Rent Sonic Unleashed for Wii
view large frontback

Sonic Unleashed

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
6.6

1597 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Has Sonic made a comeback?

posted by wolffster (MARION, NC) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

18 out of 21 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

(Before reading please note that this is a review for the Wii version of Sonic Unleashed as the Xbox 360 version is different from this version of the game)

Ever since Sonic the Hedgehog 2006(Xbox 360) people have been wary of new Sonic games because of how bad the game was. So many fans were hoping that Sonic Unleashed would bring him back. In the end it does just that with some problems.

Let's start with the pros.

-The daytime stages are a lot of fun and show what Sonic has always been about running really fast and going through obstacles.
-The cutscenes are exceptionally good for the Wii.
-There is alot of unlockable content in this game to keep people playing.
-The music is very good and there are many memorable themes.
-The boss fights are alot of fun and are very memorable.
-If you do not want to use the Wiimote and nunchuck you can also use the classic and gamecube controller allowing you to use the one that feels the most comftorable to you.

Now it is time for the cons.

-While the daytime satges are fun at night you switch from fast paced action to very slow paced repetitive brawling with the Werehog.
-The night stages can be very repetitive as you are pretty much doing the same thing every time soon you will eventually wish for the night to be over.
-The dashing move for the Werehog which is done by double tapping the control stick is very annoying when platforming or fighting on small platforms.
-The story is mostly lackluster and very simple but this not a huge problem and it does have its moments it is just not as great as some of the other games.
-The game only takes about 11 to 12 hours to finish not counting unlocking everything the game has to offer.

In the end Sonic Unleashed is a huge step forward for Sonic. It brings back the speed that made him famous and the daytime stages are alot of fun, while at night things get very boring and repetitive. Hopefully with this game Sonic will be able to keep on running fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Interesting Game

posted by hobieone (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 19, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game game is hard to sum up really it has some great qualities and some annoyances.

First of all the cinematics and over all graphics were great. the controlled were easy enough to learn.

Guess the best part of the game aside from the good storyline was the daytime missions/levels. this is where sonic goes back to old school whth some classic 2d side scrolling mixed with some 3d platform action based on breakneck speeds that made sonic famous in the first place! if the entire game was like this with level upon level i would definately buy this game.

The nighttime missions where sonic was a warehog is where i docked this game and was that it was't fun it was dispite speed was not the focus and this part happens entirly in 3d. the main problem i had with it was it should have been balanced with the day time stuff as it it is most of the mission happen at night and not enough of the speed of sonic during the day time missions. it should have been like 50/50 or 60/40 in favor on the daytime mission after all sonic is about speed!!

but the developer were on the right track in bringinf sonic franchise back around. but sonic unleashed isn't fast enough. bring us a sonic game like the day time missions with tons of levels like sonic 1 & 2 then i'll say sonic is back!

The game is worth the rent as for purchasing that where i have mixed feelings about the game does have some good qualities but the night missions get boring after awhile mainlt due to ther are so many of those than the break neck speed of the day time ones

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome, but not unleashed.

posted by knoxville (ANTIOCH, CA) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Sonic Unleashed is an amazing game. It really brought me back to the 3-D style of sonic adventure 2 and the 2-D style of sonic on the sega genasis. Why a 8? It's because I got so fustrated on the night stages. The controls were troublesome. For example, when I was on tiny spots over a endless pit of death. I would fall immediantly! So sega please make a game just like a regular sonic game. Just to run on stages 3-D and 2-D like this one. No warehog or any ridiculous things like sonic the hedgehog for 360. I just want a good sonic game. But I guess I would be asking for too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Loading screens

posted by Tigerice45 (HONOLULU, HI) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Seriously, it's bad enough they keep trying to resurrect Sonic 2-3 times a year but when you start up a game and the tutorial is broken up by 3-5 loading screens, Sonic just screams "LET ME DIE!" The first hour of the gameplay has about 20 min of loading screens. This is not to mention that the story is very used. Wow... sonic turns into a weresonic at night. Oh don't forget the amnesiac assistant that you are trying to help "find his memories." You would think they could improve the storytelling a little...... but with the times they have tried before... maybe not. Anyways, i may never rent another sonic game again. The classics are the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by Sonic50 (EASTPOINTE, MI) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I just wanted to say this game is awsome! I have played many Sonic games, I would not say this is the best Sonic game, but it is pretty fun. The controls are good they are much better than the controls for Sonic and the Secret Rings. I would also say that I like Day time better than Night. The graphics are very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

C'MON SEGA

posted by warzoid67 (BRYANT, AR) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

first off this game is pretty good with the day stages, but the night stages are ok. sega just needs to quit going into these different styles and make just a pure strait-up sonic game with every character and be able to play as sonic, shadow, and silver. no storybook theme or anything just make a hardcore sonic game with great graphic and still a great sonic story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

speed unleashed

posted by acra123 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

a lot of people, including myself, agree that the daytime levels and cgi cutseens are what makes this game great... but i think the night time levels are some of the best parts of the game. there not really that hard and who doesn't love bashing baddies heads in? i will admit they are long and no matter where you go your going going to have to fight. you really cant walk 2 feet without fighting in a night time level but mainly the game is fun. the graphics are amazing and bosses are just the right difficty for young players and anuff of a challenge for more experienced players. a great game for sonic and casual gamers alick. buy it now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

90% Back to Original: But Still Overcomplicated!!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Nov 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The controls are good and it feels like the original. However, the night version is terrible and should be left out, the story can be taken out for a whole bunch of levels and on top of that they are short. There is only 1 place to go in each town and this is way overpriced.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Think I've just Discovered the BEST GAME EVER!

posted by Ross10 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Oh my God I seriously think this is the best Sonic game ever. All I can say is it's just amazing just amazing. YOU ABSOLUTELY HAVE TO RENT THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sonic Unleashed

posted by lsa0611 (WHITEWATER, WI) May 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My 12 yr son really liked the game, but could never figure out how to kill the last part of the finishing monster. Some parts were very difficult. It did keep his attention for 2 months!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

much better than expected

posted by wiiwb3000 (Springfield, MO) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was going to be another sonic and the secret rings, poor control and gameplay, but it actually is alot like the older sonic games for gamecube where you can move wherever instead of left and right. Id recommend it if you like sonic games like me. Its one of the better ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's better than the other versions in some ways.

posted by BlaxxShade (GOLDSBORO, NC) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If haven't played Sonic Unleashed for any system yet, I'd recommend this version. I played the 360 version first and it was nothing but frustration, so I gave the Wii version a shot. It's better in terms of gameplay, but not by much. The Werehog stages are split into 3 Act stages so you won't have to spend 20 minutes doing the whole stage, the maddening platforming is still there, but it's not as annoying on the Wii...most of the time. Attacking with the Werehog with the remote and nun chuck is fun and you can pull of about a dozen different combos, but it's hard not to use the same one over and over again. You want use a new combo, but you end up doing another old one instead, depending on each slight movement of the remote and nun chuck. Sonic the Hedgehog's stages are fast and cool, but are really short, except for the last stage, which will really get on your nerves. Overall, I recommend this version over the others because it's less frustrating and it's more fun. I actually never beat this version either though because of one Werehog part on the final stage. I like Werehog Sonic, but if he just didn't exist at all I think I'd live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok, But Lacking

posted by psocket (WALLINGFORD, CT) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was a bit disappointed, when I started the game, to see so many "introductory" levels, which are meant to show the user how the controls worked. Instead of putting them together into one all-encompassing level, they made the task much more difficult by splitting them up into what seemed closer to a dozen.

After I got through the beginning portions however, the game didn't get much better. Instead of game play, the user must navigate a multitude of incoherent plot lines and sit through far too many "video" segments; parts where the characters talked and tried to explain what little and fragmented story there was.

Overall, I spent more time waiting for levels to load, talking to characters and listening to the game tell me how to initiate jump, move and fight sequences, than actually playing the game. If you can wait through all of these things, the game is ok. Otherwise, check out something else.

Note: game is much better with classic controller, instead of Wiimote and Nunchuck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Best to be forgotten

posted by LoyalRebel (DOWNEY, CA) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sonic Unleashed breaks all the rules of good game design. The training missions are not only forced on you but they are bookend with horrible loading time. I don't need a whole mission to teach me how to jump. Every time I actually tried to play the game the game would freeze sonic and give me pointless tips or dialog that is unbearable to handle. It took literally 30 minutes to get through all the junk and to be able to play the first real level. By that time I was already done with the game and all hope is lost. Though the normally sonic missions had some hope of fun game play the WARE-HOG version of sonic game play just feels unnatural and annoying. I am a sonic fan and was actually looking towards this game, hence the Sonic Unleashed poster on the wall behind my desk at work. The only reason this game got a 2 and not a 1 is cause the graphics looked very nice for a Wii game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

one sentence.......

posted by dividedsky (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Worst Game ever, I mean honestly........just horrible!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not my style game.

posted by timmr33 (FREEPORT, MI) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I only played it for a few minutes. Its just not my style of game. I thought it was boring and stupid. Nothing like the sonic I remember from Sega

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I'm sorry but this game is horrible...

posted by Smashbro (JUPITER, FL) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Sonic unleashed for wii can is like a meal, your en tray is a big opening of great graphics and sonic blowing up eggman's ship once again and then eggman tricks sonic and he's turned into the beast and is thrown down to the destroyed Earth. Then you get your main meal which consists of stupid story line with a side of lame because you meet this flying thing that can't remember his name so you have to go on a quest to help him remember his name... The controls are kind of slow and the initial game play is repetitive and not that fun... daytime you just run forward and there is none of the original fun from sonic the hedgehog or sonic adventure 1 or 2, then when you get to night time beast sonic isn't any better in my point of view. so if you are a fan of sonic and the secret rings then this game is great for you because it's just a big repeat. and for the sonic fans like me you should just stick to the originals because they are still the best!!! don't rent or even think of buying this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by bobman (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome

graphics 10/10
gameplay 9/10
storyline 9/10
overall 9 and a half /10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Last one I'll play

posted by kgut09 (AMERICAN FORK, UT) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Fun game but way to many videos that you can not bypass. Sorry Sonic you have lost me playing your games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

There's a werehog on the loose!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Mar 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Sega seems adverse to giving players a straight-forward 3-D Sonic game in the vein of the original Genesis titles. Every iteration of Sonic includes unnecessary twists or changes to vary gameplay or appeal to a different audience. I'm still waiting for Sonic to go back to his roots, but until then, we have Sonic Unleashed.
To it's credit, Unleashed has elements of Sonic's past. When Sonic is his normal speedy self, the levels are fast and fluid. Speed and reflexes are key and it starts to feel like a real Sonic game. Not that this is without problems. The camera changes perspective automatically, although it isn't as confusing as you'd think. More importantly, there are some challenges Sonic has to overcome that will leave you at a standstill (what did it for me was the "Don't break anything, even though there's tons of shattering ice all over the place and you're running 200 mph" level). The problem is, these challenges are necessary to advance further in the game. It's still fun while you're playing.
Then, you have the werehog, Sonic's nocturnal alter-ego. Playing the werehog levels are completely different. Jumping, swinging and beating up tons of enemies is the name of the game here. It's not that bad, but targeting enemies is awkward and it breaks up the typical Sonic gameplay. Since this makes up about half the game, it becomes a real problem.
There is a story, which is just as good as any Sonic title (which is to say "passable"). There are villages you explore where static characters talk to you in text boxes, but have little of use to say. You have to talk to them, though, so you can find the next level.
Plenty of unlockable music, art, etc. will give you reasons to explore and the main levels challenge you to get records times, rings, etc. This adds to the gameplay, but the game has too many flaws to make it work. It has some of the Sonic essence fans want, but doesn't include a whole game to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ehh

posted by Byrdman (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm a big sonic fan but this is not what I was expecting. The gameplay features more dialog and busy work fillers so that when you finally get to go out and do what sonic does best it is hardly worth it. I was looking foward to a quick passed game but instead sonic turns into a wolf... and in doing so slows down the fun. Terrible game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sega's officially screwed up

posted by parodiebro (WARREN, ME) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I think that sonic unleashed is a OK game when you pick up a new sonic game your like " oh my god i can't wait to see how fast he runs or how the levels are" but with this game it like as soon as you hit a dash panel and keep running sonic like it looks like He's going 2 miles per hour but sega put a LOT of dust behind him and makes it look like he's going fast but you don't belive it right another thing is the night stages god! its like theres some much freaking cracks scattered its unbelievable hard and frustrating and when you finally beat the level you have to either do some more stupid missons(day time most of the time) and for day you have to do the most frustrating one don't break the jars and you HAVE to beat it I know what your thinking screw him im going to try it for myself i have done that PLEASE DON'T buy this game! you'll waste the worst fifty bucks ever in your life

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the best but...ok.

posted by GamingChamp01 (UNION CITY, OK) May 21, 2013

Member since May 2013

The game is ok. The werehog idea is BORING!!!! I mean srsly! I'd rather be playing daytime levels than play the night stages. The night stages are long and boring. Once you start playing you'll be all pumped up and exited to see what it's like, then, you'll be happy you got the level over with at the end. The day levels are so fun but there's not enough of them. The graphics are nice, the controls are okay, soundtrack isn't that memorable, but okay. And for once, a story that kinda makes sense. So, it's good but not the best. I recommend this game to people with lots of patience and can go slowly through 2 or 3 night levels in a row.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sonic unleased wii awsome

posted by dsdfrshgfg May 19, 2013

same as the ps2 version just that graphics are the best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i thought it was first sonic with blood

posted by supergameultra (BEAVERTON, OR) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

When I played it was good, it had a quality with lots of action,it had a challenge with no frustration (well just a little).WARNING SPOILER DO NOT READ IF NOT WANT TO BE SPOILED: The day stages are great the night is even better with log arm stretch fighting skills and power. Even though the day stages where a pain I still had fun thats why i rated this game 10…… million!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse