Rent Sonic Gems Collection for GC
view large frontback

Sonic Gems Collection

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.2

522 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Sonic's collection of awsome

posted by gateway (SPLENDORA, TX) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sonic gems collection is the sequel to sonic mega collection and does a pretty good job of giving us some new games.
There are really only three games that caught my attention because all the rest are game gear games. The three games are...
1. Sonic CD- said to be the best sonic game ever and kinda agree with that, also this game is the first apperance of Amy Rose and Metal sonic.

2. Sonic the Fighters- A really rare arcade fighting game with sonic. A good game if you are a fan of tekken and vitrua fighter.

3. Sonic R- A really underated sonic racing game. You run instead of racing in cars, but i personally really like this game.

All the rest of this collection is game gear games and vectro man 1 and 2. The only 2 game gear that are fun are sonic triple trouble and tails adventures. So if you are looking for a nice sonic collection to rent then you found the right game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply perfect.

posted by Bonnie (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

As a Sonic fan, I must say this is one the best collections ever. It includes must have classics like Sonic R (Sonic's best racing game in my opinion, Sonic the Fighters (extremely rare arcade game), Sonic CD (first game to introduce Amy and Metal Sonic), Sonic 2, and less known games like Tails' Skypatrol and Sonic Drift 2.
Sega also included Vectorman and Vectorman 2 as bonus unlockables!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very nice

posted by Spector (ROWLETT, TX) Jul 4, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I received this game and I've been quite pleased with it. I've always been a big fan of the original Sonic games and while only a couple games are truly 'canon' games, the ones that don't follow the original Sonic formula are quite entertaining and enjoyable. The unlockable goodies are worth going after and will keep you busy for quite some time. If you want to actually finish this entire collection, you'll be at it for a good month or so.

Of course, the graphics remain true to the systems that the games were originally on. The music and sounds have not been touched, they are the original music and sound in the games as well. But what makes this collection so special is the amount of 'rare' Sonic games in here. For instance, you won't find Sonic CD around anywhere else. I know that for sure. Sonic the Fighters is something I highly doubt as well. All the games are truly rare treasures that are worth playing.

I highly recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of Sonic in general. Go out, play it, enjoy it and relive the good ol' days with the blue streak.

(It should keep you busy 'till Sonic on the 360 and PS3 comes out too!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is SUPERSONIC!!! By Loozur

posted by Loozur (GASTONIA, NC) Jun 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if you read my reviews, than you know that i've reccomended this game on several occasions. this game is probably the single best old games collection EVER! It includes sonic 2 for gamegear tail's adventures & tails skypatrol for gamegear. sonic CD, sonic drift, sonic R, sonic fighters, vectorman 1 & 2, sonic triple trouble, and I think there's another too... but this game is EXTREMELEY, TOTALLY, COMPLETELEY AWESOME TO THE SUPREME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SEGA went all out and way overdid it in this super awesome extreme must have game. (I would've bought it if i was'nt flat broke) you just HAVE to try this game, you will fall in love with it. If you even like this game just a little bit, than you are guaranteed to love sonic mega collection. the awesomeness level in sonic mega is un-imanigable!
Sincereley
Loozur .
(CHECK OUT SONIC MEGA COLLECTION)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever

posted by twanda (DECATUR, GA) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the bomb.Because it has all the games from my childhood.My favorite game is sonicR because it is a very cool game you should buy it but rent it first!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game for Sonic fans

posted by Bloos1RP (FOOTHILL RANCH, CA) Jun 23, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is really fun for Sonic fan. It's pretty munch a a collection of classics sonic games along with very rare games including sonic fighters( an arcade game only in Japan) Sonic CD (a game for the Sega CD) and Sonic R( a game for the sega Saturn). It's a great game It's a must have for Sonic fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Classics are Resourceful-I Give It a 10

posted by TheApester (MCGREGOR, TX) May 24, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I first picked up a Sonic game involving his old days,I thought it was an RPG video game.You know,upgrade your stuff,kill bad guys,etc.But nooo,
it hadn't.When I saw this,I was slightly disappointed at first,but then,if I think about it..No plot?No problem!
Three of the best games are the most frequently shown. The first one is Sonic the Fighters,where you have the privelage to play as eight characters in Tekken-style fighting,including the hog himself,Amy,Tails,Knuckle- s,and four others.There are a total of,well,about eight stages,not counting the ones you can exclusively encounter in story mode.Each character has a variety of attacks.My favorite to play is Bark,the polar bear.His attacks are interesting and powerful.
Next in the lineup is Sonic CD. It's one of the most popular games in the Sonic era,next to the
first game.This one excludes Tails and Knuckles
from the game and introduces Amy Rose,kidnapped by
Metal Sonic,who also makes his debut. Like usual,
you are in control of Sonic,and your goal is to
perfect the past so the intimidation of the future
flees.
And last in the terrific trio is Sonic R. It's the second three-dimensional in the game.This is a
racing game,so expect to dart around and grit your
teeth like CRAZY!There are four default characters,and six to unlock,not including Super
Sonic.There are five default stages,along with an
unlockable if you collect all seven Chaos Emeralds.The music score is slightly different.
This time,the backround music has people singing.
Well,that finishes the three most important ones.
The rest consist of Sega Game Gear games,as I have
realized.They're Sonic the Hedgehog 2,Sonic the
Hedgehog Triple Trouble,Tails Skypatrol,and
Tails's Adventure.Sonic the Hedgehog 2 Game Gear
is much harder than Sonic the Hedgehog 2 Genesis.
Triple Trouble is not that hard,I never played
Tails's Skypatrol,and my favorite one is Tails's
Adventure.
For those who loved SMC,SGC will be even better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great Time-Waster

posted by Seph912 (LUTZ, FL) Jun 3, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

First of all, this is coming from someone who DID NOT play Sonic the Fighters. It was not why I rented this game and I have no taste for fighting games.

However, the inclusion of the beautiful sonic CD was enough to hook me outright. I already had it for the computer, but it looks and plays poorly, so I got something a bit better. Still one of the best in the series, though, with only, in my opinion, Sonic 3 and Knuckles and the Adventure games topping it.

Sonic R is very simple and blocky with poor controls. It can also be beaten in full in literally 2 hours with all of the extras. However, back in the old days on the PC as well, I was engrossed in this game, erasing data and coming back to it. This is REALLY a "keep it simple, stupid" game. Great way to pass the time.

The Game Gear games are here more for nostalgia and are good for at the very least one play through, though the inclusion of other games (such as Sega Saturn's cult classic NiGHTS) would have been much more welcome.

Vectorman 1 and 2, the two unlockables are still both winners. They will engross you (and mesmerize you with their beautiful graphics for the time).

The menus are also nice and slick, though the music is a bit of a bust. This is quite the opposite of Sonic Mega Collection, where the menus just don't seem to work, but the music sounded nice.

Nice compilation, but get Sonic Mega Collection if you haven't already. It is a must for ANY gamer's collection. If you own a Playstation 2 or PSP, I also recommend Sega Genesis Collection, which is a wonderful compilation of THE best of the 32-bit era on Sega's system (sorry Mario, Link, Samus).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game stinks

posted by 567uio (EDGERTON, WI) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I don't like this game 1 bit because I beat it in 2 days. I diden't realy have fun playing the game. THE END

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

can you feel the sunshine?

posted by domnics (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

WARNING:WHEN YOU RENT IT DON'T DO SONIC R WITH TAILS DOLL AND TAG SUPER SONIC.
Anyway great but,don't do the thing above.k

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sonic Racing Truly is Super

posted by YoshiFanUltra (MARYSVILLE, WA) May 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Please note: this review is only for the Sonic R game. All the other games in this collection were, in my opinion, a major waste of time.

Sonic R is AMAZING! Sure the controls weren't always perfect and Knuckles was often a pain, but lets look at the good parts.
-Amazing music,
-Great controls,
-(FINALLY) easy CPU's,
-Sonic could double-jump,
-Alternate shortcuts (which require rings), and
-(best of all) collectible coins and chaos emeralds. Trying to find them AND trying to win the race gave me a sense of adventure that the Mario Kart Series NEVER could. It felt amazing.

So yes, I like Sonic R WAY better than Mario Kart 64, Double Dash, DS, Wii, and 7 combined. It is my fifth favorite Sonic game and is diffidently a must.

P.S. The other games on Gems Collection (every other one including Sonic CD) were, in my opinion, boring and really difficult so I don't think they are worth reviewing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great but can be better

posted by Orianne (KINGSLEY, PA) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

it a very good game but it can make you mad at some parts if you like 2d games its a very good game for you but if you don't like 2d or don't like sonic don't play it but it has the best sonic game of all time sonic cd sonic cd is a very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sonic gems!!! fast fun for sonic fans!!!

posted by shmanmom (LEICESTER, MA) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Who remembers the sega mega drive,genisis,saturn, or dreamcast? Then you will be in for a treat, sonic gems collection features a wide varietey of sonic games from the 1990s. Race in sonic R, brawl in sonic the fighters, speed in sonic 2, or play the best sonic game in history sonic CD!!!!!! This collection even features the game vectorman( not vector the aligator!), a classic shooting game on the genisis! The game features a musem where you can check out game pics, or listen to remixes of open your heart (sonic adventure), and sonic boom (sonic cd). This game got my 7 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the game is an insult for sonic fans

posted by gamer021 (RAWLINS, WY) Jun 25, 2009

Member since May 2009

ok first of all, when i seen sonic the hedgehog2 on the review iwas basicly thinking the (actual) game now its some half raited and half made game thats suppost to be like it. now sonic cd was an injoyable cd game when it came out for dreamcast. i dident bother checking out eny of the other games after playing the cheap remake that you guys call sonic the hedgehog 2. sorry but all in all worse game ill ever play in my life.
i hope everyone will read this review because i dont want enyone to suffer the discrace of renting this thing, ant even gonna call it a peice of work, and be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »