horrid controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by fairygurli (FALLON, NV) Jun 14, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I really thought this game was a discredit to the nintendo wii. Its impossible to keep the wii remote straight at all times and trust me... that cost me alot of unwanted losses. The graphics are great but the game just sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst sonic game ever!!!

posted by Decalyco (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2003

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of any, and i mean any of the sonic games, don't play this game. it is the biggest disappointment i have every play, and one of the worst games ever made. I actually preferred sonic racing and shadow the hedgehog over this abomination. Game play is stiff and hard to control, the cut scenes are just pictures and you have to do this really bad tutorial. You also have to do annoying side quest in order to continue the story. I almost through this piece of trash in the garbage. Don't play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Utter junk

posted by ShinJi (MARIETTA, GA) May 24, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Probably the most boring and pointless game I have ever had the misfortune to play. I put it back in the mail that same day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is awful!

posted by Jimbox114 (CHESAPEAKE, OH) Apr 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought the Xbox 360 Sonic game was bad, but this one takes the cake! The controls are horrible, the music is annoying, and the gameplay is just lacking. Feels like a really long bonus stage from Sonic 2 for those who played it. This is probably the worst Sonic game I ever played. Stay far away from this title and rent something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

where's the speed?

posted by qulqun (PLAINSBORO, NJ) Apr 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

it appears that the sonic seres has lost it's best thing. raw blazing speed. because most levals are objective based you end up having to akwardly back up just to kill 1 enemy. the seres really does need to go back to the time when it was just go for point a to b.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Frustratingly tedious controls

posted by Beweeg (ROCHESTER, NY) Apr 26, 2007

Member since May 2004

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The Wii is a new system with a unique way to control games. Unfortunately, not all games should be forced to use this new form of control. Sonic and the Secret Rings opens with a very long, very boring series of still images that make up the story intro and from there it's down hill.

The game itself is not flawed, it's the execution. What used to be a simple button press is now turned into madly shaking your controller with mixed results. "Steering" the character left and right by tilting the controller is pretty cool, targeting enemies by "shaking" the controller is really bad and gets REALLY tiring REALLY fast.

It's really too bad, I was really hoping this was going to be a good Sonic game. But with unnecessarily dramatic controls it gets real old real fast. Thank goodness for GameFly, I didn't waste money on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse