Rent Sonic Rush for DS
view large frontback

Sonic Rush

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

913 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finally! A GREAT new 2D Sonic game!

posted by Blueblur (MIAMI, FL) May 30, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After some semi-decent Sonic Advance games, Dimps and Sega deliver with Sonic Rush. What's the difference? For once, the game revolves all around Sonic's speedy gameplay (as opposed to the Advance games in which all the secondary characters were slower than Sonic and had more platforming elements).

Using both screens for crazy speedways, Sonic Rush is clearly the fastest Sonic game since the original Sega Genesis titles. Sonic's new Rush move (its pretty much a dash) makes him and new character Blaze even faster than before. The special stages use the stylus to move Sonic on-screen while collecting rings and dodging bombs just like in Sonic The Hedgehog 2.

Some boss fights play in a psuedo 3D mode and are very original for a Sonic game. As for the audio, classic Sonic music is replaced by energy packed tracks that sound like they came from Sega's Jet Set Radio series. Its a nice change of pace and matches the game fantastically. This is what Sonic needs more than ever; a solid, fast Sonic game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finally a great Sonic the hedgehog game!

posted by Rpgfan51 (MATTESON, IL) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

The creators of this great franchise finally did it right with Sonic Rush, for the review i'll put it in categories

Story-7/10
The story is pretty much the same as most Sonic games,Eggman is once again after the chaos emeralds to use their power to take over the world.The new character is nice but it's still a little clich├ęd'.

Graphics-8/10
It's a little odd to have a 3D character in a 2D environment but nonetheless it's still very vivid and colorful.

Gameplay-10/10
It's just natural Sonic here which is a good thing, they also brought the old special stage system from Sonic the Hedgehog 2 back except you use the your stylus. It's both fun and innovative for the new system a little more use of the touch screen would be nice though.

Sound-9/10
The music is great and old sound effects return but it's a little annoying to hear Eggman says the same thing over and over again after you beat him.

Overall-10/10
Classic gameplay,music,and fun is all a Sonic games need to be great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sonic Rush is great!!!!!

posted by Bloos1RP (FOOTHILL RANCH, CA) Apr 21, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Sonic Rush is a great game with great stuff the game play is awesome with Sonic and Blaze. The graphics are pretty good too. The best part about this game is the music and boss battles. If your a Sonic fan you should get this game.

Graphics:A-
game play: A-
Bosses: A+
Music and Sound: A
other stuff: A-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Sonic Rush- All around, an OK game

posted by cementsock (COVINGTON, LA) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Playing sonic rush was a very nostalgic experience for me. The game was classic SEGA sonic style, and I thuroughly enjoyed the side-scrolling 2d style. The boss fights were semi-3d, so it was a cool hybrid experience for you.

However, I was dissapionted in one area: It was for the DS. Let's get this straight; I love my DS, and admire its capabilities, but games for the DS generally have to be molded AROUND the DS. This game feebly tried to creatively use both screens, and failed miserably at it. Also, there was never any use for the touch screen, which makes me sad. :( Perhaps this should've been released for the gameboy instead.

The DS aside, this game was fantastic gameplay wise. Still, it felt short- I finished the game off in about 4-5 hours. Also, this game lacked a chao garden that the other sonic games had.

Lastly, sonic rushed lacked one more thing: a tutorial. There was no way to figure out the controls. One time I spent 10 minutes at one spot, jumping over and over because I didn't know how to r-dash because it was NEVER MENTIONED to me.
All these items aside, the classic sonic gameplay was just enough to save this title for me. I just love that sonic sidescroller action. That's why I, in closing, give this game a so-so 6 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gives me a headache

posted by ccopeland (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is neat in that it uses split screen for roundabout loops. The only problem with that is, it gives me a headache.
Also, it moves too rapidly for two screens.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What's So Great About This Game?

posted by Spider (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jan 24, 2009

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sonic Rush is a new spin on old Sonic games. I don't know what's so great about this. It sucks. Bad graphics, the DS could handle much better graphics than these. Another problem: no popular characters other than Sonic. No Tails, Knuckles, Shadow. Just some stupid new cat character named Blaze. The boss battles aren't exciting. The good things I can say about this is that it's better than some other modern Sonic games ( Sonic Heroes ), and that it is an alright challenge. I'm not sure who I recommend this to. Maybe just old-school Sonic fans. This game is lucky I'm giving it more than just a 2 or 3. Because of the challenge it gives and the fact that it's better than some other Sonic games, it gets a 5 out of 10. I'd much rather set up the old Genesis and play Sonic The Hedgehog.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sonic has become a parody of itself

posted by BrianMost (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The game has simply gotten too fast to play, especially on the tiny DS screens. The player ends up smacking into obstacles and replaying the levels over and over again until he can learn to jump by rote memorization.

Cognizant of this problem, the designers seem to have made every level so that there are roughly the same number of obstacle surprises on each, letting a player make it through about the same distance between continues.

Fun visuals and entertaining for a rental. I'd encourage a rental even! But you'd kick yourself if you splurged on it instead of sticking with the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty good

posted by chewy4 (STAFFORD, VA) May 12, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

story-6
The story for sonic games are mostly very similar.
graphics-8
Great graphics for a handheld. But some things are just texture less
audio-5
The audio is just plain annoying, but I usually don't have the sound on when I play my DS.
gameplay-9
The gameplay is fast and responsive. The only problem is the gap between the two screens. It makes it very easy to die.
Overall this is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is hard

posted by maxxsmommy (LAKE CITY, MN) Feb 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I love sonic and so does my 6 year old son, but we cant get past level 3 and we have been playing for 2 days now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but it's hit or miss.

posted by thedarkblade (BUTTE, MT) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Sonic rush was the first Nintendo DS title for the sonic series. It's a good game and it has it's strong points but there are a couple of low points. So let's go over each element of the game and see how it did. (P.S i will be rating each part from 1-5)

Story- while it isn't going to win any best of awards, it's simple enough to follow to not get confused. 3/5

Gameplay- this is by far the best aspect of the game. It's fast paced and fun, just what you would expect from a sonic game. 4.5/5

Graphics- the graphics are great! It's bright and colorful and has a nice 3D flourish. Overall it's great and pretty awesome for DS quality. 4/5

Placement- Alright, this may sound weird but I to address it. (P.S by placement I mean the placement of obstacles and enemies.) This game does a pretty bad job of this. A sonic game's theme is speed right? Right, but because of this game's placement problems you can't most of the time because you have to pay attention to every little detail or you'll be falling to your death. Overall, this games placement is awful. 1/5

Music- Okay, this is kind of a personal note but still. Don't get the music is good and it has a good beat, but it's a bit to abstract for my taste. But like I said, that's just personal opinion. Overall, the music was good. 3.5/5

Side note: Bosses- The bosses were... decent at best. They ranged from about easy to cheap. There were one or two exceptions but still, it's not this games shining factor. 2.5/5

Ending: this game is a good addition to the sonic franchise. Great graphics and gameplay, okay story and solid music. However this games placement is terrible and the bosses were...meh. BUT,if you have a good eye or hand reflexes... or simply don't mind it you can get past that.

Overall (don't I saound like a broken record) this a great sonic game that any fan should pick up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun if you like sonic

posted by cutiebutie4545 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

This is a good game but its just a another classic sonic game with modern sonic though....but the songs go with it and its really fun if you play as blaze cause you get to throw fire at the bad guys a few levels are really colerful and it distracts you but other than that is fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WHOOOOA!

posted by pichihime (CANTON, GA) Dec 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is one of the best games ever! The story is wonderful, the gameplay is great, and Blaze the Cat RUELS!!!!!!!!! I've said this a lot before, but usually DS games aren't that great, but this one is one of the best I've ever played! And the secret final boss is WAY PAST COOL! sorry for the cheesy line, but SERIOUSLY! GET THIS GAME! IT RULES!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic Rush: Classic sidescrolling action!

posted by ReviewCo (NAHANT, MA) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

We recently rented Sonic Rush, and the game reminded me of the days when Sonic was good. I didn't enjoy the boss stages very much, but we both enjoyed playing the multiplayer race-to-the-finish games.
This game is a definite keeper, and I rate it 8/10, losing two points for the boss stages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

old school

posted by myobuu (WILMETTE, IL) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

This is a Great game done in the classic style
I would give it a higher score but the fast paced animation on a small screen gave me a headache :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Once Again, Sonic Meets Expectations!

posted by yogibear (OXFORD, AL) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I have had this game for awhile so I guess I not as...excited as the other 2 reviewers but I must admit that the game is good. I enjoys how you can use ds download play to connect with others with a head to head battle of sonic vs. blaze. The only thing I wish they added was the ability to play with 3 or 4 players on ds download play. Kudos to Sega of thinking of such an original new character! I wouldn't recommend this game to 7 or less years old but other than that this is suitable for all ages and skill levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

a horrible rendition of sonic heroes & sonic 2

posted by Loozur (GASTONIA, NC) Jun 3, 2009

Member since May 2009

all they did was take the boards from sonic the hedgehog 2 & the enemies from sonic heroes completeley screw them up come up with horrible repetitive bosses. & to make people like this game they added a new character, made it 2D & make sonic's zone 4 extremeley hard. only someone who is very respectful of the originals or is just not an experienced sonic player could possibly give this a good review. but since i am an EXTREMELEY hardcore experienced sonic fan i will give it a 3. (i'm not heartless) i would reccomend this to people who like to hold the right arrow aimlessley for hours.
Sincereley
Loozur
look for more reviews by Loozur & have a HAPPY FREAKIN' DAY!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Large Step in the right direction

posted by Axlthehntr (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Nov 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Sonic Rush was a very large surprise to me. Being a huge Sonic fan I have become jaded about the series for obvious reasons due the the mountains of bad games SEGA has released recently. Due to this fact however, Sonic Rush blew me away. Even more amazing is that I think that SEGA has done one of the most innovative things anyone has done on Nintendo's own system!

In this game the action takes place on both screens almost at the same time! Sonic will zip accross paths going up walls down walls over huge loops and being launched back and fourth from one screen to the other. You really have to see it to believe it. Now one might note that the DS is only capable of displaying 3d on one screen at a time but what makes it possible for this game to work the way it does is that Sonic and Robotnic are 3d while all other models including the backgrounds and the like are 2d for the most part, and in the end it looks amazing. On top of everything else, this game is blazingly fast and increadibly fun to play.

However, the game does have one large problem and that comes with it's difficulty. Now, I love hard games as much as the next person (bring on the Megaman!) but this game is difficult for the wrong reason. Your main adversary is not the enemies on screen, no, you will be killed millions of times by bottemless pits, they are everywhere an in unpredictable places. This frusteration takes the fun out of an otherwise perfect sonic game. On the same note many of the bosses are just plain annoying for the same reason, their #1 stratagey is to try and knock you off of an edge.

Other than that one minor frusteration, this game is excellent and should be experienced by any Sonic fan, jaded or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Disappointing

posted by Evanator (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Sonic Rush is an OK game. You play as Sonic the Hedgehog or Blaze the Cat. Though Sonic Rush is not what I expected it to be. It uses BOTH screens, and sometimes there's an enemy up there when you're on the touch screen, and if you have 100+ rings, that sucks for you. If you have no rings, and 0 lives, bye. Your game ends. However, it is fun to play as 2 characters when you're stuck on a level on the other character's game. And your progress is saved, so you don't have to start the game over if it's Game Over. And with some levels, it's not like you can't see how the heck you beat it, you just need to use your head for a few minutes, but then a monster usually eats you or you fall off the screen. So PLEASE pause the game if you want to live!! Now you're probably reading this on Gamefly, so you should rent it to see for yourself. But you'd be better buying another game, but it's your choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sonic Rush

posted by Lindsey1 (PALATINE, IL) Jun 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

A lot of people seem to like this game but you can practically beat every level if you just hold forward the entire time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One Of The Best On Tha DS

posted by Cheerio (CLEVELAND, OH) May 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

This is a fast, fun ,and easy to play game, but there in not much use for the Touch-Screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ssx3000's review of Sonic Rush

posted by Ssx3000 (ATHENS, GA) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I will admit; Sega and the Sonic Team have not been fair to the beloved Hedgehog. However, Sonic Rush is one of those underrated, enjoyable games that I would recommend any DS owner.

First off, the graphics on this game is nice. The cell-shade is a nice and smooth implementation with NO SLOWDOWN! This is a rare feat to pull off in a two-dimensional game like Sonic. All the characters look great and the speed of the game is awesome. This game make the predecessors look like nothing. I do not think there is one complaint I can give on the graphics.

Gameplay is great, the characters move fast and hardly ever misses a beat. Only a few unexpected falls, bumps, and enemies that hinder the experience. Other than that, it is really fun to zip through the levels. The trick moves come back from Sonic Advance 2 and they really enhance the gameplay. What really makes the game fun is the Super/Fire Boost, associated by the tension meter. Never has it been so fun to smash through a wall, smack through two robots, and then outrun a rolling boulder all the time using the Speed Boost. In addition, the Special Stages for Sonic really makes the game. I like how they incorporated the touch screen with the stage.

Presentation is nice; most of the well-known, namesake characters are here. Blaze is a unique feature to the game. However, I wish she had more fire moves the would of made her a top tier character. Sonic is always a joy to play, regardless what game. Story of the game is simple and interesting, chasing down the new boss, Eggman Nega. He reminds me of the old Eggman from the Genesis days. Blaze had it easy, just beating the boss to get her Sol Emeralds compared to Sonic actually doing work to get the Chaos Emeralds. The sound and music of the game is nice, I like the funky music and the simple sound effects. Sonic and Blaze have simple one-liners, nothing over the top like TMNT games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic is back, and with a whole lot of fun.

posted by Suprsnic60 (WARE, MA) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Sonic is back with an all new storyline, and a new playable character: Blaze The Cat. Sonic Rush combines a mixture of speeding through thick jungles, and secret pyramids at breakneck speeds. Sonic Rush has to be the FASTET sonic i have ever played. In the camera area, there are a bit confusing times but not too much to worry about. The music and graphics i thought were top-notch, the best i have seen on the DS. The main reason Sonic Rush got an 8 is that although it incorporates both screens, the touch screen is not used. No tutorial was added, though the controls were very simple, so it was not needed. The cool things is if you get bored playing as Sonic, you can play as Blaze, and see how their paths intertwine. Sonic Rush gives an excellent amount on fun on the go, or just sitting on your couch. As quick as you speed through the levels, that's how quick the game is. I finished it in nearly 5 hours, but it was DEFINETLY worth a rental and possibly a buy. Keep it up Sonic Team!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mediocre and Repetitive

posted by karltheveg (KISSIMMEE, FL) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

This game is not nearly the success that the New Super Mario Brothers has been. Being more of a Sonic fan than a Mario fan I had high expectations. It just seemed like there is a whole lot of content missing. From a lack of bonus games to repetitive predictable bosses this game just seems like work. It is focused on Sonic moving fast, however there are places in levels that require doing something just right or you fall to your death. Where are the special shields like they had in Sonic 3 and Sonic and Knuckles? I just seems like there is almost nothing new brought to the table, and they dropped a lot of the old good ideas.
On the plus side, it is visually sharp (for a DS). And not glitchy. But above that it seems to be bare minimum gaming and enjoyment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good return to the classics

posted by Bonnie (ANCHORAGE, AK) Feb 26, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

This game is really fun. It's got everything you'd expect from the classic 2D games, and more. This time, you can use a new dash technique to go even faster then before. Not only that, but a new character, Blaze the Cat is introduced. You have the option of playing as either Blaze or Sonic. Although most of the game is 2D, the boss levels are 3D. Though they can sometimes be annoying, they provide an interesting twist to the game play. This game's only notable flaw is that when switching between screens, you might have some problems. It takes less than a split second for sonic to get to the other screen, but when your running at sonic speed, a split second may be less time then you have to avoid an obstacle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It is pretty good with some problems.

posted by Gamer100 (GAHANNA, OH) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

This game is good but there are a couple flaws. The game lacks unlockable characters, there are only two characters with them working for the third character. There are some bad graphics but that is it. The bonus stages are great and in the tougher levels they are you guess it, tougher but that is good. The 3-D boss battles are unique and since it is on the DS, that is great! You controll Sonic, the mascot of Sega and the whole reason for all the Sonic games, of course. Blaze is a cat that is from an another universe that can't express her true feelings and is cursed with her flames. I won't tell more because I want you to play it. So I will sum it up, this is a good game that you should buy or rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse