Rent Sonic Unleashed for PS2
view large frontback

Sonic Unleashed

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
6.6

510 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Kidish!

posted by protogamer (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love Sonic games because most of them are you know either based on racing (Sonic Riders) or fighting (Shadow the hedgehog) but this game tried to combine both and it didn't really work. I couldn't really tell you why it sucks but it just gives off a suckish smell as soon as you play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST SONIC GAME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by hello1 (LONG BEACH, CA) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game sucked i almost broke my dang neck trying to play the game you cant even skip the cutscences. the cutscenes werent even worth watching and sonic was way to fast to control plus they hyped it up way to much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Sooo Close!

posted by SCLIFF (DANBURY, CT) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is so close to having old fashioned Sonic goodness. While I realize the old days of a game like the original Genesis Sonics has passed, the makers of this game seem to remember some of the things that made those great and then added a bunch of junk to fill space. Let me explain: the games play is divided into 2 different styles "day" and "night". Day is full of the things we loved about the originals: simple, fun and fast game play. The "night" part transforms Sonic into a "Were Hedge Hog" whose levels seem more like a game that would have been competing with Spiro the Dragon on the original PS. The night levels have nothing "Sonic-Y" about them and seem really dated and slow. I wouldn't have minded putting in some sort of fighting levels but at least make them fun and fast rather than an exercise in button mashing and making well timed jumps over bottomless pits (something I always hate). Not to mention the stupid story framework that does nothing for me but stretch the game out. So my score reflects an average of an 8 for the "day" and a 4 for the "night" levels. Oh and as a p.s. my wife (who still plays the original 3 games at least once a week)wanted to know what happened to the cute woodland creatures Sonic used to liberate!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Genesis Sonic Tops "unleased sonic" hands down

posted by WolFMan666 (MAHOPAC, NY) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Game is good when your actually playing it, sorta. controls are weird, they dont allow you to change the camera angle as you run sonic around, not to mention all the cut scenes that you cant skip. That makes for a very annoying game, especially when you have to sit there for scenes made basically for 5-12 year olds. overall the game is decent but i would rather hook up my old genesis and play sonic on there or DL a copy and play it on my computer than play this game again. But it is a good game for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The game is okay I suppose

posted by HockeyGuy (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The controls are kind of hard with the Playstation 2 analog stick, and the graphics are average at best. The loading times really take the fun out of the game as its constantly saving after everything you accomplish. If you are a Sonic The Hedgehog Fan and need to play a Sonic game, I might reccomend Sonic Heroes instead of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome game

posted by mrbobed (NEVADA CITY, CA) Apr 12, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is a overall great title, but the continuous night stages can get a little tedious. a very good but kind of confusing if you don't know the whole sonic storyline considering the chaos emeralds and ect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An RPG that I dont hate... Wow.

posted by joeyhustle (ERIE, PA) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I would GUESS this was an RPG and the mini-movies were a nice, albeit somewhat corny touch... but nice nonetheless. Flying Squirrel creature was too much of a Daxter rip-off though. Interesting changes to Sonic regardless. Still rediculously easy after 10+ years were the controls, as they should be and what can you do to make Sonic less old-school? Fun twist on an old favorite. Loved the Werehog form as well as the regular Sonic. Challenging game. Didnt play long, but I would most definitely buy the game if I were you...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The game that should be called "Sonic Adventure 3"

posted by gamer2009 (GARNETT, KS) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Since SEGA made Sonic Adventure and Sonic Adventure 2 Sonic fans wanted SEGA and SONIC TEAM to make the 3rd Sonic Adventure. Well! this is so dang good this game should be called Sonic Adventure 3 Unleashed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

will sonic ever comeback?

posted by raney1 (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since May 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i am angry at this game, itstarted out nice with a cool title great movie and awsome day stage. but, there was the werehog. it was the worst thing on earth i cant say more! goodbye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A decent game

posted by pdiddy (Medical Lake, WA) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Very fun game. A little to kiddy but all in all its an easy game to get into. My favorite part is when you are a ware-hog cuz it reminds me of God of War with the moves and you also gather orbs to upgrade your moves and health. I would recommend this game to anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!

posted by BethanyB (KNOXVILLE, TN) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I did not play this game for even 5 minutes when I got to a dead end and could not go anywhere else! This game really sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addictive!

posted by LilMomma78 (ARAB, AL) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

My son wanted this game so we rented it, then I started to play with him----and we began fighting over who was gonna play each level! This game is so addictive, once you start playing you can't stop. The switch between Sonic and his WereHog side were pretty fun as both have different attributes to their character. And the levels have different medals you can get which adds to the competitive side of all gamers (I was determined playing over and over again to get the best times and scores--going for the gold). So even after you beat a level or the whole game, you can still go back and try to get a better medal making gameplay last longer. This is a really fun game and great for kids to play too. My son is 6 and he handled this one on his own pretty well. I'm wanting to buy this one because we liked it so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great game

posted by busymommy (DOWNEY, CA) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

but the problems are alot of loading takes place and not like the other sonic games it doesnt show all the controls as you go through the game like when you go through the question mark circle thing. It goes by like jump over the obstacles to get to the ring...you get the ring...loading...use your drift move to get through the path faster and touch the ring...you touch the ring...loading...just like that well ya thats it I like it but if you cant save its to boreing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

what else is new??

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Jul 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

it's a sonic game.. it's the same old thing over and over.. running about collection rings at high speed.. yes.. there minor things here and there.. but.. um.. it's still pretty much the same stuff.. the good things didn't stand out as much as the bad things. like loading.. loading.. saving.. saving. This is the first time i hate auto save in games because of this game.

Sega should have just focus their time/money on series that bringing in money.. instead of keep keep renew a series that pretty much dead to most.

if you have kids less then 9 yrs old.. this would be good game for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

game didn't live up to hype

posted by SGC1974 (KINGSPORT, TN) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

when i first saw preview pictures for this game in game informer i thought it be great title,but sonic unleashed was big dispointment to me after i played it,i think sega needs go back to drawning board with sonic the hedgehog franchise .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Well

posted by lizard5 (DANVILLE, CA) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

AT first it was hard to run and night mode is hard to use arms.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »