Rent Sonic and the Black Knight for Wii
view large frontback

Sonic and the Black Knight

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.4

1957 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

My honest opinion...

posted by RazorX10 (RAEFORD, NC) Apr 12, 2009

Member since May 2007

56 out of 63 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I've heard people say that this game sucks because the story is too short, the lack of speed, bad controls, and (now this one shocked me the most) the fact that sonic has a sword. So I asked myself, what should I do at this point? Should I just blindly agree with everyone and say that it's garbage because they said so, or should I actually try the game and see just how bad it really is? I chose to be smart and venture into the 2nd installment of the Sonic Storybook Series and see if it really is trash.

Now honestly, when I was playing this for the first time, I wasn't expecting much out if it either, but when I played it for about an hour, I started developing my own opinion. So here's what I think of Sonic and the Black Knight.

Graphics:
The opening cutscene looked amazing. The enviroment was just great... and that's all I have to say about the graphics 'cause they don't concern me much.

Music:
When I heard that Crush 40 was coming back to compose the music, I just said "OK, I am definitely playing this game on it's release date." and it was awesome. I don't care what anybody says. "Knight of the Wind" is simply epic. In fact, this song can make almost anything sound epic. It's THAT good. I also liked the music at the Molten Mine stage. The intro reminds me of Mega Man X for some reason.

Multiplayer:
Avoid the multiplayer mode like the plague. The controls are suckish, everyone moves like tanks, it doesn't work! Just... no!

Gameplay:
The controls were actually decent. Instead of tilting the Wii Remote to move, you use the Nunchuck, Which is a huge improvment over Secret Rings. You swing the Wii Remote to use the sword and it's pretty simple to get used to. Just don't swing like crazy.

So yeah, when you beat the game, there's not much of a reason to go back other than beating the rest of the missions. Therefore, this game is NOT garbage. It's just good. It's no masterpiece, but it's worth renting at least. Since I'm a hardcore Sonic fan, I'm keeping my copy.

Graphics: 9
Music: 8
Gameplay: 7
Fun Factor: 7.5
Replay Value: 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool game hard bosses

posted by sonicfan64 (SARASOTA, FL) Jul 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really like the game alot but it was too easy for my taste but if want a sort of easy ,sword fighting action pact game with formidable bosses this is the game for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Swords and Spikes (On Hedgehogs)

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Mar 13, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

This is probably my second favorite Sonic game. I wrote my Sonic Unleashed review too early, because I realized, that while the daytime stages were fun, the nighttime stages were not. So, I looked for a replacement, and The Black Knight fills that hole quite nicely. But it's pretty short. Plus, the 3 extra characters you unlock are not as easy to use as Sonic. You might think the guys at Sega has lost their minds, but they pulled this game off in fine fashion. Give it a shot. You might like what you get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome graphics, but too easy

posted by CAS1997 (COLLEGE PLACE, WA) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game was great except it wasn't challenging enough. We got through it in a day...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great sonic game

posted by malboja (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

unlike most people i like the new things in sonic games and sonic and the black knight is awesome. just play the game its short but theres lots to do rent or buy it. its great for sonic fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sonic and the black knight

posted by RyanBevins (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I like the sword fighting, it was good action, Sonic cuts like a smooth knife- this game had great graphics- and If you are a sonic fan you will enjoy this game. Otherwise I would not recommend it if you do not like Sonic. My favorite character in the whole World that is real is Sonic. He lives in Puerto Rico, and it is warm there-

Sonic is cool this game is great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

"Sonic"'s back, but not as good as he used to be

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 24, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Two things that I would not thing of putting together - the legend of King Arthur and Sonic the Hedgehog.
But it's an interesting backdrop to Sonic and the Black Knight. King Arthur's powers has gone to his head and he's turned evil. His magican, a girl named Merlina, takes Sonic out of his dimension and into hers.
She asks him to put an end to Arthur's rule, but first the hedgehog has to learn how to use a living sword she gives him.
That's right, the sword Sonic uses in this game is alive, and it has a snobbish attitude about it. (By the way, is there a way you can tell boy swords from girl swords?)
The game mostly plays like the other games in the franchise - you speed your way through levels from start to finish and pick up rings.
But this time, you have to slash the bad guys with your smart sword. To do this you shake the Wiimote.
It works - but you have to use steady, firm swings of the Wiimote and not frenzied arm waves.
There are boss battles that are sword fights, but I found those to be bland. To beat the bad guy (or gal) I had to wait for them to strike a few times, then I can counter attack.
This waiting to strike takes a lot of the fun out of the game. The last battle with King Arthur is really infuriating.
And giving rings to the citizens of the kingdom is a chore. Why do I have to play a timed button pushing mini game when I could just give them the rings?
The multi player doesn't measure up, either. It's your basic beat up the other players or team up to beat up a bunch of knights.
Still, there's still a lot of levels where Sonic does what he does best - go fast and get rings.
If only they could complement it with another feature that's just as fun. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sonic and the black knight

posted by frank543 (O FALLON, MO) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game has a perfect story line, but it is way too short for the required missions to clear the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A step in the right direction for Sonic!

posted by fuzzwump (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This is (probably) the best game ever with hedgehogs and swords. You play Sonic the Hedgehog, a speedy blue character we all know and love. This true-blue hedgehog now steps into the world of King Arthur (the middle-ages)
You go around fighting knights, including 3 characters I'm sure we all love: Shadow, Knuckles, and (who else?) Blaze! The storyline is VERY fun, though slightly short-lived. They could've spent more on graphics, considering the storyline goes as slightly moving characters in the pages of a book (remember Sonic and the Secret Rings?). I won't give anything away, but let's just say it has an EPIC ending!
The game play is very different from what we've experienced before, and at first may seem a little strange and difficult. But once you get the hang of it, the storyline and multiplayer sword-fighting battle mode is really quite great!

For those of you who don't like to read, here's me overall rating:

Storyline: 9.5
Game play: 9
Graphics: 8.2
Sonic Speed!: 9
Multiplayer: 9.5

Overall, I reccomend you should at least try this game, I believe you will like it! And it is a MUST for any Sonic the Hedgehog fans out there! (such as myself) Stay true, blue dude!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Sonic Cycle Continues

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you value your free time. Let me save some of it for you. Skip this game. This is NOT Sonic. It's a game full of lame Wii waggle, and running in straight lines. I have nothing else to say about this game actually.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excalabur sonic

posted by yumisan (FUQUAY VARINA, NC) Apr 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It;s a game tha continues from sonic and the secret rings. Sonic and the black knight is another good game that is almost similar to sonic and the secret rings. One thing that is different is that instead of controllng sonic wuth just the wii remote you can controll sonic withe the wii remot and nunchuck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!!!!!

posted by jb2008 (QUEENSTOWN, MD) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

One of the best things to hit the wii its speedy in a good and bad way bad the story is to short good its the speed we love from sonic games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another Mediocre Sonic Title

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Mar 28, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sonic is about speed. Take that out of the picture and all you have left is a hedgehog. Though this game doesn’t take it completely out of the picture, the breakneck twists and turns you’d find in most games of the series is severely toned down here. As he’s lugging around a bluntt sword, both physically and verbally, it’s not exactly a shocker to hear but the loss of velocity is coupled with another problem; Sonic’s patented acrobatics don’t come into play half as much as they should.

A massive loop in the middle of the stage doesn’t do much to advance the story or gameplay but it gives the player something to be excited about. Here you might run into one of these obstacles once or twice the entire route of stage. In previous outings, you’d be likely to see more action in the first fourth of the map as you do in all of Black Knight.

One of the biggest upsets is they failed to include a move list anywhere. So the entire time I was playing, I was frantically swinging around without knowing if I was about to pull off a sweet move or screw up. Missing from most of the game is the ability to forge new items as well. Ingredients are found at the end of each level. However, there isn’t a use for most of them up to the point where Sonic takes down King Arthur, which is basically the entire game minus a few stages and the final battle.

All in all, Sonic and the Black Knight is about as mediocre as you can get. What usually defines a Sonic game is all but represented here. The slower pace and absence of unique obstacles that usually go hand in hand with the series brings the fun to a halt in more ways than one and the extremely short play time is definitely a drawback. However, the game still retains some amount of fun with the quirky dialect, multiplayer modes, and mildly entertaining gameplay. I believe it'd have been a much better experience if the controls were properly explained. It just fails to thrill and becomes yet another notch in SEGA’s Failed Sonic Ideas belt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a bad/good game.

posted by Pracchia (UNION, MO) Mar 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After about an hour of playing I would say the first 15 minutes were the best. The levels are just too bland and I really felt that I could not lose. I just kept progressing to the next (short) level. My 10 year old did not like the game at all, and my wife would rather play the old Genesis version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Child's Story

posted by Derek6 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Here's the skinny; Sonic has been an emblem of gaming for as long as side scrolling games were cool. The unfortunate thing is; that era is dead. So how does sonic switch from side scrolling to almost first person? Quite well actually. This game plays beautifully and the graphics are the best I've seen on the Wii yet.

From the start it reads like a typical child's story involving kinds, queens, knaves, and everything in between. The problem is that this gets extremely boring and if you're older than 10, the story line gets old quick. Luckily the story line is skipable but when you get down to it, the story didn't even need to be there from the start.

The fact that Sonic has a sword makes this game one of the best games involving the hedgehog since the earlier installments. You can slice through the air with the remote and run on a guided path with the numchuck. The game play is fun but there is a problem; while going at high speeds it becomes near impossible to time your swings to slice through the bad guys. This causes a lot of stopping and starting in the game, but you overlook it quite easily.

All-in-all this game is worth a short for anyone who grew up with this franchise and thinks it's cool seeing sonic with a sword in hand.

the good: graphics, the sword
the bad: story line, slow remote reactions at high speeds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game kinda sucks

posted by sasuke1o (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

8 out of 19 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I mostly don't like this game for one main reason it is way to short. One night I just had nothing to do then went out to get the mail. Sonic and the Black Knight had just arrived. I was really shocked after playing the game for one and a half hours that I had beat it. I was sitting there for like five minutes just thinking that's it. I have been waiting for about a year for this game to come out and that's it. That's my only problem with the game though. The CGI opening is so cool though my brother was watching it with me and he just said, "OMG that had hecka good graphics". Also the controls are way better than Sonic 06' or Sonic and the Secret rings. Overall this would be the best sonic game on Wii but sadly the game is way too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Knave the Hedgehog

posted by EclipseGry (SANTA ROSA, CA) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

It's true that the base essence of speed is there, in the sense that the game is "on rails". But instead of using just the Wii Remote you now control Sonic's movement with the nunchuck, with the Wii Remote reserved for swinging sword attacks. Oh man was that disgusting. You're zooming through the level, enjoying the game, then a monster pops up and you have to start swinging the Wii Remote wildly in an attempt to dispatch the fiend as soon as possible. It totally wrecks the whole sense of speed and it's implemented so poorly that I honestly gave up on the game just after two hours or so of playing it.

Not to mention that there was tons of stuff left unexplained. At the end of each level you gain a couple of items which you have to spend "Identification Points" to identify; stuff like donuts, swords, flowers, chili dogs, and so on. The problem is that as far as I can tell the ONLY purpose these items have is as virtual gifts to other friends of yours who have subjected themselves to this waste of time video game. You're also constantly being told that your skill level is going up and you are gaining new abilities, but you are never told just where to go to figure out what those abilities are or to view them, or anything. It's like the developers figured that Sonic and the Secret Rings had a user interface and gameplay that worked too well, so they decided to put it into a blender and hit "frappes".

Sonic and the Secret Rings wasn't loved by the entire world, but was generally well received and did a lot of things right. So here's my note to game developers who want to make sequels: don't fix what was right in your first game, fix what was WRONG!!!!!!!

Oh, and quit pitting Sonic up with a silly sidekick. PLEASE. This time around your sword, Caliburn, speaks with a faux British accent and insults Sonic whenever possible. Hilarious, isn't it?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best Sonic Games Ever!!

posted by hobieone (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 10, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This Sonic Game I better than i expected it has a great storyline complete with voice acting that made you just want to play more to get to the next part. I agree along with what others said about the game has that essence of fast speed. Which is what sonic is all about! and like tenchu, & call of duty world at war has some of the best graphics seen on the wii to date. Also for the added touch that put this game over the top for a 10 was easy to get into controls & the online competition has a nice touch.

now i thought sonic unleashed was going to be hard to top but this one is a lot better in all fields. so much so that i bought the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by gmerdude12 (UKIAH, CA) Sep 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

enough said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst Sonic game ever made

posted by samworld (OLATHE, KS) Aug 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Sonic and the black knight is too hard the story stinks stay far far away from this!!! One thing is Sonic should not be holding a sword this is by far the worst game I have ever played in my life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hedgehogs and swords, bad combination

posted by pielover44 (Phillipsburg, NJ) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game isn't necessarily bad, it's annoying. If you're reading this, you probably know that you play a speedy hedgehog named Sonic. And you probably know that you are in medieval times. The cut scenes are quite nice to look at since they look like they were hand drawn.
The first levels go off without hindrance. Just run through the level, killing one-hit-kill enemies. A complaint right off the bat, I know that it's Sonic and all and you're supposed to go fast, but when you attack, you just can't see Sonic swinging his sword (which is quite fun to watch) because you're going to fast.
The missions you undertake are pretty straightforward, but some don't really tell you what you have to do. There's one mission later in the game that has you grinding on a rail trying not to be hit by mining carts. In one part, the mining carts are frequent enough for you to be hit, thus losing the mission.
The graphics are pretty good, without much flaw. I don't really like the music, which gets annoying if you listen to it long enough.
Overall, this game is bland. Aside from the sword swinging, it's not much different from other Sonic games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Sonic Game Ever!

posted by sonic101 (POWAY, CA) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

sonic and the black night is the most assuming game i have ever played in my life! I like how it has combos and how it has knuckles and shadow! I recommend you people buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LONG LIVE SPEED!!!

posted by gamer2009 (GARNETT, KS) Mar 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

This game is so Cool! The Gameplay Is So Perfect
And the songs are Awsome
Crush 40 - Knight Of The Wind
Crush 40 - Live Life
ALL END - With Me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

below average framerates, why are we even fans

posted by ArcadeGuy (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

We compromised everything. And for what? Sonic Black Knight isn't even a Sonic game nor is it 3D gameplay. It's an on-rails hack-and-slash but the game is choppy, jittery, and the platforming and controls very frustrating for gameplay so contrived.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sonic

posted by sin3114 (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Mar 7, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

sonic game is a very good game I would buy it, I give it a 8. and now they have dvd's loving it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse