Rent Sonic Unleashed for PS3
view large frontback

Sonic Unleashed

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
5.5

1791 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

amazing gameplay ... for a third of it

posted by thinkbomb (KAYSVILLE, UT) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

story = the stink. it's downright awful, slow, unskippable, and too much of it

night time modes (Werehog) - plays like a poorman's God of War, though it is somewhat amusing, not totally bad. It's decent, you won't be cringing every second of it like you will the story

graphics = actually really good, though all the shaders they have in it sometimes eats away at the frame rate when you need it most.

daytime modes (classic sonic) = ultimately amazingly awesome! this is the best part of the game and makes me wonder why they included the rest of the stuff. It seriously brings a smile to my face playing these parts.

So yeah, recommendation is entirely dependent on how much you want to play great oldschool sonic, and if you're willing to put up with the rest of the subpar game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay game, try it first.

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Dec 14, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I rented this game and it is pretty good. At first when I saw the opening cinematic, I thought the graphics were incredible, but then I played the game when it wasn't a cinematic, they kinda stunk. Don't take it the wrong way, this game is fun, but you might wanna try it first.
The day levels are really fun, but the night ones are a whole lot harder and not as exciting.
The voice acting is pathetic and it is hard to listen to it. At the same time, the only reason you will listen to the talking, is because 1: You can not skip the videos, 2: You will listen to it because you want to play the game.

Pros: Day levels are a blast, impressive explosions, Sonic the WereHog looks cool, controls are pretty simple cinematic graphics are cool.

Cons: Playing graphics are not good, voice acting is unbearable, night levels can be annoying, some characters are annoying, and the WereHog walks so slow!

This game is decent, I recommend that you try it. Sonic is back, but he still has some kinks in his games that need to be worked out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this is NOT a bad game

posted by Sonic211 (THE WOODLANDS, TX) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Would everyone STOP saying this is a bad game? Because its NOT! Sonic Unleashed is the freaking best Sonic game EVER. Gamespot, IGN, and Gamespy, you need to shut your piehole up, because you don't know a good game when you SEE IT! This game deserves a 9, so I'm givin it to SEGA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

you guys gotta be kidding me!

posted by superg (BLAIRSTOWN, NJ) Jul 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

what the heck is worng with u guys!!!!! this was indeed the best sonic game in existinse..... night stages were a little poor but the day stages AMAZING high speed action as run as fast as a mustang straped to a rocket while beating ther living pooop out of that fat eggman!! you go around the world in the game to save earth by buting it back togethor becuuase the seven continens broke apart! and i also heard there making a similar game without te werehog!!! its called sonic colors. but while your waiting for that why dont you play this game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game but not perfect

posted by antonio200 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is really fun but it suffers from a few problems first the werehog stages are way too long the should be about the same runtime as normal sonics the graphics are awesome and it suffers from a few bugs contro;s are really easythe framerate falls down on those epic parts but overall its fun
graphics:9
controls:8
gameplay:6
sonic stages:8
werehog stages:7
overall fun o' meter:7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

day = awesome, night = abysmal

posted by kampret (HAYWARD, CA) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

14 out of 27 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Got the game today, will return tomorrow. Wanna know why? Read on...

First of all, whoever thought the night stages (werehog) should be in the game deserved to get fired. I started playing during day stage which is incredibly fun. Only two stages, then it switches at nighttime. This is where it all went wrong. The gameplay plays very slow during night stages, and sometimes borderline frustrating.

Seriously.. is there any way to skip the night stages, and just play when sonic is.. well... sonic?

Too many loading times... Too many idiotic conversation with human-like NPC who looks.. idiotic... are they even trying? I'm not expecting the conversation to be overly deep... but make it a bit smart, at least...

flight stages is okay.... but doesn't really add anything to the experience...

really... the day stages... when sonic is fast is really awesome.. night stages kills it... such a shame :(

sega... cmon.. sonic is about SPEED.. anything other than that unnecessary... until they understand this, this series would never pick up..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic impressive, Werehog good

posted by Rikku41 (SAINT ALBANS, NY) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sonic Unleashed is pretty good. The most fun part is the daytime stages. They are awesome! The nighttime are cool. I like to beat the snot out of monster or anythinhg else that comes my way. For me, the nighttime stages keep me entertained and going, not like the other games I beat so fast. The other i beat so fast, i get bored with them. Sonic Unleashed isn't great, but it is worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sonic has gone part Hedgehog and

posted by Darumafu (MESA, AZ) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

part god of war . Play sonic as his superfast self and at night he's all warrior . Nice change of pace . Well thought out . Now your never to old for sonic .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its cool.

posted by iFeelLikIt (SAINT CLOUD, FL) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Daytime is definitely Very fun!
Nighttime can get a little slow.

overall: 7.8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST SONIC GAME EVER!!!!!!

posted by Sonicfan1 (COVINGTON, LA) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm just looking around for another Sonic game when i see this game and rented it. and holy CRUD!!!! this game is awesome!!!!!!!!! the story is cool!!! i love the hedgehog and werehog stages!!! i dont mind exploring the hub world at all! the only problem i have with this game is the sun and moon medals. WHY?!! any way the medals arent THAT bad but theyre a little repetative. the graphics in both cutscenes and game are perfect. FYI, SEGA made this thing call Hedgehog Engiene use to go 350 mph and it's perfect for the hedgehog. i love the music and the theme Endless Possibilities. so here's my score

Story:10
Graphics:10
Gameplay: (hedgehog)10 (werehog)10 (hubs)10
Music:10
Voices:10
Overall: 10/10!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Poor Sonic

posted by Badness (HUNTERSVILLE, NC) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This low rating is not due to GameFly. BUT, this was on the bottom of my Q of about 18 games and they sent it anyway. Hint: Only keep about 4 games in the Q at a time.

Anyway -

I just wasted a rental on this garbage. Spent a VERY LONG time on watching the intro. Finally had a chance to play the game and after 30 seconds of playing - the disc was calmly sealed back in the mailer and dropped in the postbox.

Poor Sonic - not the Sonic that I once loved and played hours with. Goodbye old friend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very disappointing

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Dec 12, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Sonic is one of those games that seemed to be rushed out just to take advantage of the holiday selling season. A few more months in development could have ironed out all the bugs in this game and given us a decent Sonic game. First of all, the level design is very uninspired. The regular Sonic levels require you to run fast. This may seem cool, but the way the levels are constructed you will be bumping into obstacles, falling of cliffs far more frequently than you should. The controls themselves are to loose to allow precision in maneuvering and jumping. The night time levels, where you play as a werewolf Sonic feature a mix of platforming and fighting. The platforming is executed decently enough, but the fighting becomes monotonous very fast. And given that you fight pretty much the same kind of enemies throughout makes it all the more frustrating. The basic moves Werewolf Sonic gets is 2 attack buttons, which you can alternate to create simple combos, a grab button, and jump. You collect aura from enemies to level up and get a small boost of power. Rings, like in all Sonic games, keep you alive. The music is a mix of island tunes for the regular sonic levels, where you just run and jump, and simple guitar riffs for the fighting levels. Don't even ask about the stupid character interactions and really bad voice acting. Kids may go for this game, but is Sonic even cool anymore?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

game not worth it

posted by Playdoe101 (HERCULES, CA) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

when i got this game i thought it would be awesome but then again, i was wrong. you start out in the daytime which is fun. but then it turns to nighttime which is repetative and boring. WOULD NOT BUY OR RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worth a try for Casual Gamers

posted by JustPlay (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I found the game to be rather dull. Neither the fast paced running puzzles nor the nighttime fighting sequences were able to keep my interest for longer than a couple of hours.

The daytime levels were easily the better of the two. Like old sonic games with better graphics, you need quick reflexes and sharp memory to beat the level. Except that only applies if you care about trophies and getting high ratings on a level. Otherwise, everyone will slowly stumble their way through and hope the next one is better.

Boss levels are the only rewarding ones, but suffer greatly from repeated play. Once you know the pattern, there is no more challenge or fun.

The night levels with where-sonic are even more draining. You slowly move from room to room, hitting the same bad guys, and doing it again. This was not the sonic game I wanted to play.

Lastly, the cut-scenes are terrible. Bad jokes, bad acting, and intended for 5 year olds. And you can't skip them. Nuf' said.

For the casual gamer, looking for a slightly challenging game that is family friendly, you found a good renter. I believe most gamers would find this too repetitive, slow, and not challenging enough to warrant interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sonic is he really good?

posted by shaneh150 (ORLAND, CA) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

NO this was the worst game i have ever played in my entire life. i personally recomend it to no onei feel sorry for who ever bought it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not so bad, if you can't do normal Sonic

posted by BlackDove58 (LONG BEACH, CA) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Speaking here as a non-typical sonic game player I have to say: I don't get why everyone hates on this game. The story is cute in the same way that any Sonic story is. I mean IT'S SONIC! This is meant for kids. It's not exactly going to be Final Fantasy or God of War content here. Also if you're looking for a Sonic game that works like all the others LEAVE NOW. Because unlike say Mario, the SEGA team likes to try new things and this is them trying it. As a result, part of it feels like a Zelda game in that you're beating up bad guys and solving puzzles that involve blocks to get into the center of temples to save the day. The other part is classic sonic. The only complaint I have is that they should have had is better camera controls for the werehog levels because otherwise you're doing a number of blind jumps due to the sucky camera angle. I mean at least a first person option so you can look around was in order I think. But really other than that I think this is fun. If you've been afraid to try the sonic series due to all that crazy speed making it impossible to understand the levels and actually get through this is a great game to jump into the sonic world with. If you're a die hard classic sonic fan. Shut up we know it isn't the same. Let the rest of us enjoy it already.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I'm putting my foot down! This game is good

posted by edsupersaiyan (FORSYTH, GA) Feb 8, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

hello everyone, edsupersaiyan here for my first game review. And what better game to start with than by far the most underrated game in the sonic library. It would seem that fans have officially lost all hope in sega, what with their "stupid games" and "lousy bullcrap ideas" on how to make sonic more enjoyable. And this game no doubt had alot to do with this new cosensus that all sonic games are "junk"

but anyone looking to buy this game, dont listen to the so-called fans. This is a good game

first off, lets start with

what worked:

the nighttime stages: flame shields up! Thats right, people, I like the night stages. And not just like, I LOVE THEM! For me, their a perfect chance for a breather after the CRAZINESS that are the daytime stages. Many people call this a god of war ripoff....and their mostly pretty much right. But is that a bad thing? No! So for all you people who hate the nighttime stages, but because you played them yourself, all the power to ya if you dont like them. But for all you innovation hating fanbrats out there, just give this game a chance and come back to me then.

the daytime stages: in this game, there is no form of doubt in your mind that sonic is the fastest thing alive! These levels are CRAZY! But in a good way, I admit it can get a bit too crazy on this port so if you want the crazy tuned down just a hair, go for the PS2 version.

the upgrade screen: Thank the lord for this part, otherwise the nighttime stages wouldve been SO BORING! You can upgrade your moves, your strength, your life etc. and the daytime stages are no exception either, you can actually make sonic faster!

nuff said

alright, lets look at

what didnt work:

the overworld: I'm sorry, but when you can DIE in the overworld, which has NO enemies in the daytime. Thats a major flaw

the camera: This camera does whatever it wants, I cant say much more because of the word count, sorry :/

all in all, this game is defiantely worth your time, 8/10 che

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Sonic Game!

posted by Mrsonicisawsome (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game probably has the most story and character development out of any Sonic The Hedgehog game! The gameplay is fantastic with mixing Regular sonic levels where you blast through each stage with the fastest thing alive and the werehog where you take on a God Of War type beat um up style of gameplay where you are just mowing down enemy after enemy with you vast assortment of moves and combos. Overall 8/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STUPID

posted by ilikepie405 (GARDEN CITY, ID) May 19, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

IT WAS SO STUPID DO NOT RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is sort of....off.

posted by crazysonic (SPRING VALLEY, NY) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

Sonic Unleashed is one of the games that you would really be excited about but not what you expect. (trust me, I have been there!) First of all the gameplay. The day stages in this game are a little fun but not as much as the previous sonic games. Its just grind then run, grind then run,(to repetitive!) and sonic is not really sonic. He runs so fast that you dont maneuver the great. Also sonic seems a lot heavier.the night stages almost made me fall asleep. You always fight and collect stuff that really didnt make it fun. The combat moves are impressive but the levels are far to slow.(not fitting sonic at all.) The games cutscenes are also not good. The people seem to cartoonish and dont fit in with a sonic games. Sonic Unleashed is an ok game but rent it, DONT BUY IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Hated it!

posted by Cassey (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Mmm....This game was pretty WACK! I didn't like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bad

posted by jformin (NEENAH, WI) Dec 26, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

The game sucks controls dont work!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

zzzzzzzzzz

posted by archerC (EVERETT, WA) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

i hate this game the story plot is boring and it maybe just this game but i fall threw walls and the floor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horrible Gameplay . . . Unleashed

posted by JDSlasha (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

Sonic Unleashed is a game that is hard to describe. Sonic fans will undoubtedly tell you that the game has some merits, and as a Sonic the Hedgehog fan myself, I can tell you that there are a FEW, emphasis on the word FEW, things that kept me going back to playing this title. First off, the game is essentially two games in one. There are day time levels that feature high speed Sonic the Hedgehog goodness. It is with these levels that Sonic Unleashed ALMOST got things right for Sonic. The daytime levels were nice and fun to play at times, but aside from the excitement of seeing Sonic go really, really fast, it disappoints me to say that 75% of these levels are horribly designed. Most players will undoubtedly play the same levels over and over again because the level designers have made it so that unless you know an obstacle is coming around the bend, you will fall into them which either slows down the momentum of speed you had going on, or instantly kills you.

Unfortunately, the latter of the two is usually what happened and I found myself having to turn the game off to keep me from throwing it out the window. There are so many cheap death spots in these day time levels that they take a good percentage of the fun out of playing them. The second part of this game is designed so you play as the gimmicky "Sonic the Werehog". This is where Sonic Unleashed falls into the category of horrible games. This tacky attempt by SEGA to create something fresh with Sonic unfortunately fails because of poor control response and once again cheap level designs. These night time stages are mundane and repetitive and as you progress later into the game, they get cheaper and cheaper.

Sonic Unleashed is a game that has very little going on that is worthwhile. The music has been improved thanks to an orchestral score, but sadly, not much else shines with this one. Play it if you feel like you need to, but even Sonic fans might want to stay away.

-JD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

sucked

posted by racer0911 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

this game was tooo boring! my fiance is a sonic fan and she was disapointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse