Rent Sonic Rivals for PSP Games
view large frontback

Sonic Rivals

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

425 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sonic Rivals Best Game Ever!

posted by TekkenFan (LANCASTER, PA) Oct 29, 2007

Member since May 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've loved sonic since sega genisis came out and he's my favorite game character. I love this game cause I can play it on my psp and I love racing games this brings back memories of me playing sonic 2. So I really enjoyed this game and I also beat the game twice already. I can't wait to get my hands on sonic rivals 2 when it comes out. I hope more sonic titles for the psp will be released soon. I would highly recommended this game to any sonic fans out there or just anyone in general. Sonic Rules!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A fairly uncommon concept with potential.

posted by GenChaos (RICHARDSON, TX) May 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sonic Rivals is essentially a side scrolling racing game; something you don't see too often, if ever. It's for this reason that Sonic Rivals presents a unique game-play experience that I believe presents opportunities for future titles to expand upon.

The game-play allows for a somewhat chaotic experience that lends itself well to the overall feel of the genre. However, I continuously pondered the possibilities if races were played out with 4 or more characters, rather than just two "rivals".

Future releases of this series should certainly consider allowing four or more racers to compete simultaneously.

All in all, a fairly uncommon and fun experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Sonic Racing Title

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Remember in Sonic Three how there was a racing mode for multiplay? That is essentially what this is, on a bigger level. You run through a typical platforming stage, racing against someone else. Not much else can be said about the game, if that seems appealing to you check this out. The graphics are great, the soundtrack is nothing new - it is typical "sonic sound", and the racing itself is actually addictive, mildly challenging, and fun. Good racer, solid Sonic game, B+ (due to not enough extras/deeper gameplay).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEST RACING (I think racing) game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by rockin56 (HOBE SOUND, FL) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This is a really good game. Every Sonic /Shadow /Silver /Knuckles fan should try this game (unless you don't have a P.S.P). Though the story mode is really easy but fun but very confusing, well you get my point this a good game. Can't guess who the locked character, well I know it is Metal Sonic. To unlock him beat all the story lines for each character. It took me less than 4 hours to beat all of them so they are pretty easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sonic is back

posted by Armani (MASPETH, NY) Feb 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sonic has started something when him and Knuckles are racing to Eggman causes a problem to happen now Sonics foes want to go face to face in this game. Allies foes are in this game and this is Sonic Rivals

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GReat Game Must Rent

posted by vicecity21 (DEAL, NJ) Nov 26, 2006

Member since May 2005

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

it is a great game all the levels are great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why?

posted by Iamawesome (CHOCTAW, OK) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game shames sonic highly. When did sonic become a racing game? (besides multiplayer on genisis) This game ruined sonic. hopefully someday sonic will realease an actual action adventure game for the PSP isntead of a lame race game. the PSP needs good games. This game should never have existed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SEGA can do better...

posted by GameFlyAllStar1 (HOLLY, MI) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I've never played a worse game in my life. Sonic is starting to get really old and boring and making the game on a 2D platform is just dumb and lazy. I know SEGA can do better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not as good as i thought it would be

posted by lbpdud (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

well graphics are good i guess 3/5
story horrible 1/5
game play alright 3.5/5

Overall to me is a 6

u should try sonic rivals 2

worth a rent don't buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DeathXXX REVIEW Sonic Rivals

posted by DeathXXX4 (HAWTHORNE, CA) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Welcome to another Death XXX Review.Today im reviewing Sonic Rivals. This Game was sonic's first PSP Game.Boy you really run so much.you can choose from 4 characters(5 if you include Metal Sonic) In Story Mode,With Sonic.He tries to find Amy and Tails when revealed by eggman they have turned into cards.your gonna have to win everything if you want to beat story mode(as always)Knuckles's Story Start just like sonic's only later tries to find the chaos emerald which has been turned into a card,too.Shadow's Story focuses on...um..well i don't know how to explain it but for sure he wants to rescue Rouge.Silver's Story focuses on him trying to find Eggman Nega.What i like about this game is that you can really beat UP your rival.he..he..yeah.some parts in story mode,however,may become difficult at times and you'll just end up restarting again and again and again.but on the other hand the game is well okay.i'll give it a 7.I Don't Know about buying this game but renting would be graet.PEACE OUT GAMEFLY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

kool

posted by ppostar (WESTMINSTER, CO) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

its a kool game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Sonic Game? Really?

posted by Eterwalker (DALLAS, TX) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This game really disappointed me. It has none of the elements that I normally enjoy in a Sonic title. It's one long race after another. That's it. That gets old - fast. Yes, the graphics are gorgeous. Yes, the game moves fast. But the endless racing just doesn't do it for me. There simply needs to be more variety...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by chilli0007 (MILFORD, CT) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

I finished this game after a few months, I only play a couple days a week. I liked the fact that it was challenging. I finished the story for all the characters pretty quick but the challenges were harder. The graphics are great. No problems with loading times or the game freezing. Controls are easy. I didn't get all the cards you can collect though even though I finished the game. I think if people find its a hard game to finish you just need to jump or explore for shortcuts. Its a fun game and I'm looking forward to the 2nd one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Looks good, plays bad

posted by godemperor (LONG BEACH, MS) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Sep 2003

I thought this game looked pretty nice for the PSP, but I had reservations about how it would play since most Sonic games have been disappointing as of late. I wasn't disappointed, but that's because I expected disappointment - this game was not fun for me at all. I tried to like it as much as possible, but when the game play frustrates, that ruins my fun.

The whole point of a Sonic game is to go fast and this game is hindered by the "rival" aspect, plus impediments along the paths that bring your forward motion to a screeching halt. I gave the game a chance and it didn't meet my expectations - in fact, I tried playing it at least once a day for a full week and I was ready to return it after day 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Video game Ever

posted by Futurama01 (SCOTTVILLE, MI) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

I absolutely hated this game. It was nearly impossible. I liked the bosses a little. That's it. Only part I liked throughout the entire game. I sent it back after beating Stage 1. I knew I would hate everything in the further stages

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

o.k.

posted by vmex151 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Apr 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

Good until you finish the story mode with all characters then it gets old pretty fast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Extremely fun!!!

posted by floony (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Mar 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This game is Sonic's first (good) racing game. Also the first 2D based sonic game with homing attack!

The game only has one problem, you can't go solo on a track unless it's the last level on story mode. other then that, This is a must have for sonic fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sonic Rivals

posted by Skybroxas (WEST CHESTER, PA) Mar 1, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This game is classic sonic. it is 2D with small 3D touch and it has the non-stop speed that some of the new sonic games like "shadow the hedgehog" lack. This game is the usual thing but this time your racing against people to continue with the story. The characters each have their own unique abilities which throws some variation into the game-play mix. There are now unique power ups that have been added so you can freeze, shock, burn etc. your opponent. It is a very good game but it also is very very short. I beat this game in two day and you could probably beat it in about and hour and a half without taking any breaks. This is the perfect game to get from gamefly. It's good to play and when your soon done you can just send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cool as Mega man!

posted by woweee1 (WARWICK, NY) Feb 16, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

One of the best sonic games Ever i gave it A 6. I have it so...I LOVE IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »