Rent Sonic Riders: Zero Gravity for Wii
view large frontback

Sonic Riders: Zero Gravity

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.2

1240 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

People are just really bad at this game it seems

posted by tisokan (BLUFFTON, SC) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

cause they mostly complain on how hard it is. This game is very simple, but it is really fun as heck, specially if you have friends to play it with. The mechanics are hard at first but once you get used to it, you can be the best :P. I have to admit it is a teensy bit harder with the wiimote, but not by that much, just get a gamecube controller for stuff like this most, of the good wii games use them now anyways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better Than the First

posted by Secret (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game has improved quite a bit over the last Sonic Rider game. It's a lot less sloppy and it's easier to keep up with the speed.

This game is really fast, at first I was diappointed that there mechanics from the first game would change, but the change was actually better for the game.

I like playing the game with the wii-mote on it's side NES style, the 2 button is to jump and the one button is to manipulate gravity to slow your character down to do a sharp turn around corners. The gravity manipulation looks really cool and it alters the music as you play. Shaping the Wiimote up and back down would make your character go into some hyper speed mode which looks a lot like "Chaos Control" from the game Shadow the Hedgehog.

The music is dynamic, it changes depending on your actions. It's not bad, nothing catchy I think, but it makes it much more interesting to say the least.

The story mode? Pretty bad. Voice acting? I suppose I'm getting used to the new voices, and I think they improved somewhat.

There's more graphical stuff going on in the game, especially with the gravity defying techniques. It looks better than the previous game, which looked dull and plain.

Over all, I think this game is much more enjoyable and easy to control than the previous game. I'd give it an 8. It's a very good game and it's much more fun than the previous one, but different. Nevertheless, the differences make it a better game. I'm a big Sonic the Hedgehog fan, for those who aren't interested in the characters, it's a 7, it's a good game regardless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hint for Getting Past the Title

posted by LilithLaM (FLORISSANT, MO) Jan 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

The game is proving to be another great sega game, but a problem that I ran into at first was the controller not working. The problem is that you have a gamecube controller hooked up, and it wants you to use that. The two ways to fix it are to either use the gamecube controller or unhook the controller. It took me about 30 minutes to figure it out.

have to love a series that always includes the original voices.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Meh good sequel not good not bad

posted by ARMYGUNZZ (LONG BEACH, CA) Jan 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Yeah I used To play Sonic Riders two years ago and I liked it as the first Sonic Game riding on hover boards and bikes and beating your competition. But This new sqeual brings A new level of SR in the mix
You find this ring that controls gravity and get chased by rampaging robots and that's not all. The Babylon Rogues are back and they after the stone too. Besides talking about the story the control are very interactive with the wii remote and If you don't like that you could use the old gamecube controller if you want to. I noticed new peaks with this game. You have gavity moves that can help you turn tight corners. Fly like neo in the matrix :P and find different routes. The story was to short though as my minor complaint but overall is ahh C+ to B- game. Also recommend to hardcore sonic fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Doesn't seem like the Wii controller is enough

posted by pillster (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jan 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It seems like there is alot more to this game than what the Wiimote can provide. It is cool leaning for turns and popping up for jumps and such, but the button layout (in either sideways or forward) just doesn't add up. It is not as foolproof and comfortable as let's say the GC remote was with all of the extra buttons to use. I just felt like i was missing a big part of the game due to the controller. I love Sonic, but this one didn't take the cake for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i got five words

posted by awsome (AKRON, OH) Feb 3, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is freakin awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than you may think

posted by LeonXIII (PARKLAND, FL) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In short, the game has a good roster of characters, plenty of vehicles and courses, and some unique gameplay features. Some people seem to have alot of difficulty with the game, but after the tutorial and with some practice, the game becomes much easier. It's atleast worth a rent for anyone looking for a good racing game.

Sonic Riders Zero Gravity is, for the most part, your usual racing game. Except for the giant talking animals riding hoverboards. There's over a dozen characters, and anyone who plays will find someone they enjoy playing as. The courses are also diverse, which is good. I never felt like I was going through the same course over and over again.

Most of your playtime will be spent in Story Mode, Free Race, Time Attack, and when you unlock it, Grand Prix Mode.

Free Race is simple. You pick a course, a character, a "gear" to ride, and you race.

In Time Attack, you race against time to get the fastest time possible, which can end up on the online leaderboards if you're good enough.

Grand Prix let's you choose from 2 sets of 6 courses, and has you race for points to get you first place.

And then there's Story Mode. You're treated to a pretty CGI cutscene at the beginning, which gives you the basis of the actual story. It isn't incredibly deep, but it doesn't really have to be. This is a racing game. Right after the cutscene, you get thrown into your first race. Each race in story mode has a goal for you to complete. Usually, the goal is finish in first place, or finish before time is up.

The story mode is rather short, lasting only 6 courses, but is made up for with a second story, containing 6 more courses. I personally find the ending confusing, so if you're getting this game for the story, you may end up dissapointed.

Besides the modes, the game features the ability to control gravity in 2 different ways. To dash forward, and to drift around tight corners. You'll be using these constantly, so it's important to master them ASAP

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this games not that bad

posted by gameboy11 (KOUTS, IN) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

so i love sonic and the only thing that i don't like is that sonic is on a bored what the &$%# is sonic doing on a bored. well its a fun game overall i like the zero gravity turning some reveries think that turning is inposibel but its not. so buy this game if your a sonic fan or rent if you want a fun racer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If You Played Secret Rings; You Played This!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jan 12, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

And that is not a good thing.

Even the icon on how to hold the controler is the same. The graphics are nice but wild and gets into the gameplay. You are always in last place. And you want to stop playing after 10 minutes like all the other Sega Wii games.

Forget this and buy F Xero or Wave Race on the VC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SONIC RIDERS ZG

posted by gameguy102 (SEARCY, AR) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I haven't actualy played the game yet but I will soon I am just rating it by how good I think it will be.Ime stuck at the dumb title screen while its telling me to press the + button!I keep pressing it but nothing happens. I tried switching to a different Wii remote NO DIFFERENCE!!!!!!!I will make a better review after ive actualy played it! (P.S.Ive played the first game it was awesome)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fairly solid

posted by firepoet (FRESNO, CA) Jul 13, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

a fairly fast paced racer with some hidden secrets fairly fun would have been great though if you could race online. What was most enjoyable was the stunts and it was nice to have several characters included in the game from the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why All The Hate?

posted by Mincon123 (HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC) Jun 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

The first time I ever got this game was when I rented it from blockbuster. I played that thing for soooo long that I sweated every single time. That is how much fun this game is. I don't understand why everyone hates it. It is a amazing game with tight controls, awesome graphics, fast pasted racing, and most of all... The pimpin music. The music is so awesome that I listen to it every time I get the chance. The main theme is amazing and so is jets theme. This game is awesome and its going to stay this way for a very, very, long long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Major Malfunction

posted by twizmo (AUBURN, WA) May 30, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

Couldn't skip the long intro and couldn't even play the game ~ got as far as the main/title screen where it instructs you to 'Press the + button to start' but it never responded when I did so or even when I pushed any of the other buttons on the Wii-mote. Tried troubleshooting online (including a suggestion of syncing the second wii-mote) all to no avail. Quite frustrating, since it seems like it would be a fun game by the looks of the intro & demo, but the unfortunate glitch is preventing me (and apparently many others) from having that chance. So disappointing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved it and so much fun

posted by GamingChamp01 (UNION CITY, OK) May 21, 2013

Member since May 2013

The game is the 3rd best game I've played in my life. The graphics are awesome. The voice acting I don't really have a problem with. The tracks are so nice I have them on my phones mp3. All of my fav characters and lots of extreme gear. The controls are alittle slippery but I don't have a problem with it. The story is okay but it's alittle confusing. And the stages are fun and lots of shortcuts. I discover a new one each time I play. I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game sucks

posted by jakeanglo (DERBY, CT) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

the game is not even worth the rent. DONT RENT IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by sonicfan10 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

best sonic racing game ever!!Just the air board part makes me want to make an air board my self!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

cheap,and scratched

posted by gameuser (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jun 4, 2010

Member since May 2010

THIS GAME IS SO SCRATCHED UP THAT AT STAGE 4 IT STOPS AND SAYS ''ERROR'' OR ''CAN NOT READ DISC''. But it does save so when your restart it you play the next level.BUT I JUST WANT TO GET THROUGH THE GAME WITH OUT STOPING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sega could have don better.

posted by tomkarl (HAMILTON, MT) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

"Sonic Riders Zero Gravity" was a real let down. The first Sonic Riders game was fun. Sonic, and freinds on air boards,how cool is that! But, the next game in the series was just dumb, the boards go WAAAAAYYY too fast, the gravity is too hard to control, and to top it all off, my favorite character, sounds like a sick teenager. Overall, rent don't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by gonica (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

i really did not like this game it was hard to control the characters and it did not move as fast as I expected it to and wanted it to. Personally i like sonic games to move so fast that i barely can see the landscape or like in the sega genesis version where the camera has trouble keeping up with me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I MMMMMM LIKE IT A little

posted by ICEK222 (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Oct 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

the game was the same lake the other one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Zero Gravity is a good thing.

posted by edzoologis (ALEXANDRIA, KY) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

But don't let the title fool you, there is very little use of Zero Gravity in this game. The title actually refers too your meter you collect after doing tricks and running trough item boxes. When this bar is activated, it goes, you guessed, Zero Gravity. As far as the controls go, you are going too want too use a Gamecube controller. The controls were fluent and precise. But on the Wii remote they were poorly done and could use some fine tuning. The Story is meh. It's not bad, but it's not good. But this game is worth the rent. And if you like it enough, you should buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sonic riders

posted by gamer8904 (ANAHEIM, CA) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

simply amazing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Mario Kart, But Good Enough

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Mar 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

Zero Gravity is a major improvement over its predecessor. While it has some issues, like extremely difficult timed levels, this is a good and solid racer. Any racing fan should not miss it. Those who like excellent racers, try Mario Kart Wii, then try this. Compare the 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game, confusing story

posted by sandro (LEAWOOD, KS) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

this game is really good if you ask me, much better than sonic riders since it was hard but this game is kinda good but the storyline is confusing because they use a lot of smart words you cant understand . this game is way too easy for me, the controls are slipery at points but overal its not too bad, i like the point that you can use gravity powers, and attach to walls. this game is not a letdown, but its much better then sonic next gen (aka sonic the disaster) and its better than sonic riders. the voice acting is kinda anoying, sonics voice is kinda good, tails sounds a little more like a boy but still sounds like a girl, jets voice is really getting on my nerves, but everybody elses is ok if you ask me. so this game is good but it still doesnt deserve a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tip!

posted by Sarabear12 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I ran across this a long time ago when it came out.I was going to Hollywood video then.I had truble with the main menu!THE GAMECUBE CONTROLLER!
0 o(twitching eye)I mad my dad drive us all the
-
way back there just to find out that I had the
gamecube controller in!OMG!My dad got sooo mad!then I went to my room and unplugged the controller...0 o
o

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse