Rent Sonic Generations for PS3
view large frontback

Sonic Generations

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, 3DS
GF Rating
7.3

1753 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Family Game

posted by LuckyBuck (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been playing video games for almost all my life. Starting with an Atari 2600, when I was a little boy with a black and white television. I have owned almost all the systems through the generations and one of my fondest memory was with a blue hedgehog named Sonic.

I had been disappointed over the years with Sonic, especially when it switched from 2D to 3D. I recently finished the newest Sonic game, "Sonic Generations" and I was impressed with it.

The Plot

The game is about Past 2D Sonic and Current 3D Sonic getting warped into a place of nothingness. From there, they must save their (annoying) friends and bring life back to the world. Both Sonics stages play wonderful which makes the plot of the game work perfectly.

The Game Play

I played this game with my five year old son. We both were able to play without any problems. The game was easy enough for him but also giving a veteran player some challenges. The game was challenging without being impossible.

Replay Value and Trophy/Achievements

The game has plenty of rewards to get which gives the game decent replay value. Some of the rewards were challenging, like beating the first map under a minute. Though they are challenging, they are doable with enough patience and practice.

The game offers an online feature, but it is nothing much. All they offer are speed runs, which shows that some people are either crazy good or cheating.

Overall

The game is a family friendly game that is wonderfully done. It is great for all ages and a good generation game which brings nostalgia.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NOT BAD.

posted by Leox (MONROE, WI) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After tons of different fetures in every sonic game this one is the best! one you have the ability to play one level from almost every sonic game, as ether clasic or modern. two, the grafics makes it look like your playing right out of the anime. three, the bosses. tons of nutoreus bosses to fight from every sonic era. coollest part, if you earn all the caos emralds and beat the game you can use caos inferno whene ever you want. after playing every sonic game in existence, this one is the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sonic is back!!!!!!!

posted by Hypershadic64 (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is clearly the best Sonic game of the year. This will excite classic fans because classic sonic is back its been years since we saw classic sonic but now he's back in full glory. Modern sonic is for modern fans that love speed and platforming, after his appaerance in sonic colors he comes back for more. Sega has finally made a game for both classic fans and modern fans. Sonic generations is game you'll enjoy for a long time there is no downsides to this game and fans will be pleased.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sonic High Fives the Skies!

posted by SonicManiac1225 (TORRINGTON, CT) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sonic the Hedgehog has cranked out another awesome game! This one highlights nine of the best Sonic games in the entire franchise as he and his classic self from the 1990's try to repair the timeline and keep it safe from the monster called "Time Eater".

It features one of my favorite games in the franchise as a stage (Sonic '06 - Crisis City) and has more music tracks than Mario can crank out in one game, bringing music from any (possibly every) Sonic game over the past 20 years!

If you are a true Sonic fan, then get this game and watch the legacy that IS the blue blur's race by!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very entertaining.

posted by Ragnork58 (VILLA PARK, IL) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Even with some rough parts, and a couple aggravating challenges, Sonic Generations is a very fun game. It makes up for the sorry excuse of a Sonic game that was Sonic the Hedgehog in 2006. The only grip I had was that I got it and beat it in 1 day. But all the challenges make it a fun game that you should not pass up on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best sonic yet!

posted by HighVoltageCG (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 21, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this Sonic... The levels are awesome and the games engine runs perfect with the choice of using either old Sonic or Modern Sonic. I recommend this title to any Sonic fan out there! A must keep for all ages! Next one needs to be multiplayer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game since SA2

posted by billy3802 (NORTH PLAINFIELD, NJ) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

game is a classic if you liked sonic adventure you'll love this game its not as great as the past sonic adventures but its worth a play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Retro Sonic Meets New Sonic!

posted by DuskElezen (PINE BUSH, NY) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hello My Dear Sonic Fans! Today I'm reviewing the newest addition to Sonic Saga of games!

The Good Retro: Good back to the basic feel of Sonic that Sega/Nintendo has ruined for a good while. great levels a real nostalgic feel for anyone born 1980+ or who played Sonic on the Sega and Genesis, the original levels from Sonic and Sonic 2 each down to the slightest detail of the original making me feel as if I was younger. doesn't disappoint in the slightest however anyone who hasn't really enjoyed the original Sonic wouldn't really enjoy this part of the game. 20/10 for bringing back the original and still making him the best!

The Good Newer Sonic: Brings a few good levels from the newer Sonic games my favorite and still prob one of the best is Sonic Adventure 2 battle level's I have found that each and every level is epic and action packed and a fun experience even made levels from games I didn't even like more fun! not much I can say when the newer Sonic has a bit of hit and miss games but don't let that understate the levels are FUN!!! 10/10 on the scale for redeeming this new generation

Gameplay: The game play is original for Sega/Nintendo which is a first!!! you can play as Retro-Sonic and Sonic on levels like "Green Hill" also great ones from Sonic Adventure 2 Battle I enjoyed Retro Sonic on this one, has great repeatability which is a first for me! 10/10 Gameplay.

Story: Great for Retro-Sonic while redeeming for Sonic's past games like Sonic and the BlackKnight. 10/10

Controls: This was something I had an issue with while great! I felt as if it was too touch-and-go? I don't think it will be easy for everyone as I felt my reaction was faster than the game could react to.

Over all: Great gameplay, Great story, Controls touch-and-go, Back to the basic's with Retro-Sonic and Sonic all the levels while short are fun and fun to re-do, not many bosses, and bosses are simple, but lack in numbers, over all I liked it, just wished each level had a boss b

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

They did it!

posted by fogopop (SUNRISE, FL) Jan 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sega has, after all these years, finally created a SONIC GAME. No Werehogs, swords, fishing cats, whatever Sonic '06 was, no gimmicks. Just speed. No concepts that sound ridiculous on paper and are horrible in execution, simply a truly modern Sonic The Hedgehog game. Nothing more, nothing less. It's all fans ever wanted, and it's taken them 15 years or so to figure that out. Better late than never, I suppose.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome sonic game finally

posted by gash187 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Jan 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After years of bad sonic games , this 1 is actually really good , I was suprised, I love this game , I love the 2d levels the best , I wish the whole game was 2d but there are even some really good 3d moments , San Francisco level is awesome !!!!!! Ex recommend for any gamer , especially long suffering sonic fans, sonic is real fast in this game not like sonic 4 where sonic was slow, this is the best sonic game since sonic n knuckles , last not least the MUSIC , OMG the music in this game is awesome , remixes of your fav sonic songs ever, even some from sonic R ..,. This game was a great suprise I think I might keep this 1. Now if I could just get sega to do panzer dragoon saga 2 & shining force 4 & I'll b a happy fanboy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best sonic ever

posted by sonic2012 (BALTIMORE, MD) Jan 2, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the gameplay is really good the graphics are extremelly good.The stages are magnifecent except for chrisis city but forget about that. modern sonic is so awsome because he is super fast so is classic sonic. if your looking for a good game you should get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic Generations brings 20 years of awesomeness

posted by Ryan90 (TROY, OH) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

June 23rd 1991: a new SEGA mascot and video game legend was born.

for 20 years, Sonic the Hedgehog has been keeping Gamers happy with his cool personatily and sense of speed. While things did not start well on the PS3 and Xbox 360, with the release of that bad Sonic game (Sonic the Hedgehog A.K.A the 2006 disaster) which almost destroyed the famed hedgehog's reputation. Two years after that, another Sonic game called Sonic Unleashed came out, while it was a whole lot better than the 2006 disaster, some of the critics still said bad things about the game, most likely the werehog brawling stages.

To celebrate and honor Sonic's 20th anniversary, Sega decieded to make a new Sonic game,with recreating levels from his past adventures and remaking the Sonic from the 90's as a second playable charcater, which these results came out perfect. The game starts out with Sonic's friends putting together a party for his 20th anniversary, while they enjoyed it, a dark creature named the Time Eater sends all of his friends to different places from his past adventures, and both Sonics have to go through those levels and recuse present Sonic's friends. The game features stages from the hedgehog's past adventures, including Green Hill Zone from the genesis original, City Escape from Sonic Adventure 2 Battle, and a few others. The stages look and feel like they were in their original games. They are each seprated into two acts, with act 1 featuring the old Sonic, and act 2 featuring today's Sonic. Old Sonic's gameplay feels very similar to the Genesis games except it is in 3D graphics. Today Sonic's gameplay is carried from Sonic Unleashed, which I really like this type of gameplay.

Sonic Generations is a very fun blast to the past, the game is better than Unleashed. If you are a hardcore Sonic fan or a newcomer to the series then get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by thtguy4647 (TUCKER, GA) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The past few years of Sonic have been poo. Sonic Generations definetly makes up for it! :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best sonic game yet

posted by sonicboss101 (BOCA RATON, FL) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

don't worry i'm not a spoiler but i will tell you i thoroughly enjoyed the game.i truly think that this is the best sonic game yet.everything was so awesome times the maximum of pi and i dont even know what that means.i'll be truthful with you and say that i loved everything from the bosses to the storyline .what i loved the most was that sega took levels from past sonic games and perfected them.i haven't been a sonic fan long compared to other super fans out there but ill tell you, he's my favorite hedgehog out there. but seriously, this is such a good game. p.s. for all the mario fans out there,sonic would demolish him so hard in a fight. peace out! :p

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by bigboy145 (HILLSBOROUGH, NC) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i luv sonic so now that theres 2 ways 2 play makes it all the more fun as u play u will c that both old and new sonic have different abilities and different level structures as u play u will c how new sonic is fast and more destructive and how old sonic plays alot more like sega genies in new restored modern gaming levels that new sonic played in past games making it much harder this game is a good 1 but not a buy cause u can easy blow through half the game in a good couple hours its a rent but a must rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sonic is back and better then ever

posted by halo2525 (EUGENE, OR) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

sonic generation take you on a story that is fun. and it take's you back in time you go to lvl's like speed highway,city escape and other good one's over all this game is one of the best sonic game's i have played in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sonic Generations

posted by joh (MANSFIELD, TX) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love it it was fun i love playing as old sonic its fun than new sonic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mixed Feelings

posted by trueawesomeness (SUNNYVALE, CA) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of both classic and new sonic, this game is amazing. The gameplay is fantastic. The game is kind of short, though there is a lot of stuff for you to do that is optional and can be quite fun. There is quite some extras that can be unlocked, which, to me, is quite enjoyable to do rather than having only the story to focus on. The plot line is not so great. It does not exactly have that much to it, which isn't necessarily a bad thing but it leaves more to be desired plot-wise. The bosses are quite easy and not very difficult. The final boss, however, is very glitchy, difficult to control the sonics, and confusing as to what needs to be done in order to beat him. For me personally, it may not occur with other players, the final boss glitched up so much that it rendered the boss impossible to beat, let alone progress through the fight. If it were not for this final boss, I would score this game higher then I had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS IS SO MF GOOD

posted by Iamapotato (KAILUA KONA, HI) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS IS THE BEST GAME EVER I RECOMMEND IT IF YOU LOVE GOING HYPER SPEED UP A GIGANTIC SPEED BLACK HOLE YEA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SWEET!

posted by UNiKMeTaLLiX (FATE, TX) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

They FINALLY GOT IT RIGHT!!! only took about 7 failed sonics lol But this one WINS!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

its too short

posted by jak5362005 (TWIN FALLS, ID) Dec 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

its sooooo boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not really what I expected

posted by Jsouleyrette (EASTMAN, GA) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of games like Sonic Adventures 1 and 2, this game isn't for you. It's basically a high speed platformer where you press the joystick in a certain direction, jump some, change direction, over and over again, and that's the "new age" Sonic. I enjoyed the "old age" far more, because it was nostalgic, but the new age stuff was, really more like you're just going through monotonous motions that look somewhat good, but even on an HDTV, this game's graphics aren't really what you hope for. It's just really flat and disappointing in the end, however, I can find some fun in the nostalgic original style gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this is awsome iand hard

posted by ssjgotenks (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

act 2 is hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Don't like modern sonic

posted by R3000 (GOSHEN, NY) Jan 12, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I wish I could only play the game as classic sonic. The gameplay as classic sonic is fun and the levels are beautiful. I just can't get myself to enjoy the levels as modern sonic. I find modern sonic a bit awkward. I also wish SEGA would almost eliminate the stories in these games and have the story implied like it used to be in the originals. I'm playing the game for the gameplay. If I wanted a story I'd go read a book. If the story was removed, it would force SEGA to make the gameplay awesome otherwise the game won't sell.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Blast From the Past

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Jan 3, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

I will be honest, I am a total Sonic fan, but I am not one of the whiny fans who complain about how nothing is like the classic games from the 90s. I enjoy almost everything from 1991 to the present, and I have to say this is quite a fantastic mix of modern and classic gameplay. Thanks to a time based incident created by Dr. Eggman both in the past and present, a place outside of time know as white space contains destroyed parts of time and now sonic of the past and sonic of the present must work together to restore time and stop Dr. Eggman, and all on sonic's current birthday. The console version contains levels known very well by fans from across the franchise's 20 year history, remixed to accommodate the gameplay of the genesis games and the recent gameplay inspired by the daytime levels of Sonic Unleashes, which involves alot of jumping and boosting. If you're a sonic fan, this is definitely a buy, if you're into fast paced action games this is still worth trying. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse