Rent Sonic Heroes for GC
view large frontback

Sonic Heroes

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox
GF Rating
7.5

882 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic Heros

posted by Sneetch10 (ROCKAWAY, NJ) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A new sonic game. Well its one of the better new ones. Sonic Riders, and Shadow the Hedgehog where one of the real let downs. This game is very good, and very fun. i played it for hours at a time, i really like the game play. It pusts the old sonic games in a 3D element, and i felt very in controll of my charater.
There are game plays for begginers, and advance people to. Its really a good game. Plus I really like sonic so i give it an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Classic Sonic in 2-D!!

posted by vgcritic (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sonic is all bout speed and this game is all about it! The levels are big,beautiful,and full of insane jumps! The game has 5 stories and each have 14 levels! The 2p mode is great and the "A" rank feature keeps you coming back. At first the game feels strange for a Sonic game, but it grows on you and you start to love it! A great game indeed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SOniC HEROES

posted by Unknown23 (GARDNER, MA) May 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall, this is a good sonic game.

Pros
THe levels are fun and challenging
The graphics are good for a gc game
2p mode is good to do with friends

Con
SOme of the voice acting is annoying (mainly team rose)

I would recommend this game to anyone who likes the sonic games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

lol

posted by patrick2 (OXFORD, ME) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i love the game but tals sownds like a kide

lol i do not now how to spell sorry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sonic heroes!!!

posted by griffin090 (SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH) Apr 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game has preatty decent voice acting,some really interesting gameplay, and above all... realy good bosses! as ou play as 12 charechters TOTAL, you will run into the big cheese eggman! but as your playing both sides, how could he be in 2 places at once? the awnser is is that its not really eggman! the bad guy is really every sonic fan's favorite bad a## METAL SONIC! he is very angry! so you discover this if you beat the game with the chaotic team. once you beat all storys, scroll all the way to the right and it will be the final boss! play as sonic, knuckles, tails, amy, cream, big, vector, espio, charmy, shadow, rouge, and E123 and take on metal sonic! 7.5 out of 10 (why? because its hard!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Sonic Game on GameCube

posted by Bandit (BILOXI, MS) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot better than the new Shadow the Hedgehog or Sonic Riders. The story is good and the GRAX are good too. the game play is fun and i like the way you can switch character. it has 4 teams.the only thing that i didn't like is that it was short and the stages were you get the chaos emerals are hard. it is a very good game. Rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ITS GREAT!But its still no mario game!=b

posted by Mariobro (CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH) Oct 26, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This may be one of the best sonic games ever!Its action packed full of adventures!You can play with many different teams!Team Sonic(sonic,duh,knuckles and tails), team Dark(Shadow,E-123,aka Omega,and Rouge),team Rose(Amy,Cream and Cheese and big)and team Chaotic(Vector,Espio and Charmy)You can play 14 different kinds of classic sonic boards!This is a great game(still no Mario game or Runescape)

I recommend you rent this game!

Well?What are you waiting for rent it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game didn't work

posted by felfam (BRAINERD, MN) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game did not work. Sent back the same day it arrived. I dont know how to let anyone know at Gamefly about this. I've checked all the FAQ to find a contact or something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for a while...

posted by Xtra3847 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Sep 16, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is fun...for a while. Then it gets kind of repetitive.

The teams do have slightly different changes in their levels (Team Rose has short levels, Team Dark has more enemies, Team Sonic's difficulty is between the two, and Team Chatoix is mission based). However, they're mostly the same levels, and they're not particularily fun or memorable.

You collect emblems, but they only unlock 2-player games that have no online on any version

While there is some fun to be had, it's really just a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game

posted by nobodycares123 (OCEANSIDE, CA) Aug 10, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

this game was great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ruined Disc

posted by AnchorsAwayVA (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) May 5, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

The disc I recieved in the mail had many scratches and dents around the edges; couldn't even get past the loading screen when you first turn it on. I was very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The game in my opinion

posted by Unknownuser111 (JONESBOROUGH, TN) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

i have owned this for years i never really cared which version was best but i think we can agree its a good game it may not be the best but it sure can bring a smile to my face so i suggest it if you have a wii and a gamecube controller or ps2 and controller for ps2 version same for xbox so thanks for reading

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

same as filfam

posted by smash1 (EDINBURG, TX) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

i also got a bad disc i was hoping to play it but when it didn't work i was disapointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME SONIC GAME!!!!!

posted by mariosonic (ACME, PA) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This Sonic game is one of the best of the GameCube. Shadow the Hedgehog and Sonic Riders didn't please me though. Particularly Sonic Riders as I find it hard. Anyway this game has 4 teams made up of 12 Characters total. The teams are: Team Sonic (made up of Sonic, Tails, and Knuckles), Team Dark (Shadow,Rouge, and E-123 Omega), Team Rose (Amy, Cream, and Big the fat cat lol), and last Team Chaotix (Espio, Vector, and Charmy). These are all good teams with good levels. Team Rose for beginners at the Sonic series, Team Sonic for intermediate players, Team Dark for a challenge, and Team Chaotix for missions. The bad guy turns out to be Metal Sonic not Dr.Eggman. Finish all 4 teams than you unlock the Final Story. The only think that stinks is there were only 3 original Sonic games for Gamecube. Shadow the Hedgehog, Sonic Heroes, and Sonic Riders. There were other games like Sonic Mega Collection, and Sonic Gems Collection but those games are made up of multiple older Sonic games. The newer Sonic games just aren't as good as the older games but oh well we can't get older games in modern times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic Heroes

posted by Dreamybluesky7 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

Sonic Heroes is a fun sonic game where you are able to play as three characters at once, just like in Sonic Adventure and Sonic Adventure 2 the game is divided into different story modes, this time only 4. The teams are Team Sonic including Sonic, Tails and Knuckles, Team Dark including Shadow the Hedgehog, Rouge and a new character Omega, Team Rose including Amy Rose, Cream and Big the Cat and Team Chaotix which is Espio, Charmy and Vector. The story is quite simple Dr. Eggman is going to take over the world and Team Sonic comes to crash the party, Meanwhile Rouge is looking for Eggman's treasure and finds out Shadow and Omega have been locked up so the three track him down for revenge, With Team Rose Amy, Big and Cream are trying to look for Sonic, Chocola and Big's best friend Froggy, with Team Chaotix the three get hired by a mysterious client to get rid of Dr. Eggman so they go after them because "They never turn down work that pays", in the end of the game there's a final story where all the teams join together (spoiler alert) to take down Metal Sonic. The levels are also pretty fun too just like normal Sonic games you have your Casino level and your green grass or beach level and your eggman sky level. But also you have some really neat levels like a halloween themed level, and a forest level and my personal favorite a the canyon levels. The game also has different types of bosses unlike other Sonic games were you fight Dr. Eggman you also fight some other bosses you fight Eggman in three levels then you fight in a Team Battle, in a Team Battle you cross paths with other teams in story mode, also there are bosses where you fight a bunch of Eggman robots. The game also has a two players mode which in my opinion is the best two player mode in any 3D Platformer game, also if you hold the A and Y button on your gamecube controller while the 2 player is loading your team can become metal. The voice acting in this game isn't terrible but it could be better Sonic,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It Was Time For A Change Of Pace

posted by mjstillman (FRAMINGHAM, MA) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This is a very different game compared to the rest of the 3D Sonic games...and I like it. The team aspect can be a little confusing at first, but it offers a very unique gameplay style. My only problem is that you can't switch team members in midair. The game controls decently, but there are some instances where the controls are hard to work with (I'm looking at YOU, Casino Park). The level design is incredibly varied and unique.

The only problems I had was the fact that all of the teams play the same (except Team Chaotix), and you have to play as EVERY team to beat the game. You also have to collect all 7 Chaos Emeralds from a special stage (which, by the way, is ANNOYING). I also hated switching rails in this game.

However, I still recommend this game for anybody. Whether you're a Sonic fan or a new-age gamer, I think you should try out this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG

posted by sonicforever (AVONMORE, PA) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

sonic heroes was amazining because you can now big the cat and cream the rabbit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Recommendation? No.

posted by Supatiem (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I don't know if it was me or if I got a bad copy or not but the gameplay was just awful. This isn't the first time I managed to try out this game and it didn't work. But to my surprise this one had. There was not one time that I had to switch leaders to make the rest of the team to appear out of thin air. Because to me, gameplay is EVERYTHING. If I can't enjoy the game just by playing it with a team and dying because the AIs aren't constantly moving with me then what's the point of a team? And I've played Sonic Adventure 2 before and I found that to be better than the Sonic Heros. And some of the VA wasn't all that great. It was like they put little effort in that range.
The plot was pretty okay, nothing to unusual or different from the rest of the Sonic game. They have to do certain tasks to get to certain points.
Although I LOVED how they put all of them in teams, it was really fun to see and used their different ranging attacks and the team attack was the icing on the cake. I loved how most of the team had the different missions to them. Although the constant same map line up was a bit boring. I enjoyed seeing the ol' Chaotix team because I used to play Chaotix a lot as a kid on the sega.
The graphics were pretty much okay but when you finished a level and the team cheered each other for a job well done. I couldn't HELP myself but laugh because they all looked like plastic. The way the light shined on them made them look like they weren't realistic at all and it was a shame to see them up close every time and it make me cringe on occasions.
All in all, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone because it seems like the game play with the AI teammates should have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I WANT THE GAME.

posted by bavvvv1 (CINCINNATI, OH) Aug 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

i want this game so bad i hope they have discounts in gamefly soon. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

an alright sonic game

posted by jss1234 (LIBERTY, KY) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this game is the 1st original sonic game for the gamecube and a nintendo console in general and this game had alot of shoes to fill in with the success sonic adventures 1 and 2 were but did the game succeed in filling them the answer is halfway the game is a good game in it's own right it just isn't a very good sonic game the graphics are kinda bright and childish compared to the 1st 2 3d sonic games which I actually find to be a step in the right direction the graphics perfectally captured the feel of the original sonic games on the genesis and felt more like a true sonic game plus the storyline is kept to an extreme minimum many gamers were disappointed in that but I myself wasn't and the soundtrack is more true to the classic sonic games and the game also tries to balance the difficulty out with 4 different teams newcomers and young audiences have team rose to play with while hardcore gamers will feel more at home with team dark team sonic and team chaotix however are more in the middle in my opinion team sonic is closer to rose while chaotix is closer to dark my major complaints are the multiplayer I'll admit the multiplayer in sa2 wasn't much better but this game really contains the most boring multiplayer elements I've ever seen and another complaint it that the game is very repeatiative all teams go through the same stages at the same time and most of them all play the same way the sole exception is team chaotix who plays quite different I won't spoil any details but overall I think this game is worth a buy though this game has been out since at least 2004 so I imagine most people already own it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

One is such a lonely #

posted by luke723 (SALEM, NH) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

I really really hate playing video games by myself. It's just so much more fub when you can share the experience when others. This game is another example of a pretty decent game with some really coll muliplayer options that are a absoulute old school blast to play wit your friends or kids. PROBLEM: you have to slop through the single player mode collecting emblems which can be way more trouble that it's worth to unlock pretty much all of the multiplayer games. Pointless. Why? Can't I just play with my friend right away? I don't get why games pull stunts like this but it makes me want to kill puppies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sonic heroes

posted by yumisan (FUQUAY VARINA, NC) Apr 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Sonic heros is a fun adventure game where you can play as 3 different characters for each team. there are 4 different teams and there is a bounous sene at the end when you collect all chaos emeralds. When you collect all chaos emeralds the extra stage is right beside team chaotic's taem, just keep hitting the right diection and then you will see the last stage. Overall the game was good and I hope nintendo makes another game similar to sonic heroes and make it a big long story adventure!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Last greatest game for Sonic and Freinds?

posted by Tekken1 (BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA) May 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I am sure always missing team rose and team chaotix in the action everytime I play the newer version. You know what, screw it! The newer games suck anyway. It is not just about the hedgehog, it's about full blooded teamwork itself. Finally I get to see Big curl up in a ball just like other cats do when they are sleeping. Especially the ones who spend there time fishing. (HA HA HA!) Every singal voice is just plain perfect! Tails sounds like a boy now. If only Mighty the armadilo was here. Poor Mighty if only he was part of the team and so dose Knuckles. (cause he used to be part of team chaotix.) No wonder Amy always case Sonic cause when I used her in the special stages, she... she is just fast! faster then sonic? NAH... maybe... I dont know. But the onley thing is why dose sonic team (the creator of all the Sonic games) make everyone besides the hedgehogs so slow? if they make them fast on Sonic heros, why not the other games? missing Big is just like missing Chris Farley. Always sad for his death. And it feels the same way for Big.

A PERFECT GAME COMES WITH GREAT SPEED, FLIGHT, AND POWER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sonic heroes is awesome!!

posted by Loozur (GASTONIA, NC) May 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2009

sonic heroes is an awesome game where you will get sucked in and want to play all day and all night!
sonic heroes: one day sonic is running through the desert & here come tails & knuckles in the tornado. they talk & they hand sonic a note from Dr. eggman that says he's gonna take over the world!
this game features 4 different storylines & intense gameplay & wicked awesome graphics! (best graphics i've ever seen)
you will have to team up with teams of 3 & conquer awesome habitats. you will go through jungles, cities & canyons & so forth
you will fight awesome flying bosses & multiple waves of robots.
you will get so good & fast at this game that you will be mereley invincible! (P.S. Rouge is In This Game) WATCH OUT FOR METAL SONIC!

Sincereley
Loozur

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SONIC HEROES

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Nov 11, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

I had played but not beat the game SONIC HEROES. POSITIVE: this game is really COOL! The graphics were pretty good for the NINTENDO GAMECUBE. In this game you get to play in either 4 teams such as TEAM SONIC, TEAM DARK, TEAM CHAOTIX, and TEAM ROSE. you get to play with new characters such as E-123 Omega, Cream the Rabbit, Espio the Chameleon, Vector the Crocodile, and Charmy Bee. This game includes tutorials if you dont know how to play. I dont have any negative things to say about this game. This game is AWSOME!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse