Rent Sonic Colors for Wii
view large frontback

Sonic Colors

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.9

2583 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Silly-sounding Title, Great Game

posted by LOSTLINK (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Nov 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

21 out of 21 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am one of those that has managed to find at least some enjoyment in recent Sonic games. This finally marks an installment that isn't held back by some extra piece. I can't say the last time I was this into playing a Sonic game. Still, despite being a ton of fun it isn't without a minor fault or two. Mainly, my only complaint is that some of the acts feel too insignificant, like they were chopped off from a bigger level and made a separate act just so there could be more of them. Personally I don't like acts that end before they can pick up any steam. Over all though, it doesn't detract that much from the fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Colorful Alternative to the Standard Sonic Game

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 4, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After several failed attempts to reinvent Sonic (Sonic Unleashed, Sonic and the Secret Rings) Sega has decided to just give what the fans are looking for in Sonic Colors - more of the old school Sonic.
In this game, Sonic has to get to the bottom of Eggman’s latest scheme involving an amusement park and several small alien creatures that give Sonic special powers.
But most of the game is what you’d expect from the older titles - Sonic runs through really fast from point A to point B, gathering rings, and demolishing robots.
But along the way, he picks up different colored alien creatures, and each color gives him a power move, like zapping along a level like a laser, drilling through mountains of dirt, turning into a shark like creature and eating almost everything in his path.
This game gives the players the needed speed rush that Sonic Unleashed failed to achieve, and the powers are a nice touch.
But there are parts of the levels where Sonic has to slow down and make jumps - which I found annoying. And other parts of the levels has the camera pull back really far, making Sonic very tiny onscreen - so tiny that it’s hard to keep track of Sonic and separate from all sorts of moving things dancing about him. Many times I accidentally sent the hedgehog plunging to his doom because of this.
But I still had fun with Sonic Colors, and I say it is good enough for a rental, and some die hard fans will want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic finally Returns

posted by sigep1983 (DALLAS, TX) Dec 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Look no further for a truly fun and entertaining Sonic game. Not since the Dreamcast Sonic Adventure has a game in the franchise actually been worth playing. Like most people I've never forget the first time I blazed through Sonic Hedgehog on the Genesis. Sega has recaptured the magic and given Sonic a nice graphical makeover. The game moves nicely as you progress through the game with Sonic. The controls are tight and very rarely will curse the screen with frustration.

Truthfully I didn't know what to expect from this but it turned out to be quite the gem. The boss fights are pretty creative, the level design is top notch. My only complaint is the game is short. I only had 4 hours of logged time on my console but the game seemed to play much longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sonic Colors

posted by lady_meza11 (WAUKEGAN, IL) Jun 1, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's was Ok but not like the Original...too much going on, to fast (which, I know is Sonic's thing) sometimes your not even controlling... confusing and a bit juvenile. Although the graphics were great and the scenes were almost. Just not me type of games...the dsame day I received it I sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sonic colors

posted by Ehko (SAN MARCOS, TX) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

truly a great next gen sonic game, really what sonic fans have been waiting for, takes all the good parts from past game failures and adds new aspects which come together to make a truly exciting and fun game, even after you've completed the main storyline there is still replay value in going back to achieve S rankings on all the levels, difficulty curve is good, starting off simple to get you acclimated to the game and increasing to the good old sonic difficulty we all remember from the originals, the only thing i can really say that kept this game from a 10 is that the boss battles, though epic and fun, tend to be a bit repetitive, definitely seemed like an area that they didn't really give it their all in creating, but besides that a truly awesome and epic game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic 3D gaming at its best!

posted by hekifier (WINCHESTER, OH) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sega is learning from their past disappointing released. When people told them to make a game like Sonic Unleashed without the wearhog BS, they produced this and it's all it's cracked up to be, a great game.

Story and voice acting were panned in past Sonic games, but Colors shows an improvement. Eggman captures aliens known as wisps to make a theme park, and Sonic must stop him. They make pervasive puns and jokes, and the voice acting is very believable this time around.

The platforming is fast, furious, chaotic, just like half of Unleashed. The wisps provide interesting new power ups, like a rocket, laser, and more, without over-saturating it.

Sega continues to impress me with their stunning visuals. The power up effects are simply amazing, and the backgrounds and stages are striking with detail, and the blazing speeds look as good as ever. Equally impressive is them music, some light hearted and happy tunes that never sound too cheesy or rockish.

The game will take around 5 hours to beat, but you can always knock shades off your record times or find hidden red rings. There's also a multiplayer mode, but it's kind of useless. They're just watered down versions of the stages in proper, and having one screen for two Sonic's just sucks.

This may be Sonic's best game yet. I enjoyed it from start to finish. Lets hope we see more titles like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A level up for sonic.

posted by MSfanatic (CHAMPLIN, MN) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was above average for a sonic game it was fun and colorful. The stages were new. The voice acting was better than the previous. The story line was great. And the music was awesome. The graphics and clarity of the cutscenes were the best i have seen in a sonic game. Although this game to me has little replay value and it was way to short. I finished this game over the weekend in 4 and a half hours of playing then sent it back because the multi player mode was so boring. The bosses were probably the easiest i have ever played in a wii game ever. Except for the last one which was pretty challenging. Overall this game is worth at least a rent. Maybe even a buy if you like replaying the levels over again and the multi player mode. I also noticed this game resembled ALOT to the super mario galaxy series. I guess sonic has been doing his homework. Good luck to sonic in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Good

posted by Elnaer (BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MI) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game. My son is 4 and he loves watching me play games...and this was one of his favorites. If you enjoy the old Sonic games...than this is the one to rent. I also highly recommend this game to anyone who has kids that like playing or watching video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game,but the theme song...BLAH

posted by vasquez (SURPRISE, AZ) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good,the storyline is perfect,and the graphics are perfect.Overall,this is the best sonic game i ever played! I want more sonic games just like this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Too...many...colors!!

posted by cokeisec (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sonic colors is so good,its too good to be true.The gameplay was awesome.pretty easy storyline too.I`m almost done with it.FINALLY another Sonic game with a plot that makes sense.Although it got sorta hard as you progress on,but that`s what a game is supposed to do I guess.But you`ll get it.Buy the game,1 because its not expensive
(like nintendo just kidding) 2,you wont be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by gamer23 (WURTSBORO, NY) Dec 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played a lot of sonic games, this was is pretty good. I would put it up there with super mario galaxy 2. Great graphics, fun gameplay and doesn't feel repetitive, overall good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sonic did his homework!

posted by Living88D (RAPID CITY, SD) Dec 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Oh Sonic how I've missed you.

The little blue hedgehog first came about as Sega's answer to Nintendo's Mario, everything was there from the collecting of coins to the power ups and once again they took some notes and brought Sonic back to his glory days by borrowing elements from Mario's latest expedition Galaxy, I noticed a bit of New Super Mario Bros. thrown in there too and wow is it fun.

The basic premise is Eggman built an amusement park in space where the game will have you running through a seamless mix of 3D and 2.5D environments and some of the best looking ones I've ever seen on the Wii, no seriously this game is gorgeous.

The controls are really tight and the sense of speed is not only ridiculous but once you gather enough energy to use your boost, you'll be cranking out the light speed and that's where things get intense. On top of that unlike some of the previous Sonic titles this one doesn't suffer from all the fidgety stops, It might take some practice but there's nothing more satisfying then managing to pull off a steady flow through an act.

There's some puzzle elements at play, multiple pathways you'll be able to explore, red coins to collect and multiple powers which is where the puzzle elements come in. Each little colored alien grants you a special power. Some may seem familiar like the drill or laser that sends you bouncing across a set path. In all theres around 8 colored powers that really add some depth to the gameplay.

To sum it up,
With coins to collect, challenges to complete and rankings to beat,
this game has a lot of replay value and you'll have a blast playing it.
I'm having a heck of a time finding anything to be critical of though some of the acts may be a bit on the short side and then there's my dislike of the theme "reach for the stars" but that said the boss battles are epic, the soundtrack is memorable and this is a solid Sonic game.

Welcome back Sonic!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So, so sweet. Sonic: welcome to 3D. FINALLY!

posted by Vsonic (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Anyone with eyes can see that Sonic Colors is GORGEOUS. I'm not gonna harp on that; just look at it. It EASILY stands up to Mario Galaxy 1 or 2. But did you know that it can stack up to Nintendo's plumber in terms of gameplay? For the first time since the Genesis, Sonic can stand tall and proud alongside Mario: Sonic Colors is excellent.

Of course, he's borrowed a few elements from Nintendo's main man. Like a world map. And a heavy dosage of 2.5D goodness.

Also, Sonic doesn't control like he did in the Genesis days anymore. He definitely feels "heavier"; but rest assured - there is a very impressive engine powering everything and consistent physics. The controls have a learning curve to them, but once they "click", it's sublime. You'll never die after that point due to anything EXCEPT human error, and if you're like me, you'll jump right back into the action because you know you can do it. You just need, "one more time"!

There's NO filler here too! Anyone whose played any of Sonic Team's post-Dreamcast games know that they stuff their games with crud you don't wanna do (Big the Cat, anybody?). Sonic Colors is ALL levels. There's nothing but the sweet platforming/racing stuff that makes Sonic so fun. And because of the aforementioned great engine, there are some very varied platforming stages in Colors. Also, the "Colors" in the title - the various alien power ups - do their part to vary the experience. Finally, you can replay levels for alternate routes, faster times, higher scores, Red Rings to unlock the arcade-like "Sonic Sim" Challenge Levels (which are 2 player compatible), etc.

All you need to know is, not only is Sonic Colors EXCELLENT, but there's a TON of content here! It's fun and pretty, and sounds wonderful (all the Sonic Sim levels even have chiptune remixes of the main stage music), but going after all the Red Rings is downright addictive.

This stands right with both Mario Galaxies, Epic Mickey, DKC Returns and the rest of the Wii's best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's worth it

posted by Xbox412 (SEABECK, WA) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Sega made rough sonic games over the past years and now it changed thanks to Sonic Colors. this game looks like sonic unleashed on the day stages but it's still worth it. The voice cast has changed in Sonic Free Riders and Sonic Colors. The game is colorful and lot's of fun. And this time only on the Wii and Nintendo DS Sonic Colors has multiplayer. You can only play this game on the Wii and DS only! Sonic Colors may be the best Sonic The Hedgehog game of all time. 10 colors out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super mario galaxy watch out!

posted by Blublur (CONIFER, CO) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is really, really good. And suprisingly it is starring sonic! This is one of sonic best games i have ever played and i have played all of them. This is like a super mario galaxy that is challenging, super fast and fun. You will enjoy this game from the begining. It was so good i bought it. This game is a difinite must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a Sonic fan must have!1!!

posted by texaskid (CHINA SPRING, TX) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. Glad to see nintendo kind ot went back to the old sonic from the Genesis.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic Colors (Good and a little Bad)

posted by Ibido (KISSIMMEE, FL) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you want a sonic game that you speed right through, this would be for you. The atmosphere of the game and just the graphics are pretty good. There are two things I found that they could improve. The cutscenes weren't as spectacular as a few past sonic games. The other thing is that the game felt to be way to short. I'm very glad I didn't buy this game. The same day I recieved it in the mail, I beat it. I would say if your an average sonic gamer like me, you will finish it within 3 to 4 hours. That was the biggest thing I found that was wrong with it. Its a fast past game so again you will speed throught it in no time. Hope you have fun playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sonic

posted by brison7 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i love sonic colors its the game you would want your whole family to play the game have great music and great multiplayer stages and a good storyline. With great pleasure i give Sonic colors a A+ and a 10 point rate. You would never want to stop playing. I will always love sonic,tails, and all characters on any game that comes with sonic in there. Long live sonic the hedgehog.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

short but fun

posted by sonicthe (EVANSVILLE, IN) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the game was challgeing and fun but is was like way to short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Still not quite there...

posted by parrell134 (HAZLETON, PA) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I slightly enjoyed this latest install meant of Sonic. Being a longtime fan, I try to look for the good in the newer games, but it's getter harder with each installment. Personally, I think the Sonic Adventure games were the best, especially Sonic Adventure 2: Battle. SEGA should go back to making Sonic like that. And bring back Ryan Drummond as the voice actor. Roger Craig Smith is a terrible Sonic! All in all, not bad. Better than the storybook games, but not as good as the Sonic Adventures.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its good But....

posted by mrawesome (BEACHWOOD, OH) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I think this game is very very good but its just not as well as it could be... There is no real instructions, the worst part is SONICS VOICE! He is very Naive and acts like he hasn't even passed 3rd grade.... This game is for kids and if you aren't you might like it because its very bright and amazing if i really could id give this game a 7.5 because the game is good but can be way better! Ok the goods: The controls are easy and you just adapt to it and you feel like sonic. When sonic is running you'll be thinking "OH MY GOSH HOW FAST IS HE GOING!" The story is about a theme park that egg man created because he wants to be good by sharing it with everyone, but obviously it was just a trap. He was trying to capture wisps that have powers that can destroy the world. But sonic can use them to go faster, drill, fly etc. You can see them all in the videos. The other character is tails who is the mechanic and translate what the wisps say and kind of helps sonic! Honestly its a very good game and you might enjoy it.... I did but there were too many mess ups, but its a good game and thats why i gave it a 7..... Sonic Colors can be a game for anyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's not great.. in fact, it's not even very good.

posted by Ragemode (CHANTILLY, VA) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 19 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

"Wow, I'm so bored."

Pretty much my only thought while playing this game. Despite all the seizure-inducing color'splosions going on left and right, the game fails to catch my attention. In fact, that's probably one of the main reasons it fails. There's way too much going on on the screen, and none of it is interesting.

Yes, between the epileptic's nightmare that is every single level and the ear-bleedingly bad music, you would figure, it probably can't get much worse...

..and then you consider the platforming. It's pretty bad.

Sonic controls about as tightly as a three-wheeled shopping cart, with the ability to double jump often adding more problems than it solves since, given how weak it is, it's typically just too insignificant to get you where you need to go, or just enough that you overshoot the platform you were aiming for by about half an inch simply because you hit the A button out of habit. You're on rails half of the time anyway. I suppose Sonic Team wants you to be able to focus on the scenery or something... it's too bad the "scenery" is so lazily muddled by a constant, relentless bombardment of colorful explosions and lasers that it all just bleeds together and becomes an obnoxious, blinking amorphous blob. Not to mention the fact that it's so distracting you will often plummet to your death simply because you can't tell what the heck is going on.

I really can't even be bothered to write a decent review for this game, as you may have noticed-- it's just so hard to care. Once again I find myself wishing Sonic had remained a silent protagonist. Everything and everyone in this game will grate on your nerves until there's absolutely nothing left.

It's painfully obvious how hard Sonic Team tried to emulate New Super Mario Brothers Wii while creating Sonic Colors, but they failed miserably.

Rest assured, the sonic cycle of announcement>anticipation>disappointment remains unbroken.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

come on

posted by abababc (YORK, PA) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 27 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

this game was good at first but when i made it to the second and third world it got really hard. i wouldn't recomend buying it even renting it. i mean the graphics are good but its to hard for me and maybe others but this is my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Should our kids suffer like we did in the 90's

posted by shaddowar (CHACON, NM) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 38 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

The 90's was the 8th step in the evoloution of movies and the 6th step in video games this was time where we indulged in fantacey that movies where at their peak and games where on their way. There's a saying that goes "if we do not take time to learn our history we will be doomed to reapeat it" Some games can be done that way Sonic Colors cannot, when I was a kid i did not care for it but when it came to the SEGA Dreamcast as Sonic Adventures I enjoyed it when my friend showed it to me. Sonic Colors is trying to recapture the old 1992 version with an updated look in 3d with cut scenes, I hated the original Sonic cause it was back to back levels with no interactions [but what could i do that was the technology at the time], Sonic Adventure had filler levels, Sonic Colors has back to back levels with cutscenes while the level loads boaring. where in 2010 not 1992 the game should have been more interactive instead of ripping Mario off. Rent this game of you liked to see a updated 2d in 3d game with cutscenes or don't waste your time and rent something else, if your renting for your child i suggest Epic Kirby, if your renting for yourself i suggest Goldeneye 007, this creators of this game should have focoused on the whole history of Sonic instead of the birth. I give this game the lowest rating i ever gave a game a 2 and thats being generous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GOOD, GREAT, AWESOME, OUTSTANDING, AMAZING!!!

posted by GamingChamp01 (UNION CITY, OK) May 21, 2013

Member since May 2013

First off... the soundtrack is amazing! Such great tunes. The graphics are real good, but not as good as generations. Controls are little slippery, but okay. And all of the colors are amazing. All of the cutscenes in the game is normally CGI, but beautiful. The stages are fun and easy. When I first handled a wisp I didn't know what the heck I was supposed to do. Then later in the game at Planet Wisp I kept dying. But overall it's a really great game. I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse